The Spectacular Now

  • Studio:
  • Release Date:
The Spectacular Now Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: This is the tale of Sutter Keely, a high school senior and effortless charmer, and of how he unexpectedly falls in love with "the good girl" Aimee Finecky. What starts as an unlikely romance, becomes a sharp-eyed, straight-up snapshot of the heady confusion and haunting passion of youth –This is the tale of Sutter Keely, a high school senior and effortless charmer, and of how he unexpectedly falls in love with "the good girl" Aimee Finecky. What starts as an unlikely romance, becomes a sharp-eyed, straight-up snapshot of the heady confusion and haunting passion of youth – one that doesn’t look for tidy truths. [A24] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Has an honesty few movies seek or achieve these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    100
    The focus in James Ponsoldt’s affecting, intelligent drama is a pair of teenagers, and in them is so much complexity and heart that this casually paced gem feels rich in scope. They’re two of the most carefully created figures on screen this year, and yet their normalness takes us by surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, as high school seniors Sutter and Aimee, bring such an authentic face of confidence and questioning, indifference and need, pain and denial, friendship and first love, that it will take you back to that time if you're no longer there, and light a path if you are.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Ordinary in some ways and extraordinary in others, The Spectacular Now benefits from an exceptional feel for its main characters on the parts of the director and lead actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 1, 2013
    80
    A memorable, imperfect, heartbreaking summer love story, a bit soapy in spots but loaded with power and feeling.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry,
    Aug 8, 2013
    75
    The movie captures the raw excitement and heartbreak of adolescence so completely that it manages to replace a seen-it-all jaded heart with the butterflies that accompany fresh experiences.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 2, 2013
    38
    The teen movie The Spectacular Now begins like “Say Anything” but soon turns into “Drink Anything.”

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior whoThe Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior who relishes only on the "now", but I think that it was Sheilene Woodley's amazing performance that did it for me. You can see the hurt inside of these two generally happy people and you witness the vices of the lead character that emanates to the most important people in his life. Definitely one of the summer's best films. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    the film captures the sparkling and electrifying teen romance in this modern generation, with heartfelt chemistry that a footlose partyerthe film captures the sparkling and electrifying teen romance in this modern generation, with heartfelt chemistry that a footlose partyer Miles Teller has with a nice heartwarming girl Shailene Woodley. Based of the young adult book by: Tim Tharp (which i can't wait to read!), and written by the writers of "500 days of summer" the films has it magic. It is emotion and intense film. Grade A Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Some of the best acting I have seen in a movie in a long, long time--definitely the best acting I have seen this year. The writing is good,Some of the best acting I have seen in a movie in a long, long time--definitely the best acting I have seen this year. The writing is good, but Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley (particularly Woodley) are so astounding that the characters lift the movie out of what could have been just-another-high-school-movie obscurity. By the end of the film, I was sobbing out of sheer love for these kids, sad to see them go and nostalgic for lovers and friends in high school and college that I recognized. And I'm not exaggerating--I really felt like I knew these people, which is an incredible feat considering I only knew them for only 90 minutes. They are not archetypes. They are not caricatures. These are real high school seniors.

    This movie is truly beautiful. It's a great start to Oscar bid season, and let's just say that I'd have to see MANY more earth-shaking performances from women this year in order to be convinced that Shailene Woodley (at the very least) did not deserve a nod. When I found out that she was also starring in the film adaptation of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, I jumped for joy. After seeing The Spectacular Now, I was convinced that she was the only actress who could do justice to the role of Hazel.

    Teller, Woodley, and Ponsoldt (director) are all going places, that's for sure. Or at least they better be.
    Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    All of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "TheAll of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "The Spectacular Now". Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    This is a fantastic look at a teenager who acts like he's in control of his life but underneath he's dealing with issues he can't control. MyThis is a fantastic look at a teenager who acts like he's in control of his life but underneath he's dealing with issues he can't control. My one issue with this film is all the drinking I mean every bar serves him without asking a question. A- Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    I've read a lot of reviews praising this movie, but I myself don't see what the fuss is about as it seems quite ordinary in every sense andI've read a lot of reviews praising this movie, but I myself don't see what the fuss is about as it seems quite ordinary in every sense and there is nothing special about it. There must be something better to watch and I hope you find it. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2015
    0
    The spectacular now was one of the worst movies I have ever watched! the acting and story line was awful and i dont understand those who areThe spectacular now was one of the worst movies I have ever watched! the acting and story line was awful and i dont understand those who are giving this movie a 10/10 seriously it was the worst movie ever made! please someone tell me why they think it was a good movie? cause I have no reasons anyone would think it was good Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 21, 2013
    Watch new trailers for "Anchorman: The Legend Continues," Scorsese's "The Wolf of Wall Street," Sundance hit "The Spectacular Now," "Only God Forgives," "jOBS," and more, and get a recap of this week's movie news.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.