TLA Releasing | Release Date: May 9, 2003
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
0
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JoseM.Feb 8, 2004
I would rather get a root canal then be subjected to this rehashed garbage of a movie. It would be hard to decide which was worse, the acting, the writing or what passes for direction.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JackR.May 17, 2003
No chemistry between the two men; over-acted stereotypes in the lesser roles... The movie is not funny, romantic, moving or sexy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
larryw.Sep 23, 2005
Some of the worst writing and directing I've come across. You can only pity the actors who seem to be biding their time until they can get the hell out of there. Shame Shame Shame.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LINDAB.May 17, 2003
THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY REALLY GOOD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeR.Feb 26, 2004
I stumbled upon this movie and after watching it dozens of times I'm glad I found it. It's one of the greatest movies I currently own and am convinced that anyone who dosn't like this movie is either heartless or a I stumbled upon this movie and after watching it dozens of times I'm glad I found it. It's one of the greatest movies I currently own and am convinced that anyone who dosn't like this movie is either heartless or a Republican....If you can seperate the two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterF.Oct 15, 2003
Two leads actors are fantastic! This was a trip down memory lane for me, I had a great time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CliffO.Oct 23, 2003
Classic gay cimema! All of my friends loved this movie and we can't wait to own it when it comes out 12/09/2003 on DVD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferL.Oct 27, 2003
Laugh out loud funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlF.Feb 26, 2004
I don't know about you, but I can count on one hand the number of times I've seen a film and thought "I know those people. I remember those times." But isn't that what we really want sometimes from a film? To relate to it with I don't know about you, but I can count on one hand the number of times I've seen a film and thought "I know those people. I remember those times." But isn't that what we really want sometimes from a film? To relate to it with heart and soul? I waited to write this review a few months post screening because I wondered if, like all great art, the impact of the film would stay with me. It has. The Trip is excellent in so many ways -- the script, the cast, the editing. But there's some intangible element, some movie magic, that's part of the experience as well. Given all the books I have read and movies I have seen, I don't how else to explain that this film made me revisit certain people, places and moments in history as if for the first time. And how Miles Swain and crew pulled that off will, I suppose, remain a happy mystery for those of us who love the film. Just a few quick thoughts: It's a very moving and sentimental story without being maudlin. And that's really hard to pull off. The story covers a lot of ground in an almost impressionistic way, and that's hard to pull off as well. The entire cast was incredible, but Larry Sullivan in particular stands out. I can't remember being so moved by a character's journey. Most importantly, there's an emotional truth to this movie that is missing in so many others. I'm a film fan, and a writer, and I see and read a lot of gay works. There's certainly more and more "product" out there now, which is good for us, it provides more choice, but it's surprising to me how little of it really has heart, or tells real stories that we can relate to. How much of our "gay" art relies on tired stereotypes, life in the shadows, and characters we don't care about? I rank The Trip right up there with other landmark gay films like Parting Glances. I am a forty one year old gay man, and The Trip, IMHO, is the one film that encapsulates the coming out process, politics, and relationships during the initial "surreality" of AIDS, from the late 70's to today, with great honesty, insight and vision. Take the journey and go see The Trip as soon as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregG.Feb 26, 2004
LOVED IT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimL.May 16, 2003
Beautiful love story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidPowersMay 19, 2003
This was an awesome movie!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Apr 11, 2004
Excellent film. I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyP.Oct 11, 2003
Excellent acting, well written. This is one of the better indie films to come around in some time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyH.May 14, 2003
Incredibly wonderful love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimL.May 16, 2003
Beautiful love story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaO.May 19, 2003
Very funny, very romantic, very sexy, very entertaining. It's just a really GREAT film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewC.Feb 14, 2004
Excellent love story, excellent writing, excellent acting, excellent everything. This film is funny, warm, and also heartbreaking. See it with someone you love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ViktorC.Jun 14, 2004
Absolutely and fantastically good!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davide.Nov 20, 2005
At first sight it's an impossible love. Alan is a Republican journalist with ditto thoughts, Tommy is a gay rights activist. They meet when Alan wants to know more about homosexuality, since he is writing a book about that subject. Even At first sight it's an impossible love. Alan is a Republican journalist with ditto thoughts, Tommy is a gay rights activist. They meet when Alan wants to know more about homosexuality, since he is writing a book about that subject. Even though their political opinions are very different, love flourishes. Alan's book doesn't get published. The two are in a stable relationship that already lasts for a few years, when the book is published after all without Alan's consent. It turns out the book is very negative about homosexuality. The solid relationship bursts. Some years later. Alan is living with his dominant boyfriend Peter. He is told that Tommy is seriously ill. At first Alan doesn't want to visit Tommy, but his mother and his best female friend persuade him to go. When they meet again it is obvious they are still in love with each other. To let Tommy die at his parents house they drive to Texas. But they will never make it to their destination. The Trip covers a few years: the story starts in the seventies and ends in the eighties. To create the typical seventies atmosphere, the brillant director Miles Swain used film equipment from the seventies. The film gives a nice image of the political situation and acceptance of gays in that period. The story lines about friendship are very well written and played. Jill St. John's roll as Alan's mother is very amusing. The Trip is a serious and at the same time funny film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mary97206Aug 15, 2011
Beautifully written, warmly touching, funny and smart. It was win, win, win, for me and this movie. Seen it ten times and will probably see it ten times more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews