Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Johnny Depp stars as an American tourist whose playful dalliance with a stranger leads to a web of intrigue, romance and danger in The Tourist. During an impromptu trip to Europe to mend a broken heart, Frank unexpectedly finds himself in a flirtatious encounter with Elise, an extraordinaryJohnny Depp stars as an American tourist whose playful dalliance with a stranger leads to a web of intrigue, romance and danger in The Tourist. During an impromptu trip to Europe to mend a broken heart, Frank unexpectedly finds himself in a flirtatious encounter with Elise, an extraordinary woman who deliberately crosses his path. Against the breathtaking backdrop of Paris and Venice, their whirlwind romance quickly evolves as they find themselves unwittingly thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    If Elise and Frank are opaque to each other, they're opaque for a reason, as, sadly, lovers sometimes are. (Come to think of it, this picture has more in common with "The Lives of Others" than you might expect.)
  2. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    A throwback to classic movies like Charade and North by Northwest where beautiful, sophisticated people answer life-threatening danger with bon mots and ingenuity.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    The script piles the preposterous on top of the absurd and the film's thin charms dissipate, revealing the creaking movie star contraption underneath.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    In the dud thriller The Tourist, Jolie basically plays an overdressed, humorless live-action version of Jessica Rabbit, running around Venice dodging hired killers.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 10, 2010
    40
    The movie dies onscreen; it might be the best advertisement for avoiding the glories of Italy ever released by a Hollywood distributor.
  6. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 9, 2010
    38
    Cinema-as-shoplifting is okay, as long as you still get the feeling it's for a greater good. But that's something The Tourist is sorely missing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 10, 2010
    0
    In a year of craptaculars, The Tourist deserves burial at the bottom of the 2010 dung heap. It offers talented people trapped in creative inertia. A microscope and a search party could not discover any trace of chemistry between Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 62
  2. Negative: 23 out of 62
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and DeppI thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and Depp always a good performance. Critics should look at movies for the entertainment value and not the intellectual they tend to over think movies instead of just watching them for what they are entertaining. I give this movie an 8 and would recommend seeing it. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don'tI loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don't understand the intent. They were going for the look of such 60s films as To Catch A Thief, but this leans more on the romantic side. Its like a modern variation of fairy tales where a rich girl/ princess falls finds herself falling in love with the poor boy/commoner against all odds. I thought Depp and Jolie were both fine and believeable in their roles. You spend a little less than 2 hours transported into a beautiful world with beautiful people, and a sweet and entertaining story. If you bear in mind what it is really supposed to be, you will be thoroughly entertained. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    So here is the thing. For those expecting the lives of others, you are going to be unhappy.

    This is a fluffy piece of escapist fun.
    So here is the thing. For those expecting the lives of others, you are going to be unhappy.

    This is a fluffy piece of escapist fun. Nothing more, nothing less. I had a good time at the movie as did the near capacity theater. Its fun. Its fine.

    I cant believe the ferocity of these negative reviews. They are just unfair.

    Go see it. Its pretty good.
    Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2010
    5
    Just a regular romantic movie, but nothing more. It's ok if you want to spend 1-2hours but if the director wanted a thriller, well i don'tJust a regular romantic movie, but nothing more. It's ok if you want to spend 1-2hours but if the director wanted a thriller, well i don't find it here. At least we enjoy the sweet presence of Jolie after all. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    4
    Oh how we had high hopes! Jolie and Depp, in a caper set in the most romantic city in Europe. But these were wickedly shattered by aOh how we had high hopes! Jolie and Depp, in a caper set in the most romantic city in Europe. But these were wickedly shattered by a disappointing story and poor use made of the abilities of two talented actors. Failed romantic pairing, as Jolie is styled visually as a middle aged Sophia Loren to a naive and playful Depp. Little wit and style, even from Depp and the only star in this show is Venice. The Tourist is replete with shallow dialogue, and unbelievable coincidences amidst beautiful cinematography and a fun rooftop and the obligatory Venetian canal chase. Jolie is usually an attractive woman but her skeletal size, (razor collarbones and noticeably thin arms) is cause for concern. Felt like we had been there and seen this, (done much better) before. Pocket your ticket fare and catch it on DVD or Netflix only if you don't mind a some what vapid "B" flick or enjoy pretty scenes of Venice. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    3
    "The Tourist at first glance could have been something interesting and fun. But instead we get a boring obnoxious lame "long" chemistry free"The Tourist at first glance could have been something interesting and fun. But instead we get a boring obnoxious lame "long" chemistry free lackluster film with wasted talent from Jolie & Depp . The Tourist has its moments but never goes anywhere" .. D Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    didn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like himdidn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like him in this movie. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers