The Time Traveler's Wife

The Time Traveler's Wife Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Clare has been in love with Henry her entire life. She believes they are destined to be together, even though she never knows when they will be separated: Henry is a time traveler--cursed with a rare genetic anomaly that causes him to live his life on a shifting timeline, skipping back andClare has been in love with Henry her entire life. She believes they are destined to be together, even though she never knows when they will be separated: Henry is a time traveler--cursed with a rare genetic anomaly that causes him to live his life on a shifting timeline, skipping back and forth through the years with no control. Despite the fact that Henry's travels force them apart with no warning, and never knowing when they will be reunited, Clare desperately tries to build a life with her one true love. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Gracefully directed by Robert Schwentke, the film has a perfect performance by Bana, rangy and haunted, never at home in his body.
  2. It would really help to get into the right frame of mind before seeing The Time Traveler's Wife, because viewed from some angles - maybe most angles - the movie is ridiculous.
  3. Bana and McAdams are sweet together, with matching dimples and starry eyes, and we grow eager to see them remain in the same place. In the end, that's all there is to the movie, really. It's a time-travel fantasy in search of a cozy love seat.
  4. “Caution: Contents may induce brain bleed.” That is, if you think too hard on the logic and mechanics of its time-travel conceit.
  5. The Time Traveler's Wife slips the romance cards into a stacked deck – read 'em if you will, but no need to weep.
  6. 50
    Screenwriter Bruce Joel Rubin won an Oscar for "Ghost" (1990), a pleasant, moderately thoughtful weepie that this movie closely resembles.
  7. They miss by a mile – or should I say, a light-year.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Ssmith
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie; the beautiful direction, the acting, the story.
  2. CastorT.
    Aug 16, 2009
    9
    Boasting terrific performances and chemistry from Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana, the Time Traveler's Wife has some flaws but is a Boasting terrific performances and chemistry from Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana, the Time Traveler's Wife has some flaws but is a charming, endearing and bittersweet romantic drama nonetheless. Expand
  3. LindaM.
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    A touching tale of the power of love that has no expiration date and the paradoxes of time travel.
  4. KielM.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, but I did wonder if I would have enjoyed it if I had not already read the book. Although the movie omits I really enjoyed this movie, but I did wonder if I would have enjoyed it if I had not already read the book. Although the movie omits important elements from the book, I thought it did a good job of focusing and the main story line from the book. For me the great love story overcame the questionable science. Expand
  5. vinipushka010
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    True, it's probably a movie you'd take your girfriend/s to, but it's a bit more than just that. You may find you walk away True, it's probably a movie you'd take your girfriend/s to, but it's a bit more than just that. You may find you walk away happy you gave it a chance. Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves while the time traveler chats up the little girl, "The Time Traveler's Wife" just dodged the first bullet. (The second bullet is if Henry's wormholes seem plausible to a quantum physicist.) Bana's scenes with his future wife as a child are crucial to keeping intact the film's central theme of unconditional love. (It's a good thing Claire didn't see Jesus, or else she would have winded up a nun.) Not for one second can Henry appear to be hitting on her. Claire's future husband has to treat his pre-wife like he was looking at an old photograph in a keepsake album. To quote filmmaker Wim Wenders(and Bono), Henry has to be "faraway, so close". When he shakes Claire's hand in that meadow, it's analogous to a husband stroking some picture's surface that embodies the woman he married under a sheath of plastic. Bana has to convey that Claire's unformed state touches his heart, not his genitals. (***HEY, SPOILER ALERT***) Due to tragic circumstances, late in the film, Henry suddenly seems cruel, keeping Claire(played by the lovely Rachel McAdams) in limbo. Had Henry returned to the meadow and traumatized young Claire by jumping out of the bushes, his wife wouldn't be perpetually haunted by a "Librarian of Desire". At least the Demi Moore character in Jerry Zucker's "Ghost" found closure. But they had a kid. End of story. They're a chained melody. Expand
  7. JohnE.
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    I enjoy good movies weather they are chick flicks or horror films. Since this was based upon a book I came in with high hopes, but sadly I enjoy good movies weather they are chick flicks or horror films. Since this was based upon a book I came in with high hopes, but sadly enough this film made absolutely no sense at all. It was purposefully manipulative to your emotions, and had nothing to really bight your teeth into. This film made me very angry, why would anyone make this movie it sucks. In the sea of good romantic movies out there this one is a rock at the bottom of the Marianas trench. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.