The Tall Man

The Tall Man Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In an isolated, slowly dying mining town, children are vanishing without a trace – abducted, the townsfolk whisper, by a mysterious entity known locally as “The Tall Man.” Town nurse Julia Denning seems skeptical...until her young David disappears in the middle of night. Frantic to rescueIn an isolated, slowly dying mining town, children are vanishing without a trace – abducted, the townsfolk whisper, by a mysterious entity known locally as “The Tall Man.” Town nurse Julia Denning seems skeptical...until her young David disappears in the middle of night. Frantic to rescue the boy, Julia lives every parent’s darkest nightmare. (Image Entertainment) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 30, 2012
    90
    Ultimately his story draws more energy from class than from criminality: awash in sludgy browns and rotting greens - the colors of poverty and decomposition - this unpredictable oddity is a little bonkers but a lot original.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 29, 2012
    75
    In easily her best performance - and sadly, one few will see, given the film's modest release strategy - Jessica Biel stars as a single mother in Cold Rock, Washington.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Larson
    Aug 30, 2012
    75
    Illustrates the problem of class mobility with a dark, troubling premise that holds a harsh light up to our own assumptions and expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 30, 2012
    38
    Spits out enough scares and twists to maintain our interest, but the film's psycho-sociological layer is almost as cheesy and unconvincing as its low-rent action scenes.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Once you get through the flaming, Bowser's Castle–like gauntlet of the rest of the story's implausibilities, you end up in a different movie than the one on the creepy poster.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Aug 28, 2012
    25
    The road to hell is paved with good intentions, and in a few months it will also be paved with unwatched DVD copies of The Tall Man.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 30, 2012
    20
    The more pressing affliction in Pascal Laugier's film is the absence of chills, logic and coherence.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    52? Really, critics? 52? You sad little hipsters. A movie with the greatest plot twist in the history of movies (I'm being dead serious here,52? Really, critics? 52? You sad little hipsters. A movie with the greatest plot twist in the history of movies (I'm being dead serious here, the plot twist is so unpredictable and disturbing that even after it happens you just won't be able to believe it) gets an average of 52 from the critics? What a bunch of idiots. This movie is the best thriller I have seen in a while, and simply put, takes conventional movie plots and twists and completely turns them onto their heads and spins them around like an upside-down circus tent. The atmosphere is brilliant, the plot is mind-blowing, and the acting is superb. You have to watch this movie, if you don't, well, you're missing out on something huge Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    This movie deserves more attention and higher ratings. It's so misunderstood by people. If you love crime or mystery thriller, you're gonnaThis movie deserves more attention and higher ratings. It's so misunderstood by people. If you love crime or mystery thriller, you're gonna love this. It has so much twist along the way. Don't think it as a horror movie with blood splatering all over the place. Trust me, you'll enjoy it! Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Over the past decade, children have been disappearing in the downtrodden town of Cold Rock, but now, one mother is fighting back when her sonOver the past decade, children have been disappearing in the downtrodden town of Cold Rock, but now, one mother is fighting back when her son becomes the next victim of the Tall Man. Pascal Laugier, writer and director of the controversial shocker MARTYRS, returns with THE TALL MAN, a suspense thriller that marks a dramatic shift in style and tone from the director's previous film. THE TALL MAN echoes the writings of Stephen King in many ways, but mainly in its small town setting, the monster of legend that plagues the town, and in the narration that is provided by one of the town's young children. Jessica Biel stars as Julia Denning, a nurse whose selfless attempts cannot save the dying community from itself. Biel's performance carries the film, but despite her best efforts, her character simply isn't compelling enough to garner our sympathy or support. While the final reveal may seem like a cheat to the many viewers who set their sights on the supernatural, Laugier still surprises with an altruistic message of hope that few could have anticipated. THE TALL MAN will hold a certain appeal with fans of both Stephen King and M. Night Shyamalan. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    What it lacks in terror and gore it makes up for in premise. Once you see what's going on, you'll applaud the effort if not totally satisfiedWhat it lacks in terror and gore it makes up for in premise. Once you see what's going on, you'll applaud the effort if not totally satisfied by it. Interesting, but there's a lot of plot holes and plausibility issues. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nope, this is not a good one. First of all, it's not a horror movie, as it claims to be. And I don't mean it fails as gory or jump-scare movie or creepy expectation-building movie or torture movie or survival or revenge or whatever horror sub-genre movie - no, it's nothing to do with the horror genre at all. It's some potpourri from the thriller, psychological drama, action movie, social drama, detective movie and cheesy family drama. A patchwork of styles and genres implanted in a frame of dilapidated and badly lit surroundings populated by featureless folk whose sole and unique characteristic is to disappear from your memory the same moment they disappear from the screen.

    A young mother possessing some qualities of the liquid terminator rushes in a mortal battle for her beloved child . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . but the things are not as they seem, everything is different, wow . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . and again everything is different, wow once more . . . . . . . . . . . . . . as it happens that everything is so cute and cozy! End.

    Yes, there are some twists in the plot, but they give no sparkle of inspiration, only make the movie more dull and boring. Every scene alludes to something already seen. Dialogs are staged and plain. Many inconsistencies and bungles. Surely not the worst movie I'd seen in my life, but assuredly one of those I could manage easily without.
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    2
    This movie was lame and really their was no point of it being called the tall man.When i looked at this movie on netflix i thought aboutThis movie was lame and really their was no point of it being called the tall man.When i looked at this movie on netflix i thought about slender and boy was i wrong.It stars Jessica Biel,Jodelle Ferland and Stephen McHattie.The movie didn't made sense cause of the title of this movie.If you've seen the whole movie then you know what i'm talking about.Jessica biel played in better movies than this and Jodelle Ferland played a character who never really did anything besides worrying about the tall man.Don't get me wrong i found one or two part interesting but the fact is the movie was just god awful and boring to me. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    Literally the WORST movie i have ever come across!!!!!!! its so stupid and the plot is bland and very dumb! the characters are completelyLiterally the WORST movie i have ever come across!!!!!!! its so stupid and the plot is bland and very dumb! the characters are completely horrible and just UGGGHHH!!!! do bot waste your time!! i have no idea why some people rated this so high!! were they asleep the whole movie???...WTF Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.