New Line Cinema | Release Date: October 17, 2003
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 134 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
32
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
AndrewGAug 7, 2009
Hardly produces a scare, or even a minute thrill. Poorly acted, poorly directed, and on a whole, very poor.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
HaithamBayazeedJan 15, 2013
Seriously! Do you call this a horror movie! Can I even compare it with its prequel?! It is not scare not an R-Rated "Horror" should be at least a PG-13 or a hard PG if the first kissing scene edited, this is not a horror, its prequel is waySeriously! Do you call this a horror movie! Can I even compare it with its prequel?! It is not scare not an R-Rated "Horror" should be at least a PG-13 or a hard PG if the first kissing scene edited, this is not a horror, its prequel is way to better, watch Texas Chainsaw 3D less **** and save your time, Micheal Bay's The Texas Chainsaw a good time for a 9 years old! Pretty much it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
Terrible, just terrible. What Marcus Nispel demonstrated throughout the movie is how much blood he can present to the audience and how far his movie can fall into the Abyss of failure.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
smijatovDec 24, 2010
Just gross gore. There is NOTHING scary about this film. Films like this ought not be called 'horrors,' since they just gross people out. There is not a single psychologically frightening scene in this film... Made for teenagers, really.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
WassoZ.May 7, 2004
The film was just good, but all the killings were very realistic. At some point it wasn't fun at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TheGilbertMulroneycakesLaserExperienceOct 25, 2003
If you were scared byenjoyed this, firstly: may God have mercy on your soul, and secondly: watch the original. That was a masterpeice, taking terror into new, occasionally surreal, dimensions, pulling you protesting along with it. This is a If you were scared byenjoyed this, firstly: may God have mercy on your soul, and secondly: watch the original. That was a masterpeice, taking terror into new, occasionally surreal, dimensions, pulling you protesting along with it. This is a pointless, mean-spirited, lazy-ass bloodbath that's even worse than the pointless, lazy-ass bloodbath that was Tobe Hooper's own TCM 2 from the burning radioactive wilderness of the 1980s. That Hooper's name is attached to this car-boot-sale remake is a very human tragedy. And they show Leatherface's face, which is like putting a voiceover at the end of 2001 explaining where the monoliths came from. Get out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RD.Aug 23, 2006
Not scary. But R Lee Ermey's performance as the Sheriff bangs you. [***SPOILERS***] Also, the slaughter-house scene where Jessica Biel cuts Leatherface's hand with a meat cleaver is good. Just the movie is too violent at times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenR.Mar 24, 2007
Fantastic! The way a good horror remake should be. The different approach to the story makes helps this film stand on its own. Performances were great as was the tension. Fantastic direction and camera work make it an enjoyable watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MovieLonely94Oct 16, 2010
I watched the 1974 original before watching this remake. well, this one had a few changes with the killing scenes and the storyline, but to be fair, lets just say that whoever made it sure had a good try.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
WhatsAmovieMay 6, 2011
I enjoy horror movies. I'm not some crazy fan who will watch nothing but them, but i enjoy them. Is this movie good? No, not really. Is it bad? No, not really. Its EXACTLY in the middle. The acting was bearable and the movie changed up someI enjoy horror movies. I'm not some crazy fan who will watch nothing but them, but i enjoy them. Is this movie good? No, not really. Is it bad? No, not really. Its EXACTLY in the middle. The acting was bearable and the movie changed up some scenes from the original which keeps it from being same old deaths (which the first one was over and over). The original was god aweful. Don't call me stupid for saything that because it's true. The only reason you people like it is because it's a "classic" and the only reason it's a classic is because it's "true". This movie did have useless gore in it but not enough to make me turn it off. Overall; Not bad, but not good.
PS- To all you idiots out there who like it because it had gore in it. SCREW YOU! That does not make a movie so shut up. Blood does not make a movie good. You people just don't know movies.
Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ILHMFeb 2, 2013
In August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of theIn August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of the teens run off to a nearby house to use the phone, where they come face to face with a murderous clan of cannibals and their chainsaw-wielding son, Leatherface! THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE is reborn in Platinum Dunes' 2003 remake, but where so many other attempts to revitalize the 1970's and 80's Slasher craze have failed, THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE succeeds in shocking and terrifying a whole new generation of moviegoers. It is just what a remake should be, honoring the original with the same basic plot outline and characters, while creating its own unique identity and mood. Marcus Nispel's washed out color palette is drowned in putrid greens and blues, which give the misty forest and dilapidated hallways of the Hewitt household a sickening overall effect. While this version does feature more gore, it is not built on simply disgusting the audience, but takes just as much time developing a deep-seated terror and suspense. This creates moments of intense anticipation that pay off in jolting shocks! Although Nispel has chosen to fill the cast with familiar teen favorites, Scott Kosar's script makes them likeable characters with whom the audience can relate. The best choice obviously comes in the decision to hire R. Lee Ermy, whose crass behavior and vulgar humor make him perfect in the role of Sheriff Hoyt. Ermy dominates the film, and becomes even more sadistic and frightening than Leatherface, himself! Andrew Bryniarski's fast and forceful approach to the character makes him very imposing as well, even if he falls slightly behind Gunnar Hansen as the iconic killer. TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE may not leave the same lasting impression as its predecessor, but its horrifying, edge-of-your seat excitement easily makes it the best remake to come out of the 2000's.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
