Rogue Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 422 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
328
Mixed:
37
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BobK.Jun 29, 2008
The concept was poorly executed. Had the protagonists displayed logic, rather than floundering around, their plight might have been much more convincing. As it is, with all the crawling around on the ground, leaving the woman alone, etc., The concept was poorly executed. Had the protagonists displayed logic, rather than floundering around, their plight might have been much more convincing. As it is, with all the crawling around on the ground, leaving the woman alone, etc., the protagonists just seem stupid, one irrational move after another. No wonder she didn't want to marry him. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RaymondD.May 30, 2008
Horrible movie. Laughed throughout it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LaurenL.May 30, 2008
This must be the worst movie I've seen this year. You can't really say anything about the acting because there wasnt much acting at all. The only person I give props to for this movie was whoever came up with the music, that was This must be the worst movie I've seen this year. You can't really say anything about the acting because there wasnt much acting at all. The only person I give props to for this movie was whoever came up with the music, that was the only thing that made it the least bit scary. I can safely say I will not recommend this movie to anyone ever! I waited for a while to see this movie and went right after school the day it came out to see it and I was truly disappointed. Lets be a little more creative people! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RodneyF.Oct 27, 2008
This movie was one of the worst horror films I've seen in a while. I was expecting there to be a twist at the end or at least for there to be a good motive for the "invaders". Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman make some very stupid choices This movie was one of the worst horror films I've seen in a while. I was expecting there to be a twist at the end or at least for there to be a good motive for the "invaders". Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman make some very stupid choices while trying to survive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SantiN.Jun 8, 2008
Crushing bore of a movie. An ultimately boring, by-the-numbers screaming cliche. What a waste of my money and time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LeanneS.Aug 30, 2008
This film is not worth the hype I was really looking forward to it went to watch it on day of release only to be very disappointed. I really would not waste my time it is just a loud noise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SeanH.May 28, 2008
I had a free pass to see this movie and I still walked out of the theater. Don't go see it. Bad acting. Bad writing. Bad direction. Just an awful movie and I love horror movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RyencokeMay 31, 2008
This movie looked so good, what happened? The plot went ABSOLUTELY no-where at all. Same thing is happening the whole movie and all you can think is "Run". Simple doing, or is it not? Acting was really good though. The director didn't This movie looked so good, what happened? The plot went ABSOLUTELY no-where at all. Same thing is happening the whole movie and all you can think is "Run". Simple doing, or is it not? Acting was really good though. The director didn't really finish the movie. Made it seem like he didn't have an ending when he finished this load of crap. Don't waste your time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LanceL.May 30, 2008
The characters were so lame that I started rooting for the killers. How stupid does someone have to be not to bother to put shoes on before running out of the house?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EWJun 16, 2008
Nothing happens, a complete waste of time. If you are scared by this you are a wimp and shouldn't vote on horror reviews.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ctJun 2, 2008
It is spooky at times, and is often well shot, but the plot is completely unbelievable -- it makes no sense. It strains credibility from the get-go. It angered me. The characters -- including the killers -- are cardboard, careless, not It is spooky at times, and is often well shot, but the plot is completely unbelievable -- it makes no sense. It strains credibility from the get-go. It angered me. The characters -- including the killers -- are cardboard, careless, not personable, not smart. Ultimately the movie ends up being about nothing. Just sadism for sadism's sake. Which is made worse by the fact that I never even felt anything for the doomed couple at the mercy of the masked knife-wielders. Liv Tyler's character is insulting to women. She was fey, fearful, senseless, useless, and probably deserved what she got in the end. The first-time director should certainly NOT be given another chance anytime soon. He needs a writing class, and he needs to learn how to work with actors. Waste of time, waste of money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BobbyEJun 6, 2008
Good actining, a bit scary and jumpy but as a movie I didn't do it for me and forget about the ending which was atrocious. If it had a good ending or one that made sense at least then this would've been a decent film but other than Good actining, a bit scary and jumpy but as a movie I didn't do it for me and forget about the ending which was atrocious. If it had a good ending or one that made sense at least then this would've been a decent film but other than it not being realistic to me and having such a disappointing ending I will have to advise others to skip this until it hits dvd. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JakeH.Jun 8, 2008
Horrible, Horrible Horrible, Liv Tyler played a horrible role, the strangers identities were never revealed and the plot was horrendous... yawn.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NathanLAug 19, 2008
Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! I tried to suspend my disbelief about twenty times! But the absurdities that were displayed in this waste of time movie would not allow it. I like a good horror flick but this movie failed at the genre. The girl was Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! I tried to suspend my disbelief about twenty times! But the absurdities that were displayed in this waste of time movie would not allow it. I like a good horror flick but this movie failed at the genre. The girl was so helpless and pathetic for not trying to fight back. She acted like a 7 year old, hiding under the bed -- after watching her do that, I quit caring for her. A waste of time!!! 99.999999% of Americans would have fought the intruders with much more vigor. Most people would have tried to find weapons and gone on the offensive. But not these idiots! A horrible movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RossP.Aug 30, 2008
I have seen a lot of films in my time but this was the worst film i have ever seen in my life i feel like ringing up the people who made this film and asking them for 85 minutes of my life back i feel truely ripped off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JeffD.May 19, 2009
I'll give this a 1 for technique, but I don't watch movies for techniques so it really gets a 0. All they had to do was connect some dots. This movie was made for a non-thinker and that offended my intellect. It really sucked ass.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaleM.Nov 1, 2008
The storyline is contrived. Events don't happen out of any inner logic in the story or characters, but just because the director wants them to happen. Many of the scenes are telegraphed so there is very little real fright. The main The storyline is contrived. Events don't happen out of any inner logic in the story or characters, but just because the director wants them to happen. Many of the scenes are telegraphed so there is very little real fright. The main characters talk with a sliding inflection as if they were bored most of the time. Even the murderers who supposedly are doing it for the fun of it don't seem to be having any fun. At the end of the movie there is a scene with two boys walking their bikes down a hill. What kind of boys walk bikes down a hill? That's the kind of contriving that's just stupid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AJNov 11, 2008
Anyone out there with a higher rating than -0- is full of shit! The absolute worst movies I have seen in quite some time. I'm actually pissed about how horrible this film was.....utter waste of my time and money. I swear, if I were to Anyone out there with a higher rating than -0- is full of shit! The absolute worst movies I have seen in quite some time. I'm actually pissed about how horrible this film was.....utter waste of my time and money. I swear, if I were to ever have the chance of meeting the director, I'd pop him right in the face for putting such a piece of shit on the market. Shame on the production company for ever letting this garbage hit the market....PURE GARBAGE! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RG.Nov 5, 2008
There is no need to express it with intelectual words or in a complicated way, feeding society with such horrible sadism is just plain wrong. Also im not sure who is sicker, the killers or the moviemakers that care more abot the money they There is no need to express it with intelectual words or in a complicated way, feeding society with such horrible sadism is just plain wrong. Also im not sure who is sicker, the killers or the moviemakers that care more abot the money they make than the effect they do with such pointless negativity. Unfortunately I have to say the director really knows how to keep suspense and scare but it wont last long, yolull eventually get bored of repetitive slow attemps of scaring you and eventually youll find stupid how these "ninjas" or killers trained by James bond are simply always a step ahead in an unrealistic way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
notarydpoMay 30, 2008
Wow, was this terrible. If you'd like to see the premise carried out well, with characters less irritating, try Ils. Or the original Funny Games. Anything but this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.May 31, 2008
HORRIBLE. Unrealistic, Killers had about 27 chances to kill the people but let them just crawl around before killing them. Even let them live for the night. Worst movie I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamJ.Jun 1, 2008
This movie was horrible and at the scenes that were supposed to be thrilling everyone was laughing. Terrible!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
OliverC.Jun 1, 2008
I never felt so lousy after leaving a movie. The production isn't bad, the acting and the suspense are above average for this kind of movie. However, it is unrelenting and ultimately pointless. Uses the same horror techniques to build I never felt so lousy after leaving a movie. The production isn't bad, the acting and the suspense are above average for this kind of movie. However, it is unrelenting and ultimately pointless. Uses the same horror techniques to build up suspense over and over, so even though the movie is relatively short it feels drawn out and tedious. Plus you know whats going to happen at every turn. I can't recommend this movie to anyone unless you feel like being mentally abused. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AndrewM.Jun 2, 2008
Every 'thrill' is telegraphed. The tormentors come and go without tormenting. There are a couple of good stills and one decent tracking shot. In fact, this clearly wasn't conceived as a 'movie' at all, but a series Every 'thrill' is telegraphed. The tormentors come and go without tormenting. There are a couple of good stills and one decent tracking shot. In fact, this clearly wasn't conceived as a 'movie' at all, but a series of set-pieces that don't build from one to the next. If you enjoy identifying the films that this one steals from, then at least you'll have something to do. A techinical exercise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BarryC.Jun 6, 2008
Don't bother ever watching this snooze-fest bore of a film. Halfway through the film in the theater I was dozing off. The acting is boorish, and the killers have absolutely no personality or motivation. I held an interest in where the Don't bother ever watching this snooze-fest bore of a film. Halfway through the film in the theater I was dozing off. The acting is boorish, and the killers have absolutely no personality or motivation. I held an interest in where the plot would go near the end of the film, but was sorely disappointed to find out that the whole puke piece of garbage really has no resolution or redeeming moments. Don't even watch this turd if someone is offering you money to do so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SarahTJul 16, 2009
The most pointless film i have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MarcW.Nov 15, 2008
Why does every cameraman these days seem to have parkinson's disease? The camera is just jittery enough to be distracting and pull you out of the experience. Every "shock" moment in the film calls and let's you know it is coming Why does every cameraman these days seem to have parkinson's disease? The camera is just jittery enough to be distracting and pull you out of the experience. Every "shock" moment in the film calls and let's you know it is coming before leaping out with a cliched "boo." The pacing is abysmally slow, there is no insight into the murderer's motivations, and the suposed realism of the film is betrayed by the complete lack of character of the killers. I would be outraged by the purile senslessness of this film if it didn't leave me so bored. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DaveJ.Dec 7, 2008
Lame wanna-be pseudo-horror.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PeterT.May 31, 2008
The movie was jumpy at times according to some friends (nothing gets to me) but lacked plot and wasn't scary as a whole. Characterization was awful, even for a genre known for very little dialogue. The whole concept, without giving away The movie was jumpy at times according to some friends (nothing gets to me) but lacked plot and wasn't scary as a whole. Characterization was awful, even for a genre known for very little dialogue. The whole concept, without giving away the extremely weak twist, was gimmicky at best and just terrible at worst. Finally, most bad horror movies make me laugh hysterically. This one somehow didn't, probably due to the production values (the reason it got a 1 instead of a zero and should qualify as a 'B' or 'C' movie rather than a 'Z' movie like Plan 9.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PicturesqueJun 13, 2008
I am a TRUE Horor movie fan and I wonder where have the GOOD HOROR movies gone? This movie takes all this time to kill 2 people?! Then it never explains why they killed, who they are, or other happenings from the begining! It made no sense! I am a TRUE Horor movie fan and I wonder where have the GOOD HOROR movies gone? This movie takes all this time to kill 2 people?! Then it never explains why they killed, who they are, or other happenings from the begining! It made no sense! Horrible Plot! I wish I can get at least one GOOD HOROR movie! ONE Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JayJul 15, 2008
This movie is such a waste of time! It was dragged out and pointless! Everytime "the strangers" had an oppurtunity to kill, they let it go in an effort to boost adreneline and suspense.. in which it did neither. It is so frustrating, and the This movie is such a waste of time! It was dragged out and pointless! Everytime "the strangers" had an oppurtunity to kill, they let it go in an effort to boost adreneline and suspense.. in which it did neither. It is so frustrating, and the ending is complete BS. Don' waste your time watching this movie, you will be very disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NChunnFeb 11, 2009
Craft? so what......? mpvies are art, like it or not, and will be judged accordingly.... If you listen to a great singer singing about infanticide and incest with glee, are they judged on their singing ability? OR their content - lyrically Craft? so what......? mpvies are art, like it or not, and will be judged accordingly.... If you listen to a great singer singing about infanticide and incest with glee, are they judged on their singing ability? OR their content - lyrically and in content of character? the latter. End of story. Plenty of ppl can sing, and anyone can point a camera and say 'action'..... point is, can you produce something worthwhile, relevant, original? answer here = Nope. Thus the strangers takes a 'true story / real events" premise and surmises, at great insult to all living relatives and the victims themselves, that the three masks found belonged to heartless, or black-hearted rather, sadistic murderers that like to psychologically torture their victims before they kill them hours later etc etc..... when there is no proof or reason for this WHATSOEVER.... Oh and could the two of you poosibly split up unnecessarily any more than you did in this clechefest? Um, sorry, but that is BS and represents the kind of heartless, insulting, sadistic behaviour literally, that they were ironically supposed to be commenting on within the movie figuratively.... How appalling and irresponsible. The likely scenario is that the 3 masks simply belonged to the three victims, that they were a love triangle or similar and something passionate and regrettable and tragic happened. So Bryan Bertino comes along and instead of making what he thought he had - some sort of sensational, original, ground-breaker like the Last House on the Left (also fairly unnecessary - and I say that as a horror afficionado who disagrees that torture porn and horror are interchangeable), Bryan has just insulted the dead, the living and anyone dumb enough to hand over cash for this pointless, self-obsessed, patronising, superfluous, waste of space, time and money. The absolutely epitome of style over substance, sprinkled in pointless sadism.... If I was a serial killer, I would masturbate in front of this film.... why not? Seems perfect...... A little bit of snuff for the masses eh Bryan? Shame on you f***ing idiots. You have damned a generation with your propoganda and BS. Have a frikkin' heart FGS - this movie achieves precisely NOTHING. Also many of the reviewers above are clearly not well-versed in horror, as the movie was predictable, crammed with cliche and an empty, vacuous exercise in the monotony of unceasing disrespect and cynicism..... NOT - "invested brilliantly in silence"... lol... that's the philosophical semantics of a frikkin' amateur. Change your profession or narrow your movie genres for review - you're not up to it sonny.... Time to move on chump. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
shaun8picklesJun 26, 2013
I really wish I could back every minute of this 90 minute movie, it was probably one of the worst horror movies I have seen! And I have seen some bad ones. It starts off with yawns, and jump scares afterwards. The movie states at theI really wish I could back every minute of this 90 minute movie, it was probably one of the worst horror movies I have seen! And I have seen some bad ones. It starts off with yawns, and jump scares afterwards. The movie states at the beginning that it is based on true events... Any serial killer could have done this, really. With all the stuff we see on the news nowadays. Horror movies are usually the movies that get the worst entries which is sad since some of them could have been so much better with their potential. This one seems so uninspired and slacked. Even the biggest of horror fans won't find anything in this movie, and I'd know because I am a horror fan. So do yourself a favor. Don't watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
It's a first-rate suspense show, that scares us not because it shocks us, but because it lurks in the shadows slyly knowing we're expecting it to jump out. But it doesn't. It just leaves us hanging- and it's all the more satisfying because of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Jerik02Oct 21, 2012
What a terrible movie and a waste of 1.5 hours. The characters made totally illogical choices and the stalkers were apparently omniscient because they knew exactly where the characters were at all times. The story is so contrived that I'mWhat a terrible movie and a waste of 1.5 hours. The characters made totally illogical choices and the stalkers were apparently omniscient because they knew exactly where the characters were at all times. The story is so contrived that I'm amazed people call this "suspenseful" or "scary". It's just a long drawn out build up for some torture porn at the end. It is also an outrage that the movie is supposedly based on actual events. In other words, hollywood is trying to make money off of some tragic murder case. The good news is, the movie flopped so badly, I'm not sure we have to worry about anything else from this "creative team". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
TTW107Feb 12, 2012
I'm not sure how you can call this horror or even call it a movie because it sucks. Nothing happens at all. The characters just make the stupidest decisions. i will never watch this again.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ElijahOct 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite what the critics say. I found this film to be a great textbook example of what horror movies should be like. Many people have a problem with the plot. But I think that this was a much more accurate example of what evil is. When they ask why are you doing this and the girl replies ("because you were home") That's one of the best and most accurate portrayal of what evil is. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
ScarTissue1990Mar 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrifying! It's about time a genuine good horror movie is released and this is it. The stillness and terror of this movie scares the hell out of most people including me. The motivation of the killers is what probabaly what scared me the most "because you are home". Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
NixySep 27, 2012
I found this film mindless. I didn't like the acting, their decisions were lost on me and therefore my sympathy lessened as the film progressed and I just found the whole concept of the film upsetting. I kept hoping that there was going to beI found this film mindless. I didn't like the acting, their decisions were lost on me and therefore my sympathy lessened as the film progressed and I just found the whole concept of the film upsetting. I kept hoping that there was going to be a point behind everything that was done and yet nothing was ever offered. I appreciate that being in a state of blind panic, you're not going to make the most rational of choices but I felt that there got to a point where the film was just outright stupid. It did make me jump, but so do most unexpected loud noises, so that in itself is fairly meaningless. However, in the interest of fairness, it seems only right to point out what I think the film did do well. I think they were successful in making the 'strangers' genuinely unsettling and disturbing characters, it was suspenseful at times it being so close to home, quite literally, is an aspect of the film that will probably stay with a number of its viewers. Also, certain scenes that weren't reliant on making its audience jump were quite well thought out and as such, made for some fairly chilling moments. On the whole, as you can tell, I wasn't too impressed and I think a lot of people, particularly horror fans, will want a lot more from a film than this one was able to provide. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
FilmVirtueJun 25, 2015
Believe it or not, The Strangers is exceptional. Sure you can say, The Exorcist, Nightmare on Elm Street, and Scream are amazing horror films. They are, but do they ever manage to tap into the realistic fears of the human mind. No. TheBelieve it or not, The Strangers is exceptional. Sure you can say, The Exorcist, Nightmare on Elm Street, and Scream are amazing horror films. They are, but do they ever manage to tap into the realistic fears of the human mind. No. The Strangers does by taking the most simplistic (and realistic) fears of the human mind and combines them into a film that will most likely cause nightmares. A remote getaway, night hours, and three masked killers that our protagonists can never really get a grip on. The film has very brief moments of cliche's (For Example: The use of the film tactic "One second there, the next second gone") but can we fault them on that? Of course you can but should you? No film can be perfect, and The Strangers knows that, working with what it has handed to them. Some will hate the film, particularly It's choice of finale, which I was never to fond of myself, but accepted nonetheless. The Strangers is horrifying with the most simplistic elements, and that's what scares us most. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
This movie really creeped me out. Not many horror movies can truly scare me, but this one did.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-692-The-Strangers-online-free
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
TheGuyFleegmanOct 30, 2008
I love this movie. All the critics say there is no plot and it is very one dimensional. They never stopped to thing if that may have been done for a reason. When they made the movie they wanted to drive home the fact that it could happen to I love this movie. All the critics say there is no plot and it is very one dimensional. They never stopped to thing if that may have been done for a reason. When they made the movie they wanted to drive home the fact that it could happen to anyone. With that premise in mind I think it becomes on of the most chilling and creepy movies ever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyS.Jun 1, 2008
Mallrats will hate the ending. I saw this film with my friends yesterday and the overall consensus was a positive one. This film is actually scary! Its refreshing to see a movie like this and it not have an exaggerated body count. I would Mallrats will hate the ending. I saw this film with my friends yesterday and the overall consensus was a positive one. This film is actually scary! Its refreshing to see a movie like this and it not have an exaggerated body count. I would recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AshleighR.Jun 5, 2008
I thought this movie was more disturbing than scary...I watch tons of crime shows and found this movie so disturbing because I have seen that stuff like this really happens to people... I thought the movie was fun, thrilling, and exciting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JWilliamsJun 7, 2008
One of the better "scary" movies that has been out in a few years. The acting is well done and the suspense is genuine. But as with all horror movies you have the "how stupid can you get" moments. Just because a girl is wearing a mask One of the better "scary" movies that has been out in a few years. The acting is well done and the suspense is genuine. But as with all horror movies you have the "how stupid can you get" moments. Just because a girl is wearing a mask wouldn't make it any more difficult for a guy to kick her ass. A shotgun vs. 3 looney tunes, the shotgun still wins. The mind trip is supposed to be the randomness of the killers acts, that this could happen to anyone. By trying encite paranoia in the moviegoer, the movie became status quo. Eventually I want to see a horror movie where the victims make all the right decisions but the killers make better ones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Jul 10, 2008
The Strangers is a genuinely scary movie in a couple of ways - jump scares and extreme suspense. The acting is superb and the antagonists have an extremely disturbing presence to them. It's unmatched, really. The father figure, The Strangers is a genuinely scary movie in a couple of ways - jump scares and extreme suspense. The acting is superb and the antagonists have an extremely disturbing presence to them. It's unmatched, really. The father figure, specifically, is fantastic. My only big gripe was the ending. The film didn't end where I thought would have been perfect to end. The actual ending felt taped on to an otherwise fantastic horror movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ZachNSep 9, 2008
After hearing a number of negative reviews before going to see 'The Strangers' i carried the hope that the film could still prove itself as a worthy contribution to the horror genre. Over the past few years there have been very few After hearing a number of negative reviews before going to see 'The Strangers' i carried the hope that the film could still prove itself as a worthy contribution to the horror genre. Over the past few years there have been very few films that have succeeded in providing the raw, gritty and chilling horrors that had been invented by films such as the 'Texas Chainsaw Massacre' or the 'Halloween' productions. In its plot 'The Strangers' owes a lot to films like 'Them' or 'Funny Games', yet stylistically it manages to keep an air of individuality. Overall i would recommend any horror avid to check this one out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Oct 14, 2008
Bright spots: Liv Tyler is terrific, it has some suspense. Good score. Low spots: It's pointless. Where is the reason? The motive? The plot? It's empty and has no depth.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrancoT.May 26, 2008
Hands down the scariest movie I've EVER seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadA.May 30, 2008
Awesome, and thrilling movie! Much more than I expected!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.May 31, 2008
Excellent film that delivers suspense while be very disturbing. It stands in the tradition of the true horror gems like the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Shining, Halloween, and The Descent. The direction by a first time director is Excellent film that delivers suspense while be very disturbing. It stands in the tradition of the true horror gems like the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Shining, Halloween, and The Descent. The direction by a first time director is quite skillful and the two leads do a great acting job at selling both their relationship and the scares. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MirandaW.May 30, 2008
I am an avid fan of horror and this is one of the best I have ever seen. It captures the classic bump in the night style of the 70s, the subtleties of black and white horror flicks, and the new age psychological thriller in one flicker of I am an avid fan of horror and this is one of the best I have ever seen. It captures the classic bump in the night style of the 70s, the subtleties of black and white horror flicks, and the new age psychological thriller in one flicker of fear. The anticlimactic end makes it all the more unnerving and reminds us that reality is the greatest basis for horror. This film is what the horror movie industry needs. Brilliant sound (or lack there of) and an emphasis on acting, not just heavy breathing bimbos for sex appeal. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.May 30, 2008
In the event of a home invasion perpetuated by masked marauders, don't leave your girlfriend unarmed should you have the bright idea to separate, like James(Scott Speedman) does in "The Strangers", even if the woman turned down your In the event of a home invasion perpetuated by masked marauders, don't leave your girlfriend unarmed should you have the bright idea to separate, like James(Scott Speedman) does in "The Strangers", even if the woman turned down your marriage proposal. Be a gentleman, and leave her the gun. Even though James is in possession of the weapon, he still blows it, like an inexperienced basketball player lacking the wherewithal to sense danger from his backside. Thanks to him, there will be blood, and not of the metaphorical sort, the rose petals, which is, originally, the splatterings of James' broken heart, soon becomes a precursor to the ensuing bloodletting, when the unarmed, corporeal menace dupe the dupes. But "The Strangers" has some, SOME, mind you, artistry. The uncorking of a champagne bottle makes the saddest pop. James and Kristen(Liv Tyler) aren't teenagers. That helps. They don't need to show I.D. when buying cough syrup. But the inevitable attack on the contentious couple will...should... it better... infuriate you. Unlike, say, David Fincher's "Zodiac", this unofficial remake of David Moreau and Xavier Palud's "Ils", lacks the gravitas to get away with such near-graphic brutality. But then, "The Strangers" surprised me, again, with a somewhat disquieting and witty coda. You can make an argument for "The Strangers", just not a fully qualified one. Unless you're into sadism and repentance, that is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobbyP.May 30, 2008
So many people have told me this movie is so scary they will not see it again. After the movie none of my friends wanted to part or dive home alone. I love this movie!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Ms.WolfgangJun 10, 2008
The sparseness of the movie was bleak and stylish all at once, but while it excels in atmosphere and has a minimum of "cheap" scares... like most horror movies it slams awkwardly towards a conclusion that leaves you feeling more like "oh I The sparseness of the movie was bleak and stylish all at once, but while it excels in atmosphere and has a minimum of "cheap" scares... like most horror movies it slams awkwardly towards a conclusion that leaves you feeling more like "oh I guess the hour and a half was up?" than anything as well-conceived and disturbing as its opening scenes. I think horror fans will find it refreshing and subtle... for the rest, the good points will probably slip past unnoticed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NigelN.Jun 16, 2008
The plot was a little silly with the victims doing stupid things but there was genuine tension to be found in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JimOJun 6, 2008
Very solid title. Not many flaws. Enjoyable and entertaining. Should not miss this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SteveG.Jun 8, 2008
After some though I think this movie was pretty good. The ending was pretty bad for a thriller, though. Hopefully the DVD will have an alternate ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ElbowsM.Jun 9, 2008
The Strangers isn't a groundbreaking horror movie, but it definitely provided me with some good scares and lots of suspense. The story is simple but effective and the cast did a wonderful job. I love Liv Tyler so I may be a little biased.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AaronN.Jul 29, 2008
A little on the "vacancy" style plot here, that was the worst movie of last year second to the seeker, but why im giving this the half baked rating is solely because of the ending. Why in the lords name would you make the antagonists remove A little on the "vacancy" style plot here, that was the worst movie of last year second to the seeker, but why im giving this the half baked rating is solely because of the ending. Why in the lords name would you make the antagonists remove their masks and barely show them the faces? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DillianG.Aug 29, 2008
An amazing suspense thriller which will have you on the egde of your seats in an unconventional but irrasistable way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JossTAug 16, 2009
Good god there are a lot of morons here who think they know something but show through their comments how pathetically ignorant they are. Obviously a few FAILED 'film makers' here....hahahha. Fantastic film. Scary as hell and Good god there are a lot of morons here who think they know something but show through their comments how pathetically ignorant they are. Obviously a few FAILED 'film makers' here....hahahha. Fantastic film. Scary as hell and delivered exactly what it intended to do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DavidS.Oct 27, 2008
Not great, not bad. A good film to see with your wife or girlfriend, but not a good one to see with 'the guys'. It's slow, and the sudden frights aren't quite up to M. Night standards, but it's nice to see a movie Not great, not bad. A good film to see with your wife or girlfriend, but not a good one to see with 'the guys'. It's slow, and the sudden frights aren't quite up to M. Night standards, but it's nice to see a movie that isn't torture porn. And, the guy with the bag on his head is awesome! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
GeorgeMOct 29, 2008
This is a movie i was itching to see, and now that i have.....i wonder just what it was that had me itching, because it was rather disappointing and just borderline above average. first of all, this is NOT a very gory or graphic This is a movie i was itching to see, and now that i have.....i wonder just what it was that had me itching, because it was rather disappointing and just borderline above average. first of all, this is NOT a very gory or graphic film....second of all, its FULL of your standard crap horror cliches (the killers are like Ninjas)....and thirdly....it ENDS just like you typical horror movie shlock, which i won't spoil for you but i can assure you.....MOST will roll their eyes to it. the story is interesting, its the execution thats uninspired and whats mean to be suspenseful and scary is really just annoying and silly.....the killers come off as more annoying and juvenile throughout the film instead of overbearing and terrifying.....like a bunch of bored 16 year olds that got to deep into a prank and killing became there only option. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelR.May 28, 2008
dont believe the stupid "This is a rip off of Vacancy/Them/FUnny Games)" Its not, they havent even seen the movie. This is how scary a movie should be. Sure its slow, but its all about the suspense.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
bBobN.May 31, 2008
The horror genre has needed a movie like this for some time. The movie's point was not the usual violence that we have seen for some years in new movies of the horror genres (How can we kill somebody and make it so graphic that it is The horror genre has needed a movie like this for some time. The movie's point was not the usual violence that we have seen for some years in new movies of the horror genres (How can we kill somebody and make it so graphic that it is unsettling to the audience?) but fear. The sounds, reminiscent of The Haunting (original), were wonderfully frightening as was the situation the two mains were placed in. Great movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticJun 1, 2008
Easily among the scariest horror films I've seen in years, it's expertly staged and features a huge collection of memorable scares, very intense confrontations, excellent sound effects, and subtle music. There was no plot, that was Easily among the scariest horror films I've seen in years, it's expertly staged and features a huge collection of memorable scares, very intense confrontations, excellent sound effects, and subtle music. There was no plot, that was the point. Those expecting a plot with twists, etc. will walk away disappointing; this movie's exactly what it is, which is a couple being relentlessly attacked by masked people. It's suspenseful and yes, truly scary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DrewFJun 1, 2008
The atmosphere and cinematography really make this one a winner. Very unsettling. Don't go to a late show and then drive home alone... You WILL be looking over your shoulder.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnFJun 2, 2008
Its what you expect in this movie before you go see, jumpy, suspenseful and wondering whats going to happen next. It limits the useless violence and makes this movie a psychological thriller as the Strangers played with their victim's Its what you expect in this movie before you go see, jumpy, suspenseful and wondering whats going to happen next. It limits the useless violence and makes this movie a psychological thriller as the Strangers played with their victim's minds throughout the night. The ending left it perfect for a sequel which I already cant wait to see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LundenAJun 3, 2008
Scary!!! this movie was very creative and did make you jump and scream. People saying it was stupid because they would just walk behind them and not kill them are wrong. It makes the movie more suspensefull and creepy because you can tell Scary!!! this movie was very creative and did make you jump and scream. People saying it was stupid because they would just walk behind them and not kill them are wrong. It makes the movie more suspensefull and creepy because you can tell it's just a game to them which is the scariest part of this movie. People giving bad reviews are just not a fan of scary movies. Just don't see it if you're not a fan. Great movie overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ClayT.Jun 3, 2008
There is not much plot to The Strangers, but it doesn't need one. The movie's bare simplicity allows it to capitalize on carnal fears. A movie hasn't shaken me to my core like this since I was a lad. There is nothing There is not much plot to The Strangers, but it doesn't need one. The movie's bare simplicity allows it to capitalize on carnal fears. A movie hasn't shaken me to my core like this since I was a lad. There is nothing particularly special about this flick, but something about it is amazingly creepy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeL.Jun 6, 2008
The Strangers was a well put together psychlogical thriller which poses the question, "can this really happen to me?". Instead of using over the top blood and gore like most movies in our time period, the strangers use shadows, sounds and The Strangers was a well put together psychlogical thriller which poses the question, "can this really happen to me?". Instead of using over the top blood and gore like most movies in our time period, the strangers use shadows, sounds and silence to frighten the audience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrianD.Jun 9, 2008
A near perfect horror film that reflects the uncertain times we're living in. Sure, there is no plot. The incidents that happen are random and, as a result, our heros don't entirely understand what's happening to them. A near perfect horror film that reflects the uncertain times we're living in. Sure, there is no plot. The incidents that happen are random and, as a result, our heros don't entirely understand what's happening to them. Surprisingly, the couple works together in a surprisingly logical fashion to counter their attackers. They do some right things, they make mistakes and, ultimately, they are overwhelmed and confused by a situation that would throw any of us off the normal beam. If people don't like this movie it's because they need formula to guide their reactions. There is no formula here. Only terror. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PhilM.Aug 17, 2008
NOT an average film. There are problems in it which critics have pointed out, however they don't negatively affect the film anywhere near as bad as they make out. I haven't been scared in years by any horror film but I must say NOT an average film. There are problems in it which critics have pointed out, however they don't negatively affect the film anywhere near as bad as they make out. I haven't been scared in years by any horror film but I must say this one had my heart going, it was filmed unconventionally which gave it a kind of creepy feeling. It's not your run of the mill slasher so don't worry about that. Check it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
mikeSep 8, 2008
This movie was a brilliant horror. the whole of the cinema was on the edge of their seats with many heart-in-mouth moments. Loved it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
VictorCApr 5, 2009
A horrific film. It contains great scares and is full of suspense. Although, a sequel would ruin it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TannerJJun 5, 2009
It's not terrifying but it is pretty thrilling. The 2 lead characters are probably some of the dumbest people in the history of horror movies tho. Overall a pretty good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KPJul 12, 2009
Horror movies, in general, I watch with low expectations. I don't expect them to all be The Shining. That said, this movie creeped me out. Mainly b/c I live in a house in the middle of no where and could picture the scenario. I thought Horror movies, in general, I watch with low expectations. I don't expect them to all be The Shining. That said, this movie creeped me out. Mainly b/c I live in a house in the middle of no where and could picture the scenario. I thought the movie was decent for what it is. if you are looking for a quick scare flick to watch check it out...better yet, rent it when you are on vacation at a secluded cabin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianP.Nov 27, 2008
Truly awesome!! more of a thriller,scary horror movie than most expensive movies I've seen! very shocking scare the heck out of you scenes!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PatrickH.Nov 3, 2008
Great suspense, good story, good acting, a nice little 80 min thrill ride.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RossS.Jun 13, 2008
The director (Bertino) does a fantastic job with connecting the viewers with the characters, although it does drag a bit. The first loud knock had me jumping in my seat and the giggling voice that followed made my heart beat faster. The director (Bertino) does a fantastic job with connecting the viewers with the characters, although it does drag a bit. The first loud knock had me jumping in my seat and the giggling voice that followed made my heart beat faster. That's all I need to get disturbed and drawn in the film. The rest is pure psychological horror, striking me deep to the core. The three masked strangers don't do anything but pop out of nowhere and generate trouble all with simple white masks covering their faces. And that's good. The lightness of the masks gives this dark tension throughout the film that may sag a bit towards the end. The bare simplicity of the flick is a nice set-up from the complex beginning, where Bertino tries to jam in background all at once. The only thing that was disappointing was the brief homage to gore-fests in the middle of the movie. The ending left me both hanging and disappointed--it could've been made creepier. But for Bertino's debut film, this is bound to be one of his betters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RD.Sep 28, 2008
Amazingly creepy movie but has a stupid ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
GavinJul 26, 2009
It doesn't provide many scares but, when it does, they are fairly satisfying.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DillonT.Aug 29, 2009
This movie was amazing what horror should be. the scarys are done so perfect. many may find the ending to be a let down but i found it to be truly scary. the felling of not knowing is scary. all the little stuff like music, sudden nosies This movie was amazing what horror should be. the scarys are done so perfect. many may find the ending to be a let down but i found it to be truly scary. the felling of not knowing is scary. all the little stuff like music, sudden nosies give it that scary, creepy vibe. you never know what may happen next which I love. I lock my doors more often now. Tyler has a terrific scream. good movie!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanS.Nov 28, 2008
Huh...maybe i'm not as smart as i think i am because i thought this was one of the scariest movies i've seen in a while....i like terror thrillers though, not so much the silly gore movies but the ones that make you use all your Huh...maybe i'm not as smart as i think i am because i thought this was one of the scariest movies i've seen in a while....i like terror thrillers though, not so much the silly gore movies but the ones that make you use all your senses..not just your eyes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Man asks girlfriend to marry him, she refuses, go to isolated holiday home, strange people turn up....
Thought I'd really hate this but, despite being predictable, isn't that bad for it's genre.
Goes for the jump scare most of the time when
Man asks girlfriend to marry him, she refuses, go to isolated holiday home, strange people turn up....
Thought I'd really hate this but, despite being predictable, isn't that bad for it's genre.
Goes for the jump scare most of the time when you sort of know what's coming & in the first 20 minutes there is a lot of mumbling.
The assailants are very well done & it does have quite an air of suspense about it despite the crap ending.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mikefishNov 26, 2011
I must admit I was rather surprised with this movie. I went into it expecting some B-grade slasher, but I couldn't of been further from the truth. The strangers is a well made thriller/horror that dosen't rely on gore and things jumpong outI must admit I was rather surprised with this movie. I went into it expecting some B-grade slasher, but I couldn't of been further from the truth. The strangers is a well made thriller/horror that dosen't rely on gore and things jumpong out at you for scares. It simpily relies on a creepy atmoshphere and and suspence. I suggest this movie very strongly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
The strangers is a creepy story, based on actual events. This isn't your typical horror movie. It moves a lot slower and lacks the cursing and gore, but what it is, is methodical and truly scary. I have so many questions I'd like to ask, butThe strangers is a creepy story, based on actual events. This isn't your typical horror movie. It moves a lot slower and lacks the cursing and gore, but what it is, is methodical and truly scary. I have so many questions I'd like to ask, but can't do it without spoilers. This movie will make you jump, make you scream, and make you think, and that's what makes it special and worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RonaldOVOXOFeb 1, 2012
Even though i didnt like this movie the strangers really made this movie have hope. I really dont like horror movies (except the saw movies which are the best) but the strangers was a ok movie i recommend it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Despite a seemingly strong lead from Liv Tyler, there is little else than filler. The Strangers goes for tired and predictable scares amidst a promising premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
survivorfan989Jul 8, 2013
A solid Thriller that is quite intense to watch as we witness a young couple terrorized by three 'strangers' who make their night a living hell. It's a slow-paced film but it picks up in all the right spots and is carried out well by theA solid Thriller that is quite intense to watch as we witness a young couple terrorized by three 'strangers' who make their night a living hell. It's a slow-paced film but it picks up in all the right spots and is carried out well by the actors (although I'm not a big Liv Tyler fan). The final few scenes is where it all happens and is the highlight of the film, but the build up is necessary for the film. Overall it's not the best in its genre, but well worth a look regardless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jackcarlin96Feb 10, 2013
'The Strangers' is quick to deliver the scares and intensity that is vital in a good horror film but it lacks logic and innovation. Yet in saying this the film still keeps it interesting with its raw edge and psychological build; so basically'The Strangers' is quick to deliver the scares and intensity that is vital in a good horror film but it lacks logic and innovation. Yet in saying this the film still keeps it interesting with its raw edge and psychological build; so basically its not like the other run-of-the-mill home invasion horror's, but its not the best of them either Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
khutchNov 12, 2013
It's hard to find a good point in a thriller that even stress can't create.
You can't wait for everything finish, and then you see the point where the film hits, is short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
boy_number_8Mar 19, 2014
This film plays with one of the biggest real life scares of being alone in your house terrorized by strangers, especially with the whole "this film is being taken from real life events" line included at the beginning.
What i felt the
This film plays with one of the biggest real life scares of being alone in your house terrorized by strangers, especially with the whole "this film is being taken from real life events" line included at the beginning.
What i felt the strangers does well making us care about the main characters. This isnt a simple horror movie with multiple characters and huge body counts of people we don't care about.
There's some bone chilling moments early on but the films looses most of its magic once "the strangers" start their full scale attack.
The two lead characters must be some of the most dumb people i've ever watched in a horror movie. I was taken aback many times by some of their idiotic behavior, so much so that i wasn't sure if i was watching a parody. Every sane thing you would do, they decide to do the opposite.
The ending may not be to everyone's taste, but i personally liked it and id be lying if i said i didn't want to watch the squeal.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMay 20, 2015
The acting is great and the atmosphere is intense.The scenario is not really original and people keep accusing it to be the same as the one from Funny Games US.The movie is entertaining and well made,but I was expecting better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ydnar4Nov 27, 2014
The Strangers was a movie I was eager to see. It looked like a film that could possibly be a flag carrier for modern horror movies. Sadly it was just more of the same old same old. You have to wait and wait in order to see who the villainThe Strangers was a movie I was eager to see. It looked like a film that could possibly be a flag carrier for modern horror movies. Sadly it was just more of the same old same old. You have to wait and wait in order to see who the villain is, there was really no peak or climax to the story. Although I did get scared 2 or 3 times earlier in the movie the plot sort of dried out after the first 45 minutes. Also in the end all the questions you are expecting to have answered slip through the cracks and no more is said about them. Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman are veterans who I would expect more from in a horror film but in the end they are just trying to play the stupid teenagers who all get killed in slasher movies. The Strangers is simply nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Feb 19, 2015
Having heard countless recommendations from other people, I finally decided to watch this movie, and I'm now glad I did. It's a very simple home invasion movie with nothing really fancy or revolutionary about it, other than it being scary asHaving heard countless recommendations from other people, I finally decided to watch this movie, and I'm now glad I did. It's a very simple home invasion movie with nothing really fancy or revolutionary about it, other than it being scary as hell. Throughout it's relatively short running time, this movie relies on ratcheting up the tension as we see shadows of faces and blurry masks in the darkness of the house until hitting well-executed jump scares, and the jump scares aren't cheap at all. Each one is well deserved because of the mounting suspense built up in the past few minutes. There's very little dialogue throughout the film, which allows minimal distractions when we're waiting to pee our pants in fear. I can't talk about this without mentioning some obvious flaws. The characters make some stupid decisions, and there are many points throughout the film where the invaders lead me to believe that they can teleport. Nevertheless, The Strangers is a very scary and thrilling little movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews