Fine Line Features | Release Date: November 21, 1997
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
2
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
adhibanSep 9, 2011
The value of human life and feelings are visualized in a picturesque manner after 'SCHINDLER'S LIST'. It remembers everyone about the central axis of our living community, it's nothing but the one to one help. Atom Egoyan simply says, thereThe value of human life and feelings are visualized in a picturesque manner after 'SCHINDLER'S LIST'. It remembers everyone about the central axis of our living community, it's nothing but the one to one help. Atom Egoyan simply says, there is no compensation for real love and affection towards the loved ones in this human ecosystem. ' THE SWEET HEREAFTER ' leaves it's trace as a best man-made art of its decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GerronKNov 14, 2005
Poetic. Impeccable and absolutely powerful. Brutally harsh and at times, too hard to take in, this is a masterpiece beyond words. I ranked this movie #6 on my Top 50 Movies of all time, so that speeks on its profound effect it had on me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
adepietro1Dec 30, 2013
Emotionally shattering, it's an amazing meditation on feeling, guilt, blame, and the human condition. Not being able to blame a tragedy on something, something certain, something definite, is what drives us to madness and sadness.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KevinMar 28, 2006
Beautiful. Stunning. Blah blah. Probably one of the best movies of the 90's. May eventually end up on best of all time lists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Mar 7, 2006
I was blown away by how good this movie was. A masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffKSep 8, 2005
Almost perfect. I have watched the film more than five times and I never fail to be moved, and I have yet to discover much more than very minor stylistic choices. Previously, I found Egoyan's movies to be interesting but self-conscious Almost perfect. I have watched the film more than five times and I never fail to be moved, and I have yet to discover much more than very minor stylistic choices. Previously, I found Egoyan's movies to be interesting but self-conscious and arty to the extreme. Here, without sacrificing his creativity, he reveals his exceptional humanity. A must. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranzHcriticJul 19, 2014
Seldom do people see such power in subtlety. Yet Atom Egoyan takes tragedy seriously, with a moving depiction of how tragedy can effect people, any people. The acting is refreshingly human and not forced. The cinematography's long shotsSeldom do people see such power in subtlety. Yet Atom Egoyan takes tragedy seriously, with a moving depiction of how tragedy can effect people, any people. The acting is refreshingly human and not forced. The cinematography's long shots convey a calmness that is quickly shattered, and along with the music, juxtaposes with the story of the film and the characters in a way that adds insight into the lives of the characters. An afflicting drama heavily overshadowed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wagaSep 17, 2015
The story of the film is powerful and compelling. I thought the acting was done a bit poorly, especially the characters of Dolores and the parents of Bear. The music is strange and seems to lack a strong connection to the events. Some of theThe story of the film is powerful and compelling. I thought the acting was done a bit poorly, especially the characters of Dolores and the parents of Bear. The music is strange and seems to lack a strong connection to the events. Some of the characters are hard to believe, perhaps that is because to me they are unrealistic. The cinematography is well done. The entirety of the film gives off this eerie feeling that makes you want to stop watching it, because it's slow and not entertaining. That does not mean that it is lacking in value. The meaningful connection between the story of the Pied Piper and the story of the film is difficult to grasp, but it remains coherent and meaningful. All of the characters seem to be stuck in some sort of misery with no way out. The only one who is not is the woman on the plane. I could not understand the last line spoken in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 11, 2016
The Sweet Hereafter is a very good film that is both emotionally engaging and unique in the way it tells its story through parallel narratives/time manipulation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smuroseJul 9, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was hard to follow with various flashbacks that were difficult to connect properly. The acting was natural in most cases but sometimes failed to be realistic in some scenarios. I don't fully understand why the girl that was saved and is handicapped decided to lie about the bus driver going 72 mph. I thought it might be because it was the only way she could get back at her dad for taking advantage of her since she felt like she couldn't speak up. Anywho, the critics reviews exaggerate the impact of this movie I think. It's good, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews