• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Has an honesty few movies seek or achieve these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    100
    The focus in James Ponsoldt’s affecting, intelligent drama is a pair of teenagers, and in them is so much complexity and heart that this casually paced gem feels rich in scope. They’re two of the most carefully created figures on screen this year, and yet their normalness takes us by surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, as high school seniors Sutter and Aimee, bring such an authentic face of confidence and questioning, indifference and need, pain and denial, friendship and first love, that it will take you back to that time if you're no longer there, and light a path if you are.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Ordinary in some ways and extraordinary in others, The Spectacular Now benefits from an exceptional feel for its main characters on the parts of the director and lead actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 1, 2013
    80
    A memorable, imperfect, heartbreaking summer love story, a bit soapy in spots but loaded with power and feeling.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry,
    Aug 8, 2013
    75
    The movie captures the raw excitement and heartbreak of adolescence so completely that it manages to replace a seen-it-all jaded heart with the butterflies that accompany fresh experiences.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 2, 2013
    38
    The teen movie The Spectacular Now begins like “Say Anything” but soon turns into “Drink Anything.”

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior who relishes only on the "now", but I think that it was Sheilene Woodley's amazing performance that did it for me. You can see the hurt inside of these two generally happy people and you witness the vices of the lead character that emanates to the most important people in his life. Definitely one of the summer's best films. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    A film that opens your eyes to the world of love, showing that nothing comes from nothing and that everything will go one way. beautiful beautiful wild Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Some of the best acting I have seen in a movie in a long, long time--definitely the best acting I have seen this year. The writing is good, but Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley (particularly Woodley) are so astounding that the characters lift the movie out of what could have been just-another-high-school-movie obscurity. By the end of the film, I was sobbing out of sheer love for these kids, sad to see them go and nostalgic for lovers and friends in high school and college that I recognized. And I'm not exaggerating--I really felt like I knew these people, which is an incredible feat considering I only knew them for only 90 minutes. They are not archetypes. They are not caricatures. These are real high school seniors.

    This movie is truly beautiful. It's a great start to Oscar bid season, and let's just say that I'd have to see MANY more earth-shaking performances from women this year in order to be convinced that Shailene Woodley (at the very least) did not deserve a nod. When I found out that she was also starring in the film adaptation of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, I jumped for joy. After seeing The Spectacular Now, I was convinced that she was the only actress who could do justice to the role of Hazel.

    Teller, Woodley, and Ponsoldt (director) are all going places, that's for sure. Or at least they better be.
    Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This movie made me flash my whole love life in front of my eyes. Not a fan of the romantic genre, but this movie just did it for me. I like the message of this movie and the realistic take on 'it's what's on the inside that counts'. If you liked 500 days of summer you'll probably like this, they have similarities and probably the best romantic movies of the last 5 years

    Just my opinion
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    Drinking and Driving is legal nowadays. This movie surprised me, coming in knowing the actor who was going to be in it I had average expectations but he was terrific. They could not have picked a better actress to play Aimee and she played the role beautifully. You actually become really attached to the characters which made this movie much more emotional than I ever though it could possibly be. The worst part of the movie was the two terrible actor/actress who played each others friends, just no need for them. Final rating is 68.9 out of 100. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    It's a very charming and excellently acted film, but ends up being too fairytale-like. Aimee, especially, is just perfect in every way and her character really tested my suspension of disbelief. I would have rated The Spectacular Now higher but my final impression was substantially soured by a terrible, didactic ending in which Sutter summarizes the whole story. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    500 Days of Summer is a legendary film , This is boring and nothing new common story with ordinary acting and dialogues.Critic writers may have seen different movie or sold out .Script is poorly garbadge and theirs nothing really to watch.Music also primative. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.