User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 154
  2. Negative: 22 out of 154

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    I found this an enjoyable movie and definitely worth watching the acting from the cast was good and the storyline was satisfactory. i would definitely recommend the movie to people as i can see no reason why anyone shouldn't enjoy it
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Great film. Best this year by far but let's be honest, it's Disney so would you really expect any less???
    Great for anyone of any age to enjoy.
    10/10.
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    At the start of this film, I wasn't sure if it would be my type of movie but after the first 10 minutes, the film got a lot better and it turned out to be a fantastic film and one that I would watch over and over again. Jay Baruchel was fantastic in the lead role and impressed me.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome, the cast was great, and it's hilarious!! There's a couple of cliches, but I expected that!! I love this movie!! Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is one film for which i have to disagree with the critics. It is one of the best movies i have watched this year. It's funny, exciting and bursting with creativity at every turn. Just plain good entertainment. It is probably one movie at which you would probably have to leave your brain outside, but that is actually a good thing. You would be surprised at how much you would enjoy the show if you just keep an open mind Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Sure, Jay Baruchel's character may be a border-line annoying character, but after watching Prince of Persia and Inception, two movies that didn't live up to their expectations, it was a relief to finally watch this great action movie. I would've loved to see a sequel, but looking at the box office numbers, that, unfortunately, isn't going to happen.
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    BUY THIS! It's an epic movie. Excellent soundtrack, presentation, story and drama. The acting might have been slightly predictable at times but Cage was very good. Overall I'll give it a 10.
  8. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Being somebody who hasn't read the books I wasn't sure what to make of this film. I am a Nick Cage fan though I have been disappointed with a bunch of his newer movies. Overall though I really felt like this movie kind of got a bum rape. The characters are all likable even one of the villains is an extremely fun character. The plot movies along okay even though it kind of peters off at the end into the normal Hollywood ending. If I had seen this in theaters I probably would have been disappointed to drop 10 bucks on it but renting it I really felt satisfied, overall a pretty good watch Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music. Bad thing is that weird starring Canadien dude. i should say, he reminded me of myself with his geekness, :P
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    60
    Despite Cage in a snit, it's a likable if functional summer-show.
  2. "Apprentice" lurches from one been-there-done-that sequence to another.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The magic here feels machine-made and depressingly state-of-the-art.