Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Feeling pressured to become more sexually experienced before she goes to college, Brandy Clark makes a list of things to accomplish before hitting campus in the fall.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 26, 2013
    91
    In "Adventureland" and this summer's "The Way Way Back," disillusioned teens have worked through their issues in the weeks leading up to college by taking on quirky summer jobs. However, Carey's wacky sensibilities retain a notably fresh quality by using the same framing device as an excuse to bat around one funny idea after another. The story transcends the derivative scenario through a noticeable lack of verbal censorship.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 24, 2013
    78
    Maybe someday there will be a better commercial comedy about a girl taking charge of her sexual education, but for now, this is the only one we’ve got, and it’s a filthy-fun charmer.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 25, 2013
    75
    Does Carey go too far? Duh. But why gripe when you can't stop laughing?
  4. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Jul 26, 2013
    63
    A certain sloppiness prevents The To Do List from entering the female coming-of-age pantheon of "Sixteen Candles," "Clueless" and "Mean Girls."
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 22, 2013
    60
    Like first sex, writer-director Maggie Carey's debut feature, The To Do List, is quick and messy, fitfully pleasurable, full of promise but not quite adept at getting everyone off.
  6. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jul 25, 2013
    50
    There's a potentially innovative teen comedy in here somewhere, but it's surrounded by one that's much duller.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 25, 2013
    25
    The To Do List is a romantic comedy with no romance and little comedy, but with an ugliness of spirit that's surprising and unrelenting.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    A great vehicle for Aubrey Plaza and she did great. First time for me seeing her as a lead, would like to see more of it. . Her quirks really came out well here. Also, this is the most I've enjoyed Rachel Bilson. In anything. Ever. And Connie Britton did her bast to steal the show. Throw in nice performances from Hader, Glover and Skwiat and its quite funny. A truly underrated film. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    Despite working in the industry for over a decade, The To Do List is Carey’s first feature and it shows. For better and for worse, it’s clear the writer/director put a lot of heart and passion into the movie. The film successfully marries its 90s backdrop with retro hipster chic and even makes fun use of its check list premise by punctuating each of Brandy’s conquests in freeze-frame shots labeled with their respective sex acts. Still, while The To Do List throws a lot of creative ideas and jokes at the screen, only a fraction of them are essential to the larger development of the story and characters as if Carey didn’t quite nail the balance between what to include in the final film and what needed to be cut. That said, The To Do List includes plenty of ridiculous (and cringe-inducing) moments that are sure to entertain moviegoers looking for a raunchy teen comedy. The setup may not be as original as it would have been back in the time of the film’s 1993 setting but there are enough clever pop culture references and awkward comedy setups to keep the movie feeling fresh even when it covers ideas that audiences will have seen play-out onscreen before. Carey’s coming of age tale isn’t a must see, but with a strong lead and some honest insight, filmgoers who are intrigued by the premise or the assembled cast have good reason to put the movie on their own To Do List. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    This was so funny, It's Dirty and very inappropriate. I love it. Sure it may be very forgetable but the laughs kept cumming ha ha pun and is very entertainng. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    4
    Now I have to say that I had high hopes for this movie with all the name that we all love and I'm not going to take the time to list here we all have better thing to do right now. With that said I did have a few problems with this and the biggest was not the movie fault if I want to do this the best I can. First the joke never felt like there like they played out the way they did in a writers room some where which is sad cause as I sat there I wanted to see them in the writers room that would have been funnier and I don't want to think that when I looking at the finished product Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    Aubrey Plaza plays an over-achieving HS senior, who sets out to learn all about sex during the summer before college. If this sounds familiar, it's been done many times with guys, so the unoriginal twist is girls! There's every effort to be as verbally crude (sex talk) and visually gross (bodily fluids) as possible, but none of it's very funny. Bill Hader provides the only true comic sensibility, while everyone else is just there (and about 10 years too old for their roles). The early 90s references are enjoyable, but so are a few noticeable anachronisms. There's a good-spirited energy that keeps it from being too dull, but nothing about the writing or performances is especially original or amusing. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    4
    There are a few big laughs, but the movie's tone is all over the place, and I just couldn't bring myself to root for Aubrey Plaza's unlikeable character. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    Stupid teenage crap. Who in their right mind can honestly say that this was a good movie. It is all about sex sex sex. Is there anything else that haunts these stupid teenager's minds.? Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers