User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 157
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevenR.
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Fantastic! The way a good horror remake should be. The different approach to the story makes helps this film stand on its own. Performances were great as was the tension. Fantastic direction and camera work make it an enjoyable watch.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    In August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of the teens run off to a nearby house to use the phone, where they come face to face with a murderous clan of cannibals and their chainsaw-wielding son,In August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of the teens run off to a nearby house to use the phone, where they come face to face with a murderous clan of cannibals and their chainsaw-wielding son, Leatherface! THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE is reborn in Platinum Dunes' 2003 remake, but where so many other attempts to revitalize the 1970's and 80's Slasher craze have failed, THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE succeeds in shocking and terrifying a whole new generation of moviegoers. It is just what a remake should be, honoring the original with the same basic plot outline and characters, while creating its own unique identity and mood. Marcus Nispel's washed out color palette is drowned in putrid greens and blues, which give the misty forest and dilapidated hallways of the Hewitt household a sickening overall effect. While this version does feature more gore, it is not built on simply disgusting the audience, but takes just as much time developing a deep-seated terror and suspense. This creates moments of intense anticipation that pay off in jolting shocks! Although Nispel has chosen to fill the cast with familiar teen favorites, Scott Kosar's script makes them likeable characters with whom the audience can relate. The best choice obviously comes in the decision to hire R. Lee Ermy, whose crass behavior and vulgar humor make him perfect in the role of Sheriff Hoyt. Ermy dominates the film, and becomes even more sadistic and frightening than Leatherface, himself! Andrew Bryniarski's fast and forceful approach to the character makes him very imposing as well, even if he falls slightly behind Gunnar Hansen as the iconic killer. TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE may not leave the same lasting impression as its predecessor, but its horrifying, edge-of-your seat excitement easily makes it the best remake to come out of the 2000's.

    -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Great movie. Great cast. One of my favourite movies ever made. I honestly terrified me when I found out this was based on a true story. One of the best remakes.
  4. KlayG.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    The Best movie of the year. VERY Frightful!
  5. Narrator
    Jan 28, 2004
    9
    Walking down the street one day, I heard a group of people talking about this film, one inquistivie yet ultimately idiotic individual asking his friends "but why do they call it the CHAINSAW massacre?" Although this would seem obvious in the fact that the evil doers weapon of choice was a chainsaw, after viewing the film it became apparant that this was a more viable question than Walking down the street one day, I heard a group of people talking about this film, one inquistivie yet ultimately idiotic individual asking his friends "but why do they call it the CHAINSAW massacre?" Although this would seem obvious in the fact that the evil doers weapon of choice was a chainsaw, after viewing the film it became apparant that this was a more viable question than originally percieved. After all, for a guy who has a whole basement full of sharp metallic objects, the weapon choice was a little odd, not only is it heavy and hard to control, but young girls in wet t-shirts can hear it from a mile away. It just didn't make sense. Then it hit me, no other weapon would look so funny as it massacred bedsheets hanging on the line, or spinning on the ground still clutched by a severed arm. Believe it or not, but a fat, balding villian who waddles rather than runs also isn't as scary as you'd think. This remake has little credibility as a horror film, including a non-existent plot and cliche camera perspectives. On the other hand, much like the question of why the film has the word 'chainsaw' in the title, this massacre of horror films is one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time, the saving grace for a film with little else going for it. Oh, except, of course, for the sporadic bouts of rain (which Texas is notorious for) which keep Jessica Biels' t-shirt wet for a good portion of the film (hence the score of 9). Anyone wishing to see a decent horror flick should look elsewhere. C'mon people, it's set in Texas, how serious did you expect it to be? Expand
  6. AwaAstedyouth
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    This movie is by far the best horror movie I've ever seen...though I can see from many of the reviews that I'm one of the few that know that this movie was NOT based on truth, but of course the studio used that "Inspired By True Events" because, hey something that really happened would seem a hell of alot scarier than just another Hollywood work of fiction. Anyways, great This movie is by far the best horror movie I've ever seen...though I can see from many of the reviews that I'm one of the few that know that this movie was NOT based on truth, but of course the studio used that "Inspired By True Events" because, hey something that really happened would seem a hell of alot scarier than just another Hollywood work of fiction. Anyways, great acting, directing, everything. I really dodn't understand how some of you morons can actually give this movie a low rating. No character development!? There was ALOT of character development, more so than any horror movie I've ever seen, especially referring to Jessica Biel's character. Great, great, great movie though. And to all of you that hated it, I'm still glad you saw it because it just put more money into the producers' pockets. Bahahahaha. Definately dissapointed though that the studio has decided not to release it on DVD until March30th!!! Gotta wait 3 more long months for this one. Ahhh I'll just watch Freddy vs. Jason a thousand times until I get tired of it, and by then this one'll be out!! WOOoOOHoo! Expand
  7. CharlieS.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Absolutely the scariest movie i have ever seen!!!! I loved it!!!!!!! Yay for TCM.
  8. RagingCritic
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Peter Travers of Rolling Stone said the flaw of this movie was that it failed to scare us any because it was no different than the original. Well, I think Peter Travers is so caught up in reviewing films that he has desensitized himself!! Not only was I scared senseless, but this movie remains a testament to the original. That alone is worthy This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Peter Travers of Rolling Stone said the flaw of this movie was that it failed to scare us any because it was no different than the original. Well, I think Peter Travers is so caught up in reviewing films that he has desensitized himself!! Not only was I scared senseless, but this movie remains a testament to the original. That alone is worthy of praise. The cinematography was outstanding (i.e. the suicide shot). And hey, we get a horror flick without any cheesy lines. Can you name any other the past decade other than The Ring?? If anyone out there has grown up in small town America, let's just say this - your worst nightmare is now a movie - NOW GO RENT IT! A++ TheRagingCritic Expand
  9. AmberL.
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie it was so awesome!!
  10. PaigeH.
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    This is the greatest movie i have ever seen! (even better than cheaper by the dozen.. i think) It was so unbelievably scary, i screamed the whole time.. definitley a must-see! and jessica biel did a great job!
  11. NeilC.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    It scared the hell out of me. But I just found out 4 mins ago it wasn't a true story at all, so I guess it's a little less scary now.
  12. FidelCastro
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    The movie is not a movie based on true events. The man is real, but none of this happened. Many people must do their homework! But the movie was awesome! Better than the first one. This one had more character developement, and more of a plot. It really brought up suspense, ad made you feel like you were running away from Leatherface (Ed Gein). Many people compare this film to Wrong Turn The movie is not a movie based on true events. The man is real, but none of this happened. Many people must do their homework! But the movie was awesome! Better than the first one. This one had more character developement, and more of a plot. It really brought up suspense, ad made you feel like you were running away from Leatherface (Ed Gein). Many people compare this film to Wrong Turn and House of 1,000 Corpses, but they are ruled out by comparison. House of 1,000 Corpses and Wrong Turn had no character developement whatsoever. In Wrong Turn, all you know is the killers have deformaties, so they wanna kill, why? And in House of 1,000 Corpses, a family wants to kill passerby's, WHY? Well, in TCM, they tell why. Simply because the youngest child was abused verbally by other people because of his deformed appearence. Also, the five friends on the loose are people on their way to a concert in Dallas, TX, and just came back from buying weed in Mexico. No more information should have been provided! It adds more mystery to the film. It makes you want to know more about each one of the people. Excellently done! Jessica Biel did the best job. I was beginning to think she had gone soft from Rules Of Attraction, where she played a very sexual character. She has done every type of acting- a drama/comedy (7th heaven), drama (rules of attraction), and now horror (TCM). She did excellent in making us think that she did do well in this movie, like she was a real person in this situation. Many of the decisions she made as "Erin" make you say, "I would have done the same thing!", and, "Way To Go!". It really makes you wanna see her survive. It makes you wanna help her get out of the clutches of the psychopaths! Awesome movie overall. Expand
  13. AlanH.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    It was really a good film but also very depressing and i felt bad for the people who went through that.
  14. JeffW.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Excellent film!!
  15. AnneS.
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually saw the original it didn't have the same effect it had on others who saw in the 70's. TCM(2003) delivers that goods. Not only did I scream and jump, but I also felt sick and creeped out just watching and thinking about what was gong on. I would recommend this to anyone. Don't pay attention to the "oldies" who watched the original when there were no good horror movies out there. Go and see this new one! You actually feel and relate to the characters, which never usually happens in horror movies. Expand
  16. AnneS.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually saw the original it didn't have the same effect it had on others who saw in the 70's. TCM(2003) delivers that goods. Not only did I scream and jump, but I also felt sick and creeped out just watching and thinking about what was gong on. I would recommend this to anyone. Don't pay attention to the "oldies" who watched the original when there were no good horror movies out there. Go and see this new one! You actually feel and relate to the characters, which never usually happens in horror movies. Expand
  17. BrendiP.
    Oct 20, 2003
    9
    forget what the critics say and forget about these people that expected it to outdo the old version. It wasn't trying to be better than the original just trying to give us a different angle. Personally, I thought the original was hardly entertaining, bad acting, and horribly shot. What are we pining over? Stop comparing it to sonething it is not, you cult movie going freaks! I forget what the critics say and forget about these people that expected it to outdo the old version. It wasn't trying to be better than the original just trying to give us a different angle. Personally, I thought the original was hardly entertaining, bad acting, and horribly shot. What are we pining over? Stop comparing it to sonething it is not, you cult movie going freaks! I thought this movie was effective on many levels. I was entertained, not a lot of cheesy dialogue, just enough gore but no where near as much as Cabin Fever, it was scary, the acting was quite convincing, and it was shot very well. Even the sets gave me chills especially leatherface's house. I recommend anyone who likes horror movies for their scare factor and entertainment value to go see this movie. Ignore the rest, they are just sobbing over the fact their precious chainsaw movie has been redone into something actually worth watching. Expand
  18. KatieP.
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    Come on people, what do you expect? For F*#@'s sake, JESSICA BIEL is in it, how can you think it's going to be a masterpiece. It is much better than most horror movies lately. It was genuninly a good movie, and I do reccomend it. Don't go into a movie starring someone from a show on the 'WB' and expect it to be an Oscar winner.
  19. SamIAm
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Although it's not true... the TCM was the best horror film i've ever seen.... sad at parts (the hook n the ring) but all in all it was awesome! a definite must see!
  20. ColR.
    Aug 17, 2004
    9
    This is SO much better than the original, they shouldn't even be compared. Tobe Hoopers' original served to make people think outside the box with Horror movies, and his vision was directly responsible for the production of such classics as "The Blair Witch Project", but if you watch the movie today, it just seems ridiculous. It's demented, silly, and has Leatherface This is SO much better than the original, they shouldn't even be compared. Tobe Hoopers' original served to make people think outside the box with Horror movies, and his vision was directly responsible for the production of such classics as "The Blair Witch Project", but if you watch the movie today, it just seems ridiculous. It's demented, silly, and has Leatherface running around in a shirt and tie. It's grizzly because it's so raw, but this would never stand as a piece of excellent cinematography. The new version, however, if utterly brutal and sinister, as well as being a piece of art using contemporary actors that people can relate to. The use of lighting is great, the attacks from the brutal monstrosity that is Leatherface are really awful, and the movie has maintained such key moments as chainsaw chases and meat hooks. Add to this the literally awesome Lee Ermey as the completely demented redneck sherriff, and you have a modern movie that will send chills down your spine. Forget the original. The original is what has damaged the score for this movie. Watch it as a movie in it's own right and compare it to contemporary movies and I'm sure that you'll agree that this is a hell of a freaky experience. Expand
  21. GoreLover
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Bonjour other voters/readers of the coments. i happen to be a "young lover of the gore" and ive seen both tcm's and really other voters its not that gorey! theres alot more bloody movies. id have to say the movies were great anyway and if you cant handle horror movies dont watch em and then come complaining. thanks for ready what i had to say on the topic.
  22. antwianf
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Superbly gruesome and shockingly suspenseful with a touch of humor.
  23. JayH.
    Oct 17, 2003
    9
    I rate this movie a 9 out of 10 because personally I think it delivers what it's supposed to....FEAR! I haven't been this scared since I saw Jeepers Creepers 1 in the theatre. It has that same feeling like you're not seeing a "horror" movie per se, but sitting in a theatre full of people.. looking through a peep hole.. into the lives of a bunch of people who are being I rate this movie a 9 out of 10 because personally I think it delivers what it's supposed to....FEAR! I haven't been this scared since I saw Jeepers Creepers 1 in the theatre. It has that same feeling like you're not seeing a "horror" movie per se, but sitting in a theatre full of people.. looking through a peep hole.. into the lives of a bunch of people who are being killed. I swear 15 minutes into this movie I felt like I was out there in hicksvile with them! And when the killing started...man..I felt like I was watching a real life SNUFF FILM! Jessica Biel acted her ass off! I forgot she was ever in 7th Heaven, she GENUINELY looked like she was scared out of her mind. You know how in some movies you can tell where a scene cuts to another scene because the actors are acting a little different than a second before...and you say to yourself.."the director must have yelled "cut" right there"? NOT IN THIS FLICK, at least not in the last 40 mins with Jessica Biel. It seemed seemless, from one scene to the next with her trying to survive. It just kept going and her fear, the desperation she was projecting NEVER changed for a second!! I love horror movies but I have to say, this had a different feel than your typical horror movie, I ACTUALLY FELT LIKE I WAS WATCHING REAL PEOPLE BEING MURDERED! I also had a sense of this is what it must be like when you are a victim of a serial killer like Dahmer, or Gacy. Like trapped in their basement somewhere, where no one can hear you or help you...and you're just begging the killer for your life and too please let you go, and you just continue to suffer and suffer. I actually saw a couple walk out! WHEN THE HELL WAS THE LAST TIME YOU SAW THAT HAPPEN!! I live in New York City and nothing shocks anyone out here enough to just say "Screw the $10.50 I just paid for me and my chick...I just can't take this!!!" When they walked out I kind of felt like following. I couldn't believe I had a thought like that. When the movie ended people walked out of the theatre barely talking! Like they were in shock. Or had the sense they were still OUT THERE IN THAT HOUSE!! If you want to be scared see this movie!!! Not like I just saw "Jason vs Freddy" scared. I mean scared like you just saw something really, really bad happen and you were able to get away..scared. Expand
  24. ColeyC.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    The badest damn movie an the scariest movie ive ever seen.
  25. RandomScrub
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    To 'Joe': You sir, are an idiot, TCM was made first.
  26. RoleenB.
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    Its not that bad..its excellent. I remember watching the old ones. Its ewwww..this is better than the first.
  27. TimN.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    I think this is the best remake of a scary I have ever seen!!!!!!
  28. Corey
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    I have seen every horror movie ever made. I love those best that truly scare you. This movie did that like no movie i have ever seen. A great horror movie in every sense of the word.
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This movie gets alot of hell for being to far from the original. I personally think its better than the original. Its a extremely well made horror film. Instead of making an exact replica of the 1974 cult film, they take the basic idea and run with it, adding a great likable cast, gritty camera work, and a top notch musical score. While this is the remake that started the trend, its alsoThis movie gets alot of hell for being to far from the original. I personally think its better than the original. Its a extremely well made horror film. Instead of making an exact replica of the 1974 cult film, they take the basic idea and run with it, adding a great likable cast, gritty camera work, and a top notch musical score. While this is the remake that started the trend, its also one of the best horror films of the 20th century. 9/10. Expand
  30. May 22, 2013
    9
    This was a very impressive Horror film that only seems to keep getting better every time I watch it. The flaws are minimal but the major one that's worth pointing out is the almost PG death scenes (studio was avoiding hitting a R rating) but that aside it's a great remake! Jessica Beil is great as the leading lady and joined by a talented cast. Storyline can't be messed around with tooThis was a very impressive Horror film that only seems to keep getting better every time I watch it. The flaws are minimal but the major one that's worth pointing out is the almost PG death scenes (studio was avoiding hitting a R rating) but that aside it's a great remake! Jessica Beil is great as the leading lady and joined by a talented cast. Storyline can't be messed around with too much but it wasn't and it made for a very effective remake and a real delight to watch for any Horror fan! Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. The gruesomely unnecessary remake of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is such a smorgasbord of slimy grunge that to call the movie gross wouldn't do it justice -- it's downright sticky.
  2. 63
    The film delivers with enough consistency to warrant a qualified recommendation for those seeking a few extra scares at this time of the year.
  3. I don't know if Nispel and Scott Kosar, who make their feature film debuts here, are the worst director and writer in the world, though they might well represent the United States if anyone holds a competition. I do know they deliver a total of zero laughs, scares or surprises in this remake of the infamously creepy 1974 picture.