Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history... but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. From director David Fincher and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin comes The Social Network, a film that proves you don't get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Brilliantly entertaining and emotionally wrenching.
  2. The film comes down to a mesmerizing portrait of a man who in any other age would perhaps be deemed nuts or useless, but in the Internet age has this mental agility to transform an idea into an empire.
  3. 100
    This is a remarkable film for more reasons than its antihero, from the cyberspeed wisdom of Aaron Sorkin's screenplay to Jeff Cronenweth's camera prowling the excesses of youthful genius gone wild.
  4. David Fincher obsesses about obsessive people.
  5. Most of all, it is the improbably entertaining story of how new media are altering the very nature of courtship and friendship.
  6. When Mr. Eisenberg makes Mark's face go blank, the character seems scarily emptied out: it's a subtly great, at times unsettling, performance.
  7. It's an entertainingly cynical small movie. Aaron Sorkin's dialogue tumbles out so fast it's as if the characters want their brains to keep pace with their processors; they talk like they keyboard, like Fincher directs, with no time for niceties.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 325
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    "The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    It was a complex idea to develop, but this film portrays the idea of Facebook in such a simple and elegant matter that i deem The Social Network to be a flawless film.
    Seriously.
    The performances, the direction, but overall the writing through the genius of Aaron Sorkin, has created a film which i doubt many would even have thrown a second glance to, and you would be silly not to.
    Told pretty much as a flashback, this film picks up in 2003, and we see the the extremely talented Jessie Eisenberg portraying the young, silly, yet not popular, but computer wizard Mark Zuckerberg, as he is having a discussion with his soon-to-be ex-girlfriend, this was a wonderfully crafted and hilarious scene, Eisenberg effortlessly catches the persona of someone under the illusion that he is superior to everyone else, not so much through arrogance, but perhaps someone learning to fight for survival in a dog eat dog world.
    Through drunken blogging in his Harvard dorm and a cash flow from his best friend Eduardo Saverin, (Andrew Garlfield) Facebook is born.
    On the antagonistic side of things, you'll be seeing double with Armie hammer taking on a dual role of Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss, the two Harvard rowers who are believed to have asked Zuckerberg to set up a similar idea to Facebook, before Facebook had been founded.
    These are all wonderful performances, also with the inclusion of the multi-talented Justin Timberlake, who plays Napster founder and Facebook advisor Shaun Parker.
    The wonderful, crisp, clear direction of David Fincher is excellent to see, fast paced talking seen before in Fight Club, but it has to be the masterful dialogue of Aaron Sorkin's screenplay that will have you leaving with a smile on your face. Its so simple, yet Eisenberg's portrayal of Zuckerberg encourages you to 'keep up' with his fast-paced rambling, convincing everyone he knows exactly what he is talking about, because he probably does.
    Andrew Garfield exceeds to new heights as co-founder Eduardo Saverin, and the ensuing court battles of the troubled friendship show the strain a business can put on a person.
    One of the best written, acted, and fluidly brilliant pieces of cinema this decade, The Social Network will leave you wanting another dose of greatness from this sublime story, see at all costs
    Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Interestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be just a mess with lawsuits and betrayal of friends. But writer Aaron Sorkin turned the story into a must-see of the decade. He turned it into a witty, fast-paced, thrilling, and an Oscar-winning script. Luckily, The Social Network got David Fincher (Curious Case of Benjamin Button) as a director, which makes it even better. David Fincher's achievement in this film is going to score him another Oscar nod. (Fincher is directing The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, English version, my favorite book). The actual Facebook story is about Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg), a Harvard undergraduate (computer genius), who wrote the code for the Facebook website. Teaming up with him was him roomate Eduardo Saverin, whom later sued him for... well lots of **** Mark ran into playboy Sean Parker who convinced Mark to "betray" his partner (Eduardo), that's what lead to the law suit. Though people say Aaron Sorkin's script is an inaccurate potray of Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who in real life is down to Earth and not an **** like in the story, I say he was just trying to make the story A LITTLE more interesting than it already is (sarcasm). Aaron Sorkin not only made the story more interesting, he made it smarter and more thrilling. Performance wise? I will have to admit that I think The Social Network will dominate the Oscars in the acting categories. Jesse Eisenberg gave one hell of a performance! Since he had been playing a loser-with-no-girlfriend kind of guy, this is really typical for him. His fast talking and annoying ass attitude really stole every scene that the camera sets on him. Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake also gave fine, dramatic performances which MIGHT earn them an Oscar nod. But in terms of Jesse Eisenberg, he is guaranteed an Oscar nomination (he might even win considering there is no other good movies this time of year). Directing, writing, and acting all great in one movie is rare (to say the least). The Social Network succeeds in every assets that the film was trying to achieve. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    It was a hell of a move, the acting, writing, direction, and cinematography was close to perfect, but at times you do feel the creators are trying overly hard to achieve perfection, and now allowing imperfection to come naturally. They cannot fully control the overall response to the movie, as hard as they may try. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    "The Social Network" is a dexterous production, surrounding the past decade impeccably and methodically. Mr. Zuckerberg has created a new world, and in the process of creating this world -- punitive complications circulate the "God of the internet" in a myriad of forms. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Excellent film. The magnificent dialogue carries the movie, as Fincher takes a new "less is more approach" to his directing style. One of the best of the year. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    When I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trash I've ever seen. My first and biggest gripe was Jesse Eisenberg. He is a absolutely horrible actor. He sucks, plain and simple. He tries so hard to be like Michael Cera, that he ends up failing. His role wasn't the best either. The character of Mark Zuckerberg is to put simply, a douche bag. I'm sorry I don't want to sit there for two hours and watch some guy think his **** don't stink. I was happy that Rooney Mara's role was very short because she is one of the most annoying actress's out there. The film in itself was just generic. I felt David Fincher was selling out so he can appeal to a younger audience. Everything else was just mediocre and overlooked. The only good thing was the script. It was fresh and crisp and the dialogue was witty and tight, but it wasn't enough to save this film from becoming, just like Zuckerberg, a douche bag itself. Expand

See all 325 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  6. The Social Network: Inside the Reviews

    The Social Network: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: October 6, 2010
    David Fincher's "The Social Network" is attracting critical praise like no other film released so far this year. We take a closer look at the reviews to find out exactly what makes the film so good, and what faults might be present despite the high Metascore.
  7. This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In

    This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In Image
    Published: October 1, 2010
    This week, our focus is on three extremely infrequent events: a major film with phenomenal reviews ("The Social Network," which, by one measure, is now the best film in our database); a horror remake with critical acclaim ("Let Me In"), and an early fall cancellation victim that was well-liked by critics ("Lone Star").