The Town

The Town Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 494 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: There are over 300 bank robberies in Boston every year. And most of the professionals live in a one-square-mile neighborhood called Charlestown. One of them is Doug MacRay, but he is not cut from the same cloth as his fellow thieves. Unlike them, Doug had a chance at success, a chance toThere are over 300 bank robberies in Boston every year. And most of the professionals live in a one-square-mile neighborhood called Charlestown. One of them is Doug MacRay, but he is not cut from the same cloth as his fellow thieves. Unlike them, Doug had a chance at success, a chance to escape following in his father's criminal footsteps. Instead, he became the leader of a crew of ruthless bank robbers, who pride themselves on taking what they want and getting out clean. The only family Doug has are his partners in crime, especially Jem, who, despite his dangerous, hair-trigger temper, is the closest thing Doug ever had to a brother. However, everything changed on the gang's last job when Jem briefly took a hostage: bank manager Claire Keesey. When they discover Claire lives in Charlestown, Jem gets nervous and wants to check out what she might have seen. Knowing what Jem is capable of, Doug takes charge. He seeks out Claire, who has no idea that their encounter is not by chance or that this charming stranger is one of the men who terrorized her only days before. As his relationship with Claire deepens into a passionate romance, Doug wants out of this life and the town. But with the Feds closing in and Jem questioning his loyalty, Doug realizes that getting out will not be easy and, worse, may put Claire in the line of fire. Any choices he once had have boiled down to one: betray his friends or lose the woman he loves. The Town is a dramatic thriller about robbers and cops, friendship and betrayal, love and hope, and escaping a past that has no future.(Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. A rich, dark, pulpy mess of entanglements that fulfills all the requirements of the genre, and is told with an ease and gusto that make the pulp tasty.
  2. 88
    Affleck and Hall make this unlikely love story palpably moving. And Renner (The Hurt Locker) is dynamite - he radiates ferocity and feeling.
  3. Reviewed by:  Caryn James
    80
    Affleck directed, stars in, and co-wrote The Town, a suspenseful, fiercely paced movie about bank robbers that is also about love, brotherhood, and the desperate need to escape a crooked life. It proves that "Gone Baby Gone," his accomplished directing debut, was no fluke.
  4. Affleck is more interested in the people in the midst of the action than he is in the action itself, and that gives this accomplished genre piece considerable and compelling depth.
  5. A first-class genre entry stacked with dandy performances and some crackerjack action to boot.
  6. 75
    Everything is here. It's an effective thriller, he (Affleck) works closely with actors, he has a feel for pacing. Yet I persist in finding chases and gun battles curiously boring.
  7. There's more than a few things off in this tale of a disillusioned professional thief (Affleck, dull), his unlikely inamorata (Hall, wasted) and the determined FBI agent (Hamm, solid) out to apprehend him.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 122
  2. Negative: 5 out of 122
  1. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Wow, this movie is an absolute 12!!! By far the best movie I've seen in 10 years. It's simply riveting. Run, don't walk, to see it. IWow, this movie is an absolute 12!!! By far the best movie I've seen in 10 years. It's simply riveting. Run, don't walk, to see it. I smell an Oscar! We are going to see it again. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This film only needs merely a sentence from me, and here it is. This is one of the best films of the year, and you must see it immediately;This film only needs merely a sentence from me, and here it is. This is one of the best films of the year, and you must see it immediately; because not only is it epic, it is breath-stealing, fast-action, awesomeness. Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Awesome Movie, Ben Affleck has more success as a director than as an actor, and The Town and Gone Baby Gone are very good examples of that.Awesome Movie, Ben Affleck has more success as a director than as an actor, and The Town and Gone Baby Gone are very good examples of that. The concept of the film were so amazing, very well written and with a complex story and interesting, there wasn't a second of the movie that I was less interested, Jeremy Renner completely dominated his last scene, he really knew what he was doing, Rebecca Hall was other pleasant surprise, so overall this movie was one of the best movies in 2010. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2010
    8
    Ben Affleck has been given so much **** I've realized something though. Just because the guy has chosen to do some really repugnant movies,Ben Affleck has been given so much **** I've realized something though. Just because the guy has chosen to do some really repugnant movies, doesn't mean he's a bad actor. If I played for the New York Islanders that wouldn't make me a bad hockey player. It's the team that sucks.
    He's now deservingly regarded as a talented director (a status they'll try with might to rip from him), but it's also time to admit that he's a talented actor as well. He just needs to pick the right teams to play for. Playing for his own is a great start.
    Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2014
    7
    This movie is really well structured and the acting is really good.Jeremy Renner was probably the best of them.The story is original and theThis movie is really well structured and the acting is really good.Jeremy Renner was probably the best of them.The story is original and the robberies are exciting.Unfortunately there is not enough action and there is too much slow moments in the movie. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2010
    7
    A good action, gritty film that allowed you to overlook the reality flaws. If only the ending could have done so. The ending is so realityA good action, gritty film that allowed you to overlook the reality flaws. If only the ending could have done so. The ending is so reality flawed that it almost lost me as an a viewer.Still, it was better than I expected and I thought the performances were good, particularly Jeremy Renner. Collapse
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    1
    The problem with movies starring Ben Affleck is...Ben Affleck. He ruins every movie he is in because he is so incredibly full of himself, andThe problem with movies starring Ben Affleck is...Ben Affleck. He ruins every movie he is in because he is so incredibly full of himself, and apparently no director can get that out of him.
    I stopped caring 15 minutes into the movie, when he hooks up with the main witness. How stupid can you be ? She heard his voice, loud and clear, and she even tells him that she could probably identify the robbers by their voices. From that moment on, the audience must simply wonder why she doesn't.
    Long, boring, predictable. Nothing new under the sun. Like a cheap spin-off of The Departed. I just watched because the girl was cute...and give it a one.
    Expand

See all 122 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for January 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for January 2013 Image
    Published: January 31, 2013
    A port of "Joe Danger," a new pixel-art town-builder, and a sequel to "Temple Run" are just some of the best iOS games released in recent weeks. Get the full list inside.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.