Orion Pictures | Release Date: October 26, 1984
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 730 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
494
Mixed:
175
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LinttaFlamingoSep 19, 2016
Looks very dated but it's pretty good. Nicely developed characters and a cool villain that doesn't need any introducing. The effects aren't that great but it's not a deal breaker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
crimsondoorJan 31, 2017
This is not a popular opinion, but I love this film far more than Terminator 2. As a fan of both the noir and sci-fi/cyberpunk genres and the 80s I am very grateful for this film. This film captures the gritty atmosphere of LA and has anThis is not a popular opinion, but I love this film far more than Terminator 2. As a fan of both the noir and sci-fi/cyberpunk genres and the 80s I am very grateful for this film. This film captures the gritty atmosphere of LA and has an amazing soundtrack to go along with it. Terminator 2 might have a bigger budget and far better VFX, but in terms of story and atmosphere it can't beat the first film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
russiangamerDec 17, 2016
Шедевр кинематографа. Несмотря на устаревшие эффекты, фильм остаётся очень интересным и атмосферным.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ToxicDynoCriticNov 8, 2016
Where do I start with this movie? It is the greatest action/sci-fi film of all time… And my personal favourite!

The action is extremely well filmed, with great stunt acting. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton and Michael Biehn played
Where do I start with this movie? It is the greatest action/sci-fi film of all time… And my personal favourite!

The action is extremely well filmed, with great stunt acting. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton and Michael Biehn played the film's leads.

With memorable performances, scenes and phrases… The Terminator comes out as (in my opinion) THE GREATEST FILM OF ALL TIME!!

A low-budget masterpiece!

The only movie I have ever seen to score a 10/10 - MUST WATCH
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NehuenNov 3, 2016
Clásico de clásicos, una de las mejores películas de acción con temáticas de Sci-Fi que se pueden encontrar. Escenas de acción excelemente realizadas y memorables. Me encanta Arnold como el Exterminador, una máquina inparable de matar sinClásico de clásicos, una de las mejores películas de acción con temáticas de Sci-Fi que se pueden encontrar. Escenas de acción excelemente realizadas y memorables. Me encanta Arnold como el Exterminador, una máquina inparable de matar sin importar quién está adelante suyo. Desde el principio de la película alabo mucho la idea de los viajes en el tiempo, si bien en la época en que se realizó la película ya había algún que otra serie o película sobre este tema, esta película logró convencer a un público que hasta el día de hoy se considera una película de culto. La música es muy buena, y el tema principal de la película es icónico y característico que se llevaría a toda la saga. El maquillaje, y los efectos del daño en el Exterminador es perfecto y para la época en que se encontraba, no había efectos por computadora, es verdaderamente digno de grandes aplausos. El movimiento del Exterminador en su estado robótico bien trabajado, me gustó. Recomendadísima, entretenida de principio a fin, llena de acción, no puedes ser cinéfilo sin haber visto esta película, una de la más importantes en cuanto a su género se refiere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
I do not like "The Terminator". It is one of those films that were great when they came out but over time, they've aged terribly. Some films like "Casablanca" age well through time and get better each time you watch it. This is not the caseI do not like "The Terminator". It is one of those films that were great when they came out but over time, they've aged terribly. Some films like "Casablanca" age well through time and get better each time you watch it. This is not the case with "The Terminator". Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorSep 3, 2016
The terminator promised to become one of the best sci-if films ever, and it doesn't lie. With an interesting premise, a cool end and a satisfying result, The terminator deserves the most prestigious awards of this kind of films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
reviewfrom19842Aug 10, 2016
A classic.............................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 9, 2016
To conclude though, Terminator is the default 80s action film to go to. Not perfect, but it is solid in pacing, visuals (for the time), action and the concept of man vs machines in a bleak and hopeless future. One definitely for a film-makersTo conclude though, Terminator is the default 80s action film to go to. Not perfect, but it is solid in pacing, visuals (for the time), action and the concept of man vs machines in a bleak and hopeless future. One definitely for a film-makers handbook. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FanBoyCritic1Mar 24, 2016
One of the best cyborgs of all time is in this action packed movie directed by a great director known as James Cameron, The Terminator. The Terminator is about somewhere in the year 2029, the rulers of Earth, to ensure their success, decideOne of the best cyborgs of all time is in this action packed movie directed by a great director known as James Cameron, The Terminator. The Terminator is about somewhere in the year 2029, the rulers of Earth, to ensure their success, decide to reshape the future by changing the past. They send The Terminator back in time to destroy Sarah Connor, who doesn't realize the awesome role her unborn child will play in the decades to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheMasiMan1Jan 31, 2016
The Terminator is... its just a great movie. But its low budget shines right through. Look, I understand, there are alot of great low-budget movies out there, and this is one of them, but I can't help but feel that it could have been betterThe Terminator is... its just a great movie. But its low budget shines right through. Look, I understand, there are alot of great low-budget movies out there, and this is one of them, but I can't help but feel that it could have been better with a bigger budget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jay777Jan 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie but I hate that Kyle dies I don't think they should have killed of Kyle but great movie very intense which is good. warning this movie is not suitable for under 15 unless the parents let them Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 6, 2016
One of the best sci-fi action movies available for basically every sci-fi fan out there, the Terminator will terminate all the bad moments in the movie and you're going to like it no matter what your opinion is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Nov 21, 2015
The introduction to the classic franchise of the terminator is a not only a vibrant film but an entertaining action pack film as well. Thought years have pass this film still looks great only in some scenes it shows its age. Overall, this isThe introduction to the classic franchise of the terminator is a not only a vibrant film but an entertaining action pack film as well. Thought years have pass this film still looks great only in some scenes it shows its age. Overall, this is how every franchise should aim to start with a great film like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GermaNisterNov 7, 2015
I love this movie !!! A lot of Action !!! Good Story and a cool character and super gloomy :) The Terminator in search after Sarah Connor. The classics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YessirKillaNov 4, 2015
The acting, suspense, 80's culture, one liners, action, dark humor, and impact on the media makes this film deserve a 10 out of 10, and it takes a lot of courage for me to give any film a 10 out of 10. Need I say more?

One thing I will say
The acting, suspense, 80's culture, one liners, action, dark humor, and impact on the media makes this film deserve a 10 out of 10, and it takes a lot of courage for me to give any film a 10 out of 10. Need I say more?

One thing I will say though, why does this film have only a 7.7/10, whereas its (in my opinion) overrated sequel have a 9.1/10? The first one was way better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarickOct 18, 2015
Full of suspense, full of energy, this film is quite interesting even wear those years .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisJul 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. {{Villain Infobox
|image = the_governator.jpg
|size = 300px
|fullname = Terminator (800 Series, Model 101)
|alias = The Phone Book Killer
|origin = ''The Terminator''
|occupation = Assassin, Infiltrator and Terminator
|skills = A hulking body of almost indestructible metal with super-human strength, unlimited endurance, and unstoppable durability, a skilled gunmen, marksman and huntsman
|hobby = Killing anyone who stands in his way
|goals = Cease John Connor from existing by terminating his mother Sarah (first film), kill Sarah Connor as child, change the future also winning the war on Earth to [[Skynet]] and the machines to kill the older T-800 and Kyle Reese (fifth film) (all failed)
|type of villain = Destroyer of Innocence, Cyborg assassin, Serial Killer}}
{{Quote|I'll be back.| The Terminator's famous quote.}}
'''The Terminator''' is the titular main antagonist in the 1984 film ''The Terminator''. This specific model 101 was a design made by Dr. Serena Kogan and sent back through time by the super computer [[Skynet]], which had touched off nuclear war and took over the world in its aftermath. Its mission was to kill Sarah Connor, the mother of resistance leader John Connor, before her son could be born.

He did make a appearance in the fourth film as [[T-RIP]] (the true main antagonist of the film) before returning as the tertiary antagonist in the 2015 sequel ''Terminator Genisys''.

The T-800 is played by '''Arnold Schwarzenegger '''and is one of Arnold's most famous roles in his cinematic career.

==The Terminator==

===Origins===
Dr. Serena Kogan's research started the cybernetic organisms, living tissue over the metal endoskeleton. The model 101 came from Serena Kogan's knowledge due to her having the key to [[Skynet]]'s salvation.

The initial series of terminators, the 600, had rubber faces and were easy to spot. Their programming was to infiltrate and exterminate human settlements. In order to further this goal, Skynet replaced this series with the 800, which had living human tissue over a metal endo
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoJul 20, 2015
34 Imbecis e Idiotas de Merda.................................... e 27 retardadinhos...................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Zelda1992Jul 19, 2015
This amazing movie to this day is one of the best sci fi movies I have ever seen. Even though T2 outshines the original, the original 1984 terminator is a really fun and intense ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Jul 18, 2015
Action packed, intelligent and entertaining, James Cameron's The Terminator is a pinnacle of sci-fi/action films to come and a standout for Arnold Schwarzenegger.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
OlskoolahJul 14, 2015
I recently went back and watched this movie for the first time in years and man I forgot how great it really is. Everyone talks about T2 and how great it is and how it was a masterwork for visual effects, which is very true but I honestlyI recently went back and watched this movie for the first time in years and man I forgot how great it really is. Everyone talks about T2 and how great it is and how it was a masterwork for visual effects, which is very true but I honestly think this first movie is better. I know i may be in a small minority that this this one is better but just look at it, the atmosphere is fantastic. For the time and budget the scenes in the future look good even today and you get a feeling of dread and fear from seeing this wasteland that used to be our home. The acting in this film is great and I dare anyone to disagree with me on that, it just sucks you right into the film and keeps you hooked and interested for the entire running time. One this about this film that I don't hear a lot of people talk about is the music, this soundtrack is superb. It has the cyberpunk feel that this film asks for and has influenced many imitations. I cant imagine anyone not having seen this film but if you haven't then I implore you to seek this out, its not hard to find. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 13, 2015
34.................................................. Imbecis ....................................... Que não sabem...................................... o que é filme antigos................................ revolucionários34.................................................. Imbecis ....................................... Que não sabem...................................... o que é filme antigos................................ revolucionários ..................................... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerJul 12, 2015
When it comes to sci-fi there just isn't another mind out there like Cameron's. His legendary work here infuses the genre with dark and gritty noir. Heck, given the relentlessness and ferocity of it's antagonist it's darn near part horror asWhen it comes to sci-fi there just isn't another mind out there like Cameron's. His legendary work here infuses the genre with dark and gritty noir. Heck, given the relentlessness and ferocity of it's antagonist it's darn near part horror as well. The film's world pulls no punches in any department. While certain aspects of the movie might seem simple by today's standards the film is no less impressive.

The story is effectively conveyed through minimalist dialog. Characters do carry on conversations, but the actual backstory is told rather quickly so as to put the film's focus squarely on the conflict at hand. The time travel scenario may have you scratching your head at some points until you realize the ending is meant to set up the sequel. It doesn't completely wrap up the overall story b it's conclusion. It instead leaves you with a satisfying ending for it's story while leaving viewers with the promise of more.

The characters are portrayed spot on by the actors, but the real star of the show is Arnold Schwarzenegger. He plays the ruthless and somewhat terrifying "terminator" to perfection. While ultimately he doesn't do much actual acting as his lines are kept to a minimum he still manages to instill terror at his presence. Also it's just as fun as ever to watch him shoot things up.

The film also just does a lot of cool things. While the special effects are obviously dated today, it' not hard to notice how cool the scenes must have looked back in the day. There are some really cool effects going on that toady couldn't be done without at least a little CGI. Cameron made the film's most impressive moments (which usually involve gore) all happen without it. A very impressive feat considering the time.

While aspects of it haven't aged well and it's not as groundbreaking today as it was when it first came out, this is still one of the most original and creative sci-fi movies out there. With a sharp plot, good writing, cool effects, and an original theme this is one that 's still worth watching. It still manages to stand out as one of the best sci-fi movies you'll ever watch. If you haven't seen it yet I highly recommend that you do.

I give it an 8.9/10.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ReubenIsAGodJul 11, 2015
After watching the **** Genysis i decided it was time to go back and watch James Cameron's cult classic film the original Terminator. Terminator is absolutely badass, every scene is just balls to the walls action with brilliant cheesy 80s oneAfter watching the **** Genysis i decided it was time to go back and watch James Cameron's cult classic film the original Terminator. Terminator is absolutely badass, every scene is just balls to the walls action with brilliant cheesy 80s one liners. My only real flaw with the film is the romantic elements, it just feels kinda forced, whilst being a very important plot point, also anybody kinda think Kyle is a bit creepy considering the fact that because if a picture he becomes obsessed wit Sarah Conor. Please watch terminator its a brilliant film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Jul 10, 2015
The Terminator was one of the most revolutionary films of all time and is one of the defining films of the action genre. This is one of the most well written and directed action films. James Cameron put himself on the map with this movie thatThe Terminator was one of the most revolutionary films of all time and is one of the defining films of the action genre. This is one of the most well written and directed action films. James Cameron put himself on the map with this movie that inspired several films after it. The CGI is ground breaking for its time and the action hold up just as well now as it did in 1984. Arnold Schwarzenegger plays The Terminator which is the film that broke him into the mainstream and really is the role he was born to play. Linda Hamilton and Michael Biehn are also amazing. This film blends action with the perfect amount sci-fi and there is even some elements of horror involved. There are points in this movie were the Terminator feels like a really good slasher film villain. You cannot call yourself an action film fan without watching The Terminator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJul 6, 2015
So machines took over the world! In 2029 The Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is sent by Skynet to kill Sarah Connor in 1984, mother of John Connor leader of the human resistance, if the Terminator kills Sarah Connor then John Connor wouldSo machines took over the world! In 2029 The Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is sent by Skynet to kill Sarah Connor in 1984, mother of John Connor leader of the human resistance, if the Terminator kills Sarah Connor then John Connor would not have been born (basically The Terminator's mission). But then Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn) is sent back in 1984 to stop the Terminator from killing her. Linda Hamilton's performance as "Sarah Connor" is sentiment; Arnold Schwarzenegger as the villain/Terminator, was awesome he brings so much energy into his character. Michael Biehn as Kyle Resse was kick ass as the hero. Writer-director James Cameron and producer Anne Hurd (both of whom co-wrote the script) present their virtuosity storytelling with mastering creativity towards the story. The film has it's like able characters which you can get in a science fiction film. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
adpirtleJul 2, 2015
The Terminator films have become so bloated with effects and one-liners that it's easy to forget it all started with this comparatively small sci-fi thriller. This is a film that does what few can, providing just enough story to keep the ballThe Terminator films have become so bloated with effects and one-liners that it's easy to forget it all started with this comparatively small sci-fi thriller. This is a film that does what few can, providing just enough story to keep the ball rolling without ever feeling like it's being stingy, but it's essentially just a three-character shoot-em-up in 1980's Los Angeles. It could have so easily ended up being a cheesy b-movie, but the tight direction and the way the principles throw themselves into their roles instead make it one of the better action films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
Like the original Mad Max, the original Terminator may be limited by its lower budget, but James Cameron knows how to work around it and tried his best with what he had at the time. It's a great movie, that's really all I have to say.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123May 15, 2015
a chilling and gritty action flick, the Terminator gives us a futuristic thrill ride where were given a chance to save the future from total annihilation

Arnold Schwarzenegger is terrifying as the futuristing mechanical hunk, who was sent
a chilling and gritty action flick, the Terminator gives us a futuristic thrill ride where were given a chance to save the future from total annihilation

Arnold Schwarzenegger is terrifying as the futuristing mechanical hunk, who was sent back in time to terminate the mother of a heroic leader of a future human rebellion, with Michael Biehn as Kyle Reese as humanity's only hope.

James Cameron probably stands next to Ridley Scott and George Lucas as a modern sci-fi pioneer who gives a new wave of storytelling by adding more action that I can grasp to as one of my favorite thrillers of all time!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
The Terminator, the film that catapulted Arnold **** into Hollywood's stratosphere, was never designed for more than a niche audience. Indeed, while the film made a nice profit for Orion Pictures (returning grosses about six times its cost),The Terminator, the film that catapulted Arnold **** into Hollywood's stratosphere, was never designed for more than a niche audience. Indeed, while the film made a nice profit for Orion Pictures (returning grosses about six times its cost), it did not make the kind of money that would cause it to be labeled a "blockbuster" or that would justify a sequel. But The Terminator arrived at a time when America's appetite for science fiction was escalating and when the home video revolution was taking off. Although only a minor success in theaters, The Terminator was a gargantuan hit on home video. And, when James Cameron solidified his reputation by directing Aliens, it became unthinkable that there would not be a sequel to The Terminator.

The movie's strength is that, like The Matrix, it combines action with ideas. This isn't a run-of-the-mill turn-off-the-brain collection of chases and fight scenes. The plot, which involves time travel and the paradoxes inherent therein, requires viewers to pay attention or risk having no idea what's happening. I remember leaving the theater 25 years ago and hearing a girl remark: "I liked it but I didn't understand what was going on. Was that guy from the future Arnold's father?" Cameron, as it turns out, took a little too much license in claiming full credit for the story. Noted science fiction author Harlan Ellison sued, arguing that The Terminator bore more than a passing resemblance to two of his Outer Limits teleplays, "Soldier" (about two time-traveling soldiers who end up in 1964, where they fight to the death) and "Demon with a Glass Hand" (about a time-traveling robot that looks like a man). The settlement resulted in Ellison gaining an on-tape credit as well as an undisclosed amount of money.

The Terminator is structured as one long chase, with the vulnerable Sarah and Reese fleeing from the relentless Terminator. At first, Sarah distrusts Reese, believing him to be demented. But, once The Terminator has destroyed a police station and killed most of the cops within, she has no choice but to trust Reese. That bond develops into a romance, but The Terminator's pursuit allows little opportunity for down time or sweet nothings. Nevertheless, Cameron has a knack for getting us to care about the characters and their relationship even though not a lot of time is spent getting to know them. (There are actually more "character building" sequences in the more heavily action-oriented Terminator 2.)

Key special effects, which were cutting edge in 1984, appear dated by today's standards. Stan Winston's stop-animation Terminator, which takes over for Schwarzenegger at the end, looks like what it is: the product of a special effects lab. It's not credible, but the story is strong enough to overcome such shortcomings. In fact, some of the other visual chicanery - time travel effects, Schwarzenegger's makeup, and flash-forward scenes set in a post-apocalyptic 2029 - are effective. By the time Terminator 2 arrived, Cameron had both the budget and the ability to better integrate the robot Terminator into its surroundings. The herky-jerky awkwardness that marks the climax of the first movie is not evident during the sequels.

The potential evidenced by Cameron in The Terminator - the ability to sustain suspense, meld action with story, and provide compelling characters despite the limitations of the actors portraying them - would be fully realized in two future features, Aliens and Terminator 2. This movie, however, is in some ways more impressive than either of those because of what the filmmaker was capable of achieving with a limited budget and without significant studio backing. The themes and ideas presented in The Terminator hold up well today, even though we have moved into the post-Cold War era and only the most nihilistic individuals could see 2029 in such bleak terms. It's a rousing science fiction story that proves an on-screen adrenaline rush need not short-circuit the brain.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddylukeApr 7, 2015
the terminator is a great film. it's one of the best action films of all time. I can watch this movie over and over and over again and never get tried of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorJan 20, 2015
Uma Obra-Prima de ação ficção ciêntifica revolucionária.
James Cameron dirige e escreve brilhantemente The Terminator. Um filme que surpreende do começo ao fim. Uma história genial que é brilhantemente executada.
Schwarzenegger é incrível
Uma Obra-Prima de ação ficção ciêntifica revolucionária.
James Cameron dirige e escreve brilhantemente The Terminator. Um filme que surpreende do começo ao fim. Uma história genial que é brilhantemente executada.
Schwarzenegger é incrível como a máquina exterminadora insensível,Michael Biehn é extraordinário,Linda Hamilton também está ótima.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tessara_VejganJan 18, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. One of the classic must see movies. Its an action packed sci-fi movie. Good story. The acting was I would say typical for such movies back in the 80's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesJan 3, 2015
"The Terminator" is an intense, action-packed flick that will keep you in the edge of your seat. This is definitely one of the best action flicks of all time, watch this if you haven't yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeDec 30, 2014
The Terminator: the groundbreaking action film that changed the sci-fi genre.

The story is so well done; it almost terrifies me every time I watch this film. The concept: that an almost indestructible machine from the future travels back
The Terminator: the groundbreaking action film that changed the sci-fi genre.

The story is so well done; it almost terrifies me every time I watch this film. The concept: that an almost indestructible machine from the future travels back in time to change everything it just spectacular. If only all sci-fi films were like this. The movie is overall highly entertaining, and there are much cool things. The characters are great, especially the villain. The actors are also great, even though there are some less great actors. The Terminator is surprisingly very well made for a sci-fi film from the 80s. But at the same time are there some aspects in the film that could have been done better, like some of the practical effects. It’s also visible on some places that there are dolls instead for real objects. The action though, is awesome. But there could have been more. The soundtrack is very good, it’s so classic and it gives the audience really scary feelings. The film couldn’t have had a more incredible ending that it got. It’s so great.

There are a bunch of great things in this film that the sci-fi genre got as foundation nowadays, and this truly is a classic sci-fi film. Unfortunately could the action been a bit more extensive. It’s a bit low for my taste.

The Terminator gets a 7.8.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Larry223Dec 14, 2014
Terminator... Una de las mejores franquicias del cine. Esta fue la primera de primera de 4 películas, con una 5ta en camino. Veamos como quedo:
Según parece las maquinas en el año 1997 desarrollaron inteligencia artificial y vienen a
Terminator... Una de las mejores franquicias del cine. Esta fue la primera de primera de 4 películas, con una 5ta en camino. Veamos como quedo:
Según parece las maquinas en el año 1997 desarrollaron inteligencia artificial y vienen a destruirnos, una situación post-apocaliptica pero con unos cuantos cambios. Aquí el viaje en el tiempo es una posibilidad y según parece llegamos tarde a la historia. Las maquinas ya han sido destruidas y están apunto de caer ante los humanos que quedaron, el problema es que las maquinas desarrollaron una maquina del tiempo y quieren acabar con el líder de los humanos antes de que naciera. Ponen una buena mezcla entre dialogo, escenas de acción y de exposición. El futuro es interesante de aprender, los diferentes modelos de Terminator, lo que queda de la humanidad, etc. Además que nos muestran como el viaje en el tiempo es arriesgado al poder cambiarlo todo, como creen los de hoy en día que estas loco y como luchas contra un ser casi imparable. La película casi no tiene problemas... Excepto por unos cuantos huecos argumentales, por ejemplo: por que no mandan unos 5 terminators? Así podrían haber estado seguros de acabar con el líder de la humanidad. Se llama John Connor. También otra cosa es que, SPOILER, hay un romance entre Kyle y Sarah, el problema llega a ser que casi no lo desarrollan, el la salva constantemente y ella estaba despechada así que fue algo raro. Lo puedo ver por Kyle, un niño de guerra en un mundo horrible enfocándose en una foto, una ilusión para mantener la cordura, pero por Sarah no lo vi muy realista. Un aspecto positivo es que casi no usan CGI, la mayoría son animatronicos y todo se ve bien. Pero aun los problemas no arruinan la película en si. Por eso le doy un 09/10, es un clásico, Terminator 2 la supera y según muchos por eso Terminator 1 es pasable, pero yo no lo pienso, yo digo que NO DEBES PERDERTE ESTA PELÍCULA si le vas a entrar a esta franquicia.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SkyrimGuy935Dec 5, 2014
Who would've thought that a low-budget B-movie featuring a first -time director would become one of the greatest, and most iconic action/sci-fi films ever? Suspenseful throughout, and gives Schwarzenegger the role he is most identified withWho would've thought that a low-budget B-movie featuring a first -time director would become one of the greatest, and most iconic action/sci-fi films ever? Suspenseful throughout, and gives Schwarzenegger the role he is most identified with today. This movie gets better every time you watch it.

9.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheDarkKnight22Sep 8, 2014
A great action movie, one of the best of it's time. The Movie has great actors. The special effects were fairly good for the time. My main complaint is that i wanted to know more about the terminator and his backstory. The movie talks aA great action movie, one of the best of it's time. The Movie has great actors. The special effects were fairly good for the time. My main complaint is that i wanted to know more about the terminator and his backstory. The movie talks a little bit about the Terminator's origin but i wanted to know more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MatchesPevJul 31, 2014
One of the most iconic films ever made. An absolute classic. **** the low scoring users, who have no interest in boosting the film industry by watching fantastic pieces of work like this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TommingsJul 7, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty much one of the most iconic sci-fi action romps of its time "The Terminator" manages to pull you into its time twisted, post apocalyptic and (defiantly now) retro 80's ride, filled with an action packed storyline, putting time aside for not only character relations but also throwing in elements of a horror, "The Terminator" doesn't drag nor disappoint, with a seemingly flexible cast and an actor who was born to play this role, "The Terminator" is full of surprises that might just leave you wanting more.

Like I said Schwarzenegger was born to play the role of the Terminator, its an iconic part, one filled with many quotes and catchphrases (which is pretty much all of his dialogue) contributed by fantastic and believable performances by Linda Hamilton and Michael Biehn, thrusting this film into a gripping tale of hunter and hunted. The soundtrack is one that gets you motivated and pumped but has a sense of sadness to it one that gets you even more emotive (especially when the drums kick in) towards the actual war taking place as the story takes a route down memory lane for Kyle Reese, its another part that makes this franchise iconic as its a theme you will never forget.

Yes, this is a bit of an action flick, one taken with a pinch of salt, and for a low budget film (especially in the 80's) its done an amazing job at heart, with only the CGI and make up looking very naff at some points, but hey.. cant blame them! Yes, there are a few questionable moments that end up in explosions and onslaught, but that's all apart of the experience, what I'm surprised at is how an action romp such as this has time to fit in sensible and likable characters that have point and purpose to the entire integrity of the films lore. I have to say I'm not a mega fan of James Cameron's work, but seeing what tools where at his disposal he has done a fantastic job with this, making something original and thought out, that can and does deserve at least one good sequel. Yes, I do like this film, of course there are flaws with it, even at its time, mainly being a tad mediocre and following a noticeable A to B format but I think we can agree that the action contracts that. this one is for retro loving thrill seekers!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJun 26, 2014
Just could not get into this one. The premise is interesting and the thrills are certainly there for the most part, but all I saw was an overhyped movie that is like many things we see today; a movie with an interesting premise that getsJust could not get into this one. The premise is interesting and the thrills are certainly there for the most part, but all I saw was an overhyped movie that is like many things we see today; a movie with an interesting premise that gets drowned out by needless explosions and countless shootouts. I think this one would be well served if there were less of those action elements and more of the sci-fi and human drama that could really carry this one. I am not advocating removing all of the action elements, but use them less as it is numbing by the end of the film and you barely care about what is going on. There are certainly great moments, in particular the end of the film, but that is not action, rather it is the sci-fi/human drama element I like the most of this one. Sadly, those moments are few and far between, as the action dominates the screen and kills the rest. However, the action sequences are well put together and the sci-fi/human drama parts are great, so this one is not a total failure, but I thought I would like it a lot more than I did. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysJun 12, 2014
The Terminator is a classic scifi smash that was one of the first of its kind. It may not feature that great of effects, but the movie still works here, thanks to Arnie. James Cameron does the best with what he has, and the results are phenomenal.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JerrikaApr 22, 2014
Well, it's got it's ups and downs. Arnold gives an amazing performance as the Terminator as well as very entertaining scenes, but I find the other movies better. They have longer moments telling the story, but the first movie has, in my eyes,Well, it's got it's ups and downs. Arnold gives an amazing performance as the Terminator as well as very entertaining scenes, but I find the other movies better. They have longer moments telling the story, but the first movie has, in my eyes, too many moments with Arnold shooting things and killing people. Sure, that's what he does, but can we have something else aside from mindless killing in the first 15 minutes please? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Its visuals are not as impressive as visuals seen today, but "The Terminator" still remains a thrilling, action-packed and intelligent sci-fi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Leo9127Feb 23, 2014
The Terminator is one of the greatest action movies ever made, with it's intriguing plot, perfect action, and Arnold Schwarzzeneger's best role, this is truly one for the ages.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksFeb 8, 2014
An original classic that brought a fresh new perspective on story-telling. The social commentary of technology also is quite fitting for an age where computers were just starting to become prevalent in everyday life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Clássico da ficção científicaClássico da ficção científica Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
A classic Sci-Fi that paved the way for many of today's special effects. The overall vibe and look fits the intricate and action-packed plot perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
B1ackGuardOct 17, 2013
One of my favorite sci-fi film. The unique atmosphere of techno-gothic style in the 80's the United States, a kind of sci-fi noir.... If you think, really scary movie. It is not a "positive" Terminator from the "Judgment Day", it really is aOne of my favorite sci-fi film. The unique atmosphere of techno-gothic style in the 80's the United States, a kind of sci-fi noir.... If you think, really scary movie. It is not a "positive" Terminator from the "Judgment Day", it really is a terrible killing machine that is before anything and never stop. In my opinion the best job J. Cameron. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gstiker5Jul 6, 2013
One of the absolute best movies ever made one of the action classics the CGI is amazing for 1984 and Arnold is just so awesome the storyline was really good even though there was a big plothole
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J24O1Jun 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a science-fiction action blockbuster and it is an intriguing story line and a highly interesting one. it as everything you could have hoped for in a film of this genre. it will be remembered as a classic for a very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Dec 18, 2012
What a horrible piece of dung. Everything that was funny, was clearly not intended to be. The story and acting are pretty worthless and pitiful. I wish this series never would have started to begin with, as the others are pretty meaningless also.
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Dec 18, 2012
It has 1 or two funny lines that probably arent' suppose to be funny but otherwise you have slow, repetitive pile of junk, that has acting below par and a movie that should have been terminated from the beginning.
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
For once, an 80's movie that actually got it right. The Terminator is a really good movie and it's interesting to see how many elements and stylings modern movies have stolen from it. This is also the perfect role for Arnie since he's maybeFor once, an 80's movie that actually got it right. The Terminator is a really good movie and it's interesting to see how many elements and stylings modern movies have stolen from it. This is also the perfect role for Arnie since he's maybe the worst actor of all-time. He has no ability whatsoever to convey emotions in a realistic manner so a role that asks for him to be his robotic self is fitting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
I honestly don't think that this movie needs an introduction, but I'll give it one anyway - "The Terminator" is a 1984 film crafted by legendary filmmaker James Cameron. The film follows tells the story of a cyborg assassin (Schwarzenegger)I honestly don't think that this movie needs an introduction, but I'll give it one anyway - "The Terminator" is a 1984 film crafted by legendary filmmaker James Cameron. The film follows tells the story of a cyborg assassin (Schwarzenegger) who is sent back in time from 2029 to 1984 to kill a young woman (Hamilton). Well, starting from the top, the movie's premise is certainly bizarre and outlandish, though Cameron and team seem to successfully transcend this obstacle by presenting the film's plot with utmost realism and seriousness. Quite possibly the greatest aspect of the film is, in fact, Arnold Schwarzenegger's truly menacing portrayal of the titular character. I wouldn't go so far as to say that this was a difficult performance, but Arnold pulls off one of his earliest acting roles with an intense amount of menace. The action sequences were also a masterstroke aspect of the film. Nearly every set piece in the film contained a good dose of thrills and jaw-dropping moments. The movie itself is, arguably, one of the greatest and most revolutionary science fiction films in film history. "The Terminator" was one of the first films to introduce the concept of self-aware artificial intelligence to the big screen, it catapulted the careers of Arnold Schwarzenegger and James Cameron to new heights, and simultaneously introduced several memorable lines of dialogue that most people are familiar with. In 2008 "The Terminator" was selected by the Library Of Congress for preservation in the United States National Film Registry, being deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant". Did it deserve this honor? I believe so. For, "The Terminator" was a fun, intelligent, novel film for me to experience. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
A very intense and original science-fiction film. It's not as good as the sequel and some of the effects are dated, but that doesn't stop it from keeping you on the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesOct 6, 2012
It's a little bereft in the effects and cinematography departments, but The Terminator succeeds largely on its quickly paced, exciting action sequences and powerful performances from Michael Biehn, Linda Hamilton, and, of course, AH-NULD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tarcottiMar 20, 2012
There isn't much to say except, this film is practically perfect. I think the story is extremely well written and enticing and I don't understand how anyone could say it is "dull" (review before mine) Plenty of action sequences, interestingThere isn't much to say except, this film is practically perfect. I think the story is extremely well written and enticing and I don't understand how anyone could say it is "dull" (review before mine) Plenty of action sequences, interesting time travel ideas, and cheesy 80s music. I LOVE IT. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
j30Jan 26, 2012
Terminator keeps a steady diet of action flowing throughout the film, without excess of the 80's cheese. Keeping this James Cameron gem a lean, mean, fighting machine.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 17, 2011
"The Terminator" is a loud,noisy action "block bluster"; pretty good CGI (considering it was 1984), solid acting from Mr. governor, a dull but appealing story. Expect fun.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 22, 2011
This is one of that movies that you want to watch it when you get bored, anytime,anywhere. I cant believe this movie affected me that much. Only one fault on this one: Kyle Reese Paradox which is not possible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
One of the best movies I ever seen
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Aug 2, 2011
One of the greatest sci-fi/action flicks ever to be made. Also, it spawned at least two amazing sequels--in which the Terminator is a protagonist rather than an antagonist? The next sequel...not so much.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Apr 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For a low budget 80s flick, it was pretty damn good! The movie did a great job of introducing us to Arnold Schwarzennegar's most iconic role ever. My only complaint was that I don't like sex in the movies I watch, then again, this was directed by James Cameron, he has sex in almost all of his movies... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
this movie is just the right action flick for fans of James Cameron
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JayHJun 8, 2009
One of the best sci-fi films ever made, brilliantly done with an imaginiative and powerful plot. Excellent special effects, well acted and relentlessly fast paced. This one will have you on the edge of your seat throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeHJun 19, 2008
This movie was down right action packed. Arnold Schwartezennager rules!!
5 of 7 users found this helpful
0
JaredCJul 2, 2007
"I am the Terminator," what agay type of movie this is. Sure some of the action scenes were pretty sweet but overall the movie totally completely sucked. Thumbs down for James Cameron.
1 of 31 users found this helpful
9
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
One of the great sci-fi adventure films to date. This one is actually a little creepier than T2. Schawrzenegger has some funny lines. I'll be back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TechAug 3, 2006
The storyline and scripts are great. But with better effects this movie would have rocked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful