Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Left on a nun's doorstep, Larry, Curly and Moe grow up finger-poking, nyuk-nyuking and woo-woo-wooing their way to uncharted levels of knuckleheaded misadventure. Out to save their childhood home, only The Three Stooges could become embroiled in an oddball murder plot... while also stumbling into starring in a phenomenally successful TV reality show. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 12, 2012
    91
    All three of the leads get very close to the Stooges' old looks and personalities, but they do more than impersonate; they inhabit.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Stars Chris Diamantopoulos, Will Sasso and Sean Hayes are on the money as Moe, Curly and Larry in a film containing more plot and sentiment than the boys' shorts ever had.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    Pop culture references intermingle with the loopy trio's iconic foolishness, and the result is a movie with some big laughs, plenty of heart and terrible coifs.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    There's just some great imitations of what remains an acquired taste.
  5. 60
    The combination of childlike glee and grown-up precision is a wonder. The movie actually earns the right to exist, which is no mean feat.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Absurdly brutal slapstick is a tough thing to sustain across a feature. I spent a lot of The Three Stooges staring, not laughing. For me this was a stare-out-loud affair.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 12, 2012
    0
    It's just not enough to say that The Three Stooges is the death of comedy. Rather, it's the death, burial, putrefaction and decomposition of comedy. It is where comedy, once alive, ends up as dust blowing in the wind, like something out of a really bad Kansas song.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    The Three Stooges were not my generation (by a long shot), but i wish they were! This movie had me laughing at a non stop, while still having an at least interesting and entising plot. I can't saw that the movie didn't have a few "oooh, looky there" moments, but i would give this movie three thumbs up! Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    this was one of the was the funniest movie ive seen about 4 years i thought they would ruin it but they didnt it was hilarious and i recommend anyone to go see it its an instant classic Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    The Three Stooges, being a classic, is funny and heartwarming. While I enjoyed the original TV show, the film does lack some elements that were in the show. But it's still good. Sean Hayes does a perfect recapture of Moe and Will Sasso as Larry. Sasso and Hayes were funny and slapstick through the film. The Ferelly Brothers make a un-raunchy, sweet and slapstick film that is gloriously funny and epic. The Three Stooges is very much like a well made classic. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    'The Three Stooges' is a funny comedy film, but does not fully develop into a modern souvenir of the original series. The actors did an impressive performance, and worth seeing on stage. Perhaps the slapstick emotion does not make a good combination with digital cinema, but the reincarnation moves facetiously, and could be considered an extravagance in the choreography of the slips they have. There are times that it is curious trio's encounter with technology and the modern era, and the excuse that always lived in the orphanage, away from the city, could be a great distraction from their uncertainty. Details are somewhat inconsistent in his script, but the comedy moves so that the audience laughter could distract from the small details of continuity. But I can assure you it is entertaining at many times, and may also find curious references to memorable films. The use of Jersey Shore in the film could be seen as a strange encounter between two generations as the youth group appears as a funny oopart for the old audience. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Bottom line, you're either a fan of the Three Stooges or you're not. This movie gets plenty of cheap laughs and that's really all that's intended. Personally, I tend to be a fan of stupid humor (Jackass anyone?). That being said, I can't honestly say that this is a "good" movie. It's not terrible and it's pretty funny but that's about it. If you like slapstick comedy, check it out. If not, don't waste your time. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    This film has some decent laughs, but ultimately falls short of being a true classic. You see, the Stooges do not mix very well with the likes of Snooki or anyone in this day and age. The result is a sloppy plot, underdeveloped characters, and inappropriate cleavage (in a kids film?) from Sophia Vergara. An overall 5/10 for effort. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This movie is so stupid. It makes me want to put my face in a blender and pour citric acid into my eyes. Thanks for a parody, Twentieth! Now step it up and make a real Stooges film. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers