The Town

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 467
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    The Town is very much a sappier version of Heat. That being said, it's not a bad movie. It just wasn't nearly as good as I was expecting it to be.
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    6
    This is a movie full of hits and misses. Ben Affleck directing is a hit. Ben Affleck acting is a miss. I personally feel that Mr. Affleck suffers from the terminal disease of being too-likable-in-a-normal-sort-of-way. The kind of likeable that I would have over to watch a hockey game. Not the kind of likeable that I would believe could rob banks and have one of the hostages fall inThis is a movie full of hits and misses. Ben Affleck directing is a hit. Ben Affleck acting is a miss. I personally feel that Mr. Affleck suffers from the terminal disease of being too-likable-in-a-normal-sort-of-way. The kind of likeable that I would have over to watch a hockey game. Not the kind of likeable that I would believe could rob banks and have one of the hostages fall in love with him. There are other actors out there who suffer from a similar disease of being too good looking to be believable. Luckily, there are some other very qualified personal who are able to make the most of their characters. And Affleck allows them the space in order to do it. The movie clips along at an efficient pace and effectively balances out action and drama. The action scenes are well executed and get the adrenaline pumping, but I found some of the smaller scenes were handled more clumsily. This was a disappointment considering Affleck's previous film Gone Baby Gone. In particular the scene involving Renner, Affleck and Hall sitting at a cafe would have produced it's menacing intentions more effectively using subtlety rather than telegraphed acting and dialogue. The movie closes out with more hits and misses, but Affleck still shows promise as a budding director. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    I was disappointed in this movie. Resembled Heat with Val Kilmer, but much slower. I could not get invested with the characters enough to care about them when it was needed the most. I found myself bored by the long pauses between action scenes. I understood the need for it, but the way it moved was just to slow for me.
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    4
    This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own little worlds. Pretty disappointing, however I liked the intelligent plot and jokes through the movie.
  5. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Negatives - Lots of cliches, unintimidating bad dudes, cheesy Boston over the top accents, Ben Affleck is in it.

    Positives - Bank robbery action is good, Chris Cooper rocks

    Worth seeing but temper your expectations.
  6. Jan 24, 2011
    5
    I watched the DVD having seen only the original trailers and expecting an action/heist film. I got that for about 15 minutes at the beginning and 15 minutes at the end. The rest was a long-winded (2 hours) drama about the developing relationship between three of the characters involved in the robbery at the beginning of the film. If you're looking for an action type flick you might want toI watched the DVD having seen only the original trailers and expecting an action/heist film. I got that for about 15 minutes at the beginning and 15 minutes at the end. The rest was a long-winded (2 hours) drama about the developing relationship between three of the characters involved in the robbery at the beginning of the film. If you're looking for an action type flick you might want to pass. If you're an Affleck fan you will get a decent film that will help him climb back up to the top of Hollywood where he one stood alongside Damon. Expand
  7. May 23, 2011
    5
    It copies the central theme from the movie Heat and throws a bit of James Bond style chase scenes in it but the overall affect is weak. Some parts are great but there is some shortcuts taken in the script which can leave the viewer somewhat cheated. Its an Ok movie but not one to watch a second time.
  8. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    The town is a film to look at in two different ways. It can be your standard action film with average acting and poor story or a film that mixes story and a action brilliantly. I would say the first choice was more accurate.
  9. Sep 24, 2010
    6
    First off, the one thing that this movie lacked was originality. It was a combination of Good Will Hunting, The Departed, Heat all rolled into one. You knew what was going to happen, and there were no surprises. On the plus side, Jeremy Renner was absolutely excellent in this film, as was Blake Lively. Outside of Affleck, the accents were done well, and the characters were all strongFirst off, the one thing that this movie lacked was originality. It was a combination of Good Will Hunting, The Departed, Heat all rolled into one. You knew what was going to happen, and there were no surprises. On the plus side, Jeremy Renner was absolutely excellent in this film, as was Blake Lively. Outside of Affleck, the accents were done well, and the characters were all strong and compelling. I understand its his thing to pick one neighborhood in Boston whether that be Charlestown, Southie, Dorchester, etc. and find a blue collar story to tell, but I for one am growing rather tired of it. Find a different perspective, and take a chance. Expand
  10. Sep 27, 2010
    5
    This film was a solid second effort, but like Gone Baby Gone suffers from a lack of realism. The acting is very fine, particularly from Jeremy Renner and John Hamm, and the action scenes are extremely well directed. However, the story just didn't work for me. Perhaps Affleck should hand over the writing to someone else for his next film.
  11. Oct 31, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Barely in the realm of thumbs-up. It's busy, it's gritty, and Affleck went to some trouble to make the people appear real (no botoxed babes in cake makeup). Rebecca Hall is appealing, Jeremy Renner is seriously unlikable, and Affleck is not bad, but at no point to you *really* care about the people or the outcome of the movie. Yes I *did* want Affleck to get away at the end, but was I cheering when he did? No. I looked at my watch a lot during this flick... Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    Didn't really want to go see a Ben Affeck movie. Never thought much of him infront or behind the camera. I liked the movie though mostly because it's a "gritty" hard knocks story. I also lived in Boston for a while so I appreciated the setting. But, true to form, the story has some inconsistencies, includeung Ben's come and go accent. Plus, the story works it's way around a dumbDidn't really want to go see a Ben Affeck movie. Never thought much of him infront or behind the camera. I liked the movie though mostly because it's a "gritty" hard knocks story. I also lived in Boston for a while so I appreciated the setting. But, true to form, the story has some inconsistencies, includeung Ben's come and go accent. Plus, the story works it's way around a dumb question which ruins a movie that had a real chance to be very good. People seem to like action and romance so it's doing well with the masses. Entut certainly not a must see. Expand
  13. Jan 13, 2011
    4
    In a way this film is not satisfying because it appears too realistic. We are so used to stylized action that the "real" thing, in this case, is rather boring. For an action movie The Town is not exciting or surprising enough, and for a drama it fails to be emotional. It does not even achieve to convey that robbing a bank is bad for all of us. Breaking the rules/law hurts the system of theIn a way this film is not satisfying because it appears too realistic. We are so used to stylized action that the "real" thing, in this case, is rather boring. For an action movie The Town is not exciting or surprising enough, and for a drama it fails to be emotional. It does not even achieve to convey that robbing a bank is bad for all of us. Breaking the rules/law hurts the system of the polis that most of us agree to live in because of the rights and the security we are promised from it. Expand
  14. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    I didn't think it was all that. The acting was good but it's a dvd rental if you ask me.This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own little worlds. Pretty disappointing,
  15. Oct 13, 2011
    6
    The Town is a decent attempt by Ben Affleck and for the most part is entertaining. I did however find the acting a little over done and forced - the characters never seemed to stop yelling and swearing at each other for no real believable reason other than the director wanted them too. The last act was interesting in an action oriented way and was well directed. Not the greatest movie, butThe Town is a decent attempt by Ben Affleck and for the most part is entertaining. I did however find the acting a little over done and forced - the characters never seemed to stop yelling and swearing at each other for no real believable reason other than the director wanted them too. The last act was interesting in an action oriented way and was well directed. Not the greatest movie, but good enough to be entertaining. Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2011
    5
    I saw the directors cut of this film witch adds about 30-40 minutes to the movie and i its just really boring to me they just over developed the characters, the actors just kept taking and taking and the action scenes added no thrills or suspense. As to the story its fine as its simply to follow. The action was great but again they just talked to damm much. If you have not seen this movieI saw the directors cut of this film witch adds about 30-40 minutes to the movie and i its just really boring to me they just over developed the characters, the actors just kept taking and taking and the action scenes added no thrills or suspense. As to the story its fine as its simply to follow. The action was great but again they just talked to damm much. If you have not seen this movie and are planning to see it make sure you are plenty awake. Expand
  17. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    A meticulous look at bank robberies in Boston, specifically Charlestown, over the past several years. Boldly delivered performances--along with fine direction from Ben Affleck.
  18. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    Ben Affleck has directed 3 great movies. But the last one, Argo, is definitely better. Not the most impressive ever or passionate or fun, but it´s flaw-less. This second one (The Town) is well executed, is interesting enough, but there were moments in the film when I thought it was going to be so great, but it never got there. I found the ending predictable, or at least like I´ve seenBen Affleck has directed 3 great movies. But the last one, Argo, is definitely better. Not the most impressive ever or passionate or fun, but it´s flaw-less. This second one (The Town) is well executed, is interesting enough, but there were moments in the film when I thought it was going to be so great, but it never got there. I found the ending predictable, or at least like I´ve seen similar things in some other movies a while ago. Good film for a new director. But not one that will stick with you Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    I know this film got great reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. It felt like I had seen this all before (and I have! In i.e. Heat). The characters were mostly unlikable to me, and the love story hard to believe. It's not a bad film, but it's not one of my favourite heist movies and it's hardly original....
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. A first-class genre entry stacked with dandy performances and some crackerjack action to boot.
  2. 80
    This second feature doesn't resonate with nearly as much power, but its suspenseful story of two generations of career criminals in the city's northerly Charlestown neighborhood has a similarly haunting quality.
  3. A rich, dark, pulpy mess of entanglements that fulfills all the requirements of the genre, and is told with an ease and gusto that make the pulp tasty.