Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 17, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 508 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
411
Mixed:
60
Negative:
37
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
asthobaskoroAug 15, 2011
The plot is common, conventional, and even cliche. Thank for awesome direction and cinematography, and also intense action. While The Town glories in genre tropes it also dumps any overt stylings, keeping the action alive and lithe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BamaFalstaffMay 28, 2011
Some good performances from Affleck, Hamm and especially Blake Lively. Some sequences required too much suspension of disbelief for my taste. Although sometimes a little too "by the book," Affleck shows promise as a director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tomfleet94Oct 15, 2012
It's good
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Town" is daring and tense; its a rare gangster movie that is abundant with strong action and appealing force to the audience. Bravo Mr. Affleck, Bravo!!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
Ben Affleck is continually proving himself to be a very talented director. The story is perhaps just a little too slow for my liking but I really enjoyed the chemistry between him and Jeremy Renner. Everyone pulls their weight in thisBen Affleck is continually proving himself to be a very talented director. The story is perhaps just a little too slow for my liking but I really enjoyed the chemistry between him and Jeremy Renner. Everyone pulls their weight in this slow-burning, bank robbery thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Captain_KirkAug 25, 2012
While a decent heist thriller, 'The Town' sadly isn't much more than that. When the film is concentrated on anything besides the love story between Ben Affleck and Rebecca Hall, it's pretty interesting. Sadly, the love story is anything butWhile a decent heist thriller, 'The Town' sadly isn't much more than that. When the film is concentrated on anything besides the love story between Ben Affleck and Rebecca Hall, it's pretty interesting. Sadly, the love story is anything but interesting. Most will disagree, but I found the romance to be dull and lifeless. There's a 2 and half hour extended cut of the film that, to me, only makes matters worse by extending the romance. I wanted to like the film more and hopefully get past that main gripe, but I just couldn't. Jeremy Renner steals the show here, although I really did not find his performance to be great enough to be an Oscar contender. I think. As you can tell, I find 'The Town' to be over-rated, but that doesn't mean I didn't like it, it just means that I found nothing special about it. It's good for a single viewing, but I have no real reason to see it again. 7/10 for theatrical version, 6/10 for extended cut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeDec 25, 2014
This movie is really well structured and the acting is really good.Jeremy Renner was probably the best of them.The story is original and the robberies are exciting.Unfortunately there is not enough action and there is too much slow moments inThis movie is really well structured and the acting is really good.Jeremy Renner was probably the best of them.The story is original and the robberies are exciting.Unfortunately there is not enough action and there is too much slow moments in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
edpoopstuffJul 12, 2015
Ben Affleck did a great job on this and think he even brought his career back up from this film, not saying that because of how he did in the movie but I think he actually did because of the other films he has done and also not all about BenBen Affleck did a great job on this and think he even brought his career back up from this film, not saying that because of how he did in the movie but I think he actually did because of the other films he has done and also not all about Ben Affleck but everyone did a great job in the film. Also easy to get sucked into these characters that they build up, wasn't really unrealistic and sort of smart or cool in a way how they did some things Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shanebotOct 1, 2010
This is a movie full of hits and misses. Ben Affleck directing is a hit. Ben Affleck acting is a miss. I personally feel that Mr. Affleck suffers from the terminal disease of being too-likable-in-a-normal-sort-of-way. The kind of likeableThis is a movie full of hits and misses. Ben Affleck directing is a hit. Ben Affleck acting is a miss. I personally feel that Mr. Affleck suffers from the terminal disease of being too-likable-in-a-normal-sort-of-way. The kind of likeable that I would have over to watch a hockey game. Not the kind of likeable that I would believe could rob banks and have one of the hostages fall in love with him. There are other actors out there who suffer from a similar disease of being too good looking to be believable. Luckily, there are some other very qualified personal who are able to make the most of their characters. And Affleck allows them the space in order to do it. The movie clips along at an efficient pace and effectively balances out action and drama. The action scenes are well executed and get the adrenaline pumping, but I found some of the smaller scenes were handled more clumsily. This was a disappointment considering Affleck's previous film Gone Baby Gone. In particular the scene involving Renner, Affleck and Hall sitting at a cafe would have produced it's menacing intentions more effectively using subtlety rather than telegraphed acting and dialogue. The movie closes out with more hits and misses, but Affleck still shows promise as a budding director. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
imart5Sep 24, 2010
First off, the one thing that this movie lacked was originality. It was a combination of Good Will Hunting, The Departed, Heat all rolled into one. You knew what was going to happen, and there were no surprises. On the plus side, JeremyFirst off, the one thing that this movie lacked was originality. It was a combination of Good Will Hunting, The Departed, Heat all rolled into one. You knew what was going to happen, and there were no surprises. On the plus side, Jeremy Renner was absolutely excellent in this film, as was Blake Lively. Outside of Affleck, the accents were done well, and the characters were all strong and compelling. I understand its his thing to pick one neighborhood in Boston whether that be Charlestown, Southie, Dorchester, etc. and find a blue collar story to tell, but I for one am growing rather tired of it. Find a different perspective, and take a chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ccstoneOct 31, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Barely in the realm of thumbs-up.

It's busy, it's gritty, and Affleck went to some trouble to make the people appear real (no botoxed babes in cake makeup). Rebecca Hall is appealing, Jeremy Renner is seriously unlikable, and Affleck is not bad, but at no point do you *really* care about the people or the outcome of the movie. Yes I *did* want Affleck to get away at the end, but was I cheering when he did? No.

I looked at my watch a lot during this flick...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeOct 13, 2011
The Town is a decent attempt by Ben Affleck and for the most part is entertaining. I did however find the acting a little over done and forced - the characters never seemed to stop yelling and swearing at each other for no real believableThe Town is a decent attempt by Ben Affleck and for the most part is entertaining. I did however find the acting a little over done and forced - the characters never seemed to stop yelling and swearing at each other for no real believable reason other than the director wanted them too. The last act was interesting in an action oriented way and was well directed. Not the greatest movie, but good enough to be entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
A meticulous look at bank robberies in Boston, specifically Charlestown, over the past several years. Boldly delivered performances--along with fine direction from Ben Affleck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sanyrubApr 4, 2013
Ben Affleck has directed 3 great movies. But the last one, Argo, is definitely better. Not the most impressive ever or passionate or fun, but it´s flaw-less. This second one (The Town) is well executed, is interesting enough, but there wereBen Affleck has directed 3 great movies. But the last one, Argo, is definitely better. Not the most impressive ever or passionate or fun, but it´s flaw-less. This second one (The Town) is well executed, is interesting enough, but there were moments in the film when I thought it was going to be so great, but it never got there. I found the ending predictable, or at least like I´ve seen similar things in some other movies a while ago. Good film for a new director. But not one that will stick with you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emcoffey3Dec 28, 2011
The Town is very much a sappier version of Heat. That being said, it's not a bad movie. It just wasn't nearly as good as I was expecting it to be.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
bishopsringSep 21, 2010
I was disappointed in this movie. Resembled Heat with Val Kilmer, but much slower. I could not get invested with the characters enough to care about them when it was needed the most. I found myself bored by the long pauses between actionI was disappointed in this movie. Resembled Heat with Val Kilmer, but much slower. I could not get invested with the characters enough to care about them when it was needed the most. I found myself bored by the long pauses between action scenes. I understood the need for it, but the way it moved was just to slow for me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
conschobharSep 27, 2010
This film was a solid second effort, but like Gone Baby Gone suffers from a lack of realism. The acting is very fine, particularly from Jeremy Renner and John Hamm, and the action scenes are extremely well directed. However, the story justThis film was a solid second effort, but like Gone Baby Gone suffers from a lack of realism. The acting is very fine, particularly from Jeremy Renner and John Hamm, and the action scenes are extremely well directed. However, the story just didn't work for me. Perhaps Affleck should hand over the writing to someone else for his next film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BoredatWorkSep 28, 2010
Negatives - Lots of cliches, unintimidating bad dudes, cheesy Boston over the top accents, Ben Affleck is in it.

Positives - Bank robbery action is good, Chris Cooper rocks

Worth seeing but temper your expectations.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JookyDFWJan 24, 2011
I watched the DVD having seen only the original trailers and expecting an action/heist film. I got that for about 15 minutes at the beginning and 15 minutes at the end. The rest was a long-winded (2 hours) drama about the developingI watched the DVD having seen only the original trailers and expecting an action/heist film. I got that for about 15 minutes at the beginning and 15 minutes at the end. The rest was a long-winded (2 hours) drama about the developing relationship between three of the characters involved in the robbery at the beginning of the film. If you're looking for an action type flick you might want to pass. If you're an Affleck fan you will get a decent film that will help him climb back up to the top of Hollywood where he one stood alongside Damon. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
manwe7Mar 16, 2011
I didn't think it was all that. The acting was good but it's a dvd rental if you ask me.This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemedI didn't think it was all that. The acting was good but it's a dvd rental if you ask me.This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own little worlds. Pretty disappointing, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MorriBeyMay 23, 2011
It copies the central theme from the movie Heat and throws a bit of James Bond style chase scenes in it but the overall affect is weak. Some parts are great but there is some shortcuts taken in the script which can leave the viewer somewhatIt copies the central theme from the movie Heat and throws a bit of James Bond style chase scenes in it but the overall affect is weak. Some parts are great but there is some shortcuts taken in the script which can leave the viewer somewhat cheated. Its an Ok movie but not one to watch a second time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
moviesRawsomeAug 22, 2011
I saw the directors cut of this film witch adds about 30-40 minutes to the movie and i its just really boring to me they just over developed the characters, the actors just kept taking and taking and the action scenes added no thrills orI saw the directors cut of this film witch adds about 30-40 minutes to the movie and i its just really boring to me they just over developed the characters, the actors just kept taking and taking and the action scenes added no thrills or suspense. As to the story its fine as its simply to follow. The action was great but again they just talked to damm much. If you have not seen this movie and are planning to see it make sure you are plenty awake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JumpmanJan 7, 2016
Better than your average hollywood action-crime movie but still lacking originality. Ben affleck is handsome but that's it............................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mrcriticSep 21, 2010
This movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own littleThis movie received a mixed response from me. I expected much more from Ben Affleck's skillful directing. Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, & Blake Lively seemed into their respective roles, however Affleck and Rebecca Hall were in their own little worlds. Pretty disappointing, however I liked the intelligent plot and jokes through the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
perfectdNov 26, 2010
Didn't really want to go see a Ben Affeck movie. Never thought much of him infront or behind the camera. I liked the movie though mostly because it's a "gritty" hard knocks story. I also lived in Boston for a while so I appreciated theDidn't really want to go see a Ben Affeck movie. Never thought much of him infront or behind the camera. I liked the movie though mostly because it's a "gritty" hard knocks story. I also lived in Boston for a while so I appreciated the setting. But, true to form, the story has some inconsistencies, includeung Ben's come and go accent. Plus, the story works it's way around a dumb question which ruins a movie that had a real chance to be very good. People seem to like action and romance so it's doing well with the masses. Entut certainly not a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankleissJan 13, 2011
In a way this film is not satisfying because it appears too realistic. We are so used to stylized action that the "real" thing, in this case, is rather boring. For an action movie The Town is not exciting or surprising enough, and for a dramaIn a way this film is not satisfying because it appears too realistic. We are so used to stylized action that the "real" thing, in this case, is rather boring. For an action movie The Town is not exciting or surprising enough, and for a drama it fails to be emotional. It does not even achieve to convey that robbing a bank is bad for all of us. Breaking the rules/law hurts the system of the polis that most of us agree to live in because of the rights and the security we are promised from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Jan 13, 2013
The town is a film to look at in two different ways. It can be your standard action film with average acting and poor story or a film that mixes story and a action brilliantly. I would say the first choice was more accurate.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
I know this film got great reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. It felt like I had seen this all before (and I have! In i.e. Heat). The characters were mostly unlikable to me, and the love story hard to believe. It's not a bad film, butI know this film got great reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. It felt like I had seen this all before (and I have! In i.e. Heat). The characters were mostly unlikable to me, and the love story hard to believe. It's not a bad film, but it's not one of my favourite heist movies and it's hardly original.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
supersigyOct 28, 2011
Here we have another attractive woman who falls in love with the lame anti-hero as soon as he tells her the time of day. Why don't these women ever have boyfriends? Or even friends? Half way through the movie the FBI figures out the robbersHere we have another attractive woman who falls in love with the lame anti-hero as soon as he tells her the time of day. Why don't these women ever have boyfriends? Or even friends? Half way through the movie the FBI figures out the robbers are Ben and co. So they set a plan in motion involving a slut obsessed with Ben that may or may not work. Meanwhile Ben and his posse walk out their front door and rob two more banks. Having someone watch their house I guess is just too much expenses for taxpayers to handle. In between well shot but completely illogical action sequences you'll find this conversation repeated ad infinitum: "This is what we do. This is the life we chose." Sigh...This movie is a joke. Then the ending is a twist of the knife. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Fulchizzle138Nov 10, 2010
Ben Affleck is the badass with the heart of gold, please. This is just his poor attempt at trying to be Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting or Leo in The Departed. We get that you love Boston, so do I, but as much as you were trying to beBen Affleck is the badass with the heart of gold, please. This is just his poor attempt at trying to be Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting or Leo in The Departed. We get that you love Boston, so do I, but as much as you were trying to be "authentic" to gritty Charlestown you cast Gossip Girl as a crackhead townie. I didn't care about any of the characters nor did I think any of them acted appropriately (Best example is Rebecca Hall's character, wtf is her deal). The story was lame and uninteresting and the ending was unrealistic and overdramatic. I think it's just riding on the coat tails of a Boston setting and some good robbery masks. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews