Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 16, 2005
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
62
Mixed:
7
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ToddO.Jun 10, 2006
I have no idea what the fuss is over this movie. The "77" rating is hilarious. THis movie was so Boring and made no sense or had any purpose.The only reason I didnt turn it off was I was think that the good rating had some great scence that I have no idea what the fuss is over this movie. The "77" rating is hilarious. THis movie was so Boring and made no sense or had any purpose.The only reason I didnt turn it off was I was think that the good rating had some great scence that I didnt want to miss...I was wrong. IF you like Ghandi's pace you will love this horrible film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
PeterF.Feb 28, 2006
I'm really not sure why everyone likes this movie so much. Here are my criticisms: 1) very preachy, 2) no character depth, 3) many cliches- the restaurant owner, the border patrolman, the cops, etc. 4) boring- the ride through the I'm really not sure why everyone likes this movie so much. Here are my criticisms: 1) very preachy, 2) no character depth, 3) many cliches- the restaurant owner, the border patrolman, the cops, etc. 4) boring- the ride through the desert lasted forever, and 5) there were some weird inconsistencies- the timing of the shooting from the 2 different perspectives was way off. I also couldn't help feeling like they were trying to copy the vibe of Kill Bill 2. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TonyL.Mar 15, 2006
Worst movie that I have seen in quite some time. A terrible waste of good actors. Avoid!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JolantaJun 24, 2006
Worst movie that I have seen. A terrible waste of good actors. My time and money too.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AdamL.Feb 24, 2007
Two hours that seem like four, consistently pedestrian writing, and a complete deficit of morality make this not only one of the worst films I have ever seen (and I've seen more than a few), but a dangerous one. The only thing saving it Two hours that seem like four, consistently pedestrian writing, and a complete deficit of morality make this not only one of the worst films I have ever seen (and I've seen more than a few), but a dangerous one. The only thing saving it from a flat-out zero is the great acting by everyone involved. What a waste. Even Sam Peckenpah would be ashamed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MikeF.Jan 7, 2006
A horrible torture-fest in which the captive falls in love with his sadistic captor (as usual).
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
Brian_McInnisFeb 8, 2012
This is an offensively inept, amateur film with its heart in the right place. So many casual movie-goers like submediocre films like this because they're the kind of movies they'd direct themselves if they were into movies to any substantialThis is an offensively inept, amateur film with its heart in the right place. So many casual movie-goers like submediocre films like this because they're the kind of movies they'd direct themselves if they were into movies to any substantial degree, which they're not. This movie repeatedly left me dumbfounded and irate with its boundless inanity, its preadolescent writing, its loathsome attempts at humor. Despite having made this crater of a film, Tommy Lee Jones is and will continue to be a great actor and a fascinating man; this movie's spectacular awfulness falls several feet short of unforgivable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJun 28, 2013
An ugly, dirty movie. That has no purpose. It drags on and on, the movie was over 2 hours long and its about nothing! The movie was predictable, and worse of all boring!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews