Miramax Films | Release Date: December 24, 1999
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 277 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
253
Mixed:
14
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Compi24Oct 3, 2015
Like the film's posh and brilliantly-realized protagonist, "The Talented Mr. Ripley" is an elegantly complex number that moonlights as something much more sinister. Part crime caper, part fiendish descent into Hell, the movie excels atLike the film's posh and brilliantly-realized protagonist, "The Talented Mr. Ripley" is an elegantly complex number that moonlights as something much more sinister. Part crime caper, part fiendish descent into Hell, the movie excels at expanding a seemingly simple situation into a tantalizing web of deceit and irony. Major points go to Matt Damon, for making the titular character not only watchable, but - most notably - likable. Truly fine filmmaking all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JacobtruthAug 11, 2015
One of my favourite ever films. The cats is exceptional, and the direction from Mingella is perfect. The setting and pacing are superb.

A great, beautiful, charismatic thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidOct 4, 2014
You know what is really special about this film, it's that Tom Ripley is such a monster but we want him to get away with it. Matt Damon was great with his body language and the way that he delivered his lines. Jude Law was really good in thisYou know what is really special about this film, it's that Tom Ripley is such a monster but we want him to get away with it. Matt Damon was great with his body language and the way that he delivered his lines. Jude Law was really good in this star making role. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
LjoeneffNov 17, 2013
Equal to the worst movie I have ever seen. A waste of good actors. A 1 because they kept me watching in hopes of it getting better, but it went the other way. At the end, we asked "why did we waste two hours?" Relationships were so odd, noEqual to the worst movie I have ever seen. A waste of good actors. A 1 because they kept me watching in hopes of it getting better, but it went the other way. At the end, we asked "why did we waste two hours?" Relationships were so odd, no hint of reality which is fine if it is a comedy (we did laugh a few times at its silliness). The film left us smaller and feeling used and dirty. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
9
theahsanhaseebSep 12, 2012
Tom Ripley is an intelligent, literate and a calm monster; his characterization is extremely astonishing. It feels like we know he's the bad guy but we still want him to get away and never get caught by anyone. That's the charm of Tom Ripley.Tom Ripley is an intelligent, literate and a calm monster; his characterization is extremely astonishing. It feels like we know he's the bad guy but we still want him to get away and never get caught by anyone. That's the charm of Tom Ripley. Matt's performance was wonderful, as I expected, he shined. Intelligent screenplay and a classy thriller including the elements of homosexuality mixed with envy, jealousy and crime, now that's something to look forward to. It gets a bit boring and slow in the middle though but if you get past through that, you'll really love it. I haven't read the novel so I don't know how much this film varies from the originality, but whatever, I like this movie because it still has that charm that works for me and if you only watch the movie and don't compare it to the novel, I think you'll still love it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
EssenceOfSugarJul 24, 2012
This film is actually very boring once you realise it. The pacing is just very uneven and there are multiple moments that don't even make that much sense and you wonder why they're there. Instead of Law's character being portrayed as annoyingThis film is actually very boring once you realise it. The pacing is just very uneven and there are multiple moments that don't even make that much sense and you wonder why they're there. Instead of Law's character being portrayed as annoying and stuck-up, nothing is there to illustrate his behaviour as annoying and stuck-up, so he just ends up looking like a spoilt brat with no proper explanation. Once he's gone, the thing just falls apart because Damon has nothing to go on and tries to look like a psychopath for the sake of it. Some scenes don't even fit together properly. That said, the scenery was very beautiful, so we got a nice backdrop that contrasted with the conflict that was going on between the characters. Plus, I found one scene particularly thrilling and heart-pounding, and to be honest, quite horrific actually. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Story is great. Some fighting scenes can be pretty brutal. Also, the environments are pretty great looking. Score is good. Overall, it's a good, interesting movie that youFirst off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Story is great. Some fighting scenes can be pretty brutal. Also, the environments are pretty great looking. Score is good. Overall, it's a good, interesting movie that you should watch. Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
bcoolFeb 21, 2012
Anthony Minghella sure knew how to make a beautiful film. This film deserves to be classic. Damon, Law, Paltrow, Blanchett and Hoffman are terrific here.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 18, 2011
A delight for eyes, ears and mind - It's late in the 1950s. Jazz is popular and Tom Ripley travels to Italia for the first time to discover the world.

Loner Tom Ripley joyfully accepts a generous offer from shipping pioneer Herbert
A delight for eyes, ears and mind - It's late in the 1950s. Jazz is popular and Tom Ripley travels to Italia for the first time to discover the world.

Loner Tom Ripley joyfully accepts a generous offer from shipping pioneer Herbert Greenleaf. All he has to do is travel to Mongibello, south of Naples and convince his son Dickie to return home to New York. When Ripley meets Dickie and his girlfriend, he is attracted by the vital womanizer and the carefree life he lives. All goes well until Ripley's attraction towards Dickie turns to jealousy and he realizes that he is not willing to give up his new world.

Minghella's story invites us into the inner and emotional life of protagonist Tom Ripley who on the outside appears as a humble, intelligent, socially well-adjusted and credible person. His inner fragility reveals it self in his interaction with the rich man's son Dickie, whose personality contrasts Ripley as warmth contrasts cold. Ripley's esteem blossoms in Dickie's company, but dazzled with Dickie's dazzling being he is misled to believe that Dickie's friendship is sincere and unfortunately it takes him to long to realize that his new friend considers him pastime. After the movies point-of-no-return Ripley's darker sides rises to the surface. The overeducated working class boy turns into a man of the world and at this point the character development takes a shocking turn and Minghella draws us further and further into Ripley's psyche.

Minghella's knife sharp and plot rich screenplay, based on Patricia Highsmith's novel from 1955, is told with chronological narrative, voice-over and flashback scenes. Topics such as solitude, alienation, upper class life, envy, infatuation, homosexuality, identity and class distinction are explored in this flawlessly photographed in-depth character study which contains brilliant editing that alternates between long and short takes.

The films nerve rests on Ripley's character, who has to overcome obstacle by obstacle to maintain his newly acquired status. This is effectuated by the strong progress Minghella creates through a story that never seizes to amaze. John Seal's earlier mentioned photography makes Italia look like a mystic adventure-land and enhances the films considerate mood. The stylized and realistic milieu depictions prompts the feeling of the zeitgeist, white the cinematography and music strengthens the romantic and ominous moods.

When it comes to the acting, the whole crew is magnificent. Matt Damon's transformation to the nerdy and unpredictable main-character is impressive and his interpretation of this complex character is undoubtedly one of his finest. Jude Law should also be mentioned for the breakthrough role that made him one of the worlds largest movie-stars. With charismatic charm, arrogant attitude and an inspiring hunger for life, he perfectly embodies the character Dickie Greenleaf. Cate Blanchett, Gwyneth Paltrow and Philip Seymour Hoffman delivers substantial supporting performances and as Jude Law, they became huge movie-stars few years later.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
4
SebHOct 4, 2009
Anyone who says this captures the essence of the novel is seriously wrong. Not only is Damon's Ripley everything that Highsmith said very explicitly that he wasn't (blatantly homosexual, obsessed with Dickie and his lifestyle, Anyone who says this captures the essence of the novel is seriously wrong. Not only is Damon's Ripley everything that Highsmith said very explicitly that he wasn't (blatantly homosexual, obsessed with Dickie and his lifestyle, showing precious little premeditation to his plans and even showing remorse). Highsmith's Ripley was one of the best literary characters ever created, as insecure as he is confident and cool, but the bumbling, grinning dork up on the screen didn't remind me of him at all. Minghella made the very bold move of taking this film in different directions to the book, but it suffers as a result, particularly with the introduction of two new vapid, unconvincing characters (Peter Smith Kingsley and Meredith Logue). They fail very badly, as do all the other Hollywood-ised bastardisations of the original characters. Ripley was such a great potential film, and, though this is not without its merits, it ultimately fails to capture the spirit Highsmith wrote it in. I'm all for some degree of originality in an adaptation, but this practically spits in Highsmith's face, all in all designed to be a cold-hearted star vehicle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ConnorMSep 25, 2009
Truly remarkable. Damon really steps into the limelight after this stellar performance and Law also did one hell of a job.The emotional impact wasn't extreme but nonetheless you felt it. With it's unpredictable, yet thrilling plot Truly remarkable. Damon really steps into the limelight after this stellar performance and Law also did one hell of a job.The emotional impact wasn't extreme but nonetheless you felt it. With it's unpredictable, yet thrilling plot and outstanding performances this is easily one of the best films of the 1990's. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeL.Jul 18, 2009
This is the all-time worst movie I've ever seen (all the way through). Too long, too boring, too uninteresting. Great cast, great premise (Joe Schmoe hustles his way into hobknobbing around Europe with young, rich elite). Unfortunately This is the all-time worst movie I've ever seen (all the way through). Too long, too boring, too uninteresting. Great cast, great premise (Joe Schmoe hustles his way into hobknobbing around Europe with young, rich elite). Unfortunately it couldn't overcome a terrible story (NOTE - being gay is not a plot twist). What was the movie trying to convey? It appears from the critics they can't decide either (crime drama, psychological thriller, take on class and gender). I couldn't wait for it to end. Group of friends who saw it at the cinema said the film broke near the end and many clapped that it was over. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
pabloe.Oct 23, 2007
So much talent wasted!!! The movie just does not work, the characters are hollow, the dynamic of the plot fragmented.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PipE.May 12, 2007
The film captures the essence of the novel in a way many movies fail. It was brilliantly cast and shot, overall this movie is a gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethM.Mar 11, 2007
This film is my all time favourite film. The scenery is beautiful, the acting is great and the film is extremely well written.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdamL.Dec 9, 2006
To those who cast doubt on Jude Law's acting chops, this film should shut you up fast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeFeb 10, 2006
I've always been a bit confused by the lack of interest in this film... I think it is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Nov 25, 2005
Everything moves along quite well until Jude Law is gone and Matt Damon has to carry the ball. He is just not up to the task.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlannaA.Nov 10, 2002
Personally, the book is better, but i can understand why the movie is like it is. To attract attention to the public. I mean, the situation is good in a book, a nearly crazy man in his mid twenties running away from the Italian cops in Personally, the book is better, but i can understand why the movie is like it is. To attract attention to the public. I mean, the situation is good in a book, a nearly crazy man in his mid twenties running away from the Italian cops in Europe, a bored American in Mongibello with no martial interest. But it'd be boring in the movies, i would think so. The movie adds too much--in the book, there is no Meredith, and Dickie has no interest in Marge. But have to agree- this movie was good compared to others i've seen. I also have to agree with Bill M.- the only talent Mr. Ripley has is murdering people. One last thing- Matt Damon CANNOT play a murderer he's not scary enough! I mean, they should have switched the parts, Jude Law- Ripley, Matt Damon- Dickie, because I was not frightened at all... Not realistic all- People work on the casting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful