Rogue Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 411 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
322
Mixed:
33
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BobK.Jun 29, 2008
The concept was poorly executed. Had the protagonists displayed logic, rather than floundering around, their plight might have been much more convincing. As it is, with all the crawling around on the ground, leaving the woman alone, etc., The concept was poorly executed. Had the protagonists displayed logic, rather than floundering around, their plight might have been much more convincing. As it is, with all the crawling around on the ground, leaving the woman alone, etc., the protagonists just seem stupid, one irrational move after another. No wonder she didn't want to marry him. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RaymondD.May 30, 2008
Horrible movie. Laughed throughout it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LaurenL.May 30, 2008
This must be the worst movie I've seen this year. You can't really say anything about the acting because there wasnt much acting at all. The only person I give props to for this movie was whoever came up with the music, that was This must be the worst movie I've seen this year. You can't really say anything about the acting because there wasnt much acting at all. The only person I give props to for this movie was whoever came up with the music, that was the only thing that made it the least bit scary. I can safely say I will not recommend this movie to anyone ever! I waited for a while to see this movie and went right after school the day it came out to see it and I was truly disappointed. Lets be a little more creative people! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RodneyF.Oct 27, 2008
This movie was one of the worst horror films I've seen in a while. I was expecting there to be a twist at the end or at least for there to be a good motive for the "invaders". Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman make some very stupid choices This movie was one of the worst horror films I've seen in a while. I was expecting there to be a twist at the end or at least for there to be a good motive for the "invaders". Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman make some very stupid choices while trying to survive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SantiN.Jun 8, 2008
Crushing bore of a movie. An ultimately boring, by-the-numbers screaming cliche. What a waste of my money and time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LeanneS.Aug 30, 2008
This film is not worth the hype I was really looking forward to it went to watch it on day of release only to be very disappointed. I really would not waste my time it is just a loud noise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SeanH.May 28, 2008
I had a free pass to see this movie and I still walked out of the theater. Don't go see it. Bad acting. Bad writing. Bad direction. Just an awful movie and I love horror movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RyencokeMay 31, 2008
This movie looked so good, what happened? The plot went ABSOLUTELY no-where at all. Same thing is happening the whole movie and all you can think is "Run". Simple doing, or is it not? Acting was really good though. The director didn't This movie looked so good, what happened? The plot went ABSOLUTELY no-where at all. Same thing is happening the whole movie and all you can think is "Run". Simple doing, or is it not? Acting was really good though. The director didn't really finish the movie. Made it seem like he didn't have an ending when he finished this load of crap. Don't waste your time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LanceL.May 30, 2008
The characters were so lame that I started rooting for the killers. How stupid does someone have to be not to bother to put shoes on before running out of the house?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EWJun 16, 2008
Nothing happens, a complete waste of time. If you are scared by this you are a wimp and shouldn't vote on horror reviews.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ctJun 2, 2008
It is spooky at times, and is often well shot, but the plot is completely unbelievable -- it makes no sense. It strains credibility from the get-go. It angered me. The characters -- including the killers -- are cardboard, careless, not It is spooky at times, and is often well shot, but the plot is completely unbelievable -- it makes no sense. It strains credibility from the get-go. It angered me. The characters -- including the killers -- are cardboard, careless, not personable, not smart. Ultimately the movie ends up being about nothing. Just sadism for sadism's sake. Which is made worse by the fact that I never even felt anything for the doomed couple at the mercy of the masked knife-wielders. Liv Tyler's character is insulting to women. She was fey, fearful, senseless, useless, and probably deserved what she got in the end. The first-time director should certainly NOT be given another chance anytime soon. He needs a writing class, and he needs to learn how to work with actors. Waste of time, waste of money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BobbyEJun 6, 2008
Good actining, a bit scary and jumpy but as a movie I didn't do it for me and forget about the ending which was atrocious. If it had a good ending or one that made sense at least then this would've been a decent film but other than Good actining, a bit scary and jumpy but as a movie I didn't do it for me and forget about the ending which was atrocious. If it had a good ending or one that made sense at least then this would've been a decent film but other than it not being realistic to me and having such a disappointing ending I will have to advise others to skip this until it hits dvd. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JakeH.Jun 8, 2008
Horrible, Horrible Horrible, Liv Tyler played a horrible role, the strangers identities were never revealed and the plot was horrendous... yawn.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NathanLAug 19, 2008
Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! I tried to suspend my disbelief about twenty times! But the absurdities that were displayed in this waste of time movie would not allow it. I like a good horror flick but this movie failed at the genre. The girl was Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! I tried to suspend my disbelief about twenty times! But the absurdities that were displayed in this waste of time movie would not allow it. I like a good horror flick but this movie failed at the genre. The girl was so helpless and pathetic for not trying to fight back. She acted like a 7 year old, hiding under the bed -- after watching her do that, I quit caring for her. A waste of time!!! 99.999999% of Americans would have fought the intruders with much more vigor. Most people would have tried to find weapons and gone on the offensive. But not these idiots! A horrible movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RossP.Aug 30, 2008
I have seen a lot of films in my time but this was the worst film i have ever seen in my life i feel like ringing up the people who made this film and asking them for 85 minutes of my life back i feel truely ripped off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JeffD.May 19, 2009
I'll give this a 1 for technique, but I don't watch movies for techniques so it really gets a 0. All they had to do was connect some dots. This movie was made for a non-thinker and that offended my intellect. It really sucked ass.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaleM.Nov 1, 2008
The storyline is contrived. Events don't happen out of any inner logic in the story or characters, but just because the director wants them to happen. Many of the scenes are telegraphed so there is very little real fright. The main The storyline is contrived. Events don't happen out of any inner logic in the story or characters, but just because the director wants them to happen. Many of the scenes are telegraphed so there is very little real fright. The main characters talk with a sliding inflection as if they were bored most of the time. Even the murderers who supposedly are doing it for the fun of it don't seem to be having any fun. At the end of the movie there is a scene with two boys walking their bikes down a hill. What kind of boys walk bikes down a hill? That's the kind of contriving that's just stupid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AJNov 11, 2008
Anyone out there with a higher rating than -0- is full of shit! The absolute worst movies I have seen in quite some time. I'm actually pissed about how horrible this film was.....utter waste of my time and money. I swear, if I were to Anyone out there with a higher rating than -0- is full of shit! The absolute worst movies I have seen in quite some time. I'm actually pissed about how horrible this film was.....utter waste of my time and money. I swear, if I were to ever have the chance of meeting the director, I'd pop him right in the face for putting such a piece of shit on the market. Shame on the production company for ever letting this garbage hit the market....PURE GARBAGE! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RG.Nov 5, 2008
There is no need to express it with intelectual words or in a complicated way, feeding society with such horrible sadism is just plain wrong. Also im not sure who is sicker, the killers or the moviemakers that care more abot the money they There is no need to express it with intelectual words or in a complicated way, feeding society with such horrible sadism is just plain wrong. Also im not sure who is sicker, the killers or the moviemakers that care more abot the money they make than the effect they do with such pointless negativity. Unfortunately I have to say the director really knows how to keep suspense and scare but it wont last long, yolull eventually get bored of repetitive slow attemps of scaring you and eventually youll find stupid how these "ninjas" or killers trained by James bond are simply always a step ahead in an unrealistic way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
notarydpoMay 30, 2008
Wow, was this terrible. If you'd like to see the premise carried out well, with characters less irritating, try Ils. Or the original Funny Games. Anything but this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.May 31, 2008
HORRIBLE. Unrealistic, Killers had about 27 chances to kill the people but let them just crawl around before killing them. Even let them live for the night. Worst movie I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamJ.Jun 1, 2008
This movie was horrible and at the scenes that were supposed to be thrilling everyone was laughing. Terrible!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
OliverC.Jun 1, 2008
I never felt so lousy after leaving a movie. The production isn't bad, the acting and the suspense are above average for this kind of movie. However, it is unrelenting and ultimately pointless. Uses the same horror techniques to build I never felt so lousy after leaving a movie. The production isn't bad, the acting and the suspense are above average for this kind of movie. However, it is unrelenting and ultimately pointless. Uses the same horror techniques to build up suspense over and over, so even though the movie is relatively short it feels drawn out and tedious. Plus you know whats going to happen at every turn. I can't recommend this movie to anyone unless you feel like being mentally abused. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AndrewM.Jun 2, 2008
Every 'thrill' is telegraphed. The tormentors come and go without tormenting. There are a couple of good stills and one decent tracking shot. In fact, this clearly wasn't conceived as a 'movie' at all, but a series Every 'thrill' is telegraphed. The tormentors come and go without tormenting. There are a couple of good stills and one decent tracking shot. In fact, this clearly wasn't conceived as a 'movie' at all, but a series of set-pieces that don't build from one to the next. If you enjoy identifying the films that this one steals from, then at least you'll have something to do. A techinical exercise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BarryC.Jun 6, 2008
Don't bother ever watching this snooze-fest bore of a film. Halfway through the film in the theater I was dozing off. The acting is boorish, and the killers have absolutely no personality or motivation. I held an interest in where the Don't bother ever watching this snooze-fest bore of a film. Halfway through the film in the theater I was dozing off. The acting is boorish, and the killers have absolutely no personality or motivation. I held an interest in where the plot would go near the end of the film, but was sorely disappointed to find out that the whole puke piece of garbage really has no resolution or redeeming moments. Don't even watch this turd if someone is offering you money to do so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SarahTJul 16, 2009
The most pointless film i have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MarcW.Nov 15, 2008
Why does every cameraman these days seem to have parkinson's disease? The camera is just jittery enough to be distracting and pull you out of the experience. Every "shock" moment in the film calls and let's you know it is coming Why does every cameraman these days seem to have parkinson's disease? The camera is just jittery enough to be distracting and pull you out of the experience. Every "shock" moment in the film calls and let's you know it is coming before leaping out with a cliched "boo." The pacing is abysmally slow, there is no insight into the murderer's motivations, and the suposed realism of the film is betrayed by the complete lack of character of the killers. I would be outraged by the purile senslessness of this film if it didn't leave me so bored. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DaveJ.Dec 7, 2008
Lame wanna-be pseudo-horror.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PeterT.May 31, 2008
The movie was jumpy at times according to some friends (nothing gets to me) but lacked plot and wasn't scary as a whole. Characterization was awful, even for a genre known for very little dialogue. The whole concept, without giving away The movie was jumpy at times according to some friends (nothing gets to me) but lacked plot and wasn't scary as a whole. Characterization was awful, even for a genre known for very little dialogue. The whole concept, without giving away the extremely weak twist, was gimmicky at best and just terrible at worst. Finally, most bad horror movies make me laugh hysterically. This one somehow didn't, probably due to the production values (the reason it got a 1 instead of a zero and should qualify as a 'B' or 'C' movie rather than a 'Z' movie like Plan 9.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PicturesqueJun 13, 2008
I am a TRUE Horor movie fan and I wonder where have the GOOD HOROR movies gone? This movie takes all this time to kill 2 people?! Then it never explains why they killed, who they are, or other happenings from the begining! It made no sense! I am a TRUE Horor movie fan and I wonder where have the GOOD HOROR movies gone? This movie takes all this time to kill 2 people?! Then it never explains why they killed, who they are, or other happenings from the begining! It made no sense! Horrible Plot! I wish I can get at least one GOOD HOROR movie! ONE Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JayJul 15, 2008
This movie is such a waste of time! It was dragged out and pointless! Everytime "the strangers" had an oppurtunity to kill, they let it go in an effort to boost adreneline and suspense.. in which it did neither. It is so frustrating, and the This movie is such a waste of time! It was dragged out and pointless! Everytime "the strangers" had an oppurtunity to kill, they let it go in an effort to boost adreneline and suspense.. in which it did neither. It is so frustrating, and the ending is complete BS. Don' waste your time watching this movie, you will be very disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NChunnFeb 11, 2009
Craft? so what......? mpvies are art, like it or not, and will be judged accordingly.... If you listen to a great singer singing about infanticide and incest with glee, are they judged on their singing ability? OR their content - lyrically Craft? so what......? mpvies are art, like it or not, and will be judged accordingly.... If you listen to a great singer singing about infanticide and incest with glee, are they judged on their singing ability? OR their content - lyrically and in content of character? the latter. End of story. Plenty of ppl can sing, and anyone can point a camera and say 'action'..... point is, can you produce something worthwhile, relevant, original? answer here = Nope. Thus the strangers takes a 'true story / real events" premise and surmises, at great insult to all living relatives and the victims themselves, that the three masks found belonged to heartless, or black-hearted rather, sadistic murderers that like to psychologically torture their victims before they kill them hours later etc etc..... when there is no proof or reason for this WHATSOEVER.... Oh and could the two of you poosibly split up unnecessarily any more than you did in this clechefest? Um, sorry, but that is BS and represents the kind of heartless, insulting, sadistic behaviour literally, that they were ironically supposed to be commenting on within the movie figuratively.... How appalling and irresponsible. The likely scenario is that the 3 masks simply belonged to the three victims, that they were a love triangle or similar and something passionate and regrettable and tragic happened. So Bryan Bertino comes along and instead of making what he thought he had - some sort of sensational, original, ground-breaker like the Last House on the Left (also fairly unnecessary - and I say that as a horror afficionado who disagrees that torture porn and horror are interchangeable), Bryan has just insulted the dead, the living and anyone dumb enough to hand over cash for this pointless, self-obsessed, patronising, superfluous, waste of space, time and money. The absolutely epitome of style over substance, sprinkled in pointless sadism.... If I was a serial killer, I would masturbate in front of this film.... why not? Seems perfect...... A little bit of snuff for the masses eh Bryan? Shame on you f***ing idiots. You have damned a generation with your propoganda and BS. Have a frikkin' heart FGS - this movie achieves precisely NOTHING. Also many of the reviewers above are clearly not well-versed in horror, as the movie was predictable, crammed with cliche and an empty, vacuous exercise in the monotony of unceasing disrespect and cynicism..... NOT - "invested brilliantly in silence"... lol... that's the philosophical semantics of a frikkin' amateur. Change your profession or narrow your movie genres for review - you're not up to it sonny.... Time to move on chump. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Jerik02Oct 21, 2012
What a terrible movie and a waste of 1.5 hours. The characters made totally illogical choices and the stalkers were apparently omniscient because they knew exactly where the characters were at all times. The story is so contrived that I'mWhat a terrible movie and a waste of 1.5 hours. The characters made totally illogical choices and the stalkers were apparently omniscient because they knew exactly where the characters were at all times. The story is so contrived that I'm amazed people call this "suspenseful" or "scary". It's just a long drawn out build up for some torture porn at the end. It is also an outrage that the movie is supposedly based on actual events. In other words, hollywood is trying to make money off of some tragic murder case. The good news is, the movie flopped so badly, I'm not sure we have to worry about anything else from this "creative team". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
TTW107Feb 12, 2012
I'm not sure how you can call this horror or even call it a movie because it sucks. Nothing happens at all. The characters just make the stupidest decisions. i will never watch this again.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
NixySep 27, 2012
I found this film mindless. I didn't like the acting, their decisions were lost on me and therefore my sympathy lessened as the film progressed and I just found the whole concept of the film upsetting. I kept hoping that there was going to beI found this film mindless. I didn't like the acting, their decisions were lost on me and therefore my sympathy lessened as the film progressed and I just found the whole concept of the film upsetting. I kept hoping that there was going to be a point behind everything that was done and yet nothing was ever offered. I appreciate that being in a state of blind panic, you're not going to make the most rational of choices but I felt that there got to a point where the film was just outright stupid. It did make me jump, but so do most unexpected loud noises, so that in itself is fairly meaningless. However, in the interest of fairness, it seems only right to point out what I think the film did do well. I think they were successful in making the 'strangers' genuinely unsettling and disturbing characters, it was suspenseful at times it being so close to home, quite literally, is an aspect of the film that will probably stay with a number of its viewers. Also, certain scenes that weren't reliant on making its audience jump were quite well thought out and as such, made for some fairly chilling moments. On the whole, as you can tell, I wasn't too impressed and I think a lot of people, particularly horror fans, will want a lot more from a film than this one was able to provide. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
khutchNov 12, 2013
It's hard to find a good point in a thriller that even stress can't create.
You can't wait for everything finish, and then you see the point where the film hits, is short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews