User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 199
  2. Negative: 58 out of 199

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and Depp always a good performance. Critics should look at movies for the entertainment value and not the intellectual they tend to over think movies instead of just watching them for what they are entertaining. I give this movie an 8 and would recommend seeing it.
  2. Dec 10, 2010
    3
    I really don't understand what happened here, but in nearly every scene Depp seems careless -- as if he hated the direction of the film and didn't care about putting his soul into the production. Overall, the package here feels extremely vacuous, and The Tourist ranks up on my list as one of 2010's biggest disappointments.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    5
    What did you do? When Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie finally met in one screen? You get in line for a ticket! Mysterious story, city of Venice and promising Director as well, everything looks just fine, what could go wrong? But what you are about to experience is no other than being a tourist and get misguided. The movie based on Luc Besson and Sophie Marceau movie titled ANTHONY ZIMMER inWhat did you do? When Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie finally met in one screen? You get in line for a ticket! Mysterious story, city of Venice and promising Director as well, everything looks just fine, what could go wrong? But what you are about to experience is no other than being a tourist and get misguided. The movie based on Luc Besson and Sophie Marceau movie titled ANTHONY ZIMMER in 2004. An American tourist Frank is approached by a mysterious girl Elise in a train (who can deny beautiful girl like Angelina Jolie anyway, do you?) on journey to Venice, Italy. In the beginning, Elise has hidden intention to use Frank as a decoy from the hunt of police and Russian mafia. Now everyone thinks Franks is her long-lost fugitive lover, an intelligent thief Alexander Pearce. Actually, the basic material is very promising, with some twists and turns in development. But in the process, they could not get a precise romantic atmosphere done right. The interaction between the two is stiff and awkward. Frankly says, there is no chemistry here. In spite of Johnny Depp is my No. 1 favorite Actor nowadays (I have all of his movies, all!) but unfortunately in thiz movie he looks too childish next to Jolie. You can see there is still a little bit Capt. Jack Sparrow in Depp character. He looks charming, but most of the time he becomes so uncomfortably clumsy and lazy. On the other side, for me Jolie more looks like -a supermodel walking in her runaway catwalk. Yes, with the smile like that, and her sharp eye gaze, beautifully elegant dresses, who can resist the whole eye candy package. But I have to say, it could be the most boring appearance of Angelina Jolie of all-time. What she does here just keep smiling all the time, without doing exploration for her character. Jolie is doing what I called Robotic Performance. Too much smile, too much pride, and too much eyelashes. A better performance comes from Paul Bettany as Inspector John. The other Supporting Casts are Timothy Dalton, Rufus Sewell and the memorable one, Reginald Shaw who is very convincing as Berkoff, Russian mobster boss. The Director of thiz movie is Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck. I found myself more enjoying his latest creation, one of respectable German movies in 2006, THE LIVES OF OTHERS. It is supposed to be ravishing, but rather than that, it is happened to be ravenous. In the end, if you came to the theater to see some good looking faces. Wellâ Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    The movie barely heaves itself up to the decent level. Either than that, "The Tourist" has nothing to present but a puzzling romance between Depp & Jolie and a unbelievably messy script that literally makes no sense.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    A lack of chemistry between the stars and the trashy action and dialogue make this movie suck, but I found some moments enjoyable.
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Even though it was romantic and kind of slow some times, the action and twists keep the movie very entertaining and I thought Depp and Jolie did very well working together. But the main reason you have to see this movie is because of the amazing scenery and chases. I would definitely go see this movie.
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    This film was void of any entertainment value. I felt like they trying to capture the feel of those whimsical movies where Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn are running around some exotic European location (aka Charade). Instead, what I got was an absolutely mind-numbing film with no plot, performances that were phoned in by J. Depp and Brangelina, and action sequences that paled inThis film was void of any entertainment value. I felt like they trying to capture the feel of those whimsical movies where Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn are running around some exotic European location (aka Charade). Instead, what I got was an absolutely mind-numbing film with no plot, performances that were phoned in by J. Depp and Brangelina, and action sequences that paled in comparison to what you would get from a Merchant Ivory film.

    This was bad, bad, bad!
    Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Just walked out of the movie-really enjoyed it and Jolie is as hot as ever. Had seen 'Lives of Others' as Depp thought it was so good in an article. Very talky, but great acting by several people. Wishing on a trip I'd run into someone like Jolie. A quiet film...very artsy.
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Recuperating "The Tourist", the unfairly panned thriller made by a tourist himself(a German making his first Hollywood splash), means recuperating the performance by Johnny Depp, the risk-taking actor who's receiving the worst critical notices of his career. The big gamble he takes here is to give an anti-performance, as if "Charade", the 1963 comedy-thriller starring Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn, was directed by Jim Jarmusch, the director of "Dead Man", which featured Depp in the leading role. Dead is how the many naysayers of "The Tourist" would characterize Frank Tupelo, a Wisconsin schoolteacher on holiday in Italy; opaque too, as Depp's somewhat morose line-readings will frustrate moviegoers who expect the actor to be, well, fun, through the employment of banter and sheer animal magnetism with his leading lady. But instead, the vacationing American seems diminished by Elise(Angelina Jolie), and on the verge of disappearing altogether. Jolie, dressed from head to toe in glamorous duds, radiates sex from every bedecked pore of her personage, turning the heads of men and women alike wherever those legs take her. It's this potential for the setting off of fireworks that many will cite as the reason why "The Tourist", and ultimately, Depp, disappoints, in which the actor, who made his name initially by playing mutes and near-mutes("What's Eating Gilbert Grape", "Benny and Joon", and "Edward Scissorhands"), seemingly picked the inopportune time to revert back to his boy-man persona, by talking in a soft and constrained voice. To be perfectly frank, he's sort of a drag, not at all cut out for romance with a sublime beauty like Jolie. But is it a bad performance? If you said, "Yes," that means you're overlooking the third act, in which the revelation of Frank Tupelo's true identity changes the complex of Depp's subdued and fussy performance. Suddenly, the mannerisms that Depp uses to color his cheesehead tourist with, mannerisms which, at the time, seemed nothing more than an eccentric actor's whim(remember his Pepe LePew-meets Keith Richards voice in "The Pirates of the Caribbean" movies), turned out to be an invention of Alexander Pierce's making, not Depp's. This time, the voice isn't a novelty, but intrinsic to the character. In "The Tourist", the actor(who minced like Angela Lansbury in Tim Burton's "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow) is one step removed from his latest vocal styling, since it's, in essence, his character playing a character, as Alexander tries to win Elise over by being Frank, but not honest, and in the process, seems uncomfortable in his own skin. Quite understandably, he has some mixed emotions over stealing the woman he loves from himself. And since Depp chooses to portray this conflict with utter seriousness, "The Tourist" can sometimes be too angst-ridden for its own good. The original Alexander, the man whom Elise fell in love with, no doubt, had he graced the screen, would have made for a more entertaining movie. As Frank, the wanted man is forced to act counterintuitively all throughout his pallid seduction of Elise, and as a result, many of the scenes where fire is needed(especially the hotel sequence leading up to the moment where the couple's sleeping arrangements are finalized), Depp brings the ice, because the schoolteacher, in Elise's own words(more or less), is not a man who does exactly as he pleases. This comment, made in reference to the fake cigarette which Frank "smokes", telegraphs the notion that we're looking at the ghost of a face, blowing ghost smoke from a ghost cancer stick. Elise senses Alexander. "The Tourist" treats plastic surgery like a metaphor for reincarnation. The fake cylinder(and fake intrigue: the paperback spy novel he totes around) suggests Alexander's essence, inspiring Elise to criticize the name that her lover bestowed on his permanent alter-ego as being "terrible", a word that hardly describes "The Tourist", and Depp's performance as a man in transition, haunted by the phantom of his own being, and the horrible realization that his girlfriend is no longer in love with him, the old him. Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2011
    3
    It is truly fascinating how the Hollywood industry can take an exciting and funny French film and turn it into a flat film that leaves you absolutely unamused.
  11. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    I loved it. It reminded me of the old glamorous Hollywood movies like To Catch a Thief or North by Northwest - espionage, glamour and a tie it all up twist with a bow. Fun, light entertainment. Not too serious, not too dumb, a little glamour. What else do you want?
  12. Dec 13, 2010
    6
    I expected so much more from '' The Tourist ". In my opinion, Johnny Depp made this movie. He played his average guy character really well. The dialogue was very cleaver (one of the best this year), it has a few moments of entertainment and the ending was very interesting and smart. The rest was a little bit boring. Sometimes I felt that this movie was going nowhere. It was so long beforeI expected so much more from '' The Tourist ". In my opinion, Johnny Depp made this movie. He played his average guy character really well. The dialogue was very cleaver (one of the best this year), it has a few moments of entertainment and the ending was very interesting and smart. The rest was a little bit boring. Sometimes I felt that this movie was going nowhere. It was so long before they actually got to the '' punch '' of the story. Collapse
  13. Jan 11, 2011
    2
    Please save your money. The best and only seriously cool thing to watch in this 2 hour lost-cause was the landscape of Venice. Basically a stupid film. Because of Venice I give it a 2.
  14. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    I have barely had the misfortune of watching such a bore of a misdirected movie. From start to end The Tourist makes one ask the question: is Johnny Depp in desperate need for cash? Who has approved this empty shell of a script to be turned into a movie?
    When does that damn spouse finally fall asleep so I can go silently and do something better with my time than being bored by this dull
    I have barely had the misfortune of watching such a bore of a misdirected movie. From start to end The Tourist makes one ask the question: is Johnny Depp in desperate need for cash? Who has approved this empty shell of a script to be turned into a movie?
    When does that damn spouse finally fall asleep so I can go silently and do something better with my time than being bored by this dull story and the general absence of talent. At least Johnny Depp makes the impression that he asks himself the same...
    Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2011
    3
    The Tourist comes across as an incredibly limp movie. While it advertises itself as a throwback to the romantic-thrillers of Old Hollywood, it forgets that joy is required to work with a preposterously plotted type of yarn. Everything comes across as half-assed, from the bored, involved, and decidedly lacking in chemistry performances by Jolie and Depp, to the dull, drawn out actionThe Tourist comes across as an incredibly limp movie. While it advertises itself as a throwback to the romantic-thrillers of Old Hollywood, it forgets that joy is required to work with a preposterously plotted type of yarn. Everything comes across as half-assed, from the bored, involved, and decidedly lacking in chemistry performances by Jolie and Depp, to the dull, drawn out action sequences, to the comedy that tries far too hard to be clever, and plot twists that are as obvious as they are preposterous. The Tourist is instead of giant vapid hole of Hollywood cynicism and self-gratification, and serves more as a travel add for Venice than anything else. Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2011
    1
    Although it have great actors on the scene and the idea was good, and the this movie ends been a totally uncessary crap, im sorry about Johny Depp because has always he do an ecxellent job
  17. Jan 13, 2011
    4
    The so called "twist" of this movie was seen coming long before the final 20 minutes of this movie (mind you, i fell asleep 40 minutes into it, and woke up towards the end). The movie is basically two very attractive people spending as much time as they can together not blinking. The dialogue was neither clever nor funny. Skip this one, wait for the next Pirates of the Caribbean if youThe so called "twist" of this movie was seen coming long before the final 20 minutes of this movie (mind you, i fell asleep 40 minutes into it, and woke up towards the end). The movie is basically two very attractive people spending as much time as they can together not blinking. The dialogue was neither clever nor funny. Skip this one, wait for the next Pirates of the Caribbean if you want to see Depp do something good. Expand
  18. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    The movie failed to keep my attention. It lagged half-way into the movie, and when it did pick up it still remained boring. The movie had no thrill or action, just drama. I was not moved by either Johnny Depp or Angelina Jolie as I was expecting to be.
  19. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    I liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp's character a lot; no one does quirky like he does. As for Ms. Jolie's character, well, she's just visually stunning. This is an undemanding, often funny, stylish movie with a gorgeous setting and enviable elegance. It's always composed, which I guessI liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp's character a lot; no one does quirky like he does. As for Ms. Jolie's character, well, she's just visually stunning. This is an undemanding, often funny, stylish movie with a gorgeous setting and enviable elegance. It's always composed, which I guess is a problem in a film where lives are supposed to be in imminent danger and some of the characters are flat, as is some of the dialogue. Expand
  20. Feb 28, 2011
    7
    Every once in a while, I completely buck the trend and abandon the masses. Actually, the masses I abandon pretty frequently. However, with The Tourist, I seem to be bucking everyone. I loved this movie! No, it wasn't brilliant. No, it wasn't flawless. However, it was a wonderfully entertaining film reminiscent of 60's British spy thrillers with a very different Johnny Depp and anEvery once in a while, I completely buck the trend and abandon the masses. Actually, the masses I abandon pretty frequently. However, with The Tourist, I seem to be bucking everyone. I loved this movie! No, it wasn't brilliant. No, it wasn't flawless. However, it was a wonderfully entertaining film reminiscent of 60's British spy thrillers with a very different Johnny Depp and an ending that made the film. Clearly the high-tone cast saw something in it too. And considering the crap people do like, I am going to borrow a line from Roger Ebert. If you don't like it, it says more about you than it does about me. :) Expand
  21. Dec 12, 2010
    3
    "The Tourist at first glance could have been something interesting and fun. But instead we get a boring obnoxious lame "long" chemistry free lackluster film with wasted talent from Jolie & Depp . The Tourist has its moments but never goes anywhere" .. D
  22. Dec 15, 2010
    4
    Angelina Jolie is distant and smirks glamorously as a mysterious woman who travels to Venice to meet her lover. Since he also happens to mysterious, she picks an innocent tourist (Johnny Depp, slightly mannered and barely charming) to act as his stand in. There are a few escape scenes, none of them particularly thrilling, but the core of the film revolves around their developing romance.Angelina Jolie is distant and smirks glamorously as a mysterious woman who travels to Venice to meet her lover. Since he also happens to mysterious, she picks an innocent tourist (Johnny Depp, slightly mannered and barely charming) to act as his stand in. There are a few escape scenes, none of them particularly thrilling, but the core of the film revolves around their developing romance. Without much chemistry, it never sizzles. Jolie gets to look stunning in fabulous clothes and jewelry, while Venice provides a beautiful backdrop. Even though the film is low on energy, it's attractive and mildly entertaining. Expand
  23. Dec 18, 2010
    2
    "The Tourist" offers charming leads but with a disorganized script, a very awkward connection between Depp and Jolie, and with a conclusion that is just weird; this movie is simply a waste of time.
  24. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    The Tourist was a good movie. It simply fell short in a few area's. But not enough for the critics to downgrade it to a 37 on metacritic..I should note that I went into the film with mindset to The Tourist being awful. Yet at no point during the course from beginning to end did it reach to that potential, rather overachieved expectations and lead to an ending that I half predicted (and hoped for).
  25. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I liked it and my lady friend loved it.
    Great Night Out Movie, Angeline and Johnny were fun in their parts.
    Not and action film, and not really a comedy just an old fashioned love-drama
    gch
  26. Dec 11, 2010
    2
    We are Depp and Jolie fans... however, we are not fans of either the actors or this tepid pedestrian, small switcheroo at the end, boring walk through the beautiful city of Venice, cliche of a movie. Venice may be immortal, this film is not. It has only three weak spots... plot, screen[play, and acting. There is no suspense, you can;t tell if they're going for buffoonery or drama, andWe are Depp and Jolie fans... however, we are not fans of either the actors or this tepid pedestrian, small switcheroo at the end, boring walk through the beautiful city of Venice, cliche of a movie. Venice may be immortal, this film is not. It has only three weak spots... plot, screen[play, and acting. There is no suspense, you can;t tell if they're going for buffoonery or drama, and Venice, and over the top clothes for Angelia, are about all the film has to offer. It's usually enjoyable to see good actors ply their trade... sadly, in this film, the film didn't work, and neither did the actors... Save the money and rent "Murder on The Orient Express". Expand
  27. Jul 28, 2011
    3
    ok. this movie was so pathetic, and the soundtrack, as well as terrible, unbearable, it was so uncomfortable and boring, neither pays much attention to the end of the worst I've seen in my damn life. terrible ..!
  28. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    Unbelievable. One of those movies where every single scene makes you cringe.. Where at every single scene you want to scream at the director: cut, do it again. But they didn't. They edited this mess into a movie and hoped that the big names of Jolie and Depp alone would make it a success. To start out, any romance where the woman takes the lead and is basically the dominating party, is notUnbelievable. One of those movies where every single scene makes you cringe.. Where at every single scene you want to scream at the director: cut, do it again. But they didn't. They edited this mess into a movie and hoped that the big names of Jolie and Depp alone would make it a success. To start out, any romance where the woman takes the lead and is basically the dominating party, is not a romance. And THIS romance does not even have the hint of a spark, there is not the least bit of tension. The entire movie looks like the director was awestruck with having Jolie and Depp, and let them basically do whatever they wanted. Expand
  29. Dec 31, 2010
    5
    I watched Salt just days before watching The Tourist. Salt was good but the Tourist can get out of my way. The fist-half of the movie is boring, imagine Angelina Jolie walking around beautiful streets with elegant fashion. Yes, the streets and clothes are good, but Angelina and the storyline aren't. When Johnny Depp reveals the twist of the movie, it's too late because I believe everyone'sI watched Salt just days before watching The Tourist. Salt was good but the Tourist can get out of my way. The fist-half of the movie is boring, imagine Angelina Jolie walking around beautiful streets with elegant fashion. Yes, the streets and clothes are good, but Angelina and the storyline aren't. When Johnny Depp reveals the twist of the movie, it's too late because I believe everyone's sleeping when he does that. Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    This movie was hard to first get into due to the slow moving begining of everyone admiring Jolie. Once it got moving the excitement or the entertainment didn't go far. I though it was an interesting storyline but didn't move much at all. If it wasn't so slow moving and had some more up beat scenes it might have been a movie more would be willing to see.
  31. Jan 30, 2011
    1
    OMG! I actually had to research to understand how such a mistake could be filmed and released, and how -alleged- big names could be attached to this... flick. It does have a strong point, manages to juggle the viewer from comedic-drama to dramatic comedy... even if not intentionally. The plot is terrible, acting is irregular and nonlinear (in a bad way) and the direction, well... The LivesOMG! I actually had to research to understand how such a mistake could be filmed and released, and how -alleged- big names could be attached to this... flick. It does have a strong point, manages to juggle the viewer from comedic-drama to dramatic comedy... even if not intentionally. The plot is terrible, acting is irregular and nonlinear (in a bad way) and the direction, well... The Lives of Others was a masterpiece. This is hardly watchable. Such a pity. @cinemaquote Expand
  32. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    So here is the thing. For those expecting the lives of others, you are going to be unhappy.

    This is a fluffy piece of escapist fun. Nothing more, nothing less. I had a good time at the movie as did the near capacity theater. Its fun. Its fine.

    I cant believe the ferocity of these negative reviews. They are just unfair.

    Go see it. Its pretty good.
  33. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don't understand the intent. They were going for the look of such 60s films as To Catch A Thief, but this leans more on the romantic side. Its like a modern variation of fairy tales where a rich girl/ princess falls finds herself falling in love with theI loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don't understand the intent. They were going for the look of such 60s films as To Catch A Thief, but this leans more on the romantic side. Its like a modern variation of fairy tales where a rich girl/ princess falls finds herself falling in love with the poor boy/commoner against all odds. I thought Depp and Jolie were both fine and believeable in their roles. You spend a little less than 2 hours transported into a beautiful world with beautiful people, and a sweet and entertaining story. If you bear in mind what it is really supposed to be, you will be thoroughly entertained. Expand
  34. zoy
    Dec 14, 2010
    10
    ok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe they were expecting another movie like "life of others" ..
    but i thought both main actors were excellent and the relationship between angie and jhonny was set in the right tone.
    so like jb56 said i recommend you go see it . by the way 37 is to low when
    ok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe they were expecting another movie like "life of others" ..
    but i thought both main actors were excellent and the relationship between angie and jhonny was set in the right tone.
    so like jb56 said i recommend you go see it .
    by the way 37 is to low when u see the same movie in this category, definitely not deserving it.
    Expand
  35. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    The Tourist started out as a really enjoyable movie, it was genuinely funny at times because the main character Frank doesn't know really what's going on until the end, unfortunately they through a plot twist in there which ruined Johnny Depp's character Frank for me, it's an ok movie but there are better uses of your time.
