Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A man is shot and quickly buried in the high desert of West Texas. The body is found and reburied in Van Horn's town cemetery. Peter Perkins (Jones), a local ranch foreman kidnaps a Border Patrolman and forces him to disinter the body. With his captive in tow and the body tied to a mule,A man is shot and quickly buried in the high desert of West Texas. The body is found and reburied in Van Horn's town cemetery. Peter Perkins (Jones), a local ranch foreman kidnaps a Border Patrolman and forces him to disinter the body. With his captive in tow and the body tied to a mule, Pete undertakes a dangerous and quixotic journey into Mexico. (Sony Pictures Classics) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 100
    Incisive yet supple, wrenching yet deeply pleasurable, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada easily ranks among the year's best pictures.
  2. Tommy Lee Jones steps behind the camera to direct himself in the most impressive directorial debut the American cinema has seen in some time, a contemporary western both rough and poetic, laconic and passionate.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Outstandingly realized on all levels.
  4. What a strange and strangely compelling movie this is.
  5. A small movie that plays like a Western epic.
  6. I admired the leisure and intensity of this morality tale.
  7. Writer Guillermo Arriaga earns most of the blame. He played similar games with narrative in the vastly better "Amores Perros" and "21 Grams," jumping back and forth in time to show relationships among subplots and characters. But "Burials" barely has one plot.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
  1. KeithW.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    See this film immediately.
  2. ShawnO.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Some of these critics don't know what they are talking about. Not every movie can be a fast paced, violent, shootem up, phony movie, Some of these critics don't know what they are talking about. Not every movie can be a fast paced, violent, shootem up, phony movie, this one was beautiful, period. Collapse
  3. AgatinoZ.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    It is so sad when a Wonderful film passes by almost unnoticed. The way this movie is structured, in fragments, that come and go according to It is so sad when a Wonderful film passes by almost unnoticed. The way this movie is structured, in fragments, that come and go according to the characters feelings and ethics is keeps the storyline original. The quiet acting, the vistas, the rights and wrongs. And the notion that a man like Pete Perkins has long disapeared from the face of the earth, says so much about how a society has lost touch with humanity. In Pete Perkins' care of the decaying body of Melquiades we find more respect for human beings than in any real life characters. Along with Eastwood's Unforgiven and Ang Lee's Brokeback Mountain, the West has moved into the sunset that the early films were anticipating. I congratulate Tommy Lee Jones, for he has created a modern quiet masterpiece. Expand
  4. giulia
    Feb 2, 2008
    8
    I liked that movie. Yes there are some sterotypes. But it doesnt matter to me. It has a lot of charme. But hey I also loved Amorres Perros.
  5. MichaelH
    Dec 30, 2007
    7
    I was prepared NOT to like this movie because of the P.C. premise: good, poor Mexicans/bad gringo (with one exception). As it turns out the I was prepared NOT to like this movie because of the P.C. premise: good, poor Mexicans/bad gringo (with one exception). As it turns out the movie gets a lot more sophisticated in parts. (spoiler alert) The character of Melquiades turns out to have a "darker" side as does the Pete character. Still I think the border guard character was a little too cartoonishly bad or at least put into the position of being the "bad guy" in a way that seemed too much told from an "undeclared" Mexican perspective. In the end the script "rights" itself a little, allowing for fuller character development. Expand
  6. SeanR.
    Jul 8, 2006
    6
    Despite the fact that I didn't like an aspect of the movie it was entertaining and worth the 4 bucks.
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    An ugly, dirty movie. That has no purpose. It drags on and on, the movie was over 2 hours long and its about nothing! The movie wasAn ugly, dirty movie. That has no purpose. It drags on and on, the movie was over 2 hours long and its about nothing! The movie was predictable, and worse of all boring!! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years Image
    Published: June 15, 2010
    "Jonah Hex" (opening Friday) is, among other things, a western -- a genre that seems uncommon these days. But the past 25 years have seen a number of great examples of the genre, as well as a failure or two. Find out which westerns made our list(s).