Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: July 14, 2010
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 181 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
72
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RadeM.Jul 17, 2010
My girlfriend, my sister and I really liked this movie, and we are in late twenties. It reminded us of childhood. It has funny moments, not too many slow moments and a predictable story that was told in a good and interesting way. In fact My girlfriend, my sister and I really liked this movie, and we are in late twenties. It reminded us of childhood. It has funny moments, not too many slow moments and a predictable story that was told in a good and interesting way. In fact everything we expected from this movie we've got in the end. My sister even asked me if there would be a sequel! :) Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
7
ChadSJul 16, 2010
From a park bench, Balthazar(Nicolas Cage), a former nesting doll prisoner enjoying his first meal in a thousand years, can see that Becky(Teresa Palmer), a college radio deejay who is heading toward the subway after a night of indie rock From a park bench, Balthazar(Nicolas Cage), a former nesting doll prisoner enjoying his first meal in a thousand years, can see that Becky(Teresa Palmer), a college radio deejay who is heading toward the subway after a night of indie rock proselytizing, is clearly out of Dave's league, so he waves a pickle(it's not an especially large pickle) at his apprentice because he knows a little overcompensation couldn't hurt the physics nerd's chances for an intimate relationship. What if she's a size queen? And boy, does Dave(Jay Baruchel) overcompensate big time, as the bling on his finger turns the one-time laughingstock of the fifth grade into a powerful conjurer of magic, which more than makes up for the boy's slight physique and small "pickle". Right away, the ring pays off dividends, when Dave apprehends a mugger who had just stolen Becky's bling that had belonged to her grandmother, and as a result, proves Balthazar right since now the NYU student positions himself as a potential suitor. At first, Dave overcompensates with brains(good enough to be her good friend), when he restores the radio station's low wattage signal, enabling Becky to broadcast her show. (She seems more Maroon 5 than Fleet Foxes.) But now that Dave understands what being the Prime Meridian could entail, this seemingly unapproachable girl is no longer out of his league. There's a small problem, though. Telling a beautiful girl that you're the second coming of Merlin, in most cases, would be an automatic dealbreaker, and this is where "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" errs dramatically. The film should have established an interim period in which Becky thinks Dave's childhood tormentors were right to dismiss the boy as a weirdo(the incident at Arcana Cabana). It would have made the final sequence of action all the more galvanizing, in which she'd realize that the Tesla boy was telling her the truth. But Becky learns about Dave's secret at the wrong time, rendering his pronouncement into an anti-climactic reveal. That's because Cage is the star, so the apprentice's desperate need to overcome his shortcomings can't upstage Balthazar's second chance at love with Veronica(Monica Belucci). As Dave withstands Morgan's best shot, then, in return, goes on the offensive, the filmmaker needs Becky for corresponding reaction shots, but since "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" never loses focus on the relationship between teacher and student, it's Balthazar's reaction shots that matter. Had Becky witnessed Dave's duel to the death with Morgan(Alice Krige), Baruchel would have stolen the movie away from Cage. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Andy92Aug 19, 2010
I found this an enjoyable movie and definitely worth watching the acting from the cast was good and the storyline was satisfactory. i would definitely recommend the movie to people as i can see no reason why anyone shouldn't enjoy it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mikebJul 16, 2010
Kind of like harry potter, but without all the tweens.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
rileysJul 16, 2010
I saw this movie in the theaters the other day and i really enjoyed it. I though they did a good job with the texuring of action and story. Good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
gina86Aug 17, 2010
Great film. Best this year by far but let's be honest, it's Disney so would you really expect any less???
Great for anyone of any age to enjoy.
10/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JamesNWAOct 13, 2010
At the start of this film, I wasn't sure if it would be my type of movie but after the first 10 minutes, the film got a lot better and it turned out to be a fantastic film and one that I would watch over and over again. Jay Baruchel wasAt the start of this film, I wasn't sure if it would be my type of movie but after the first 10 minutes, the film got a lot better and it turned out to be a fantastic film and one that I would watch over and over again. Jay Baruchel was fantastic in the lead role and impressed me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
Man, is it just me or does Mr. Cage desperately need money? His performance in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is hurried and unusually weak, followed by the idiotic story and dialogue disney motion pictures threw in. In other words, the movie isMan, is it just me or does Mr. Cage desperately need money? His performance in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is hurried and unusually weak, followed by the idiotic story and dialogue disney motion pictures threw in. In other words, the movie is a terrible blockbuster (LOL, considering the money it earned its not even considered a blockbuster). Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
AlanGJul 16, 2010
This movie is awesome!! Screw the critics!! Its definetly better than Airbender. Bring on the sequels!
9 of 13 users found this helpful
3
dang.Jul 19, 2010
Where do they find these male leads these days?? jay barawhatever reminds me of the kid in spider man: wimpy. jay has pharynxy, nasal, sinusy voice ... positively put me off my kettlekorn. maybe hollywood is trying to get back to when Where do they find these male leads these days?? jay barawhatever reminds me of the kid in spider man: wimpy. jay has pharynxy, nasal, sinusy voice ... positively put me off my kettlekorn. maybe hollywood is trying to get back to when leading men didn't need looks (edward g robinson, et al)... at least the women are still hot, tho i have some mixt feelings re cursing, increasing displays of cleavage, the f and other questionable initialed words... next time i'm sneaking in some cracker jacks. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful
7
AlmasAJul 17, 2010
Entertaining, humorous, romantic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ConcernedMoviegoerJul 18, 2010
Shameless cash-in on the popularity of Harry Potter and the washed-up actor Nicholas Cage. Spare yourself the awfulness and go see something else.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
6
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
There is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlier than most and chases after them until they can firmly hold the power they are meant to have in theThere is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlier than most and chases after them until they can firmly hold the power they are meant to have in the palm of there hands. Some are meant to be doctors, some are meant to be lawyers, some are meant to be cops, bank mangers, soldiers, politicians, historians, film directors, screen play writers, film critics, novelists the list goes on and on. We shape our future by what we do in the here and now and what path we choose to walk the only exception is a lanky young man named David "Dave" Stutler a physics nerd who thinks he is on the right track to his future. Little does he know that fate has something far more important part for the young David to play little does he know that he is about to become "The Sorcerer's Apprentice.â Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
simplexNov 12, 2010
uuu special effects
soundtrack bad
story bad
overall movie: extremely bad
If you are under 12 I understand why you would like this though.
Airbender was close to this one also.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiJan 17, 2011
Did you ever watch Mickey Mouse FANTASIA in 2000? Thiz is meant to be the live action version. Mickey Mouse character replaced by nerd character specialist, Jay Baruchel (as Dave). And the master played by Nicolas Cage (as Balthazar). TheDid you ever watch Mickey Mouse FANTASIA in 2000? Thiz is meant to be the live action version. Mickey Mouse character replaced by nerd character specialist, Jay Baruchel (as Dave). And the master played by Nicolas Cage (as Balthazar). The scene from FANTASIA, when the apprentice works his imperfect spell to command all brooms and mops to do some cleaning jobs is the only homage to original version, along with its original score theme. Despite of that goodness, you are about to see an hour and half of Cartoon. The jokes are still funny but the story is completely predictable and fully anticipated. Everyone seems to be drawn into giant vortex of comic character, without exception: Nic Cage, Alfred Molina, Toby Kebbell and Monica Bellucci. The only fresh appearance is made by new gorgeous face, Teresa Palmer as Dave girlfriend. The magical battle is seeming to use some iconic images in New York (which the movie took place), like Bronze Charging Bull in front of Wall Street, and the Giant Iron Eagle which is perching on one of the famous buildings. The Director Jon Turteltaub has been tangled into CGI festival, which puts aside a lot of factors in story and characters development. Thiz NATIONAL TREASURE (2004) is not a PHENOMENON (1996), the movie could still be running WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING (1995). I shortly described it as Special Effects exhibition which is trapped inside the cage. It is NOT the coolest job ever.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
JoshuaSJul 18, 2010
The effects are breath-taking and Nicolas Cage is such a great actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveZ.Jul 19, 2010
Very nice, entertaining but predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DiJavanteA.Jul 16, 2010
Not a very good movie. Short bits of dumb funny parts, terrible dialogue, and choppy storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredCJul 17, 2010
Without doubt, great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Dec 7, 2010
Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a badBeing a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome, the cast was great, and it's hilarious!! There's a couple of cliches, but I expected that!! I love this movie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kidcoyoteAug 11, 2010
People need to keep in mind this is movie is made by Disney. While I did enjoy the movie for what it was, there where a few things I wish was done differently, first more back story on Nick Cage's character (Bathazar), I found his flashbacksPeople need to keep in mind this is movie is made by Disney. While I did enjoy the movie for what it was, there where a few things I wish was done differently, first more back story on Nick Cage's character (Bathazar), I found his flashbacks and him explaining his past more interesting than anything. Two, NOT EVERY MOVIE NEEDS A LOVE INTEREST, I get it, nerdy boy likes cute girl. Doesn't think he's good enough and wants to impress her. It's been done before. Hey Hollywood not every attractive girl is a sweetheart. This story didn't need her. But hey it's Disney so what do you expect. The love triangle between Bathazar and the villain (I forgot his name) with his love interest (I forget her name too) was more interesting than the kid's. But all in all the movie was a great little distraction. By far not the greatest movie but it did what it set out to do. If your expecting some epic movie like Harry Potter you'll be disappointed. But any average movie goer (not for your cinema snobs) would have fun taking their family for night out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
smijatovAug 28, 2011
The one thing the film has going for it are the visual effects. Everything else is, in the best case scenario, mediocre. The story was not very well written and the screenplay was messy. Dialogues were ok, nothing out of the extraordinary -The one thing the film has going for it are the visual effects. Everything else is, in the best case scenario, mediocre. The story was not very well written and the screenplay was messy. Dialogues were ok, nothing out of the extraordinary - just a typical Disney film type of screenplay. Visually, though, there were some impressive effects, and the film was very nice to the eye. That being said, the acting was quite bad, especially disappointing from Nicholas Cage. The lead actor/kid was rather bland and annoying, and Monica Bellucci's role was a cameo, to say the least. It is NOT a good film, but it will keep you entertained for the two hours it's long, for which the visual effects are the main contributor, I'd say. Worth watching if you have no expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HarbingerAug 13, 2010
It was ok-decent. The overly-used CGI and the cast can't save the cliche-fiiled plot that is throughly predictable, and lacks any character development of any kind, making it impossible to truly care for anything that's happening. A 6/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xiuyiwangAug 14, 2010
This is one film for which i have to disagree with the critics. It is one of the best movies i have watched this year. It's funny, exciting and bursting with creativity at every turn. Just plain good entertainment. It is probably one movie atThis is one film for which i have to disagree with the critics. It is one of the best movies i have watched this year. It's funny, exciting and bursting with creativity at every turn. Just plain good entertainment. It is probably one movie at which you would probably have to leave your brain outside, but that is actually a good thing. You would be surprised at how much you would enjoy the show if you just keep an open mind Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
echonnSep 11, 2010
It is far from being original, but is quite enjoyable. Acting is OK, Alfred Molina does always a great job, Nicolas Cage's role is average, but I don't think you really care about this in a Disney production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreshTomatoSep 12, 2010
This movie is good, i hope you like it. The movie itself is well made,
special effects are nothing special, is a nice story. My vote is 7.0 , because is a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Jul 15, 2011
Sure, Jay Baruchel's character may be a border-line annoying character, but after watching Prince of Persia and Inception, two movies that didn't live up to their expectations, it was a relief to finally watch this great action movie. ISure, Jay Baruchel's character may be a border-line annoying character, but after watching Prince of Persia and Inception, two movies that didn't live up to their expectations, it was a relief to finally watch this great action movie. I would've loved to see a sequel, but looking at the box office numbers, that, unfortunately, isn't going to happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice i hate to say , Does not bring the magic & the chemistry between Baruchel and Cage just was not there, also plot development , but Apprentice was also fun , imaginative and dare i say it at times somewhat entertaining" .. B
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrDec 22, 2010
The always enjoyable Alfred Molina keeps the film afloat and young Jay Baruchel is geeky enough to produce a few laughs. But casting directors should seriously consider alternatives when thinking of getting Nicolas Cage on board the project.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
an entertaining segment from the animated movie

Rating: 82%
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VixrementoNov 20, 2010
You don't need to see my faculty identification card...
"I don't need your faculty identification card"
... These are not the droids you're looking for...lol An enjoyable movie that shouldn't be approached as a serious movie (it has magic in
You don't need to see my faculty identification card...
"I don't need your faculty identification card"
...
These are not the droids you're looking for...lol

An enjoyable movie that shouldn't be approached as a serious movie (it has magic in it...it's about magic...it has a magical title - what were you expecting? Predictable, sure - but that doesn't prevent it from being an enjoyable fun movie (and quite frankly it blows the socks off the first two Harry Potter movies!)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DukeJan 4, 2011
Funny thing is I couldn't imagine this film without Cage. He's great, as usual. The only problem is the increasingly weak script, which amounts to a plot that makes no sense, dialogue that makes you cringe and a conclusion that pays off asFunny thing is I couldn't imagine this film without Cage. He's great, as usual. The only problem is the increasingly weak script, which amounts to a plot that makes no sense, dialogue that makes you cringe and a conclusion that pays off as much as the Sopranos final episode. - Duke & The Movies

http://dukeandthemovies.com/quick-review/the-sorcerers-apprentice
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GhuaNov 21, 2010
Very enjoyable movie despite main character was a bit funny. Good effects, spells were quite spectacular, there was even a car race ;) If you look for something light, I recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheGorillaAug 11, 2011
I left on the middle of the movie, but! If the second half was like the first one, then the movie sucks. The characters are so annoying it hurts and Nicolas should choose better movies, I mean, he's a talented actor, he won an Academy AwardI left on the middle of the movie, but! If the second half was like the first one, then the movie sucks. The characters are so annoying it hurts and Nicolas should choose better movies, I mean, he's a talented actor, he won an Academy Award for god's sake! I really don't like the movie. Sorry, but it just doesn't work for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeaceWalkerMar 12, 2011
BUY THIS! It's an epic movie. Excellent soundtrack, presentation, story and drama. The acting might have been slightly predictable at times but Cage was very good. Overall I'll give it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
Being somebody who hasn't read the books I wasn't sure what to make of this film. I am a Nick Cage fan though I have been disappointed with a bunch of his newer movies. Overall though I really felt like this movie kind of got a bum rape. TheBeing somebody who hasn't read the books I wasn't sure what to make of this film. I am a Nick Cage fan though I have been disappointed with a bunch of his newer movies. Overall though I really felt like this movie kind of got a bum rape. The characters are all likable even one of the villains is an extremely fun character. The plot movies along okay even though it kind of peters off at the end into the normal Hollywood ending. If I had seen this in theaters I probably would have been disappointed to drop 10 bucks on it but renting it I really felt satisfied, overall a pretty good watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wormyrugJul 15, 2011
A surprisingly competent performance by jay baruchel who showed remarkable ability with forcing a laugh frok the audience, coupled with a fantastic showing by cage meant this film was a joy to watch. With top class supporting roles by teresaA surprisingly competent performance by jay baruchel who showed remarkable ability with forcing a laugh frok the audience, coupled with a fantastic showing by cage meant this film was a joy to watch. With top class supporting roles by teresa palmer and alfred molina, i truly enjoyed this film although the script was occasionally found lacking and the plot somewhat predictable. Still much better than many of the harry potter movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
julian_zizzleOct 8, 2011
I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music.I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music. Bad thing is that weird starring Canadien dude. i should say, he reminded me of myself with his geekness, :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraNov 9, 2011
THE SORCERER'S APPRENTICE is a silly film, but it's fun and entertaining and is also family friendly as well. Great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
Its not terrible, its just okay. Its got impressive visual effects but the story is particularly hard to follow towards the end. Thats where it suffers the most.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a great story that is absolutely destroyed by Disney. When a movie starts out with swords and wizards in the 8th century, and then all of a sudden jumps to a kid on the school bus with Jimmy Eat World playing inThe Sorcerer's Apprentice is a great story that is absolutely destroyed by Disney. When a movie starts out with swords and wizards in the 8th century, and then all of a sudden jumps to a kid on the school bus with Jimmy Eat World playing in the background, you know you're in for some trouble. This story is about a Sorcerer, looking for his mythological apprentice, to fight an evil that could destroy the world. The film stars action veteran Nicholas Cage. It's got a huge budget for lots of cool special effects...and Disney turns into a kids movie with a farting dog, a fantasiaesq cleaning scene, and of course a nerd who becomes a hero. It had such potential, but turned out to be such a Disney Cliché that I wanted to vomit. Sorcerer's Apprentice is another great story completely destroyed by over the top effects and garbage from the money hungry giant known as Disney! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AquophisDec 28, 2011
Okay, so maybe it has a lot of fantasy cliches, but the main character is so likable you can forget all that. In a time where the "nerd" demographic is increasing so exponentially, a character like this will be very easy for many viewers toOkay, so maybe it has a lot of fantasy cliches, but the main character is so likable you can forget all that. In a time where the "nerd" demographic is increasing so exponentially, a character like this will be very easy for many viewers to relate to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
This movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem too hurried (although they could have taken their time unfolding it, really, since all that information wasThis movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem too hurried (although they could have taken their time unfolding it, really, since all that information was important when it came to the rest of the movie).

All in all everything seems just dandy; the acting, the story, the twists and turns and humor just roll in and keep it all nice and tight.

Then something happens. At the most crucial moment, when the real action begins, the details get really messy and the plot kind of gritty. They start hurrying on and add more layers too fast. As good as the effects (I even enjoyed Nicholas Cage in this one), the story just deflates.

The romantic relationship of Dave and Berky seemed too fake and fast, and when she just takes the truth about Dave's life without more than a shrug, it's really ridiculous (at that point, a normal person should give the other at least a comment of doubt, even feel horror and suspicion about his mental health). The end is totally clichéd with them flying off to some sappy, happy ending.

I would have rated the movie better based on the beginning, but near the end things simply lost focus. They just had to get a happy conclusion by force, and the wicked undertone disappeared. Everyone was nice and comfortable with the truth of what they were and what they had to do.

Worth the watch, and an enjoyable movie, but clearly there was too much mushiness for me there ;)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 15, 2013
Nicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem with this film is that the magic doesn't seem like "Harry Potter". It's more like machine-generated andNicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem with this film is that the magic doesn't seem like "Harry Potter". It's more like machine-generated and doesn't have the craft and style like "Harry Potter". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This was a fun film which brings around reminiscent thoughts about childhood. A mixture of Harry Potter, Fantasia and just about any other children's film, this was enjoyable despite the fact that I am 19. Jay Baruchel is quickly becoming oneThis was a fun film which brings around reminiscent thoughts about childhood. A mixture of Harry Potter, Fantasia and just about any other children's film, this was enjoyable despite the fact that I am 19. Jay Baruchel is quickly becoming one of my favourite actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Surprisingly decent and entertaining. Cage and Baruchel are good together, and the effects are good too. Overall, I liked it. Very similar to Percy Jackson which I also liked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Sep 27, 2013
While I know this movie isn't everyone's cup of tea. I loved it. It has everything I could ever want from a Disney live action movie. Adventure, Drama, comedy great FX.

The back story is a little weak and cliched, but great performances
While I know this movie isn't everyone's cup of tea. I loved it. It has everything I could ever want from a Disney live action movie. Adventure, Drama, comedy great FX.

The back story is a little weak and cliched, but great performances from Molina, Baruchel and even Cage.

It is clear this could be more and and times the movie feels like it is rushing itself in the middle. For once, I would say this is where they should have added a few more scenes to show David's progression from Apprentice to full on sorcerer.

Overall:
While it is not the best Disney movie out there, I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I really do feel this movie would have worked better as a TV show than a movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 24, 2013
las cosa podrian tornarse mejor sin embargo es divertida y puede manejar grandes emociones al verla esta bien hecha pero aun es lo suficientemente convincente para mejor calificacion
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AVTRlover41Aug 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very enjoyable, in my opinion. Most of the Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney Movies are really good. The gloriously villainous Horvath played by Alfred Molina made the movie for me. Keep the villain roles for Alfred Molina coming. I loved the part that paid tribute to the short in Fantasia. Great overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
What? A Nicolas Cage movie from the 2010's that's actually decent? Well, "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" might just be that film. It won't win any Oscars, but it is just entertaining enough for us to slightly forgive all the holes and flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FreedomFightersNov 26, 2016
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" isn't all that bad, and it actually has some likable elements: the cast is committed, the CGI is nice, and it knows how to have some good ol' fun. That said, it definitely isn't beautifully written, and while the"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" isn't all that bad, and it actually has some likable elements: the cast is committed, the CGI is nice, and it knows how to have some good ol' fun. That said, it definitely isn't beautifully written, and while the acting is fine, the characters themselves are not memorable. On top of that, the film definitely plays as "undemanding Summer blockbuster that you'll like if you can turn your brain off." All in all, "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is nothing awful, but it's nothing spectacular, and my ultimate recommendation is that, if you can turn off your brain, you'll have plenty of fun with it. If you're looking for wonderful storytelling, though, look elsewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesApr 3, 2015
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is a so-so picture. I mean, it's kind of a mixed bag, I have mixed feelings about it. Some parts of it were pretty boring, the slapstick is mostly uninspiring but there are some funny parts, as well as a widening"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is a so-so picture. I mean, it's kind of a mixed bag, I have mixed feelings about it. Some parts of it were pretty boring, the slapstick is mostly uninspiring but there are some funny parts, as well as a widening cast of talented actors like Alfred Molina and Nicolas Cage (yeah, he is an entertaining actor), and the special effects are good, at least for the most part. All in all, I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either. Worth a view though.

Final Score: 5/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome, the cast was great, and it's hilarious!! There's a couple of cliches, but I expected that!! I love this movie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeMar 5, 2016
Once again another Nicholas Cage flick, another Nicholas Cage fail. The Sorcerer's Apprentice tries so hard via special effects and visual effects and fails to excite us out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews