Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2010
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1718 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,486
Mixed:
154
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
chui_greensOct 4, 2010
Talk, talk, talk, snarky comment repeat. Socially inept rich kids whining about wanting more money and recognition. Unlikeable characters and absolutely no drama. I spent two hours waiting for the movie to begin and it never did. Simply anTalk, talk, talk, snarky comment repeat. Socially inept rich kids whining about wanting more money and recognition. Unlikeable characters and absolutely no drama. I spent two hours waiting for the movie to begin and it never did. Simply an awful movie going exprerience. Expand
47 of 127 users found this helpful4780
All this user's reviews
1
Diablo92Jul 30, 2013
Not a very amusing movie with alot of fun in it.. Soundtrack is cool. This movie is based on the social network called Facebook... It maybe a true story but i find it dumb.. Going as far as going to book would have maybe been better cause itsNot a very amusing movie with alot of fun in it.. Soundtrack is cool. This movie is based on the social network called Facebook... It maybe a true story but i find it dumb.. Going as far as going to book would have maybe been better cause its nothing huge.. its no big famous movie. In fact, its boring. 1/10 since the soundtrack is good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
wa2koolMar 8, 2013
Absolutely ghastly film, jaw-droppingly overrated, intensely unlikable cast, story is completely un-engaging and shallow. I mean I could go on for hours. Maybe Zuckerburg speaks fast to emphasise his high intelligence and being completelyAbsolutely ghastly film, jaw-droppingly overrated, intensely unlikable cast, story is completely un-engaging and shallow. I mean I could go on for hours. Maybe Zuckerburg speaks fast to emphasise his high intelligence and being completely nuts but does it have to be so difficult for us to understand? I was completely and utterly lost within the opening scene in the bar, I had absolutely no idea what Zuckerburg was saying. I have to congratulate David Fincher, he has single handedly made every character in this film detestable, pompous, arrogant and above all else, total I have never seen so many flock together in one film. Story is simple one wants to sell his idea to the world but other say they conceived the idea and bitter disputes and quarrels ensue. Some who apparently created Napster discovers Zuckerburg and decides to assist him so he can earn lots of money and get famous, how inspiring... An absolute shocker (meant negatively) of a film, which does not in any way deserve it's acclaim. I know everyone has their own opinion on everything but I can't for the life of me see how anyone can actually enjoy this useless excuse for a seat in a cinema, for christ sake it doesn't even have any subtle humour...and it's a bloody American film! I'm baffled, absolutely baffled! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
DorrbeckerJan 23, 2011
Don't believe the hype. This movie is a dreadful bore with unlikeable characters. Really annoying and pointless movie. Its only rated so high because of the 500 Millions users on Facebook who decided to see it.
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
1
julles76Feb 27, 2011
This movie is a total rubbish, very boring. Honestly, all those reviews must be some scam. It's just as somebody mentioned here: rich kids blablabla on how much more money they want. Bad acting, plot was not interesting at all. Don't wasteThis movie is a total rubbish, very boring. Honestly, all those reviews must be some scam. It's just as somebody mentioned here: rich kids blablabla on how much more money they want. Bad acting, plot was not interesting at all. Don't waste the money for this. Expand
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
1
independentNov 16, 2010
It is not often that I walk out of a movie that I paid to see, but this was one that I walked out on (along with my wife, who agreed wholeheartely with me). My only regret is that I didn't walk out sooner. I found this film so boring that IIt is not often that I walk out of a movie that I paid to see, but this was one that I walked out on (along with my wife, who agreed wholeheartely with me). My only regret is that I didn't walk out sooner. I found this film so boring that I almost fell asleep. All this "clever" talk by a bunch of rich, spoiled kids, which just droned on and on. I found not a single interesting character in this film. Let me be clear that I am not a "social networker, "so perhaps that influenced my thoughts about this stinker. Maybe if you're infatuated with My Space or Twitter, or whatever, this film would have a different impact on you. Let me also say that I am a college graduate (and also have a professional degree), so it's not that I'm some low-life that can't appreciate artistic films. I really can't understand why this movie got such good reviews. Sometimes I agree with critics, but this was not one of those times.sI thought is was important to take a stand on this one, to dare to disagree with the critics and to call this dreadful movie's bluff!. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
2
bdbrFeb 6, 2011
I really don't understand the ratings here. This dialogue was good, but the plot just dragged on with no real defining moments. Someone said they wished there was another hour; I felt like there already was.
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
2
DeathrompFeb 13, 2011
There are two distinct voices behind this film: one is world weary, cynical, and blatantly cashing in (at last) - while the other is arguably cautious - straddling the line between satire, and melodrama - these are the voices of DavidThere are two distinct voices behind this film: one is world weary, cynical, and blatantly cashing in (at last) - while the other is arguably cautious - straddling the line between satire, and melodrama - these are the voices of David Fincher, and Aaron Sorkin. Fincher: safely and firmly planted in the pantheon of great filmmakers; a provocateur, innovator (what have you) - with likely nothing to lose. Then thereâ Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
0
JesseWrightNov 30, 2010
Complete garbage. The film was as much true to the real events as I was to enjoying it. It is just a cheap cash in by the producers to make a dishonest buck from the "500,000" facebookers.
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
1
redparisDec 12, 2010
Put down the kool-aid!

I'm as much a fan of Sorkin's writing as anybody, and the dialogue rolls well, but you can't build a story on the backs of whiny, impotent losers who don't even struggle in their journey to build a "business" as simple
Put down the kool-aid!

I'm as much a fan of Sorkin's writing as anybody, and the dialogue rolls well, but you can't build a story on the backs of whiny, impotent losers who don't even struggle in their journey to build a "business" as simple as Facebook.

Performances were fine, and it looked great, but the story seems ridiculously overdrawn. To suggest that the creation of Facebook was built upon these moments of "genius" is outrageous. Could anyone seriously argue that the site is not a rip-off of Myspace and Friendster? Of course Z improved on the model, but it was hardly an original idea.

I'm not sure that I've ever seen a bunch of characters as dull as this group, and if I felt anything at all for any of them, it was slight disgust. The representation of business dealings was as inept as we can expect from the Hollywood-detached, but couldn't Columbia Pictures afford a consultant?

Reznor, on the other hand, is the only genius involved in this whole mess: his uninspired, inane beats are the perfect accompaniment to watching paint dry.
Expand
8 of 24 users found this helpful816
All this user's reviews
0
RobertSimpsonJan 31, 2011
Who in the world thought that making a video about a lame chat website which does nothing special should be shot, it has too much talk and almost not panache. It reminds me of those lame Barbie films, as it tries to make something out ofWho in the world thought that making a video about a lame chat website which does nothing special should be shot, it has too much talk and almost not panache. It reminds me of those lame Barbie films, as it tries to make something out of something which has no relation to the cinema. Face book as a film, next there will be 'Brother Printers: the gripping tale of printing! in 3-D' Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
2
GOUGHOct 16, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Am thinking as I write, it's been out THIS long? How can that be? At least it informs you out front what it's about, unlike some fish movie, purporting to be some kind of thriller or murder mystery music thing. This film is about a dinkhead, and how unfortunately, dinkheads make it. John Lennon was correct. Biggest B-heads around, make it. SAD. That's ultimately the trip, but sad in another way than expected from the other facebook film. Expand
7 of 23 users found this helpful716
All this user's reviews
0
WolfmotherMay 4, 2011
I didnt really like this movie, but Im not going to make some half-assed assumption about the inteligence of the professional reviewer. This movie jumps off into random tangents and cannot keep focus. The characters are unlikable but sinceI didnt really like this movie, but Im not going to make some half-assed assumption about the inteligence of the professional reviewer. This movie jumps off into random tangents and cannot keep focus. The characters are unlikable but since its based off a somewhat true story, that is quite understandbale, its business, the whole point of it was for us not to like them but relate with their greed. Sometimes a movie cannot be TOO cryptic. After all these are the very same people that gave avatar: the last airbender movie a good thrashing, so they can see a bad movie when it smacks them across the face. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
schmageggeyMar 30, 2011
When I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trashWhen I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trash I've ever seen. My first and biggest gripe was Jesse Eisenberg. He is a absolutely horrible actor. He sucks, plain and simple. He tries so hard to be like Michael Cera, that he ends up failing. His role wasn't the best either. The character of Mark Zuckerberg is to put simply, a douche bag. I'm sorry I don't want to sit there for two hours and watch some guy think his **** don't stink. I was happy that Rooney Mara's role was very short because she is one of the most annoying actress's out there. The film in itself was just generic. I felt David Fincher was selling out so he can appeal to a younger audience. Everything else was just mediocre and overlooked. The only good thing was the script. It was fresh and crisp and the dialogue was witty and tight, but it wasn't enough to save this film from becoming, just like Zuckerberg, a douche bag itself. Expand
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
2
JbrizzyApr 16, 2012
This movie was just BORING AS HELL. This is the very first movie i fell asleep in, ( thank god i saw it on a bus road trip) I just don't see the hype AT ALL. Like is this what people consider a masterpiece? Then i want out. Every singleThis movie was just BORING AS HELL. This is the very first movie i fell asleep in, ( thank god i saw it on a bus road trip) I just don't see the hype AT ALL. Like is this what people consider a masterpiece? Then i want out. Every single character is so unlikeable that makes this movie just painful to sit through. Avoid at all cost, if you want to learn about the history of Facebook, just google it or go to Wikipedia. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
JuggernautMar 8, 2011
Worst casting ever! The movie is well done. The plot is extremely poor. The actors are plain. Is a cheap movie that got lucky with some advertising and some bought nominations.
4 of 21 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
1
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
A confusing and overlong supposed masterpiece that only serious drama fans will dig. Not my cup of tea at all. Eisenberg gives a dull, robotic performance and Justin Timberlake coasts through the movie on the same motivation.
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Jul 31, 2015
We can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers least stylish and engaging film so far. No character study / depth or philesophical approach. All we canWe can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers least stylish and engaging film so far. No character study / depth or philesophical approach. All we can see a boring , overrated , dull " show me the money , baby" movie Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
3
ourtimehascomeMar 3, 2017
I really don't understand the popularity of this film. The directing is subpar, certainly one of the worst Fincher films. It's incredibly dark, even during the day. It's as if I'm watching the movie with dark-tinted sunglasses the entireI really don't understand the popularity of this film. The directing is subpar, certainly one of the worst Fincher films. It's incredibly dark, even during the day. It's as if I'm watching the movie with dark-tinted sunglasses the entire time. The screenplay is undeniably Sorkin. Conversations drag on for extended periods of time, often losing track of their main focus. It's clear there was some sort of disconnect between Sorkin and the director because Fincher just can't keep up most of the time. The music is annoyingly painful most of the time. It does nothing new within the ambient genre, neglecting original performances for a neglectful, dark atmosphere. Like the film itself, it is overrated.

Acting wise, Jesse Eisenberg does a great job, but only because he's playing what he's good at: himself; the nervous, meticulous, obsessive, socially-awkward nerd who thinks academia is what's most important in life. Everyone else is so incredibly bland, I wouldn't be surprised if there was no effort involved whatsoever.

Concerning the subject, the general idea is correct, but the specifics are muddled. I'm sure Sorkin realized halfway through writing how uninteresting sitting in front of a computer and creating Facebook really is, so he focused on the only drama throughout the entire experience: lawsuits. Unfortunately, they're handled poorly in the film. I have to wonder if it isn't fact-based, then why exactly is it focused on Zuckerberg and Facebook? I've come to the conclusion it was decided to use a much more overly dramatic, fictionalized view of the events and center it on Facebook because it sells. And my does it sell.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews