The Truman Show

The Truman Show Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 670 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Twenty-nine years ago, a baby boy was adopted by the OmniCam Corporation to become the subject of the most popular television show of all time. His name is Truman Burbank. (Paramount Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    100
    A miraculous movie. It will rattle both your head and heart
  2. An original, inspired piece of work.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A gemlike picture crafted with rare and immaculate precision.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Hollywood's smartest media satire in years--and a breakthrough for Jim Carrey.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    Funny... and the payoff is the most provocative Hollywood concoction in a while.
  6. Warm, affecting and refreshingly shtickless, he (Carrey) occupies center stage here through sheer, beguiling force of personality.
  7. It's unusually provocative and challenging for a Hollywood movie and, surprisingly, allows the audience to piece things together without too much external direction.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 97
  2. Negative: 6 out of 97
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Seriously, hands down- one of my favorite movies. The story is orginal. The cinematography is perfect. Jim Carey is excellent. Surely thisSeriously, hands down- one of my favorite movies. The story is orginal. The cinematography is perfect. Jim Carey is excellent. Surely this movie is a comedy and it has it's fair share of funny moments however, the depth of this movie is what brings me back time and time again. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    "The Truman Show" can truly be considered a cult classic. This is one of the best Jim Carrey movies to date, and even a fantastic movie"The Truman Show" can truly be considered a cult classic. This is one of the best Jim Carrey movies to date, and even a fantastic movie period. Nothing short of a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This movie is so awesome in every way. It manages to prove that a funny man can break our hearts (which would happen again in Punch Drunk LoveThis movie is so awesome in every way. It manages to prove that a funny man can break our hearts (which would happen again in Punch Drunk Love with Adam Sandler some time after). This film has one of the most original story-lines from '98 and is written to perfection. The balance of originality and great writing, not to mention Carrey, isn't the only thing that delivers a power punch. It is the message, that is explained in such a manner that even the people not searching for depth in the first place can find it, that is amazing. The depth of thought that the writers went through to get to the theme that "whatever world we are born in, we will instantly believe is real" is astonishing. The Academy made big mistakes in '98: 1. Saving Private Ryan not winning Best Picture, and 2. The Truman Show not being nominated for Best Picture, Actor, Score and Cinematography (the first two getting a win wouldn't have been an upset to me). Basically, if you want a wholly original film that is funny, heartbreaking and thought-provoking, The Truman Show is one of the best picks. Expand
  4. May 24, 2013
    9
    Taking reality TV taken to its ultimate extreme everything Truman Burbank has done since birth has been seen live by a worldwide audience ofTaking reality TV taken to its ultimate extreme everything Truman Burbank has done since birth has been seen live by a worldwide audience of millions. Unfortunately for Truman he is unaware of this as he lives inside a giant Hollywood dome containing a made for TV town. Everyone in his life, his friends, his neighbours, even his wife are all actors hired by the shows creator.

    Jim Carrey is unusually reserved, but brilliant in the title role importantly making Truman likable so that we really begin to feel for him as the movie reaches its climax. Part satire, part comedy and part drama The Truman Show is one of those rare movies that takes an original, intelligent and interesting concept and truly makes the most out of it. It is rare for a film to entertain whilst also making you think but this is one movie that certainly manages it.
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2016
    9
    One of the best ways to represent the postmodernism
    The best movie that Jim Carrey could ever have
    And that saying much. I enjoyed it
    One of the best ways to represent the postmodernism
    The best movie that Jim Carrey could ever have
    And that saying much. I enjoyed it watching it, im sure im gonna to watch it over and over.
    Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    "The Truman Show" dares to question the reality. It's original, complex, and philosophical. It manages to make you feel truly frustrated and"The Truman Show" dares to question the reality. It's original, complex, and philosophical. It manages to make you feel truly frustrated and claustrophobic.

    Perhaps many of us can relate to Truman as we live in a time of routines. We often live our lives without giving a second thought to the simplicity and meaninglessness of life itself. Our limited perspectives keep us from seeing. The lies we are told keep us from the truth. If we could push the boundaries of our reality, what are the odds that we'd face what Truman faced in the end?

    It was a joy to watch "Jim Carrey" as "Truman", it is yet another proof that Jim isn't just a comedian.
    Expand
  7. JohnP.
    Jul 26, 2008
    0
    An excruciatingly empty film with the most annoying characters, script and pace, surely making this movie one of the worst I've ever An excruciatingly empty film with the most annoying characters, script and pace, surely making this movie one of the worst I've ever endured. The more simplistic a movie gets, the greater it's general acclaim? Must be... Should be listed under 'Horror'. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.