The Time Traveler's Wife

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 133
  2. Negative: 8 out of 133

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BillyS
    Sep 11, 2009
    5
    Eric Bana travels back and forth from time to time in his life over and over and over again, I'd like to travel back to right before I paid for the ticket! Seriously.
  2. kgm
    Sep 3, 2009
    5
    Who wouldn
  3. JeffH.
    Aug 15, 2009
    5
    Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material they had to work with. But the director didn't even use the great song from the trailer in the movie either. This adds up to a truly average film Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material they had to work with. But the director didn't even use the great song from the trailer in the movie either. This adds up to a truly average film but I was expecting much more. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I do not normally like soppy films but this one had an interesting premise to it and actually posed some extremely fascinating morale dilemmas. I enjoyed Eric Bana's performance while Rachel McAdams gave a decent account of herself.
  5. ChadS.
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves while the time traveler chats up the little girl, "The Time Traveler's Wife" just dodged the first bullet. (The second bullet is if Henry's wormholes seem plausible to a quantum physicist.) Bana's scenes with his future wife as a child are crucial to keeping intact the film's central theme of unconditional love. (It's a good thing Claire didn't see Jesus, or else she would have winded up a nun.) Not for one second can Henry appear to be hitting on her. Claire's future husband has to treat his pre-wife like he was looking at an old photograph in a keepsake album. To quote filmmaker Wim Wenders(and Bono), Henry has to be "faraway, so close". When he shakes Claire's hand in that meadow, it's analogous to a husband stroking some picture's surface that embodies the woman he married under a sheath of plastic. Bana has to convey that Claire's unformed state touches his heart, not his genitals. (***HEY, SPOILER ALERT***) Due to tragic circumstances, late in the film, Henry suddenly seems cruel, keeping Claire(played by the lovely Rachel McAdams) in limbo. Had Henry returned to the meadow and traumatized young Claire by jumping out of the bushes, his wife wouldn't be perpetually haunted by a "Librarian of Desire". At least the Demi Moore character in Jerry Zucker's "Ghost" found closure. But they had a kid. End of story. They're a chained melody. Expand
  6. NutterJr.
    Jan 10, 2010
    6
    The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the essence of the film: a love story that transcends across time. And talking about such stories, my favourite love story that transcends across time is the The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the essence of the film: a love story that transcends across time. And talking about such stories, my favourite love story that transcends across time is the "The Fountain". Expand
  7. TomM
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    This film was okay, but it lacked the emotional attachment I had with other romantic films, like The Notebook. My main problem was that Henry time traveled too much in the film and not allowing the audience to get involved in the story. McAdams is very good in her role. I really wanted to like the film, but could not embrace it.
  8. ElizabethC.
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me to have the time traveler meet up with their older or younger self - several times. And the story doesn't seem to go anywhere with an intriguing The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me to have the time traveler meet up with their older or younger self - several times. And the story doesn't seem to go anywhere with an intriguing premise. Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. German-born director Robert Schwentke ("Flightplan") keep things moving briskly enough so that the leaps in time mostly obscure the leaps in logic.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    May not make a lick of sense, but it does make for fairly irresistible nonsense.
  3. 40
    Will disappoint anyone looking for transport from a movie--being a time traveler's wife, it turns out, is mostly a drag.