A good remake so scary that you will die of fear.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MissDraeMar 1, 2014
Great movie. Great cast. One of my favourite movies ever made. I honestly terrified me when I found out this was based on a true story. One of the best remakes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RCampbellFeb 25, 2006
I am obsessed with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre series, and like all fans, I prefer the original. The remake is better than I expected, but it's still not as good as it's father. Although it was too hollywood for my tastes, it I am obsessed with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre series, and like all fans, I prefer the original. The remake is better than I expected, but it's still not as good as it's father. Although it was too hollywood for my tastes, it wasn't a 'bad' movie, and provided some entertaining scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RitaP.Feb 1, 2006
One of the better horror movies I've seen. It was so scary in parts I felt compelled to turn the VCR off several times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnneS.Oct 19, 2003
I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually saw the original it didn't have the same effect it had on others who saw in the 70's. TCM(2003) delivers that goods. Not only did I scream and jump, but I also felt sick and creeped out just watching and thinking about what was gong on. I would recommend this to anyone. Don't pay attention to the "oldies" who watched the original when there were no good horror movies out there. Go and see this new one! You actually feel and relate to the characters, which never usually happens in horror movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
pokerMay 21, 2006
A pretty solid film that is,at the same time revolting. I was on edge multiple times waiting for the next gruesome surprise. Don't get me wrong,alot of this IS uneccesery, I just thought at the same time it was well put together. Could A pretty solid film that is,at the same time revolting. I was on edge multiple times waiting for the next gruesome surprise. Don't get me wrong,alot of this IS uneccesery, I just thought at the same time it was well put together. Could I go without the young mental woman in the beginning of the movie pulling a hidden gun out of...(like I said "uneccesery")and blowing her skull computer to smithereens?The answer would be yes BUT at the same time I Would not have been treated to cult anti - hero,Leatherface unmercifully instinctively and,almost gleefully destroying smug,spoiled,oversexed,potheaded brats(that I am shamefully jealous of,which,coincidentally fuels a fair amount of my affinity for this film). Watch it at night, with the lights out and the volume up. I guarantee if you like horror(not the most intelligent type but horror all the same)you'll like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
antwianfMar 10, 2009
Superbly gruesome and shockingly suspenseful with a touch of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Dec 10, 2005
Disturbing and oogy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was a good film. It was scary and interesting and I thought it was a solid remake. The only bad thing is the lack of originality in it and a poor female lead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TetsuoJul 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything this does is completely miss the mark of the original. The '74 classic gives a grim realistic tone, relying on building atmosphere before frightening us. It doesn't rely on buckets of blood since it was low-budget. This reimagining just amps it up with gore, lots of blood and too polished in terms of production values. The characters are forgettable which makes you care less if they suffer and die. R. Lee Ermey doesn't even bring any justice as the impersonating sheriff who's also a member of the insane family. His death scene made me scream "Hell yeah!"; unlike in the original where the hitchhiker is killed during the final chase scene that made my heart beat faster. Leatherface in this movie is just ridiculous, his mask looks like a clown mask shoved in an easy-bake oven. The original mask is made of flesh from past victims and poorly made. It tries to recreate the original scenes with no sense of subtlety. A shameless remake that doesn't deserve to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
J42HmusicSep 1, 2011
Better than the Original. It had more storyline, the effects were better and it was much scarier. My only criticism is that it relies on bloody violence to make it more scary, but there was some brilliant suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediSep 17, 2011
The first one from those remakes' trend which lasts till today, unlike the majority which came later, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake is worthy and valid, which followed a path somewhat different from the original, a bit away from thatThe first one from those remakes' trend which lasts till today, unlike the majority which came later, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake is worthy and valid, which followed a path somewhat different from the original, a bit away from that amateurism (many think that's what made the first film so creepy), but without economizing the suspense and blood. The direction from Niespel Marcus is quite stylish, the cast, despite only containing good looking actors, is good. It is really worthwhile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 26, 2013
I am a big fan of Horror movies, but believe it or not, this is the only version of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre that I ever liked. The reason is simple, for this one, they actually got a real cast that include two of my favorite actors andI am a big fan of Horror movies, but believe it or not, this is the only version of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre that I ever liked. The reason is simple, for this one, they actually got a real cast that include two of my favorite actors and the gorgeous Jessica Biel. This story isn't any different than the other ones. A bunch of friends on a road trip take a wrong turn and find themselves being hunted by a mad man. The film is full of gore, bad jokes, and beautiful people, it's really nothing out of the ordinary, except for the cast. Great actors can make anything entertaining, even the most bland and repetitive film gets new life when you introduce a cast like this. Three extremely talented and under appreciated actors, give support to the less experienced cast members, and while much of the film was focused on Biel and Leatherface, you could still see the influence of the veteran stars on the rest of this cast. If you don't like Horror, this film won't change your mind. If you're looking for originality, you won't find it here. If you're looking for some good performances from a very talented cast, that is something The remake of Texas Chainsaw Massacre will give you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobFeb 21, 2012
A solid horror remake imo. It introduces a new generation of fans to the series and it worked out very well imo. It was scary, It featured decent acting through out, and imo its one of the best horror films released in the 2000s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
perfectMETROID1Mar 20, 2012
This movie gets alot of hell for being to far from the original. I personally think its better than the original. Its a extremely well made horror film. Instead of making an exact replica of the 1974 cult film, they take the basic idea andThis movie gets alot of hell for being to far from the original. I personally think its better than the original. Its a extremely well made horror film. Instead of making an exact replica of the 1974 cult film, they take the basic idea and run with it, adding a great likable cast, gritty camera work, and a top notch musical score. While this is the remake that started the trend, its also one of the best horror films of the 20th century. 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ETVApr 22, 2012
What an awful film. Like. Seriously!!! Everything was predictable and not one character was likable. So glad I borrowed the DVD and not wasted my money on it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989May 22, 2013
This was a very impressive Horror film that only seems to keep getting better every time I watch it. The flaws are minimal but the major one that's worth pointing out is the almost PG death scenes (studio was avoiding hitting a R rating) butThis was a very impressive Horror film that only seems to keep getting better every time I watch it. The flaws are minimal but the major one that's worth pointing out is the almost PG death scenes (studio was avoiding hitting a R rating) but that aside it's a great remake! Jessica Beil is great as the leading lady and joined by a talented cast. Storyline can't be messed around with too much but it wasn't and it made for a very effective remake and a real delight to watch for any Horror fan! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticJul 3, 2014
Couldn't finish it, couldn't watch half of it. Every bit of violence is inevitable from the beginning five to ten minutes of the film. The only reason I saw it was because I could look at Jessica Biel. That's all horror movies offer theseCouldn't finish it, couldn't watch half of it. Every bit of violence is inevitable from the beginning five to ten minutes of the film. The only reason I saw it was because I could look at Jessica Biel. That's all horror movies offer these days; attractive damsels in distress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueMar 28, 2015
An above average remake of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Fully packed violence, and acceptable acting keep the film alive but lacks the strength the original has.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJul 17, 2016
The acting wasn't bad and the movie was kind of entertaining.But, the movie was predictable and was downright stupid at times.It's not a bad remake, nor a bad movie but, it's certainly is not a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ydnar4Nov 21, 2014
This movie was just average, as I expected. I wasn't expecting the remake to match the original but it certainly wasn't the worst horror movie remake I've seen. Continuing the Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies only seems to generate more andThis movie was just average, as I expected. I wasn't expecting the remake to match the original but it certainly wasn't the worst horror movie remake I've seen. Continuing the Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies only seems to generate more and more money for the franchise, considering the budget for the movies is so small to begin with. I didn't have many scares in the film, not nearly as scary as the original. However I enjoyed Jessica Biel and R Lee Ermy. I thought they played their roles fairly well. With Michael Bay being involved in this film I'm not shocked that it got mixed reviews as he never seems to be able to get any sort of critical acclaim. He's bringing in the money though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RickyReviewsJun 24, 2016
Just saw this today on a rental DVD. It wasn't scary or suspenseful, just gross. One of the worst horror films of all time in my opinion. Skip it and watch something else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
Another Long March to the Slaughterhouse!

