User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    2
    These are the ways how to face this dreadful movie:

    1º- Take it as a comedy film and laugh as how stupid it is.
    2º Take this serious and prepare to be attacked by a monstrous boredom.
  2. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    3
    The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 is a terrible movie! You'd be better off watching porn instead of this, because both of them are basically the same thing!
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    This has to be one of the slowest-paced movies I have ever seen. Seriously, the beginning was so boring. At the end, you kinda felt a bit better, but that does not improve much on this film's rating. Honestly, if you ask for a summary of the film, all I can say is nothing happened.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    I am still confused as to what this film was about. All of the Twilight movies have carried a terrible script along with a bundle of Hollywood's most boring and untalented actors, but this film exceeded my expectations, I was expecting a feature film version of Secret Life Of An American Teenager, but what I got was a remake of 90210 but set in the north west. This film is about nothing really, its just a waste of time. Bella and Edward get married............ so what? Who the hell cares? This film has ZERO plot along with a script that was probably written by a high school student that dropped out after his first day as a freshman. This boring piece of crap is full of plot holes, terrible dialogue, a terrible premise, terrible acting, terrible everything, avoid this film at all costs. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    'Breaking Dawn Part 1' mostly consists of a bunch of irrelevant events, and in its third act; a birthing scene that was widely reported to be "intense" and "gruesome" ended up being largely overshadowed by irritating visual effects and a ridiculous storyline.
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Kristen Stewart improved upon her acting (yes, she does fantastic in this one), the visuals look amazing in this film, the story is interesting (I like how she wants to keep the baby and that they waited to be married to have...well you know that one scene in this film). It is a beautifully filmed movie with lots of interesting new things added both creatively and visually. I really enjoyed this film. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    2
    I'm giving this movie a 2, not because I'm a hater, but because that it what it deserved. Yes, I am a male and no, I do not hate the Twilight Saga. Up until this movie, I was actually starting to kinda like it. I always enjoyed watching it with my girlfriend and it had just the right mixture of romance, action, suspense and CGI. However, a lot of that universally appealing stuff was thrown out here. The majority of the movie was spent watching the couple trying to have sex. Usually in PG-13 movies, you get a sexual innuendo or implied sex scene but here, they focused entirely too much on it. The only action that happened, happened toward the end and that was promptly ruined by the absolutely grotesque imagery of a dying Bella giving birth to a vampireous creature. She dies while giving birth and is bitten repeatedly by Edward in an attempt to revive her. It was a mixture of a slasher film with pregnancy... not good. Also the whole idea of Jacob loving a baby in a romantic way, is borderline wrong. I don't really know what else to say about it other than, I wouldn't see it again. I gave it a 2 because I thought the series did a good job up until now and the 1 or 0 that it deserved would be harsh. Hopefully they used this is a semi-plot building movie and the next installment will do better. Expand
  8. Jun 16, 2013
    1
    Splitting the last book was unnecessary, something really ridiculous.

    When I thought the saga was still up, Dawn comes and detonates all A film unnecessary, ridiculous, so far as to have thrown my money away, as director Bill Condon died for me, the performances of Kristen continues ridiculous, not to nothing to save the movie, not anything good, is a enchição of things, the scene of
    pregnancy is the only good thing in the movie, and ends in a way unnecessary. Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2013
    0
    As far as the series goes, this movie was by far the worst. The first movie was nice because it was a refreshing fantasy romance novelty. Boy meets girl. Girl discovers that boy is a vampire. Evil vampire chases girl for blood. Boy and family kill evil vampire. After that movie, the rest of the films just took a jump off a clip. The rest of the movies just use the same recycled plot. We spend 3/4 of the movie listening to dialog. Finally at the end, there's a big vampire fight and the good guys win.

    I can live with that, but do they really have to give us the same old bland story for every movie? In this story, we spend roughly half of the movie watching a newlywed couple make love in the bed, the livingroom, the beach, and everywhere else they can think of. C'mmon...I'm eating nachos and I don't want to puke before the end of the movie. After THAT was finally over, we spend the next 35% of the movie talking about how Bella might DIE! At the end...WHEW! She's not dead! Of course no Twilight movie would be complete without a big battle with werewolves and vampires. The dogs look as artificial as ever. The vampires fight like they all have chronic constipation. Oh yeah, the good guys win...but there really aren't any real bad guys and there really isn't much at stake. It's just a big pointless fight with two groups of people that hate each other. They might as well wear gangster hats and sagging pants.
    Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    It's . . . really bad, but fun to watch as a comedy.
  11. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    Por fin la boda, no desbelo spoilers porque la boda se intuye en el trailer. Lo mejor de todo la boda, la luna de miel, y la verdadera complicación que alcanza el triángulo amoroso. Lo peor, la falta de acción, la que hay es oscura y movida, lo poco creíble de la relación entre Edward y Jacob, y el no poder ver sensacionales estampas de Taylor Lautner sin camiseta. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    I honestly don't mind the Twilight movies at all. I thought Twilight was ok, New Moon was good, and Eclipse wasn't that bad either (although probably the most pointless of the entire series). This movie though has to be the worst in the entire series. Not that it was truly bad but I honestly do not see how anyone could take this movie seriously. I had a smile on my face from start to finish and there were quite a few times I actually laughed because the movie was played off as being serious but was epicly failing to do so.

    Besides that, It actually wasn't that bad. The acting is suprisingly solid, Probably the best it has been (and that's saying something) in the series. It was enjoyable to watch and that is coming from a 20 year old guy who loved action and horror movies.
    Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    An altogether depressing experience at this point.
  14. Oct 6, 2012
    2
    Ever worsening saga (if it can be called a saga), the film is pessimo, paradão, you have nothing to draw attention ... bad visual effects, makeup improved somewhat, the performance worsened Kristen Stewart wakes !! The soundtrack so feeble, I hope part 2 excel and save the whole saga.
  15. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Having Viewed This Movie Multiple Times, I Must Say That The Story Line, The Music, And The Masterful Details To Production - Direction, Bill Condon Was A Mastermind In This. I Dont Think This Movie Has Received The Overall Credit It Deserves. I Have No Trouble Saying, It May Be The Best Movie I've Seen - And I Have Seen A Lot Of Them... The Movie Seems To Have A Very Profound - Subtle Emotional Message And Content That Is Not Easy To Explain, But You Feel It... A Very Special Movei Expand
  16. Sep 8, 2012
    6
    Well, what can I say? It isn't as good as Eclipse, but it isn't as godawful as New Moon. This, I only enjoyed, not entirely pleased, but I cannot say I didn't like it. It desrves the 6 I gave it, but sincerely I expected that from this point on, I was willing to give a 9 already. Now let's see what The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn -part 2 has to offer this autumn.
  17. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    It's not this bad. It had a solid love story, everything else is just not good. The actors are all too "pretty", I don't like these vampires at all. The only thing I like here are those werewolves. I never watched previous movies from this saga. But all in all, it deserves a 5, MAYBE even a 6, but that's it.
  18. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    I've heard people say that certain cinema-goers should lighten up and enjoy this film for what it was intended to be which was a little fun. However I can confirm that nothing actually happens in this film. There is very little storyline and to be honest I thought it was going to turn into some softcore porn the way the film was going! I could have condensed this film to about 25 minutes.
  19. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    One of the most interesting of the series, maybe we will see an improvement in performance and the scenarios are still pleasant, the story is good.
  20. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    The first thing I felt when the movie ended was disappointment. As a huge fan of the books I expected more from the first installment of the last book. Breaking Dawn is my favorite book in the Whole series and frankly I thought it could be so much better. I absolutely love the cast but some scenes were so bad in terms of acting like the first scene between Edward and Bella. Bill Condon left so many important details out. Some scenes that were so emotionally strong for me in the book were a joke in the movie like the wolves gathering which was suppose to be a big turn in jacobs' life and perspective. That scene in the book was sad and uneasy: Jacob had to make a huge choice that I think starts his maturity through the book. The honeymoon could be a lot better and the chess scenes were unnecessasry. The wedding scene were amazing. The dress was fabulous. The birth scene could be so much better if the director was more daring. This movie could be raised to a whole new level but the director didn't use the potential of the book in the movie. There were some great scenes but overall after watching this movie again I can say that I was disappointed. I am still waiting for the last movie so much and hope that it will be better then the first. So far from first looks i have what to look forward to ;) Expand
  21. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    Kristen Stewart's performance has finally approached Bella's character, she is still anti-social but not as much and her facial expressions variate at last. Still, the movie isn't what i thought it would be. A s a fan of the books, I expected more.
  22. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    Sat down with Claire - who's seen all the previous ones at the cinema - and both of us laughed and smirked our way through it. First half is tortuous, second half a little better but generally **** throughout. Claire said it was the worst film she'd ever seen.
  23. May 10, 2012
    4
    I have a question. What made you get into the line to see thiz movie in the first place? Just to see good looking faces or you want to see Edward and Bella hot honeymoon. If that is the case then you have got it all. Finally, the end of thiz saga will be completed in thiz last chapter where the chain of major events occurs such as the wedding, Bella pregnancy and the last battle. Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart are still in the spotlight, carrying their iconic figures. They both seem to have fun with their roles, however, their acting skills have shown either no decline or an improvement. Get ready for some mellow madness, because the story will grow more intimate. If you are a true fan of thiz franchise, you will be one of them who cheers and screams throughout the movie. You will see the marriage, the honeymoon night and yeah, a lot of kissing coming! What if you are not one of them? O ow! We have got a little problem here. You have definitely got into the wrong theater. Your nightmare is about to begin. It is pretty awkward and monotone to see the couple always flirt and pamper each other. I appreciate the first TWILIGHT (2008), there were some real romantic atmospheres there. But further and further away, the chemistry between Edward and Bella looks even more like badly overacting. It has already happened since NEW MOON (2009) and ECLIPSE (2010). It is Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black who gives a better performance. The other regular Cast members like Billy Burke, Ashley Greene, Jackson Rathbone, Kellan Lutz, Nikki Reed and Peter Facinelli made an exact impression of the previous movies. Three previous movies are directed by three different Directors and it happens in thiz sequel as well. Thiz time, the movie is directed by Bill Condon who is the man behind smash musical hit DREAMGIRLS in 2006. Cutting the last part into two movies was a terrible idea in the first place. Recently, HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS (2010-2011) had done the same, dividing their final installment into two movies but in that case it looked like a reasonable idea, considering the basic materials are too thick and so much to tell. But for Twilight Saga, thiz is totally insane. They have one purpose and one purpose only, to show more kissing and cheesy scenes. One word, it is awkward!



    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    Anyone who likes movies with vampires that sparkle in the sunlight are brain-dead morons. Also if your fantasy is making love to Edward Cullen you should keep dreaming because he cannot get an erection as his heart doesn't beat.
  25. Mar 18, 2012
    1
    This was just terrible only watch this or anymore if your a fan. Worst movie of the series, nothing interesting happens, this movie is an abomination. Looking at the other user reviews your either going to be a fan boy or a hater.
  26. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    I have watched every movie in this series. I have enjoyed every one of them. This one really begins to tie everything together and I think it was well done.
  27. rcj
    Mar 5, 2012
    0
    I'm a guy, I like all kinds of movies. Liked the 3rd Twilight, didn't much care for 1 & 2, Only becuase I liked #3 did I suffer through this unbelievably boring film -- NOTHING HAPPENS AT ALL FOR THE FIRST 70 MINUTES and not a hell of a lot after that. Not the actors fault - thought they were good.
  28. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    The Twilight series has always been the holy grail of movie making. They're cheaper to produce than your standard blockbuster, but raking in enormous amount of dough worldwide, averaging around $700 mill per movie! No wonder its producer decided to 'break' (no pun intended) its last book into two 'parts'. As with any such 'money grabbing' exercise, it ruins pacing completely. The first 45 min involves almost lingering shots of Bella having 'marriage' jitters. By around mid film, the actual plot started to move and BAM!! To be continued! Twilight fans will savor this pic but for those who don't really like it in the first place, no difference there. Expand
  29. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    Here is when my theory gets proved. Sequels are made for bad movies. This is the worst Movie of them 4 , what a bad script. This movie is just compensated by the effects that i have to admit are quite impressive. But the story is Garbage. I'm truly disappointed by these one, i was hopping to see more sparkle between the characters.
  30. Mar 2, 2012
    3
    What? Again? The first Twilight beautiful, New Moon regular, Eclipse awesome, and Breaking Dawn?... is terrible, really is very boring, the worst film of all this saga.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    20
    Bill Condon (Dreamgirls, Chicago, Gods and Monsters) takes over the directing reins for these final two parts; his most noteworthy contribution to the series so far is a terrifyingly staged birth scene that should turn the teen fan base off of sex altogether … which is precisely what this whole dumb, punishing series has been gunning for from the start.
  2. 60
    In any case, the last twenty minutes of Breaking Dawn are so harrowing that it's possible to forget that most of the acting is soap-operatic (the guy who plays Carlisle is aging to look like Liberace) and the dialogue from hunger. The movie's that primal.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 19, 2011
    50
    One seriously sick little blockbuster.