The Texas Chain Saw Massacre Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The story begins with five innocent kids on their way to checkout reports of grave robbing. As Sally, (Burns) her invalid brother Franklin, and three friends head out to inspect the gravesite of her family, they are soon side tracked on the ultimate journey of terror. One by one, they wanderThe story begins with five innocent kids on their way to checkout reports of grave robbing. As Sally, (Burns) her invalid brother Franklin, and three friends head out to inspect the gravesite of her family, they are soon side tracked on the ultimate journey of terror. One by one, they wander into the murderous clutches of Leatherface and his trusty chainsaw. The poster reads: "Who will survive and what will be left of them?" In this case, not much, and what is...well, becomes the main course. (House of Horrors) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 89
    Hooper's vision is horrid yet engrossing... But the worst part about this vision is that despite its sensational aspects, it never seems too far from what could be the truth.
  2. An intelligent, absorbing, and deeply disturbing horror film that is nearly bloodless in its depiction of violence. Using the age-old technique of suggestion, combined with a gritty, well-executed (no pun intended) visual style, the film seems much bloodier than it actually is.
  3. 80
    A black-humored, unflinching look at the Ugly American at his psychotic worst. And Tobe Hooper is at his best as a writer and director here.
  4. 70
    The picture gets to you more through its intensity than its craft, but Hooper does have a talent.
  5. Variety
    Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    60
    Despite the heavy doses of gore in The Texas Chain Saw Massacre, Tobe Hooper's pic is well made for an exploiter of its type... Sharp sense of composition and careful accumulation of detail also help enliven the crude plot, and the acting is above par for this type of film.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. j30
    Nov 9, 2011
    10
    An essential horror classic. A very disturbing slasher film that can't be ignored or forgotten.
  2. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Arguably the greatest horror film of all time. In my opinion, it is. I'm not a big horror fan but this is definitely a fantastic film.Arguably the greatest horror film of all time. In my opinion, it is. I'm not a big horror fan but this is definitely a fantastic film. Great acting and is incredibly realistic. Not gonna spoil it but the ending scene was brilliant and very suspenseful. Personally, I don't think you can call yourself a horror fan if you haven't seen this movie. Expand
  3. AllyB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    I first saw this movie back in 98 when i was about 15 years old, and at the time, i was so terrified to even walk along my street at night it I first saw this movie back in 98 when i was about 15 years old, and at the time, i was so terrified to even walk along my street at night it affected me that much, I refused to watch it again until someone as a laugh bought it for me for Christmas a few years later. It was only then i began to appreciate the movie and the intensity of the atmosphere that surrounded the whole movie in general, Yes it still scares the *bleep* out of me but thats why i love it, It makes me feel every emotion under the sun, Claustrophobia, Fear, Tension, Joy, Reflection, and bloomin' well thankful that i wont ever come across Leatherface anytime soon! Expand
  4. IanReyP.
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    I have only watched this version of the Texas Chainsaw, and it had a good story. The sounds really spooked me, and I had to lower the volume. I have only watched this version of the Texas Chainsaw, and it had a good story. The sounds really spooked me, and I had to lower the volume. I was scared in some scenes but I wished those scenes were expanded more, I did not felt so much is some of them. Since this film was made in the 70s I had to give a bigger credit and give it a 9. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Hooper directs a powerful story about a serial killer and a group of people that eventually are terrorized by it. I was scared, I was shockedHooper directs a powerful story about a serial killer and a group of people that eventually are terrorized by it. I was scared, I was shocked and even more impressed. This movie is a true piece of cinema that one can not just ignore, but feel the impulse to watch, and enjoy the elements of a horror film unfold before the eyes. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2015
    7
    I think the acting is the strongest part of this movie. It helped get me involved with the characters and did manage to scare me. Still a goodI think the acting is the strongest part of this movie. It helped get me involved with the characters and did manage to scare me. Still a good horror flick. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    it was alright in terms of horror it was creepy and unerving but the movie started out boring and things only started getting good in the lastit was alright in terms of horror it was creepy and unerving but the movie started out boring and things only started getting good in the last 20-30 minutes of the movie. It was good i can see why people like it but i didnt find it the best but i will admit the leatherface in this creeped the hell out of me Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.