Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: October 5, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 307 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
227
Mixed:
14
Negative:
66
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
HeatherW.Jan 3, 2006
I was looking forward to seeing this movie because so many of my favorite critics liked it, but, boy, was I disappointed. The characters border on characture (esp. the father), and all of them (except the younger brother) were pretty I was looking forward to seeing this movie because so many of my favorite critics liked it, but, boy, was I disappointed. The characters border on characture (esp. the father), and all of them (except the younger brother) were pretty unlikeable. Not that I have to like characters to like a movie, but there has to be *something* that draws me in. This just really didn't. Acting was all right, but the writing/story was self-indulgent and annoying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CamiK.Jan 14, 2007
Brilliant, superbly acted, and rivetting throughout.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroMar 22, 2011
The mother is totally fake, Jeff Daniels looks like he is not sure if this is supposed to be a comedy or something more serious. What a bore of a movie..I fell asleep after five minutes, so at least I got a good nap out of it. When it isThe mother is totally fake, Jeff Daniels looks like he is not sure if this is supposed to be a comedy or something more serious. What a bore of a movie..I fell asleep after five minutes, so at least I got a good nap out of it. When it is clear from the get go that both parents are headcases, you can be sure that you are in for 90 minutes of agony. It evades me how this flick gets the rave reviews it did. I am going to pick up my video camera this afternoon and shoot random stuff, ask random people random questions, and you can be sure it's going to be a lot more interesting than this... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
peterh32Jun 8, 2012
this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review. this is a review.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
RickieJan 1, 2006
I see everyone either loved or hated this movie. Put me in the camp that thought this was one giant boring movie made only by some good actors to collect a paycheck. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeirdreB.Jun 20, 2006
I have watched all the commentaries on this movie, many of the reviews, even listened to the director/writer talking about the movie--and his love of psychology.[***SPOILERS***] Does anybody else GET that this movie is about the effects of I have watched all the commentaries on this movie, many of the reviews, even listened to the director/writer talking about the movie--and his love of psychology.[***SPOILERS***] Does anybody else GET that this movie is about the effects of pathological narcissism on a family? People who have narcisstic parents go through this nightmare of splitting, improper boundaries, and nighmarish selfishness ALL THE TIME--whether the parents stay together or not. The movie portays the anguish of the experience of the disorder in a parent--the overvaluation/devaluation funhouse--the dad would be diagnosed as Narcisstic Personality Proper, probably with overt borderline functioning. The son APPEARS to be narcisstically injured from an early age...to attempt to rescue the healthy, dependant parts of a person from the rigid, maladaptive narcissitic defense mechanisms is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT, as you can kind of see from the narcissism of the dad. When I say the film, I thought the director had purposely and knowledgeably made an objects-relation film about pathological narcissism in a family....so many people have narcissistic parents, that this movie just makes you cry for all of us who do...the people who DON'T get it are those who probably have healthy parents with good self-esteem--and though they are clueless, THEY are the lucky ones. Great film--those of us who GET it probably lived it. Pathological narcissism feeds down through families--this is an excellent rendition of the damaged lives it leaves to carry on this painful personality disorder. Does Baumbach consciously realize what he experienced and wrote about? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wendyOct 19, 2005
Hated this dysfunctional family especially the father and the older son. As for the boring tennis pro, all I can do is repeat his ONLY line throughout this dreadful movie...BROTHER! Yuk!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LadyfingerJan 11, 2006
Undeniably Real? C'mon undeniably boring is more like it. Movies are to be enjoyed and invoke the viewers emotions. This was tedious and prosaic in which I had no empathy or feelings for any of the characters. It was forgotten the Undeniably Real? C'mon undeniably boring is more like it. Movies are to be enjoyed and invoke the viewers emotions. This was tedious and prosaic in which I had no empathy or feelings for any of the characters. It was forgotten the minute I left the theater. Awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZakT.Jan 1, 2006
Jeff Daniels and Laura Linney are excellent in their roles as self involved parents and all of the characters are written very realistically.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreJan 22, 2006
Best film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
peters.Jan 7, 2006
Shallow, single dimensional characters. very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jan 8, 2006
Doubt I'll see a better movie from '05.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 3, 2006
Brilliant writing, brilliant acting. Personal, unique directorial vision. Only weakness is slightly unambitious plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkE.Apr 3, 2006
I felt like I watched the shortened version of a much longer film. This kind of story cannot be told in 88 minutes. It would have been nice to see more serious moments of emotion or tension mixed with the dark humour. Also why did they I felt like I watched the shortened version of a much longer film. This kind of story cannot be told in 88 minutes. It would have been nice to see more serious moments of emotion or tension mixed with the dark humour. Also why did they choose the music from 'Risky Business' for the scenes involving the younger boy? The younger boy's role did not describe a confused child in a believable way and was a distraction from the rest of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
D.A.FloydJul 2, 2006
Far be it from me to suggest that a feature film should tell a story rather than submit its audience to self-indulgent scab-ripping. I sat through this film because the actors did a decent job with what is in essence directorial psychic Far be it from me to suggest that a feature film should tell a story rather than submit its audience to self-indulgent scab-ripping. I sat through this film because the actors did a decent job with what is in essence directorial psychic masturbation captured on celluloid. I refuse to give credit to a film ONLY for being "real," as if leaving the camcorder running in divorce court constitutes art. And while it is entirely possible for a "painful" film to be excellent, one cannot mistake pain for excellence. The film WAS painful to watch, and the acting WAS above average. However, there was nothing in the film to redeem the painful experience. Is the "message" is that married adults divorcing in an orgy of narcissism harms the psychological development of children? So am I supposed to thank the director for poking me in the eye with a stick to convey the painfully obvious? It is so easy to immagine why many soi-disant critics would feel compelled to applaud this film. Only in certain circles it is it considered "edgy" to suggest that one should not commit adultery and that divorce is a grave offense againt natural law. For those who do not know this, the film might pummel some sense into them. For the rest of us this film rarely transcends the graphic accident films adolescents are forced to endure before getting behind the wheel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LisaDec 12, 2005
Bland boring disgusting movie about a family coming apart at the seams and no one doing a damn thing about it. The acting was okay but nothing made much sense including the wife/mother coming of age and taking up with a moronic teaching Bland boring disgusting movie about a family coming apart at the seams and no one doing a damn thing about it. The acting was okay but nothing made much sense including the wife/mother coming of age and taking up with a moronic teaching tennis pro who had an IQ the equivalent of the Squid and the Whale, pehaps a shade below. And as for the younger son, please. I do not need to see him masterbating and spreading his future children on doors, books and whatever. The father and the older son were both complete losers as was this distasteful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SquallDec 15, 2005
Can't understand the hype on this movie. It's only appeal is to snobbish intellectuals; but haivng said that, the relationship between the coming of age ex-wife and her dimwit boyfriend is simply laughable. As for the moronic Can't understand the hype on this movie. It's only appeal is to snobbish intellectuals; but haivng said that, the relationship between the coming of age ex-wife and her dimwit boyfriend is simply laughable. As for the moronic husband and dysfunctional children the less said the better. This is a very prosaic movie and a waste of your time and money. In a word: Awful! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanBOct 23, 2005
It's like a Wes Anderson movie, but with more "real" and "uncomfortable" and, yes, "honest" moments. Oh, and with less of everything else, including humor, good plotting, etc. I hope Anderson takes no cues from this guy... and that he It's like a Wes Anderson movie, but with more "real" and "uncomfortable" and, yes, "honest" moments. Oh, and with less of everything else, including humor, good plotting, etc. I hope Anderson takes no cues from this guy... and that he doesn't write his next film with him, either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TeddyA.Oct 25, 2005
Saw this movie yesterday evening. I have to tell you, I thought the story was ludicrous, predictable and moronic. Here's a successful writer in the mother hooking up with an idiot teaching tennis pro. The father, if you could call him Saw this movie yesterday evening. I have to tell you, I thought the story was ludicrous, predictable and moronic. Here's a successful writer in the mother hooking up with an idiot teaching tennis pro. The father, if you could call him that, is a loser with a miserable personality who is totally self absorbed. Their children are totally screwed up with such dysfunctionable parents as their family. As for the film, it appeared as shot from a hand held video camera by an amateur. All it really succeeds in is therapy for its sorry author by telling his story. It's too bad to even be believed. Not to worry, as this is nothing more than a home movie and will disappear quickly. You have been warned. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RamonaC.Oct 25, 2005
Went to see this on the recommendation of a friend. Usually, I find his opinions and recommendations excellent. As my father once told me, you can't win them all. Depressing amateurish film with two great lead actors. Not much to work Went to see this on the recommendation of a friend. Usually, I find his opinions and recommendations excellent. As my father once told me, you can't win them all. Depressing amateurish film with two great lead actors. Not much to work with here. Sorry Stanley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SquallieOct 25, 2005
Depressing film about a confused family with a horrible father and promiscuous mother. As a result, it is not unexpected that both brothers are totally screwed up. Filmed as if a documentary by a hand held camera with a great deal of Depressing film about a confused family with a horrible father and promiscuous mother. As a result, it is not unexpected that both brothers are totally screwed up. Filmed as if a documentary by a hand held camera with a great deal of meaningless dialogue thrown in. Everything is predictable and downright depressing. Not worthy of your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredOct 20, 2005
This is a phenomenal movie. The characters are supposed to be flawed and we are supposed to be disgusted by both the mother and father's behavior, especially the latter's. It is the story of a family breaking apart due to This is a phenomenal movie. The characters are supposed to be flawed and we are supposed to be disgusted by both the mother and father's behavior, especially the latter's. It is the story of a family breaking apart due to selfishness and self-indulgence and the devastating effect that has on the children. At the same time the movie doesn't just leave things in black and white and even inviteds us to sympathize with the father and mother. Those who reviewed this beforehand need to learn that not all characters in movies are supposed to be perfect and it is this very imperfection that is so damaging to the children of such a marriage but which allows us to identify with them. Watch some good movies and you'll see that there are lots of complex characters out there and in the real world as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankB.Jan 1, 2006
Thoughtfull, rigorous, funny and sad. Great acting with story the dares not wrap everything up perfectly neatly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulF.Jan 13, 2006
This movie could have been so much more. The acting was decent but not out of this world either. The cinematography was fine, ok. But the writing and underling theme was something to be desired. The father was reduced to utter simplicity and This movie could have been so much more. The acting was decent but not out of this world either. The cinematography was fine, ok. But the writing and underling theme was something to be desired. The father was reduced to utter simplicity and the youngest was used mostly for gratuitous shock value. I am not a prude in the least but there was no warrant for his character to do as he did, plus it was utterly ridiculous, he was obviously not old enough to be into puberty. The more I think about this film the lower I want to give the score so I'll give it a generous five and leave it at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TracyR.Jan 14, 2006
It's a well-done movie with some things to day about how children react to divorce, no matter how "managed", and some of the foibles of intellectual people having to deal with emotions instead of ideas. But the character of the father It's a well-done movie with some things to day about how children react to divorce, no matter how "managed", and some of the foibles of intellectual people having to deal with emotions instead of ideas. But the character of the father is so over-developed, and to some degree, over-invested in by the director (who no doubt felt this way as a child, but needs to work with his as creative material, not therapy) that frankly the whole movie becomes a reaction to and against him, and the rest of the characters, most noticeably the mother, become washed out by comparison. Unfortunately one's entire reaction to the movie becomes dependent on whether you find Dad utterly annoying and worthless, or somehow touching despite the bluster. And that probably accounts for the wildly differing reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyP.Jan 3, 2006
Came away very unimpressed. Not worthy of your time or money. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CongoGongoJan 9, 2006
Refund!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillM.Feb 3, 2006
A small, wonderful movie. Terrific script, beautifully acted. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanMar 27, 2006
my only problem with this movie is that in 1987, there is no way that Walt plays "Hey You" and passes it off as his own and no one calls him on it until AFTER the concert is over. The Wall was huge at that point and someone would have my only problem with this movie is that in 1987, there is no way that Walt plays "Hey You" and passes it off as his own and no one calls him on it until AFTER the concert is over. The Wall was huge at that point and someone would have noticed before the concert even started and said something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EkwW.Mar 31, 2006
This excellent film dissects the woes of a hyper-intellectual couple whose confused children struggle to grasp the full, awful meaning of divorce. Performances are universally good, especially Daniels and young Jesse Eisenberg. Linney is This excellent film dissects the woes of a hyper-intellectual couple whose confused children struggle to grasp the full, awful meaning of divorce. Performances are universally good, especially Daniels and young Jesse Eisenberg. Linney is also fine as the cheating mother. The script has sharp, caustic dialogue and sudden, immediate generalities which burst forth from the pompous father and rebound from his elder son as gospel. Anyone who has been in the middle of a divorce - whether children or the actual adult participants - will feel the sting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful