The Sorcerer's Apprentice Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Balthazar Blake is a master sorcerer in modern-day Manhattan trying to defend the city from his arch-nemesis, Maxim Horvath. Balthazar can't do it alone, so he recruits Dave Stutler, a seemingly average guy who demonstrates hidden potential, as his reluctant protégé. The sorcerer gives hisBalthazar Blake is a master sorcerer in modern-day Manhattan trying to defend the city from his arch-nemesis, Maxim Horvath. Balthazar can't do it alone, so he recruits Dave Stutler, a seemingly average guy who demonstrates hidden potential, as his reluctant protégé. The sorcerer gives his unwilling accomplice a crash course in the art and science of magic, and together, these unlikely partners work to stop the forces of darkness. It'll take all the courage Dave can muster to survive his training, save the city and get the girl as he becomes "The Sorcerer's Apprentice." (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. The Sorcerer's Apprentice boils down to "The Karate Kid" meets "Harry Potter," with maybe a dash of "Ghostbusters" to keep it interesting.
  2. Turteltaub has a workmanlike touch and an easy sense of humor here, and he and his team do a better-than-expected job of keeping you interested in the story, despite it being yet another Tale of a Reluctant Young Man With A Supernatural Hero's Calling.
  3. The CGI is relentless and what you might call reverse-magical: The more we're hit with stuff, the less wondrous it becomes.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    50
    The lesson at the core of Goethe's poem -- that powerful spirits are not to be taken lightly, and should only be conjured by those who can control them -- goes out the window, and the mentor-student relationship gets swallowed up in the action. Bruckheimer may be the dark lord of Tinseltown, but he's the Mickey Mouse of this scenario, and the mops and brooms get the best of him.
  5. 50
    While Mr. Molina and Mr. Cage supply a measure of well-compensated eccentricity, their labors ultimately serve to emphasize the grinding mediocrity of the enterprise.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The magic here feels machine-made and depressingly state-of-the-art.
  7. 25
    Cage and Baruchel work hard to stay accessible, but the computer-generated effects come on like heavy artillery blowing away any hint of flesh and blood. The Sorcerer's Apprentice should be rated U for Untouched by Human Hands.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53
  1. AlanG
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    This movie is awesome!! Screw the critics!! Its definetly better than Airbender. Bring on the sequels!
  2. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    BUY THIS! It's an epic movie. Excellent soundtrack, presentation, story and drama. The acting might have been slightly predictable at timesBUY THIS! It's an epic movie. Excellent soundtrack, presentation, story and drama. The acting might have been slightly predictable at times but Cage was very good. Overall I'll give it a 10. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    I should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics wereI should say I liked this movie pretty much. It had really nice animations and excitement in it. The girl was very pretty and the musics were astonishing. Really what made me love this movie was the stunning girl and the perfection of music. Bad thing is that weird starring Canadien dude. i should say, he reminded me of myself with his geekness, :P Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    This movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem tooThis movie starts off really well; the pace is just right and the part in the beginning about Merlin and his apprentices doesn't seem too hurried (although they could have taken their time unfolding it, really, since all that information was important when it came to the rest of the movie).

    All in all everything seems just dandy; the acting, the story, the twists and turns and humor just roll in and keep it all nice and tight.

    Then something happens. At the most crucial moment, when the real action begins, the details get really messy and the plot kind of gritty. They start hurrying on and add more layers too fast. As good as the effects (I even enjoyed Nicholas Cage in this one), the story just deflates.

    The romantic relationship of Dave and Berky seemed too fake and fast, and when she just takes the truth about Dave's life without more than a shrug, it's really ridiculous (at that point, a normal person should give the other at least a comment of doubt, even feel horror and suspicion about his mental health). The end is totally clichéd with them flying off to some sappy, happy ending.

    I would have rated the movie better based on the beginning, but near the end things simply lost focus. They just had to get a happy conclusion by force, and the wicked undertone disappeared. Everyone was nice and comfortable with the truth of what they were and what they had to do.

    Worth the watch, and an enjoyable movie, but clearly there was too much mushiness for me there ;)
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    Nicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem withNicholas Cage is what saves "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from being a disaster. His character, Balthazar, is well portrayed. The problem with this film is that the magic doesn't seem like "Harry Potter". It's more like machine-generated and doesn't have the craft and style like "Harry Potter". Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    There is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlierThere is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlier than most and chases after them until they can firmly hold the power they are meant to have in the palm of there hands. Some are meant to be doctors, some are meant to be lawyers, some are meant to be cops, bank mangers, soldiers, politicians, historians, film directors, screen play writers, film critics, novelists the list goes on and on. We shape our future by what we do in the here and now and what path we choose to walk the only exception is a lanky young man named David "Dave" Stutler a physics nerd who thinks he is on the right track to his future. Little does he know that fate has something far more important part for the young David to play little does he know that he is about to become "The Sorcerer's Apprentice.â Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    uuu special effects
    soundtrack bad
    story bad overall movie: extremely bad If you are under 12 I understand why you would like this though.
    uuu special effects
    soundtrack bad
    story bad
    overall movie: extremely bad
    If you are under 12 I understand why you would like this though.
    Airbender was close to this one also.
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered

    Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 12, 2010
    The inimitable star of this week's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has been one of Hollywood's most prolific actors over the past three decades, for better and worse. We look in detail at 15 of Cage's movies, including the highs and lows.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.