  36. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    The Tourist proves that combining beautiful vistas with beautiful people doesn't always equate to cinematic quality. Whilst not awful, the movie just isn't striking in any way. It's not particularly funny, the leads have little chemistry so it's not particularly romantic and it's certainly nowhere near exciting. What you're left with is an only sporadically entertaining but beautifullyThe Tourist proves that combining beautiful vistas with beautiful people doesn't always equate to cinematic quality. Whilst not awful, the movie just isn't striking in any way. It's not particularly funny, the leads have little chemistry so it's not particularly romantic and it's certainly nowhere near exciting. What you're left with is an only sporadically entertaining but beautifully shot piece of travel porn. Expand
  37. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    In general, I love Angelina Jolie but in this movie she really sucks. This role was not suitable for her. I can't believe that they couldn't find a better actress for this role. There was no chemistry between her and John Depp who in fact gave a very good performance.. Anglie totally blew it off.
  38. Dec 24, 2010
    5
    Just a regular romantic movie, but nothing more. It's ok if you want to spend 1-2hours but if the director wanted a thriller, well i don't find it here. At least we enjoy the sweet presence of Jolie after all.
  39. Dec 28, 2010
    2
    With Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp in Venice, The Tourist could have been really good. Unfortunately, it wasn't. Both actors appear to be disinterested in their roles, but it's hard to blame them with the story they have to work with. The plot is implausible and contradictory and the story meanders aimlessly. Despite this, the ending still manages to be completely predictable. If plotWith Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp in Venice, The Tourist could have been really good. Unfortunately, it wasn't. Both actors appear to be disinterested in their roles, but it's hard to blame them with the story they have to work with. The plot is implausible and contradictory and the story meanders aimlessly. Despite this, the ending still manages to be completely predictable. If plot holes don't bother you and you are entertained by shiny things, you'll probably enjoy The Tourist. If you have half a brain, though, best to skip it. Expand
  40. Jan 3, 2011
    4
    Oh how we had high hopes! Jolie and Depp, in a caper set in the most romantic city in Europe. But these were wickedly shattered by a disappointing story and poor use made of the abilities of two talented actors. Failed romantic pairing, as Jolie is styled visually as a middle aged Sophia Loren to a naive and playful Depp. Little wit and style, even from Depp and the only star in this showOh how we had high hopes! Jolie and Depp, in a caper set in the most romantic city in Europe. But these were wickedly shattered by a disappointing story and poor use made of the abilities of two talented actors. Failed romantic pairing, as Jolie is styled visually as a middle aged Sophia Loren to a naive and playful Depp. Little wit and style, even from Depp and the only star in this show is Venice. The Tourist is replete with shallow dialogue, and unbelievable coincidences amidst beautiful cinematography and a fun rooftop and the obligatory Venetian canal chase. Jolie is usually an attractive woman but her skeletal size, (razor collarbones and noticeably thin arms) is cause for concern. Felt like we had been there and seen this, (done much better) before. Pocket your ticket fare and catch it on DVD or Netflix only if you don't mind a some what vapid "B" flick or enjoy pretty scenes of Venice. Expand
  41. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    I thought this movie was a waste of time and money. Depp played a fairly decent role. Jolie wandered listlessly around the whole time in designer clothes like a runway model. Makeup was always perfect. Action was little and far between. Good twist at end. That was best part of movie. The lady next to me dozed off three times. Would not recommend even as movie rental.
  42. Jan 29, 2011
    6
    I felt myself getting bored in many places in the film. However, Jolie's elegance and Depp's persona (though quite underplayed in this film) managed to keep me watching. In the end, I was pleasantly surprised at the direction they took the story and the last 10 minutes honestly made the movie worth watching. You should definitely watch this movie at least once.
  43. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    8 only because in the first 20 min of the film i just knew what would happen. Johhny Depp is brilliant as always, and i dont understand why they didnt mask the story up a bit so it would be difficult to decipher idea so early in the movie...:(
  44. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    didn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like him in this movie.
  45. May 29, 2011
    4
    A chilly movie, not by the slowly scenes, silent but for being merely expository and not enfolding.
    And even with such predictability, I couldnâ
  46. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    The best thing about this film was not the storyline, or the twists and turns in the plot, the action or even the acting by two so talented in their profession. No, the most enjoyable aspect of this film was the cinematography and the feeling that I was watching something slightly reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood.

    Surprisingly, the Tourist surpassed all of those "dumb action"
    The best thing about this film was not the storyline, or the twists and turns in the plot, the action or even the acting by two so talented in their profession. No, the most enjoyable aspect of this film was the cinematography and the feeling that I was watching something slightly reminiscent of the golden age of Hollywood.

    Surprisingly, the Tourist surpassed all of those "dumb action" films that Angelina has done through the years with it's subtle beauty and simple and slow-paced progression through the storyline. It was also nice to see Depp play a character without his face being caked in make-up.
    Expand
  47. Mar 8, 2011
    6
    A tasteful spies movie. Great actors, the plot was a little boring, but proves that there is no need of explosions and lots of bullets to make a nice action movie. Jolie stoles the movie with her stunning presence
  48. Apr 26, 2011
    5
    The Tourist had a lot going for it even before it started filming: two of the best looking and most famous actors on the planet, an Oscar winner director, and two Oscar winning writers. Unfortunately, it feels a bit flat. The opening setup works with a very poised and stiff Angelina Jolie enticing a naieve and inexperienced Johnny Depp. Once the characters arrive in Venice though, theThe Tourist had a lot going for it even before it started filming: two of the best looking and most famous actors on the planet, an Oscar winner director, and two Oscar winning writers. Unfortunately, it feels a bit flat. The opening setup works with a very poised and stiff Angelina Jolie enticing a naieve and inexperienced Johnny Depp. Once the characters arrive in Venice though, the surroundings swallow them up and mute their chemistry and performances. The dialogue takes a backseat infavor of action. In fact, the action scenes and chases in The Tourist are just plain silly and plodding. A boat chase scene through the Venice canals is just ludicrous. The plot starts to come off the tracks as much as the action chases through blatantly contrived settings. There is a very formal scene in a ballroom with tuxedos and gowns whose only purpose is to show the audience the two leading stars in fine attire. They have no other purpose there. If The Tourist wanted to be snappier and land a more lasting punch, they would dial it down; less action, less weaponry, less makeup on Jolie, and the surprise ending...definitely less of that. Expand
  49. Oct 19, 2011
    1
    What a stupid copy of the 2005 French movie "Anthony Zimmer". The French version isn't that interesting either, but still better than this. At least you don't feel like you are watching a comedy when you're watching the French version!
  50. May 5, 2011
    10
    Clever, intriguing, and entertaining movie! Highly underrated. Combined some themes from The Lives of Others, yet with a Hollywood touch. Everything from the magnificent setting, to the plot, as well as the acting were all superb, and made sure there was never a dull moment. Angelina Jolie was absolutely stunning throughout as well as having a convincing British accent, and Johnny DeppClever, intriguing, and entertaining movie! Highly underrated. Combined some themes from The Lives of Others, yet with a Hollywood touch. Everything from the magnificent setting, to the plot, as well as the acting were all superb, and made sure there was never a dull moment. Angelina Jolie was absolutely stunning throughout as well as having a convincing British accent, and Johnny Depp gave one of his better performances, one which improves as the story progresses. It was way better than the average summer blockbuster, and The Tourist is a movie which makes you think, unlike most that are made these days. A must see! Expand
  51. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    Forget unpalatable Salt. THIS is the Angelina we all adore, in a comedy caper of delicious intrigue with Johnny Depp and a mouthwatering setting in stunning Venice. Don't think it's over till it's over. The next-to-the-last Jolie line is the best in the movie.
  52. Sep 12, 2011
    9
    Although the climax was sometimes predictable, the director has tried to maintain the suspense and twists in between to make it interesting. With a mix of glamor of Angelina Joli, the movie remains to be good enough and is a worth watch one.
  53. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    What a mess of a movie! It was too silly to be taken as a serious movie, yet it wasnt enough serious to taken as a drama. The movie just doesnt connect with the viewer. The charcters have no chemistry with each other. Also, the story was just awful. Avoid!
  54. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    'The Tourist', drama or comedy? Perhaps dramedy or seriocomedy? Let's just say this film is how director Henckel von Donnersmarck described it - "a travel romance with thriller elements". It doesn't fundamentally matter because this movie is terrible. The scenery is beautiful. Paris is nice but Venice is the MAIN star. Just a shame the awesome backdrop of the city can't take away the fact'The Tourist', drama or comedy? Perhaps dramedy or seriocomedy? Let's just say this film is how director Henckel von Donnersmarck described it - "a travel romance with thriller elements". It doesn't fundamentally matter because this movie is terrible. The scenery is beautiful. Paris is nice but Venice is the MAIN star. Just a shame the awesome backdrop of the city can't take away the fact the chemistry between the two leads is awkward. Not even Johnny Depp's present guyiner could save this sinking ship. Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    Since I had been hearing from people of the poor reviews this movie has got (not that it matters since I usually like the movies that critics hate), I didn't expect a whole lot from this movie. A good move, I guess, since it was a pleasantly surprising okay-movie.

    I expected it to be funnier, based on the trailer. Well, there were bursts of humor, but not that many. Actually the
    Since I had been hearing from people of the poor reviews this movie has got (not that it matters since I usually like the movies that critics hate), I didn't expect a whole lot from this movie. A good move, I guess, since it was a pleasantly surprising okay-movie.

    I expected it to be funnier, based on the trailer. Well, there were bursts of humor, but not that many. Actually the funniest thing of all, at least to the Finnish audience, was Depp's character's name, Frank Tupelo ("tumpelo" meaning clumsy etc. in Finnish). The way the movie was structured, it seemed kind of short. It flowed rather well, and stayed eventful to the end - with an extra big surprise waiting there!

    Angelina Jolie was... well, she just was, nothing special. Hiding beneath a layer of make-up, she walked around looking like a rich, beautiful woman, and that was about it.

    Johnny Depp was as good as could be expected. Usual quality-performance from him, which was entertaining to watch.

    Paul Bettany wasn't bad either.

    All in all the action was good, the plot was good, and everything was just fine. Not an excellent movie, but not a bad one either.
    Expand
  56. Aug 24, 2012
    1
    This was an awful film. Not clever in any way at all. It was the kind of film that expected it to be considered a sharp, witty, thrilling film with it's tension built up so well that the twist in the tale is cleverly concealed. However none of that is true. The acting was poor even though there were many great actors in the film and direction was even worse. Worst film of 2010 that I went to see.
  57. Dec 8, 2012
    3
    I wanted to like it, I really did, but this was a mess. It was all over the place, and the ending didn't help. The tone was all over the place. Not a good film!

    The musical score was nice, but some of the song selections did not fit the mood or tone of the film at all.
  58. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    With Jolie Depp and Henckel von Donnersmarck we expected a Masterpiece but it was all about The charming and classy Jolie
    The result is a catastrophe
  59. Apr 27, 2014
    6
    The Tourist doesn't amount to much more than a rehash of "The Lives of Others" with different actors and different scenery. It's slightly predictable, and the story mostly falls flat and is a little bland. But, it's the acting and scenery that are its saving grace. Jolie and Depp are excellent, even if they have almost no chemistry.
  60. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    Best big budget film in years, but sadly for it, a frontal assault on the views of those who have had sway in Hollywood since Dennis Weaver replaced John Gavin as President at the Screen Actors Guild. Gavin was Ronald Reagan's ambassador to Mexico. Not to be missed. Did great box office outside the USA. Director is a gifted man who even studied in Russia and directed and wrote aBest big budget film in years, but sadly for it, a frontal assault on the views of those who have had sway in Hollywood since Dennis Weaver replaced John Gavin as President at the Screen Actors Guild. Gavin was Ronald Reagan's ambassador to Mexico. Not to be missed. Did great box office outside the USA. Director is a gifted man who even studied in Russia and directed and wrote a brilliant expose of German Communist oppression - "The Lives of Others." Expand
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    Without sizzle or thrills, The Tourist becomes as sluggish and rank as the Venice waterways.
  2. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 14, 2010
    40
    A different kind of surveillance thriller - an expensive, star-gazing Hollywood one.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    The pitch is enough to make you swoon, but the movie itself is curiously limp.