Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
Watch On
  1. 60
    The combination of childlike glee and grown-up precision is a wonder. The movie actually earns the right to exist, which is no mean feat.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 13, 2012
    60
    The metafriction between these classic dupes and today's idiots chafes uneasily.
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    Sure you could just go and rent the original DVDs, but this kind of gut-busting, hit 'em in the groin humor is still funny as hell, especially in the hands of the Farrelly Brothers.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    There's just some great imitations of what remains an acquired taste.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    The Stooges were always better in short doses. And 90 minutes of PG nyuk-nyuk-nyuk can seem like an eternity.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Theirs was a ruthless Cinema of Cruelty; this is whimsy with a coating of corrosion.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Absurdly brutal slapstick is a tough thing to sustain across a feature. I spent a lot of The Three Stooges staring, not laughing. For me this was a stare-out-loud affair.
  8. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 11, 2012
    42
    The Three Stooges isn't very funny, but it is, like last year's far superior "The Muppets," a sincere act of fandom on an epic scale.
  9. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 12, 2012
    40
    The movie is content to simply mimic the old Stooges, bringing nothing new to the table.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    The Three Stooges were not my generation (by a long shot), but i wish they were! This movie had me laughing at a non stop, while still havingThe Three Stooges were not my generation (by a long shot), but i wish they were! This movie had me laughing at a non stop, while still having an at least interesting and entising plot. I can't saw that the movie didn't have a few "oooh, looky there" moments, but i would give this movie three thumbs up! Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This movie stayed true to the show. Unlike the Little Rascal's Remake, This movie didn't mess up. From the minute it started the whole roomThis movie stayed true to the show. Unlike the Little Rascal's Remake, This movie didn't mess up. From the minute it started the whole room was laughing. Go Watch, keep an open mind, and get ready to laugh your socks off! Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This movie is so stupid. It makes me want to put my face in a blender and pour citric acid into my eyes. Thanks for a parody, Twentieth! NowThis movie is so stupid. It makes me want to put my face in a blender and pour citric acid into my eyes. Thanks for a parody, Twentieth! Now step it up and make a real Stooges film. Full Review »