Bryanston Distributing | Release Date: October 1, 1974
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
18
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlexS.Mar 9, 2007
Definitely a classic. Made long before attention deficit cinema came along and made everyone, collectively, a little dumber than we once were. The establishing shots in the early parts of the film are so moody, slow and dread inducing - a Definitely a classic. Made long before attention deficit cinema came along and made everyone, collectively, a little dumber than we once were. The establishing shots in the early parts of the film are so moody, slow and dread inducing - a fitting set-up for what comes later. This is how it's done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AllyB.Mar 29, 2008
I first saw this movie back in 98 when i was about 15 years old, and at the time, i was so terrified to even walk along my street at night it affected me that much, I refused to watch it again until someone as a laugh bought it for me for I first saw this movie back in 98 when i was about 15 years old, and at the time, i was so terrified to even walk along my street at night it affected me that much, I refused to watch it again until someone as a laugh bought it for me for Christmas a few years later. It was only then i began to appreciate the movie and the intensity of the atmosphere that surrounded the whole movie in general, Yes it still scares the *bleep* out of me but thats why i love it, It makes me feel every emotion under the sun, Claustrophobia, Fear, Tension, Joy, Reflection, and bloomin' well thankful that i wont ever come across Leatherface anytime soon! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
survivorfan989Jul 1, 2013
I quite enjoyed the 2003 remake and the two prequels that followed afterwards so I kind of wanted to go back to where it all began and see what the original was like. Considering it's mid 70's I still managed to enjoy it and can see howI quite enjoyed the 2003 remake and the two prequels that followed afterwards so I kind of wanted to go back to where it all began and see what the original was like. Considering it's mid 70's I still managed to enjoy it and can see how effective this would have been back then, perhaps not so much now but still its a very well done Horror film, and was probably the first of its kind back then. All things considered its not a great film, but I'll give it props for still making me jump! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
cool1707Apr 1, 2013
it was alright in terms of horror it was creepy and unerving but the movie started out boring and things only started getting good in the last 20-30 minutes of the movie. It was good i can see why people like it but i didnt find it the bestit was alright in terms of horror it was creepy and unerving but the movie started out boring and things only started getting good in the last 20-30 minutes of the movie. It was good i can see why people like it but i didnt find it the best but i will admit the leatherface in this creeped the hell out of me Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
I don't quite get the 'artistically' brutal gore & blood, but what makes the movie worth watching is the last 15 minutes.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
RobinE.Mar 16, 2008
One of the greatest movies of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
I think the acting is the strongest part of this movie. It helped get me involved with the characters and did manage to scare me. Still a good horror flick.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RDSep 10, 2006
Scariest movie of 70s along with
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.CampbellMar 1, 2006
What the hell can I or need I really say here folks? This is certainly one of the most beloved horror films of all time. It might also be one of the most notorious horror films of all time, especially to mainstreamers and non-horror fans. What the hell can I or need I really say here folks? This is certainly one of the most beloved horror films of all time. It might also be one of the most notorious horror films of all time, especially to mainstreamers and non-horror fans. The mention of its name is sure to get you some kind of reaction from a person one way or the other. The best film Tobe Hopper will ever make has stood the test of time for nearly 30 years. It would be great to have an awesome 30th anniversary theatrical release in 2004 wouldn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanReyP.Oct 18, 2008
I have only watched this version of the Texas Chainsaw, and it had a good story. The sounds really spooked me, and I had to lower the volume. I was scared in some scenes but I wished those scenes were expanded more, I did not felt so much is I have only watched this version of the Texas Chainsaw, and it had a good story. The sounds really spooked me, and I had to lower the volume. I was scared in some scenes but I wished those scenes were expanded more, I did not felt so much is some of them. Since this film was made in the 70s I had to give a bigger credit and give it a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Dec 30, 2008
The Granddaddy of all slasher films. It does an amazing job with such a low budget. Great camerawork, fine direction and it is definitely scary. The screaming girl gets to be a bit much though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobR.Feb 3, 2004
I left the theatre wanting my $6.50 back. It really was that bad. Better acting than expected though. Plenty of gore but not nearly scary enough, and I can spook myself out with my own shadow..I expected to be up all night, scared silly...I I left the theatre wanting my $6.50 back. It really was that bad. Better acting than expected though. Plenty of gore but not nearly scary enough, and I can spook myself out with my own shadow..I expected to be up all night, scared silly...I slept like a baby and only felt silly I wasted my time and money. [Ed: If you paid $6.50 in 1974, you were ripped off, my friend.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RithchieD.Sep 26, 2005
The movie speaks for it self.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
adriMay 13, 2006
Excelent! impresionant film, the best horror movie of the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelE.Feb 23, 2007
Way, WAY more intense and disturbing than it's numerous remakes and, in fact, almost any horror film made in the last decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidS.Oct 27, 2008
This movie is an atmospheric powerhouse. I don't think I've ever seen a film that quite portrays so unique a feel. Although some scenes seem overplayed today, and splatter-fans wont be too disturbed by it, 'Massacre' This movie is an atmospheric powerhouse. I don't think I've ever seen a film that quite portrays so unique a feel. Although some scenes seem overplayed today, and splatter-fans wont be too disturbed by it, 'Massacre' still packs a punch with its nightmareish dusty red visuals and slow but determined development. The deaths themselves are rather unique, since they are done in a brutal but almost offhanded manner, in contrast to the "look, see? He's dead! Isn't it horrible??" style of many modern horror movies. The final piece of the puzzle is the experimental but fitting musical score, which compliments the visuals very well. A movie that holds its own, even today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerFeb 17, 2015
It kind of pains me to have to criticize this movie for not aging well. I mean it was made it 1974 for crying out loud and it's not hard to imagine how terrifying it must have been to people back then. Today however it's not scary in theIt kind of pains me to have to criticize this movie for not aging well. I mean it was made it 1974 for crying out loud and it's not hard to imagine how terrifying it must have been to people back then. Today however it's not scary in the least and can be rather boring. Sometimes it's even annoying.

The excellent portrayal of the crazy, backwoods family is still kind of creepy and absurd in a black-humor sort of way. However outside of that and the influence it had on the genre there's nothing else that stands out about it. At least not in a good way.

The pacing has aged mostly well, but some scenes just drag on for too long. Was it really necessary to have a prolonged section where Marilyn Burns is just screaming non-stop for several minutes? It's old-school filmmaking decisions like that which make the film kind of hard to watch today.

It's definitely a classic of the horror genre. However it's just not one that's aged well at all. Due to it's legacy it's one I can say I'm glad I watched. I just can't say that I enjoyed it. It's a piece of horror history that any hardcore genre aficionado should check out. However doing so means putting up with a lot of issues brought on by age. Because of that it really is only for the most hardcore of horror fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
An essential horror classic. A very disturbing slasher film that can't be ignored or forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jasonvoorhees20Sep 13, 2011
Best horror movie ever. Period. Even hooper himself cant come close to this extremely bright flash in the pan. gunnar hansen's performance is pitch perfect. its extremely easy to screw up leatherface as the sequels showed. also an extremelyBest horror movie ever. Period. Even hooper himself cant come close to this extremely bright flash in the pan. gunnar hansen's performance is pitch perfect. its extremely easy to screw up leatherface as the sequels showed. also an extremely disturbing ending. halloween cant touch it with a javelin. friday the 13th...lets not go there shall we? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
Hooper directs a powerful story about a serial killer and a group of people that eventually are terrorized by it. I was scared, I was shocked and even more impressed. This movie is a true piece of cinema that one can not just ignore, but feelHooper directs a powerful story about a serial killer and a group of people that eventually are terrorized by it. I was scared, I was shocked and even more impressed. This movie is a true piece of cinema that one can not just ignore, but feel the impulse to watch, and enjoy the elements of a horror film unfold before the eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 5, 2014
I was watching Hooper's Classic movie Texas chain saw . I was just grossed when i saw the film, not only is it sick , gross , distrubing Its Awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!! . " Hopper's Chain saw massacre is the new horror movie but amazing ". Grade A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BurnsWEMNov 12, 2014
Arguably the greatest horror film of all time. In my opinion, it is. I'm not a big horror fan but this is definitely a fantastic film. Great acting and is incredibly realistic. Not gonna spoil it but the ending scene was brilliant andArguably the greatest horror film of all time. In my opinion, it is. I'm not a big horror fan but this is definitely a fantastic film. Great acting and is incredibly realistic. Not gonna spoil it but the ending scene was brilliant and very suspenseful. Personally, I don't think you can call yourself a horror fan if you haven't seen this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverSep 3, 2016
Super scary, super thrilling, super entertaining this movie has it all but not being my favorite but totally in my top ten. Whoever didn't see this movie hasn't lived yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
henryesparzaSep 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a love/hate relationship with this movie.
Love: The scares you get. The horrific villain. The 24 hours you get where you literally can't sleep. The horrific, torturous last 40 minutes.
Hate: (spoliers) The one guy that that girl runs into just happens to be the father/uncle of that one mother******. I mean I know they're close to the house and everything, but realistically what are the chances of that.
All in all, I rate the movie a 9 because the whole last 40 minutes of the film are absolute torture. That's were most horror movies fail these days. You get too many breaks in between the action. This does the complete opposite of that. The first 40ish minutes of the film you get sporadic scares. Couple of shots of Leatherface killing people no biggie.
In the last 40 minutes $hit starts getting fu**ed up.
It is basically torture what you have to endure in that last part of the film. Leatherface and his disturbed family just abuse the **** out of Sally the little cute blonde girl. Even at the last second when she's barely getting away and it looks like she's gone, she can't get into the damn pickup truck and you're still gasping for air trying to not get your heart to reach 200bpm.
(no spoilers now)
I like to compare this movie to one of those drop of death rides in theme parks. The buildup is gold, and then the culmination of the ride is so heartrushing you can't even breathe.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews