User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 157

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    Man, is it just me or does Mr. Cage desperately need money? His performance in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is hurried and unusually weak, followed by the idiotic story and dialogue disney motion pictures threw in. In other words, the movie is a terrible blockbuster (LOL, considering the money it earned its not even considered a blockbuster).
  2. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    The one thing the film has going for it are the visual effects. Everything else is, in the best case scenario, mediocre. The story was not very well written and the screenplay was messy. Dialogues were ok, nothing out of the extraordinary - just a typical Disney film type of screenplay. Visually, though, there were some impressive effects, and the film was very nice to the eye. That being said, the acting was quite bad, especially disappointing from Nicholas Cage. The lead actor/kid was rather bland and annoying, and Monica Bellucci's role was a cameo, to say the least. It is NOT a good film, but it will keep you entertained for the two hours it's long, for which the visual effects are the main contributor, I'd say. Worth watching if you have no expectations. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    4
    Funny thing is I couldn't imagine this film without Cage. He's great, as usual. The only problem is the increasingly weak script, which amounts to a plot that makes no sense, dialogue that makes you cringe and a conclusion that pays off as much as the Sopranos final episode. - Duke & The Movies

    http://dukeandthemovies.com/quick-review/the-sorcerers-apprentice
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    uuu special effects
    soundtrack bad
    story bad
    overall movie: extremely bad
    If you are under 12 I understand why you would like this though.
    Airbender was close to this one also.
  5. Aug 11, 2011
    0
    I left on the middle of the movie, but! If the second half was like the first one, then the movie sucks. The characters are so annoying it hurts and Nicolas should choose better movies, I mean, he's a talented actor, he won an Academy Award for god's sake! I really don't like the movie. Sorry, but it just doesn't work for me.
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a great story that is absolutely destroyed by Disney. When a movie starts out with swords and wizards in the 8th century, and then all of a sudden jumps to a kid on the school bus with Jimmy Eat World playing in the background, you know you're in for some trouble. This story is about a Sorcerer, looking for his mythological apprentice, to fight an evil that could destroy the world. The film stars action veteran Nicholas Cage. It's got a huge budget for lots of cool special effects...and Disney turns into a kids movie with a farting dog, a fantasiaesq cleaning scene, and of course a nerd who becomes a hero. It had such potential, but turned out to be such a Disney Cliché that I wanted to vomit. Sorcerer's Apprentice is another great story completely destroyed by over the top effects and garbage from the money hungry giant known as Disney! Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    Surprisingly decent and entertaining. Cage and Baruchel are good together, and the effects are good too. Overall, I liked it. Very similar to Percy Jackson which I also liked.
  8. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    las cosa podrian tornarse mejor sin embargo es divertida y puede manejar grandes emociones al verla esta bien hecha pero aun es lo suficientemente convincente para mejor calificacion
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    60
    Despite Cage in a snit, it's a likable if functional summer-show.
  2. "Apprentice" lurches from one been-there-done-that sequence to another.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The magic here feels machine-made and depressingly state-of-the-art.