Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history... but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. From director David Fincher and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin comes The Social Network, a film that proves you don't get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Brilliantly entertaining and emotionally wrenching.
  2. The film comes down to a mesmerizing portrait of a man who in any other age would perhaps be deemed nuts or useless, but in the Internet age has this mental agility to transform an idea into an empire.
  3. 100
    This is a remarkable film for more reasons than its antihero, from the cyberspeed wisdom of Aaron Sorkin's screenplay to Jeff Cronenweth's camera prowling the excesses of youthful genius gone wild.
  4. David Fincher obsesses about obsessive people.
  5. Most of all, it is the improbably entertaining story of how new media are altering the very nature of courtship and friendship.
  6. When Mr. Eisenberg makes Mark's face go blank, the character seems scarily emptied out: it's a subtly great, at times unsettling, performance.
  7. It's an entertainingly cynical small movie. Aaron Sorkin's dialogue tumbles out so fast it's as if the characters want their brains to keep pace with their processors; they talk like they keyboard, like Fincher directs, with no time for niceties.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 324
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    "The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    People ask what makes 'The Social Network' a modern masterpiece? Well, its a story that 1,000,000,000 people (or users) can relate to, it has skillful direction by Fincher to get across the said story, a screenplay by Sorkin that seems to roll of the actors tongues, and overall a use of editing that is rarely present in modern day films. So, does all of that answer their question? Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    The Social Network is a masterpiece, it's the Citizen Kane of 2st century. The film has dialogues so intelligent and deep, actors are perfect in their roles. Perfect Direction, Screenplay, Cinematography and Edition. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    The Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can really see true emotions of the character. Well, everyone needs to watch this because no one can retell how the movie flows. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    "The Social Network" is a dexterous production, surrounding the past decade impeccably and methodically. Mr. Zuckerberg has created a new world, and in the process of creating this world -- punitive complications circulate the "God of the internet" in a myriad of forms. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    This is a movie with amazing acting and an amazing script. I'll admit that it's not all that exciting, but the fast paced script and I'd say Oscar potential acting by Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield it'll keep you entertained. It is a tad overhyped, but it is still great Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    When I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trash I've ever seen. My first and biggest gripe was Jesse Eisenberg. He is a absolutely horrible actor. He sucks, plain and simple. He tries so hard to be like Michael Cera, that he ends up failing. His role wasn't the best either. The character of Mark Zuckerberg is to put simply, a douche bag. I'm sorry I don't want to sit there for two hours and watch some guy think his **** don't stink. I was happy that Rooney Mara's role was very short because she is one of the most annoying actress's out there. The film in itself was just generic. I felt David Fincher was selling out so he can appeal to a younger audience. Everything else was just mediocre and overlooked. The only good thing was the script. It was fresh and crisp and the dialogue was witty and tight, but it wasn't enough to save this film from becoming, just like Zuckerberg, a douche bag itself. Expand

See all 324 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  6. The Social Network: Inside the Reviews

    The Social Network: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: October 6, 2010
    David Fincher's "The Social Network" is attracting critical praise like no other film released so far this year. We take a closer look at the reviews to find out exactly what makes the film so good, and what faults might be present despite the high Metascore.
  7. This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In

    This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In Image
    Published: October 1, 2010
    This week, our focus is on three extremely infrequent events: a major film with phenomenal reviews ("The Social Network," which, by one measure, is now the best film in our database); a horror remake with critical acclaim ("Let Me In"), and an early fall cancellation victim that was well-liked by critics ("Lone Star").