User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 417

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    2
    Ben Affleck is the badass with the heart of gold, please. This is just his poor attempt at trying to be Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting or Leo in The Departed. We get that you love Boston, so do I, but as much as you were trying to be "authentic" to gritty Charlestown you cast Gossip Girl as a crackhead townie. I didn't care about any of the characters nor did I think any of them acted appropriately (Best example is Rebecca Hall's character, wtf is her deal). The story was lame and uninteresting and the ending was unrealistic and overdramatic. I think it's just riding on the coat tails of a Boston setting and some good robbery masks. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    3
    Here we have another attractive woman who falls in love with the lame anti-hero as soon as he tells her the time of day. Why don't these women ever have boyfriends? Or even friends? Half way through the movie the FBI figures out the robbers are Ben and co. So they set a plan in motion involving a slut obsessed with Ben that may or may not work. Meanwhile Ben and his posse walk out their front door and rob two more banks. Having someone watch their house I guess is just too much expenses for taxpayers to handle. In between well shot but completely illogical action sequences you'll find this conversation repeated ad infinitum: "This is what we do. This is the life we chose." Sigh...This movie is a joke. Then the ending is a twist of the knife. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    4
    This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own little worlds. Pretty disappointing, however I liked the intelligent plot and jokes through the movie.
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    1
    The problem with movies starring Ben Affleck is...Ben Affleck. He ruins every movie he is in because he is so incredibly full of himself, and apparently no director can get that out of him.
    I stopped caring 15 minutes into the movie, when he hooks up with the main witness. How stupid can you be ? She heard his voice, loud and clear, and she even tells him that she could probably identify
    the robbers by their voices. From that moment on, the audience must simply wonder why she doesn't.
    Long, boring, predictable. Nothing new under the sun. Like a cheap spin-off of The Departed. I just watched because the girl was cute...and give it a one.
    Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    Didn't really want to go see a Ben Affeck movie. Never thought much of him infront or behind the camera. I liked the movie though mostly because it's a "gritty" hard knocks story. I also lived in Boston for a while so I appreciated the setting. But, true to form, the story has some inconsistencies, includeung Ben's come and go accent. Plus, the story works it's way around a dumb question which ruins a movie that had a real chance to be very good. People seem to like action and romance so it's doing well with the masses. Entut certainly not a must see. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    4
    In a way this film is not satisfying because it appears too realistic. We are so used to stylized action that the "real" thing, in this case, is rather boring. For an action movie The Town is not exciting or surprising enough, and for a drama it fails to be emotional. It does not even achieve to convey that robbing a bank is bad for all of us. Breaking the rules/law hurts the system of the polis that most of us agree to live in because of the rights and the security we are promised from it. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2011
    2
    Despite the decent Boston accents that everyone handles acceptably - despite great character actors Pete Postelwaite and Chris Cooper in tiny underutilized roles - despite the fact that somehow Jeremy Renner managed to snaggle a nomination for Best Supporting (ensuring that he will continue to be typecast as a sociopath ad infinitum,) this is a predictable heist movie with extraneous amounts of foul language and unnecessary violence making up for anything close to character development. By the time the inevitable happens, I couldn't care less who was going to make it out alive. Expand
  8. May 28, 2011
    2
    This movie sucked. Every character was stereotypical - the bank robber with the heart of gold, his buddy the over-the-top f*ckup (worst criminal ever, seriously), the damsel in distress who seemingly has no perception or awareness at all and the FBI guy who gets outsmarted at the end. I think I wrote this on my lunch break in 7th grade... and then threw it out because I thought it was too cliche. Cool shootouts and Nun robber masks though, but that was what, 3 minutes out of the whole movie? Expand
  9. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    The town is a film to look at in two different ways. It can be your standard action film with average acting and poor story or a film that mixes story and a action brilliantly. I would say the first choice was more accurate.
  10. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    I know this film got great reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. It felt like I had seen this all before (and I have! In i.e. Heat). The characters were mostly unlikable to me, and the love story hard to believe. It's not a bad film, but it's not one of my favourite heist movies and it's hardly original....
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. A first-class genre entry stacked with dandy performances and some crackerjack action to boot.
  2. 80
    This second feature doesn't resonate with nearly as much power, but its suspenseful story of two generations of career criminals in the city's northerly Charlestown neighborhood has a similarly haunting quality.
  3. A rich, dark, pulpy mess of entanglements that fulfills all the requirements of the genre, and is told with an ease and gusto that make the pulp tasty.