Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: July 14, 2010
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 183 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
87
Mixed:
73
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
VixrementoNov 20, 2010
You don't need to see my faculty identification card...
"I don't need your faculty identification card"
... These are not the droids you're looking for...lol An enjoyable movie that shouldn't be approached as a serious movie (it has magic in
You don't need to see my faculty identification card...
"I don't need your faculty identification card"
...
These are not the droids you're looking for...lol

An enjoyable movie that shouldn't be approached as a serious movie (it has magic in it...it's about magic...it has a magical title - what were you expecting? Predictable, sure - but that doesn't prevent it from being an enjoyable fun movie (and quite frankly it blows the socks off the first two Harry Potter movies!)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DukeJan 4, 2011
Funny thing is I couldn't imagine this film without Cage. He's great, as usual. The only problem is the increasingly weak script, which amounts to a plot that makes no sense, dialogue that makes you cringe and a conclusion that pays off asFunny thing is I couldn't imagine this film without Cage. He's great, as usual. The only problem is the increasingly weak script, which amounts to a plot that makes no sense, dialogue that makes you cringe and a conclusion that pays off as much as the Sopranos final episode. - Duke & The Movies

http://dukeandthemovies.com/quick-review/the-sorcerers-apprentice
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GhuaNov 21, 2010
Very enjoyable movie despite main character was a bit funny. Good effects, spells were quite spectacular, there was even a car race ;) If you look for something light, I recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheGorillaAug 11, 2011
I left on the middle of the movie, but! If the second half was like the first one, then the movie sucks. The characters are so annoying it hurts and Nicolas should choose better movies, I mean, he's a talented actor, he won an Academy AwardI left on the middle of the movie, but! If the second half was like the first one, then the movie sucks. The characters are so annoying it hurts and Nicolas should choose better movies, I mean, he's a talented actor, he won an Academy Award for god's sake! I really don't like the movie. Sorry, but it just doesn't work for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeaceWalkerMar 12, 2011
BUY THIS! It's an epic movie. Excellent soundtrack, presentation, story and drama. The acting might have been slightly predictable at times but Cage was very good. Overall I'll give it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
Being somebody who hasn't read the books I wasn't sure what to make of this film. I am a Nick Cage fan though I have been disappointed with a bunch of his newer movies. Overall though I really felt like this movie kind of got a bum rape. TheBeing somebody who hasn't read the books I wasn't sure what to make of this film. I am a Nick Cage fan though I have been disappointed with a bunch of his newer movies. Overall though I really felt like this movie kind of got a bum rape. The characters are all likable even one of the villains is an extremely fun character. The plot movies along okay even though it kind of peters off at the end into the normal Hollywood ending. If I had seen this in theaters I probably would have been disappointed to drop 10 bucks on it but renting it I really felt satisfied, overall a pretty good watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wormyrugJul 15, 2011
A surprisingly competent performance by jay baruchel who showed remarkable ability with forcing a laugh frok the audience, coupled with a fantastic showing by cage meant this film was a joy to watch. With top class supporting roles by teresaA surprisingly competent performance by jay baruchel who showed remarkable ability with forcing a laugh frok the audience, coupled with a fantastic showing by cage meant this film was a joy to watch. With top class supporting roles by teresa palmer and alfred molina, i truly enjoyed this film although the script was occasionally found lacking and the plot somewhat predictable. Still much better than many of the harry potter movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
julian_zizzleOct 8, 2011
I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music.I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music. Bad thing is that weird starring Canadien dude. i should say, he reminded me of myself with his geekness, :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
Its not terrible, its just okay. Its got impressive visual effects but the story is particularly hard to follow towards the end. Thats where it suffers the most.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a great story that is absolutely destroyed by Disney. When a movie starts out with swords and wizards in the 8th century, and then all of a sudden jumps to a kid on the school bus with Jimmy Eat World playing inThe Sorcerer's Apprentice is a great story that is absolutely destroyed by Disney. When a movie starts out with swords and wizards in the 8th century, and then all of a sudden jumps to a kid on the school bus with Jimmy Eat World playing in the background, you know you're in for some trouble. This story is about a Sorcerer, looking for his mythological apprentice, to fight an evil that could destroy the world. The film stars action veteran Nicholas Cage. It's got a huge budget for lots of cool special effects...and Disney turns into a kids movie with a farting dog, a fantasiaesq cleaning scene, and of course a nerd who becomes a hero. It had such potential, but turned out to be such a Disney Cliché that I wanted to vomit. Sorcerer's Apprentice is another great story completely destroyed by over the top effects and garbage from the money hungry giant known as Disney! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AquophisDec 28, 2011
Okay, so maybe it has a lot of fantasy cliches, but the main character is so likable you can forget all that. In a time where the "nerd" demographic is increasing so exponentially, a character like this will be very easy for many viewers toOkay, so maybe it has a lot of fantasy cliches, but the main character is so likable you can forget all that. In a time where the "nerd" demographic is increasing so exponentially, a character like this will be very easy for many viewers to relate to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
This movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem too hurried (although they could have taken their time unfolding it, really, since all that information wasThis movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem too hurried (although they could have taken their time unfolding it, really, since all that information was important when it came to the rest of the movie).

All in all everything seems just dandy; the acting, the story, the twists and turns and humor just roll in and keep it all nice and tight.

Then something happens. At the most crucial moment, when the real action begins, the details get really messy and the plot kind of gritty. They start hurrying on and add more layers too fast. As good as the effects (I even enjoyed Nicholas Cage in this one), the story just deflates.

The romantic relationship of Dave and Berky seemed too fake and fast, and when she just takes the truth about Dave's life without more than a shrug, it's really ridiculous (at that point, a normal person should give the other at least a comment of doubt, even feel horror and suspicion about his mental health). The end is totally clichéd with them flying off to some sappy, happy ending.

I would have rated the movie better based on the beginning, but near the end things simply lost focus. They just had to get a happy conclusion by force, and the wicked undertone disappeared. Everyone was nice and comfortable with the truth of what they were and what they had to do.

Worth the watch, and an enjoyable movie, but clearly there was too much mushiness for me there ;)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 15, 2013
Nicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem with this film is that the magic doesn't seem like "Harry Potter". It's more like machine-generated andNicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem with this film is that the magic doesn't seem like "Harry Potter". It's more like machine-generated and doesn't have the craft and style like "Harry Potter". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This was a fun film which brings around reminiscent thoughts about childhood. A mixture of Harry Potter, Fantasia and just about any other children's film, this was enjoyable despite the fact that I am 19. Jay Baruchel is quickly becoming oneThis was a fun film which brings around reminiscent thoughts about childhood. A mixture of Harry Potter, Fantasia and just about any other children's film, this was enjoyable despite the fact that I am 19. Jay Baruchel is quickly becoming one of my favourite actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Surprisingly decent and entertaining. Cage and Baruchel are good together, and the effects are good too. Overall, I liked it. Very similar to Percy Jackson which I also liked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Sep 27, 2013
While I know this movie isn't everyone's cup of tea. I loved it. It has everything I could ever want from a Disney live action movie. Adventure, Drama, comedy great FX.

The back story is a little weak and cliched, but great performances
While I know this movie isn't everyone's cup of tea. I loved it. It has everything I could ever want from a Disney live action movie. Adventure, Drama, comedy great FX.

The back story is a little weak and cliched, but great performances from Molina, Baruchel and even Cage.

It is clear this could be more and and times the movie feels like it is rushing itself in the middle. For once, I would say this is where they should have added a few more scenes to show David's progression from Apprentice to full on sorcerer.

Overall:
While it is not the best Disney movie out there, I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I really do feel this movie would have worked better as a TV show than a movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 24, 2013
las cosa podrian tornarse mejor sin embargo es divertida y puede manejar grandes emociones al verla esta bien hecha pero aun es lo suficientemente convincente para mejor calificacion
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AVTRlover41Aug 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very enjoyable, in my opinion. Most of the Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney Movies are really good. The gloriously villainous Horvath played by Alfred Molina made the movie for me. Keep the villain roles for Alfred Molina coming. I loved the part that paid tribute to the short in Fantasia. Great overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
What? A Nicolas Cage movie from the 2010's that's actually decent? Well, "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" might just be that film. It won't win any Oscars, but it is just entertaining enough for us to slightly forgive all the holes and flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FreedomFightersNov 26, 2016
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" isn't all that bad, and it actually has some likable elements: the cast is committed, the CGI is nice, and it knows how to have some good ol' fun. That said, it definitely isn't beautifully written, and while the"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" isn't all that bad, and it actually has some likable elements: the cast is committed, the CGI is nice, and it knows how to have some good ol' fun. That said, it definitely isn't beautifully written, and while the acting is fine, the characters themselves are not memorable. On top of that, the film definitely plays as "undemanding Summer blockbuster that you'll like if you can turn your brain off." All in all, "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is nothing awful, but it's nothing spectacular, and my ultimate recommendation is that, if you can turn off your brain, you'll have plenty of fun with it. If you're looking for wonderful storytelling, though, look elsewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesApr 3, 2015
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is a so-so picture. I mean, it's kind of a mixed bag, I have mixed feelings about it. Some parts of it were pretty boring, the slapstick is mostly uninspiring but there are some funny parts, as well as a widening"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is a so-so picture. I mean, it's kind of a mixed bag, I have mixed feelings about it. Some parts of it were pretty boring, the slapstick is mostly uninspiring but there are some funny parts, as well as a widening cast of talented actors like Alfred Molina and Nicolas Cage (yeah, he is an entertaining actor), and the special effects are good, at least for the most part. All in all, I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either. Worth a view though.

Final Score: 5/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome, the cast was great, and it's hilarious!! There's a couple of cliches, but I expected that!! I love this movie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeMar 5, 2016
Once again another Nicholas Cage flick, another Nicholas Cage fail. The Sorcerer's Apprentice tries so hard via special effects and visual effects and fails to excite us out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews