The Straight Story Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The true story of Alvin Straight (Farnsworth) who rides his 1961 lawnmower from Laurens, Iowa, to Mt. Zion, Wisconsin, to visit his estranged brother after the latter suffers a stroke.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. All the actors are good, but it's Farnsworth's brilliantly simple performance that brings The Straight Story so close to greatness.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    100
    The best news the G rating has had since the ratings system was instituted in 1968.
  3. A great, haunting film; it affects us in ways we're not used to...it is capable of both lifting our hearts and chilling us to the bone.
  4. 88
    Lynch's first G-rated feature, turns out to be one of the year's best films...a wonderful surprise.
  5. 80
    Indeed heartwarming, though not simplemindedly so.
  6. The wonderful Richard Farnsworth plays the lead, and he was clearly born for the part...a highly affecting and suggestive spiritual odyssey.
  7. Reviewed by: Graham Verdon
    50
    A snail-paced story in all of its glorious ... slowness.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. WW.
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    I grew up just a few miles from Mount Zion, and this movie takes me back home. It is a real portrayal of the area. People who didn't I grew up just a few miles from Mount Zion, and this movie takes me back home. It is a real portrayal of the area. People who didn't like this movie just don't get it. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    WHat a great film The Straight story is! Briliant!! I've never watched a film so moving yet so subtle. The acting was amazing and so was theWHat a great film The Straight story is! Briliant!! I've never watched a film so moving yet so subtle. The acting was amazing and so was the simple yet very deep story. Collapse
  3. SandyV.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    no crime,violence,sex. I thought this a very emotional and caring movie.He touched the lives of many people.Anyone rating this movie a 10 are no crime,violence,sex. I thought this a very emotional and caring movie.He touched the lives of many people.Anyone rating this movie a 10 are people who care about others and themselves. Expand
  4. D.W
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    The only film in the history of American cinema that has a fully realized dualistic plot...the clues in this film...as to why Alvin Straight The only film in the history of American cinema that has a fully realized dualistic plot...the clues in this film...as to why Alvin Straight is REALLY going to see on his brother on his tractor, are delivered with a degree of subtle high-art that even most reviewers of this film missed, but to give a hint... Runaway Girl (aka Dorothy from Oz invoking "no place like home" to start the journey) = Human Birth Deer-strike Lady = Human Ambition (with the leering deer symbolizing that which is lost in its wake) Tractor Brakes/House On Fire= Lynch's explanation of what REALLY happened...pay VERY close attention to that scene. The Handymen Dialogue= Human Honesty (as a result of the above) Bartender Scene= Human Accomplishment Graveyard Scene= Impending Mortality Dead Engine Short Of Destination= Deserved Punishment (notice how Alvin accepts this knowing he has earned this fate) and finally, I feel the greatest moment in the Lynch canon... Old Man On Tractor= God Camera Pans Away= Dignity Of Private Confession Immaculate Repair= Sins Forgiven Simply put; the fact this movie was interpreted by dimwitted reviewers as merely a touching G-rated family film of reunion, is a travesty. Lynch unfurls an meticulously crafted tail of symbolism-via-pastoralia...a profound work exhaulting the finest nuances of cinematic understatement. What we have here, is a A+ work of subtle genius, masquerading directly under the noses of self-appointed aficianados, as a B+ family film. Do not be fooled by the unobservant; The Straight Story is on the shortlist for the greatest films ever made....and it's understated avenue of towards that end, one could argue its esoteric-yet-attainable route to it may be the most breathtaking on that shortlist. and finally, in my opinion the finest scene in the Lynch canon. Expand
  5. May 8, 2011
    10
    How can a movie where nothing much happens be so amazing. It has the allure of a great book read on a winters evening. Settle down, turn offHow can a movie where nothing much happens be so amazing. It has the allure of a great book read on a winters evening. Settle down, turn off the phone and watch a nice story been told in pictures. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    The Straight Story is so relaxing, poetic, and beautiful in its approach that all people are decent and that the journey is all part of theThe Straight Story is so relaxing, poetic, and beautiful in its approach that all people are decent and that the journey is all part of the final destination. Expand
  7. BurnieV
    Jul 5, 2007
    0
    I never dreamt there were bad movies without Steven Seagal, it was a horror to sit through.

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."