With a budget many times that of the 1974 drive-in classic on which it is based, Marcus Nispel's "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" delivers proportionately fewer thrills and no discernible suspense. It
Another Long March to the Slaughterhouse!

With a budget many times that of the 1974 drive-in classic on which it is based, Marcus Nispel's "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" delivers proportionately fewer thrills and no discernible suspense. It is, instead, a long march to the slaughterhouse that seems to take forever to get going and, once it does, goes nowhere that hasn't been visited before by more talented filmmakers.

Inspired as much by Jonathan Demme's 1991 "Silence of the Lambs" (from which it borrows its repulsively detailed inventory of a killer's lair) and by David Fincher's 1995 "Seven" (the bled-out color and atmosphere of decay) as by Tobe Hooper's original film, this movie seems painfully derivative just where Mr. Hooper's was technically crude but quite original: in its application of the psychology of horror.

Very much a product of its time, the original was a paranoid vision in which a band of hippies fell into the clutches of a monstrous family evolved from Richard Nixon's middle Americans. Mr. Hooper imagined the rotting nuclear family formed by the Sawyer clan (oddly renamed the Hewitts in the remake) exacting its final parental revenge on the flower-power generation, represented as a group of helpless children.

In the remake, with Hollywood's current master of budgetary excess, Michael Bay ("Pearl Harbor") as co-producer, the killings have little sociological or psychological resonance. This is a blunt and graphic gore film, replete with close-ups of splattered brain matter and twitching severed limbs.

To his credit, Mr. Nispel, a veteran of music videos making his first feature, does not take refuge in camp humor; he plays the violence as straight and as punishingly as possible. But punishment is not what the action public of 2003 is looking for: since "The Silence of the Lambs," the audience has been encouraged to identify with charismatic killers as they go about their business, something the remade "Chainsaw" staunchly refuses to offer.

From R. Lee Ermey's degenerate small-town sheriff to Andrew Bryniarski's hulking Leatherface (the chainsaw-wielding killer, now with a mask fashioned out of human flesh), the villains are either too grotesque or too remote to invite easy assimilation. Reduced to identifying, uncomfortably enough, with the victims (chiefly, the lovely but inexpressive Jessica Biel), the audience made its dissatisfaction vocally clear at a recent New York preview screening of Mr. Nispel's film, which opens today nationwide. Rather than exhilaration, this bilious film offers only entrapment and despair. It's about as much fun as sitting in on an autopsy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shiftworkerAug 29, 2016
This was a very scary movie when I was a teenager. Forty years later it seems too full of young women screaming. There's too little gore to scare me today, which just shows how brutal other movies have become. I even felt like fast-forwardingThis was a very scary movie when I was a teenager. Forty years later it seems too full of young women screaming. There's too little gore to scare me today, which just shows how brutal other movies have become. I even felt like fast-forwarding through the first 45 minutes, but the anticipation built up towards the end is still effeective.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KingofdanerdsNov 10, 2016
The movie was not as good as I expected. The movie was not scary at all and barely any blood and gore. One of my least favorite Texas Chainsaw movies.2/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sepehrcharbiJan 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its good movie really i enjoyed it its scary its a good remake of texas chainsaw masscre 1974 i dont know why people saying its a bad remake i dont understand but really its fun Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews