Lionsgate | Release Date: December 25, 2008
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 253 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
180
Mixed:
20
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
NerdConsultantDec 18, 2014
i know frank miller isn't on best form these day but after seeing this you really have to ask what was going through his head when this project came up. It takes everything bad about frank millers writing in one excruciating film with some ofi know frank miller isn't on best form these day but after seeing this you really have to ask what was going through his head when this project came up. It takes everything bad about frank millers writing in one excruciating film with some of the worst dialogue and cinematography i have ever encountered and frank clearly can only direct when he has support which wasn't present here. this really should be in a lot more worst comics lists than it is right now Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sswamSep 2, 2013
The Spirit is a brilliant and hilarious GEM of a movie. One of the most underrated movies, it seems 50% of viewers and 80% of critics couldn't get into the humor and style of it. Proper respect to Frank Miller.
It's kind of miraculous to
The Spirit is a brilliant and hilarious GEM of a movie. One of the most underrated movies, it seems 50% of viewers and 80% of critics couldn't get into the humor and style of it. Proper respect to Frank Miller.
It's kind of miraculous to me that Frank Miller directed this in such a different style from his own.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SuperheroMoviesAug 14, 2013
The noir atmosphere is nice to look at, but a weak script stuffed with cheesy dialogue and prosaic characters, make this film a tragic misfire for the mastermind behind Sin City, Frank Miller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Coming hot on the heels of the fantastic Sin City and 300 I went into The Spirit expecting something of similar quality, unfortunately I was left disappointed.

It's not all bad of course. As with Frank Millers other comic book adaptations
Coming hot on the heels of the fantastic Sin City and 300 I went into The Spirit expecting something of similar quality, unfortunately I was left disappointed.

It's not all bad of course. As with Frank Millers other comic book adaptations The Spirit is beautifully shot using the same techniques employed in Sin City and with the likes of Eva Mendes, Scarlett Johansson and Stana Katic on show it certainly features one of the most attractive casts ever seen on the big screen. Gabriel Mecht is also entertaining in the title role making a refreshing change from the usual burdened superhero.

For every positive however there is a negative. Frank Miller's decision to direct the movie himself (his feature film debut) can be seen as mistake from the very start. Poorly paced throughout the film never quite decides what it is trying to achieve. One minute it wants to be a 'wacky' comedy the next it is trying to recreate the gritty film noir style of Sin City. It is just about possible to piece together a plot but the film does its best to stop you and as a result it is very difficult to become invested in what is going to happen to any of the characters (other than rookie cop Morgernstern, but thats only because she is played by the always fantastic Stana Katic).

The performances, even from well established actors such as Samuel L Jackson, are also incredibly uneven. Again the blame for this must lay at the feet of director Miller as the majority of the cast have proven their acting credentials on numerous occasions in other movies.

In the end while The Spirit may be a visual feast it is just too much of a mess to be thought of alongside the best comic book adaptations of recent years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonMar 17, 2013
The Spirit wasn't a really good movie but its one hour running time delivers some mind bending fun. The Spirt's visuals were amazing, it's a comedy crime movie and its well done. The villain- Octopus had a wide verity of weapons and he isThe Spirit wasn't a really good movie but its one hour running time delivers some mind bending fun. The Spirt's visuals were amazing, it's a comedy crime movie and its well done. The villain- Octopus had a wide verity of weapons and he is played by King Of Crime Samuel Jackson. Gabriel Macht was amazing as the spirit and Eva Mendes is one to watch. overall, the spirit is awesome. Despite its long running time and its horrible animation, it was fun. Frank Miller didn't think before making this film, which shows when you watch it but its crazy and too bloody for a PG-13 rated film because gore is depicted throughout the film. Movies like Frank Miller's Sin City were way better but there is something special about this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
HalfwelshmanAug 12, 2012
I'm not denying that Frank Miller is extremely talented at telling a story on the page, but he has no talent whatsoever at telling any kind of story on film, especially when he can't lean on a talented filmmaker like Robert Rodriquez. NearlyI'm not denying that Frank Miller is extremely talented at telling a story on the page, but he has no talent whatsoever at telling any kind of story on film, especially when he can't lean on a talented filmmaker like Robert Rodriquez. Nearly every key cast member is either wooden (Gabriel Macht and Eva Mendes) or looks hugely embarrassed (Samuel L. Jackson), the script such as it is, is an appalling, indistinct mush of puns and cliches, and the action is laughably cartoony. It's also one of the campest films I've ever seen, not in a fun, self-aware kind of way, but in a clumsy, tone-deaf and unintentionally hilarious kind of way. For much of the film it feels like Miller is mercilessly parodying himself, but doesn't seem to have realised it. At least Scarlett Johansson and Stana Katic in their supporting roles seem to have realised that he film is utter garbage, so over-act their socks off as an evil secretary-from-hell and a stiff but passionate rookie cop respectively, which is kind of fun to watch. It may well be the worst comic book movie of all time - worse than Elektra, worse than The Fantastic Four and worse than Batman & Robin, in fact worse than an amalgamation of all three. If Frank Miller insists on stepping behind the camera again, then he should at least have the decency to ruin his own intellectual property rather than someone else's, as he did here with Will Eisner's comic from the 40s. I implore you, Mr Miller, step away from the camera before you do any real damage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Dec 31, 2011
You got to be **** kidding me. What was Frank Miller thinking? Did really think if he used beautiful visuals over a screwed up story he could get like, what, a oscar? If he was, then man, he's thinking WRONG.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
kingshahidSep 30, 2011
The movie attempted at making a new superhero - but it failed. It left no memorable moments other than Eva Mendes being chased around by a boy that liked her. It wasn't the worst, but it was disappointing to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
In one scene in The Spirit, Samuel L. Jackson and Scarlett Johannsson (the only two actors in this movie who are at least having fun with their performances) appear decked in Nazi uniforms, while the movie's hero is strapped to a dentist'sIn one scene in The Spirit, Samuel L. Jackson and Scarlett Johannsson (the only two actors in this movie who are at least having fun with their performances) appear decked in Nazi uniforms, while the movie's hero is strapped to a dentist's chair, and a Turkish-style belly dancing, moves around him. While I don't remember Turkish-style belly dancers from Marathon Man, but I do remember dentist Nazis, so I understand the relation between those seemingly random props. What do I not understand? Well, what does Marathon Man have to do with a crime-fighting superhero, and what in the movie lead up to this? You could make an entire three season game show on why scenes in The Spirit are the way they are. All this is is Frank Miller masturbating to his own sense of self-interest. While Miller attempts to advance his strengths and recapture the excellent work he did in his early days as a comic book writer, he is too fascinated with his own desire to have women dress in revealing outfits and have his hero spew out pretentious narration about the city turns him on. Frank, I loved The Dark Knight Returns, but you have lost it! You're just trying to every conceivable idea for style that floats into your head, paying no respect to the source material (I never read The Spirit, but I think that it is important to honor your source material), and just assuming that if you merge it with this needlessly dark, half-joking, over-sexualizing bullcrap, it will be great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
This movie was a convoluted **** hole of bad writing sub par acting and bad directing. None of the characters are remotely likable, the attempts of humor fall miles short. This first 45 minutes of the movie are just a series of 1 liners. TheThis movie was a convoluted **** hole of bad writing sub par acting and bad directing. None of the characters are remotely likable, the attempts of humor fall miles short. This first 45 minutes of the movie are just a series of 1 liners. The only thing that helps this movie is the 1 second you get to see Eva's back side. I full heartedly thank god I only spent $3 on this movie because anymore and I would have had to punch a baby. If you have the option to see this movie or be stabbed to death, think twice about life. Acting 3/10 writing 1/10 directing 1/10 Overall 1.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
While it may not be the best super hero movie it's still one I can recommend, it travels of the normal path with it's weird sense of humor which isn't always good, but makes for a truly unique and enjoyable super hero movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Javed12Dec 2, 2010
The visual style was done to death in Sin City and without the input from experienced co-directors Miller makes a film that the studio should have canned after test screenings instead of inflicting it upon the rest of the world. Worse than toothache.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NickR.Aug 15, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie. As a fan of the comics and Frank miller, I found this movie Sexy, Cool and Fun.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
Loved the Noir Style, Loved the cinematography But could of been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KendoJJun 5, 2009
Great movie! It's not Sin City or 300 but it's still a 'fun' movie with all the cinematographic brilliance we've come to expect from Frank Miller's movies. 1 part Cheese, 3 parts Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TannerJJun 5, 2009
The Spirit is a mess. Granted sometimes it is an entertaining mess. It's not funny, exciting, well acted(especially the lead guy) and the story is nonexistent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeenanSMay 30, 2009
I honestly don't think The Spirit was as bad as a lot of people said it was. I actually enjoyed it for what it was. It was stylish and actually funny. Sure the dialogue is campy and dumb, but this was a really fun film to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhillipH.May 8, 2009
This was an excellent film, but I feel it was very misunderstood. First of all, its a comedy. It parodies a number of comic books and their film adaptations. If you just realise that it is intentionally ridiculous and don't get strung This was an excellent film, but I feel it was very misunderstood. First of all, its a comedy. It parodies a number of comic books and their film adaptations. If you just realise that it is intentionally ridiculous and don't get strung up on the cheesy plot, you'll see that this film is a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexHMay 8, 2009
I just want to ask Frank Miller one question... "What were you thinking?!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AntzApr 21, 2009
If you go in expecting a serious action film or another Sin City you will be disappointed. If you go in expecting a tongue in cheek stylized semi-camp action comedy, you'll like it. It owes a lot more to the 1960's Batman style If you go in expecting a serious action film or another Sin City you will be disappointed. If you go in expecting a tongue in cheek stylized semi-camp action comedy, you'll like it. It owes a lot more to the 1960's Batman style than it does to the Dark Knight. The audience I saw it with loved it. Definitely a niche film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
antwianfApr 20, 2009
Watchable ok entertaining. very weak plot and why did sam pick this role. why did it come out on x-mas day. sin city is a cult classic and this is retarded. even eva mendes is too good for this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
brentyApr 14, 2009
The movie itself wasn't bad, its just that it was compared to 300 and sin city. Other then the visuals, it's nothing like those movies. It has a combination of the original batman movies comedy, 50's detective novel flow and The movie itself wasn't bad, its just that it was compared to 300 and sin city. Other then the visuals, it's nothing like those movies. It has a combination of the original batman movies comedy, 50's detective novel flow and feel with the visuals of sin city and 300. all togehter, don't watch this movie cause it's like the other frank miller movies, watch it if you like the comic or older types of movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DreezyBApr 14, 2009
I really just don't get it, this movie sucks plain and simple. I'm shocked the average is so high at 4.3. I give it a big fat zero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Apr 9, 2009
A bit too stylish and over the top. It lacks the substance Sin City had. The effects and imagination are impressive though, too bad it didn't have an interesting plot to go along with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoamBFeb 20, 2009
I wanted to like this movie, but it just didn't give me a chance. I had to keep reminding myself not to take it too seriously and just enjoy it as entertainment...but if I have to consciously remind myself of that, something is wrong. I wanted to like this movie, but it just didn't give me a chance. I had to keep reminding myself not to take it too seriously and just enjoy it as entertainment...but if I have to consciously remind myself of that, something is wrong. For starters, Frank Miller imposed way too much of his sensibilities on the film. Too much Miller and not enough Eisner. It's the same look and feel used in Sin City--it works in Sin city because that's what the comic book looked like. The Spirit, on the other hand, had a very different feel. Less hard-boiled noir, more '20s humor--a distinctly lighter tone. Also, despite the cartoonishness of it, there was sophistication in the storytelling, which is completely lacking in the movie. Despite his prodigious talent, Miller really missed the mark with this one. I would have expected someone like him to have more reverence to the source material, but he utterly fails to capture its...well, spirit. Instead he imposes his own sensibilities on it, and the whole thing just sinks into the mud. I'm glad my friend was paying for the tickets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DeanC.Feb 6, 2009
I'm a bit of a Frank Miller, but I found this movie a bit hot and cold. I'm not sure but I think the may have been better off useing a unknowen for the charture of Octupus, don't get me wrong I like Samuel L, but he brings his I'm a bit of a Frank Miller, but I found this movie a bit hot and cold. I'm not sure but I think the may have been better off useing a unknowen for the charture of Octupus, don't get me wrong I like Samuel L, but he brings his personality to the movie. The comic to reality crossover was more noticable in this movie than other Frank Miller movies. To rap up this review I would like say that this movie may not have been twisted enough for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenC.Jan 29, 2009
As a film, this movie is an absolute disaster of poor direction. However, what it does do it does with such style that it remains massively entertaining anyway. Not to be taken seriously, The Spirit wears cons for heaven's sake! :P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ElizabethGJan 22, 2009
I went with a friend to see this movie, and it was ultimately made into an unintentional comedy. I do not recommend this movie for anyone who wants to see action, but i highly recommend it for anyone who wants a quick laugh. So 2 stars from I went with a friend to see this movie, and it was ultimately made into an unintentional comedy. I do not recommend this movie for anyone who wants to see action, but i highly recommend it for anyone who wants a quick laugh. So 2 stars from my perspective, but I give it a 5 on the comedy aspect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KLJan 10, 2009
Very poor, the 2 points I awarded only because of the eye candy in Eva Mandes and Scarlett Johansson. Poor script, boring monologue tedious delivered by the hero. Even Samuel L Jackson can't save this movie from being "turkey of the Very poor, the 2 points I awarded only because of the eye candy in Eva Mandes and Scarlett Johansson. Poor script, boring monologue tedious delivered by the hero. Even Samuel L Jackson can't save this movie from being "turkey of the year", even though we are only 10 days into the year it's a fairly safe bet that this will stil be "turkey of the year" come Dec 31! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarryB.Jan 10, 2009
I thought that The Spirit was yet another great film in Frank Miller's filmography. The casting was great, each actor brought their own unique acting to the film brilliantly, and the film flowed great throughout. The storyline was I thought that The Spirit was yet another great film in Frank Miller's filmography. The casting was great, each actor brought their own unique acting to the film brilliantly, and the film flowed great throughout. The storyline was great, the subtle and blatant humour worked great, and some of the scenes in the film are both memorable and very artistic, and you get a real feel for the characters in The Spirit. Film noir style was what Frank Miller does best, but my only gripe is that the ending could have been done a little better. It seemed a little too cheesy, but it definitely doesn't ruin the film. I can't believe the reviews I've seen giving it negative feedback. Zeros and 10s? It may not be as good as Sin City, but it is very close, and it is a solid, brilliant film, that combines an artistic cinema with an entertaining storyline, great one-liners and a very unique movie style. Well worth the watch, but I have to say that people who didn't like Sin City or 300 may not like this as much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
GarathDJan 10, 2009
I went to watch this last night and left feeling a little dissapointed. The visuals were outstanding and some set scenes were beautiful to behold. There were also some genuinely funny moments and good action in places. The problem for me was I went to watch this last night and left feeling a little dissapointed. The visuals were outstanding and some set scenes were beautiful to behold. There were also some genuinely funny moments and good action in places. The problem for me was it was way too flabby in parts - things just didn't flow and certain dialogue scenes just seemed to go on forever. I think the campness captured the comic feel perfectly but ultimately the film just didn't work as a whole Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.S.Jan 9, 2009
The movie's biggest problem is that it was marketed as an action movie. For the most part, it's a cheesy comedy, and an enjoyable one at that. The only other flaw that the movie truly had was the henchmen, which were too stupid to The movie's biggest problem is that it was marketed as an action movie. For the most part, it's a cheesy comedy, and an enjoyable one at that. The only other flaw that the movie truly had was the henchmen, which were too stupid to even be a part of the project. Scenes that included them seemed like mismatched parts of Dumb & Dumber, Blue's Clues, and Kill Bill. Overall, its faults don't overshadow its originality, and it deserves a chance in the comic-movie category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomB.Jan 8, 2009
Worst trash I've seen. Only movie I 've ever walked out of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CameronB.Jan 6, 2009
By far the worst film since Batman Forever. I thought because of its Sin City-esque appearance, as well as Frank Millers name stamped so gratuitously over the title that it would be really well done. I have never seen as much detail in a By far the worst film since Batman Forever. I thought because of its Sin City-esque appearance, as well as Frank Millers name stamped so gratuitously over the title that it would be really well done. I have never seen as much detail in a film in my life, but CGI and graphics do not make the acting, or script any better. They tried to spruce up the movie with a few A-list celebrities but bad direction and a script that a dyslexic monkey could have written better made all the actors seem stiff and un-emotional. Long story short we walked out half way through. This drek should be dipped in acid and burned in hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TJJan 5, 2009
Very enjoyable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StevenOJan 5, 2009
This movie is not as bad as the critics say. I seen this movie on its release date and it was more fun then any movie since the dark knight. Dont listen to critics go see it for yourself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TomM.Jan 4, 2009
Even after all of the negative reviews I was still surprised at just how bad this movie was. I thought, as a sin city fan, I would at least appreciate the look and style of the film but it was a lot more Sky Captain than it was Sin City. I Even after all of the negative reviews I was still surprised at just how bad this movie was. I thought, as a sin city fan, I would at least appreciate the look and style of the film but it was a lot more Sky Captain than it was Sin City. I rarely walk out on a movie and I did make it most of the way through here buy ultimately I had to leave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimK.Jan 3, 2009
Maybe it was because I was expecting a bad movie, but I thought The Spirit was hilarious. I hope people viewing it know it's supposed to be funny. Gabriel Macht's performance is reminiscent of Bruce Campbell and Samuel Jackson is Maybe it was because I was expecting a bad movie, but I thought The Spirit was hilarious. I hope people viewing it know it's supposed to be funny. Gabriel Macht's performance is reminiscent of Bruce Campbell and Samuel Jackson is throwing punches and hamming it up for laughs. If you enjoy Sam Raimi flicks (E.g. Army of Darkness), and like the visual stylings of Frank Miller comics, you'll enjoy The Spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LukeB.Jan 1, 2009
I never walk out on films. This obviously doesn't pass as a "film" because I walked out of whatever it is and demanded a refund.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KaitlinD.Dec 31, 2008
Terrible. I wanted to leave 30 minutes into th movie. if you're looking for a good movie to see this weekend, i wouldn't recommend this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SulakoJ.Dec 31, 2008
Easily one of the worst-written, most boring, muddled flicks of the year. It shows me that Frank Miller should stick to making comic books and letting real directors direct.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EdzerSDec 30, 2008
when this movie was screened after finishing, i'd love to meet that guy that said "yeah, this is a good film. good job gang!" I'd like to meet him, and punch him in the face. oh wait, someone just send me Frank Miller's address
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArjunS.Dec 30, 2008
The biggest problem with the Spirit was that it was a movie attempting to be a comic book. As shown through various cinematic flops, comics do not always transition to the big screen in a good way. The dialogue was corny and pretty bad. But The biggest problem with the Spirit was that it was a movie attempting to be a comic book. As shown through various cinematic flops, comics do not always transition to the big screen in a good way. The dialogue was corny and pretty bad. But mostly it was a lame story, from a man who was trying to make another Sin City movie. The movie fails in almost every aspect aside from the filming. Save your money, don't go. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamuelJ.Dec 29, 2008
Far more entertaining than the vapid "Sin City" or the one-note "300," "The Spirit" is this year's subversive masterpiece, a well-executed bit of political noir masquerading as a superhero movie. The Spirit is a thinly-veiled caricature Far more entertaining than the vapid "Sin City" or the one-note "300," "The Spirit" is this year's subversive masterpiece, a well-executed bit of political noir masquerading as a superhero movie. The Spirit is a thinly-veiled caricature of a right-wing media run amok, with Samuel Jackson drawing parallels between himself and a recently crowned president-elect. The cinematography is pure FOX News, ostensibly black-and-white (or as they say "fair and balanced"), except for the splashes of color that masquerade as "editorializing." This film has less in common with Batman and Spider-Man than it does with "All The President's Men" and "Missing." Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TommyB.Dec 29, 2008
Bad. Very bad. Holocaust bad. Mere words can not describe how bad this movie is. Even seeing Eva Mendes naked could get this movie above zero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BettiS.Dec 28, 2008
I am a long-time reader and collector of The Spirit comic. The movie is very true to the comic. It was one of the most stunningly beautiful movies I have ever seen -frame after frame I wanted to freeze and keep. Comic book readers will love I am a long-time reader and collector of The Spirit comic. The movie is very true to the comic. It was one of the most stunningly beautiful movies I have ever seen -frame after frame I wanted to freeze and keep. Comic book readers will love this movie - there are a lot of inside references. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
sdfgzvfsdvDec 28, 2008
I don't get why this movie's getting such shit reviews, overall I think it was a good movie. It was weird and silly as hell, it's obviously meant to be campy and funny and probably a bit of satire. The action scenes were I don't get why this movie's getting such shit reviews, overall I think it was a good movie. It was weird and silly as hell, it's obviously meant to be campy and funny and probably a bit of satire. The action scenes were awesome while still having a comical affect to them. However I felt some of the flashback scenes were total crap and fuck that sand saref dyke. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnP.Dec 28, 2008
One of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life... and I have seen thousands of them. It's a complete mess with bad directing, bad acting and a script that doesn't make sense at all. What a waste of time and money. I can't One of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life... and I have seen thousands of them. It's a complete mess with bad directing, bad acting and a script that doesn't make sense at all. What a waste of time and money. I can't believe they put this on a movie theater... it should go not straight to DVD, but to VHS or to the trash... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
tonys.Dec 27, 2008
This movie isn't for everyone. In fact I believe this could be classified as a "guy" film. Actually, I didn't know what to expect going in to this film. All I knew was that it looked like Sin City (it has hot women & violence), but This movie isn't for everyone. In fact I believe this could be classified as a "guy" film. Actually, I didn't know what to expect going in to this film. All I knew was that it looked like Sin City (it has hot women & violence), but it was really funny and pulp. I have to say this movie didn't make much sense, most of 300 didn't make much sense either for that matter. If there is a directors cut or extended version of this film I'll most likely but it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisPDec 27, 2008
I don't walk out of movies, but I did walk out of this one 30 minutes into it. Bad acting, bad scripting, bad everything. This movie had zero redeeming factors. Do not see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AR.Dec 27, 2008
Odd thing about Frank Miller...he's a comic book legend when it comes to storytelling most of his work is very cinematic that makes your heart skip a beat. At first when it came to breathing life from paper and ink to film there was Odd thing about Frank Miller...he's a comic book legend when it comes to storytelling most of his work is very cinematic that makes your heart skip a beat. At first when it came to breathing life from paper and ink to film there was something electrifying. Drawings were given flesh, bone and most important of all a meaningful soul. His adaptations gave filmmakers a reason to create a new genre. Sometimes when a filmmaker starts with blazing fireworks, the audience become moths attracted toward the fire. Yet upon occasion there will be a firework that's a fizzling dud. The good news is that it's a 'cheesy good' movie reminds us to have a good time. 'Yes' it's a bad movie in terms of dialouge and plot. Even though it's a very far cry from the sequential universe that [Frank] Miller created long ago, the movie found a way to escape to a world created by the late Will Eisner. And lesson learned: Let the original comic book creator have some sense of control over how the film should be made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ColinDec 26, 2008
Hmm. It's hard to explain my hatred for this movie unless youve seen it. Going into it, I thought it would be good. Frank Miller = awesome, and the trailer seemed very good. And in the first 10 minutes, I wasn't disappointed. The Hmm. It's hard to explain my hatred for this movie unless youve seen it. Going into it, I thought it would be good. Frank Miller = awesome, and the trailer seemed very good. And in the first 10 minutes, I wasn't disappointed. The action was pretty good, and I was excited for the rest of the movie. After the first fight scene, an awkward pause ensued, which I thought was funny at the time and it made me think that the movie was trying to show what would happen in real life after a real superhero/villain fight. But then I realized it was just terrible writing. The whole movie the whole movie was a colossal letdown. Oh how the mighty have fallen, Frank Miller. I wish that I hadn't spent the money on that movie. I would have had a better time watching Bedtime Stories, for God's sake. Don't see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
carolDec 26, 2008
It doesn't get any worse than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidW.Dec 26, 2008
This movie was, well, Weird. It was NOT bad as the numbers say, it was good, but it was most definitely weird. You will walk out of the theatre going, What was that!? But its full of laughs, both at how odd it was and the humor in it. It is This movie was, well, Weird. It was NOT bad as the numbers say, it was good, but it was most definitely weird. You will walk out of the theatre going, What was that!? But its full of laughs, both at how odd it was and the humor in it. It is not the action thriller that I expected but it was not bad, just odd as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FletcherDec 26, 2008
I am a big fan of super hero movies, and really enjoyed Sin City. I was disappointed in this film. The cinematography was the same as Sin City, but the story, characters, and yes, even the acting, were all a let down. Wait for this one to I am a big fan of super hero movies, and really enjoyed Sin City. I was disappointed in this film. The cinematography was the same as Sin City, but the story, characters, and yes, even the acting, were all a let down. Wait for this one to come out on dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HastyM.Dec 26, 2008
I'm going to admit that the vitriolic reviews aren't without merit, but I was nonetheless entertained. The film has a lot of style, flashes of humor, and very campy plotting. There isn't much in the way of story and there I'm going to admit that the vitriolic reviews aren't without merit, but I was nonetheless entertained. The film has a lot of style, flashes of humor, and very campy plotting. There isn't much in the way of story and there really isn't much to care about either, but I liked the way Frank Miller decided to approach this film. The melodrama, the comic book inspired dialogue, the visuals, and the caricature and scenery chewing acting all add up to a film that I actually wished had been a little longer. It probably won't please most audiences, but it's fun in spite of all its shortcomings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyDec 26, 2008
Right up there for the Razzberry worst movie of the year. Save your money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JerradD.Dec 25, 2008
The Spirit had so much potential. The only thing that shined was the beautiful art direction. Sadly, the acting, plot, and overall feel of the movie made me say, "Why did i waste my time seeing this?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful