Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 12, 2012
    91
    All three of the leads get very close to the Stooges' old looks and personalities, but they do more than impersonate; they inhabit.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Peter and Bobby Farrelly's thoroughly enjoyable paean to Moe, Larry and Curly and the art of the eye poke.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 23, 2012
    80
    The Farrelly brothers, who directed, take physical comedy to levels of intricacy not seen since silent movies.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Stars Chris Diamantopoulos, Will Sasso and Sean Hayes are on the money as Moe, Curly and Larry in a film containing more plot and sentiment than the boys' shorts ever had.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Bobby and Peter Farrelly's The Three Stooges is not particularly great, though it is possibly brilliant, a picture that goes beyond homage to become its own rambunctious invention - it's one big eye-poke, with footnotes.
  6. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Apr 13, 2012
    75
    After what seems like an eternity of inanity and incompetence in the realm of Cats & Dogs and Squeakquels, the Farrelly brothers' direction is downright classical.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    Pop culture references intermingle with the loopy trio's iconic foolishness, and the result is a movie with some big laughs, plenty of heart and terrible coifs.
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    The Farrellys affectionately structure their movie to resemble the Stooges' one-reelers from the 1930s, while the modern setting shows how timeless their rapid-fire puns, insults and pratfalls truly are. Silliness never goes out of style.
  9. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 12, 2012
    70
    There is an appealing nyuk, nyuk nostalgic spirit to The Three Stooges. To fully appreciate this paean to slapstick and silly nonsense simply requires that cynicism be temporarily shelved and the thinking side of the brain shut down.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 12, 2012
    70
    Peter and Bobby Farrelly tone down the abuse without compromising the numbskulls' unique style of physical comedy, making for an unexpectedly pleasant yet unapologetically lowbrow outing true to the spirit that has made the trio such an enduring comedy fixture since its bigscreen debut in 1930.
  11. 63
    The result, which could be entitled There's Something About Curly, is an unabashedly moronic celebration of slap shtick.
  12. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    How could the Farrellys not? It pleases me to report that the movie is far from a disaster – on a dozen or so occasions, it's even funny.
  13. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 11, 2012
    63
    I didn't laugh much. I don't think the Stooges are funny, although perhaps I might once have. Some of the sight gags were clever, but meh. The three leads did an admirable job of impersonation. I think this might be pretty much the movie Stooges fans were looking for.
  14. 60
    The combination of childlike glee and grown-up precision is a wonder. The movie actually earns the right to exist, which is no mean feat.
  15. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 13, 2012
    60
    The metafriction between these classic dupes and today's idiots chafes uneasily.
  16. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    Sure you could just go and rent the original DVDs, but this kind of gut-busting, hit 'em in the groin humor is still funny as hell, especially in the hands of the Farrelly Brothers.
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    There's just some great imitations of what remains an acquired taste.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    The Stooges were always better in short doses. And 90 minutes of PG nyuk-nyuk-nyuk can seem like an eternity.
  19. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Theirs was a ruthless Cinema of Cruelty; this is whimsy with a coating of corrosion.
  20. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Absurdly brutal slapstick is a tough thing to sustain across a feature. I spent a lot of The Three Stooges staring, not laughing. For me this was a stare-out-loud affair.
  21. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 11, 2012
    42
    The Three Stooges isn't very funny, but it is, like last year's far superior "The Muppets," a sincere act of fandom on an epic scale.
  22. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 12, 2012
    40
    The movie is content to simply mimic the old Stooges, bringing nothing new to the table.
  23. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Apr 13, 2012
    38
    For starters, it wasn't a great idea to basically borrow the premise of "The Blues Brothers'' and turn these quintessential Jewish characters (something that's not even hinted at) into the bumbling would-be saviors of the Catholic orphanage where they were raised.
  24. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    So why bother with this earnest but imperfect impersonation when the original artists are readily available on VHS and DVD?
  25. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 12, 2012
    11
    A work of near-existential pointlessness. It's true to the anarchic, silly spirit of the original clowning, but there's very little else to it.
  26. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 12, 2012
    0
    It's just not enough to say that The Three Stooges is the death of comedy. Rather, it's the death, burial, putrefaction and decomposition of comedy. It is where comedy, once alive, ends up as dust blowing in the wind, like something out of a really bad Kansas song.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    The Three Stooges were not my generation (by a long shot), but i wish they were! This movie had me laughing at a non stop, while still having an at least interesting and entising plot. I can't saw that the movie didn't have a few "oooh, looky there" moments, but i would give this movie three thumbs up! Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This movie stayed true to the show. Unlike the Little Rascal's Remake, This movie didn't mess up. From the minute it started the whole room was laughing. Go Watch, keep an open mind, and get ready to laugh your socks off! Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    0
    To start I'm James. I'm 27 and I can remember some of my earliest memories being that of the 3 stooges slapping and poking each other silly. I absolutely love each and every short that was made. I own all of them and even have many pieces of stooge memorabillia. I recently just returned from the middle east where I was sent when I joined the M.C. When I returned I was delighted to hear about a tribute being made of the stooges by the Farrelly brothers. I went and saw the movie with my fiancee, who is also and avid stooge fan, and 30 minutes into the movie we left. Why? This series of short tributes was a travesty to say the least. I have been shot and hit by pieces of shrapnel and didn't shed a tear. This tragic farce of a film actually made me so angry that I cried knowing that the real stooges would never have written such a despicable film and that people would actually have the to allow this trash to even go to script. In closing this film is the next worst thing next to the extermination of the Jewish people during the holocaust and if Peter and Bobby Farrelly had any sense they would erase any idea of making more of these short films. They are an insult to stooge fans everywhere. Full Review »