User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 468 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    This has to be one of the slowest-paced movies I have ever seen. Seriously, the beginning was so boring. At the end, you kinda felt a bit better, but that does not improve much on this film's rating. Honestly, if you ask for a summary of the film, all I can say is nothing happened.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    I am still confused as to what this film was about. All of the Twilight movies have carried a terrible script along with a bundle of Hollywood's most boring and untalented actors, but this film exceeded my expectations, I was expecting a feature film version of Secret Life Of An American Teenager, but what I got was a remake of 90210 but set in the north west. This film is about nothing really, its just a waste of time. Bella and Edward get married............ so what? Who the hell cares? This film has ZERO plot along with a script that was probably written by a high school student that dropped out after his first day as a freshman. This boring piece of crap is full of plot holes, terrible dialogue, a terrible premise, terrible acting, terrible everything, avoid this film at all costs. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    'Breaking Dawn Part 1' mostly consists of a bunch of irrelevant events, and in its third act; a birthing scene that was widely reported to be "intense" and "gruesome" ended up being largely overshadowed by irritating visual effects and a ridiculous storyline.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    2
    I'm giving this movie a 2, not because I'm a hater, but because that it what it deserved. Yes, I am a male and no, I do not hate the Twilight Saga. Up until this movie, I was actually starting to kinda like it. I always enjoyed watching it with my girlfriend and it had just the right mixture of romance, action, suspense and CGI. However, a lot of that universally appealing stuff was thrown out here. The majority of the movie was spent watching the couple trying to have sex. Usually in PG-13 movies, you get a sexual innuendo or implied sex scene but here, they focused entirely too much on it. The only action that happened, happened toward the end and that was promptly ruined by the absolutely grotesque imagery of a dying Bella giving birth to a vampireous creature. She dies while giving birth and is bitten repeatedly by Edward in an attempt to revive her. It was a mixture of a slasher film with pregnancy... not good. Also the whole idea of Jacob loving a baby in a romantic way, is borderline wrong. I don't really know what else to say about it other than, I wouldn't see it again. I gave it a 2 because I thought the series did a good job up until now and the 1 or 0 that it deserved would be harsh. Hopefully they used this is a semi-plot building movie and the next installment will do better. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    1
    Splitting the last book was unnecessary, something really ridiculous.

    When I thought the saga was still up, Dawn comes and detonates all A film unnecessary, ridiculous, so far as to have thrown my money away, as director Bill Condon died for me, the performances of Kristen continues ridiculous, not to nothing to save the movie, not anything good, is a enchição of things, the scene of
    pregnancy is the only good thing in the movie, and ends in a way unnecessary. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    0
    As far as the series goes, this movie was by far the worst. The first movie was nice because it was a refreshing fantasy romance novelty. Boy meets girl. Girl discovers that boy is a vampire. Evil vampire chases girl for blood. Boy and family kill evil vampire. After that movie, the rest of the films just took a jump off a clip. The rest of the movies just use the same recycled plot. We spend 3/4 of the movie listening to dialog. Finally at the end, there's a big vampire fight and the good guys win.

    I can live with that, but do they really have to give us the same old bland story for every movie? In this story, we spend roughly half of the movie watching a newlywed couple make love in the bed, the livingroom, the beach, and everywhere else they can think of. C'mmon...I'm eating nachos and I don't want to puke before the end of the movie. After THAT was finally over, we spend the next 35% of the movie talking about how Bella might DIE! At the end...WHEW! She's not dead! Of course no Twilight movie would be complete without a big battle with werewolves and vampires. The dogs look as artificial as ever. The vampires fight like they all have chronic constipation. Oh yeah, the good guys win...but there really aren't any real bad guys and there really isn't much at stake. It's just a big pointless fight with two groups of people that hate each other. They might as well wear gangster hats and sagging pants.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    It's . . . really bad, but fun to watch as a comedy.
  8. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    An altogether depressing experience at this point.
  9. Oct 6, 2012
    2
    Ever worsening saga (if it can be called a saga), the film is pessimo, paradão, you have nothing to draw attention ... bad visual effects, makeup improved somewhat, the performance worsened Kristen Stewart wakes !! The soundtrack so feeble, I hope part 2 excel and save the whole saga.
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    I've heard people say that certain cinema-goers should lighten up and enjoy this film for what it was intended to be which was a little fun. However I can confirm that nothing actually happens in this film. There is very little storyline and to be honest I thought it was going to turn into some softcore porn the way the film was going! I could have condensed this film to about 25 minutes.
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    Kristen Stewart's performance has finally approached Bella's character, she is still anti-social but not as much and her facial expressions variate at last. Still, the movie isn't what i thought it would be. A s a fan of the books, I expected more.
  12. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    Sat down with Claire - who's seen all the previous ones at the cinema - and both of us laughed and smirked our way through it. First half is tortuous, second half a little better but generally **** throughout. Claire said it was the worst film she'd ever seen.
  13. May 10, 2012
    4
    I have a question. What made you get into the line to see thiz movie in the first place? Just to see good looking faces or you want to see Edward and Bella hot honeymoon. If that is the case then you have got it all. Finally, the end of thiz saga will be completed in thiz last chapter where the chain of major events occurs such as the wedding, Bella pregnancy and the last battle. Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart are still in the spotlight, carrying their iconic figures. They both seem to have fun with their roles, however, their acting skills have shown either no decline or an improvement. Get ready for some mellow madness, because the story will grow more intimate. If you are a true fan of thiz franchise, you will be one of them who cheers and screams throughout the movie. You will see the marriage, the honeymoon night and yeah, a lot of kissing coming! What if you are not one of them? O ow! We have got a little problem here. You have definitely got into the wrong theater. Your nightmare is about to begin. It is pretty awkward and monotone to see the couple always flirt and pamper each other. I appreciate the first TWILIGHT (2008), there were some real romantic atmospheres there. But further and further away, the chemistry between Edward and Bella looks even more like badly overacting. It has already happened since NEW MOON (2009) and ECLIPSE (2010). It is Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black who gives a better performance. The other regular Cast members like Billy Burke, Ashley Greene, Jackson Rathbone, Kellan Lutz, Nikki Reed and Peter Facinelli made an exact impression of the previous movies. Three previous movies are directed by three different Directors and it happens in thiz sequel as well. Thiz time, the movie is directed by Bill Condon who is the man behind smash musical hit DREAMGIRLS in 2006. Cutting the last part into two movies was a terrible idea in the first place. Recently, HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS (2010-2011) had done the same, dividing their final installment into two movies but in that case it looked like a reasonable idea, considering the basic materials are too thick and so much to tell. But for Twilight Saga, thiz is totally insane. They have one purpose and one purpose only, to show more kissing and cheesy scenes. One word, it is awkward!



    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    Anyone who likes movies with vampires that sparkle in the sunlight are brain-dead morons. Also if your fantasy is making love to Edward Cullen you should keep dreaming because he cannot get an erection as his heart doesn't beat.
  15. Mar 18, 2012
    1
    This was just terrible only watch this or anymore if your a fan. Worst movie of the series, nothing interesting happens, this movie is an abomination. Looking at the other user reviews your either going to be a fan boy or a hater.
  16. rcj
    Mar 5, 2012
    0
    I'm a guy, I like all kinds of movies. Liked the 3rd Twilight, didn't much care for 1 & 2, Only becuase I liked #3 did I suffer through this unbelievably boring film -- NOTHING HAPPENS AT ALL FOR THE FIRST 70 MINUTES and not a hell of a lot after that. Not the actors fault - thought they were good.
  17. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    Here is when my theory gets proved. Sequels are made for bad movies. This is the worst Movie of them 4 , what a bad script. This movie is just compensated by the effects that i have to admit are quite impressive. But the story is Garbage. I'm truly disappointed by these one, i was hopping to see more sparkle between the characters.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    3
    What? Again? The first Twilight beautiful, New Moon regular, Eclipse awesome, and Breaking Dawn?... is terrible, really is very boring, the worst film of all this saga.
  19. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    A movie that is largely aimed at teenage girls, and is showing sex. Really? Is this what the world really needs? Shame on you Stephanie Meyer.
  20. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Ok this movie is utter garbage. The only good movie of the three, is the first one. It's been almost 1:20 and not a single death. The first 35 min is the wedding, another 30 min of a honeymoon and another hour of Bella being prego. JUNK!!
  21. Feb 11, 2012
    3
    The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1, this film is simply insurpotavel simply because the actors are bad and boring and also has special effects that many are ridiculous and the blood is too fake, another reason is that the makeup is horrible
  22. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    Well, for some inexplicable reason I went to see â
  23. Feb 3, 2012
    3
    Man i laugh so hard during this movie. It was a lot funnier than the first three. they where funny too. Hold on my wife just told me that they where not comedy movies. Man that sucks now they are not funny any more. They are just plain DUMB!!!!!!!!!! 3 out of 10 because it made me laugh.
  24. Jan 22, 2012
    2
    Hands down the worst movie of the year. I did not mind Twilight or Eclipse, but this was just downright garbage. The acting somehow got worse and it was so slow. When Jacob was in wolf form and was talking to the other wolves, I was laughing so hard. The voice over was so awful, it was funny. I cannot wait for this series just to end! Bring on the Hunger Games! And if you like vampires and other stuff like that, just watch True Blood. The Vampire Diaries are also acceptable. They both follow, what vampires should be. Not this mindless trash. Expand
  25. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    I can't believe someone had the courage to make this terrible movie. What were they thinking?? Probably they wanted to make people throw their money out, because this movie doesn't worth any cent.
    Terrible...horrible, what next? They really have the courage to make part 2?? Really??
    I hate the twilight saga so bad...i went to the cinema with my friends to see how bad this would be. Looks
    like i was wrong. It's not bad...IT'S TERRIBLE!!!!!! Expand
  26. Jan 4, 2012
    4
    I got a kindle for christmas two years ago and read all the twilight books in an 8 hour stretch because they happened to be on sale. I'd forgotten how ridiculous some of the plot (particularly the baby's name) is in the story. I think the director and screen writers stayed to close to the plot and original (bad) writing and didn't clean it up for the wider movie audience. I think these choices made the movie worse than it could have been. Still, being that I overall enjoyed the ridiculous fluff of the books, I'll probably see the final part 2 as well. Expand
  27. Dec 25, 2011
    2
    Overall Movie: 2 Acting: 5 Storyline: 0 Based on countless sex scenes and a bunch of fake drama, the Twilight series has officially collapsed. Not to mention that I don't care wether either Bella or Edward die. That's how good the acting is.
  28. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    If the production of this so called saga is getting better, the same cannot be said about the storyline. Possessing some ridiculous plot twists and devoid of a meaningful narrative, "The Twilight Series" finally hits the rock bottom with "Breaking Dawn, part 1"
  29. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    The first part was terrible. Too long, boring and sometimes with really ridiculous scenes. The second one was decent, but despite this, the film does not deserve sufficiency.
  30. Dec 17, 2011
    2
    With an extremely promising beginning for the first time and a huge improvement on performances and just beautiful cinematography keep Breaking Dawn Part 1 from completely being one of the most awful films of the year, filled with an awful performance from Taylor Lautner and just terribly unintentional funny moments make this the worst addition to the Twilight Saga yet. I give this 20% of a good movie. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    20
    Bill Condon (Dreamgirls, Chicago, Gods and Monsters) takes over the directing reins for these final two parts; his most noteworthy contribution to the series so far is a terrifyingly staged birth scene that should turn the teen fan base off of sex altogether … which is precisely what this whole dumb, punishing series has been gunning for from the start.
  2. 60
    In any case, the last twenty minutes of Breaking Dawn are so harrowing that it's possible to forget that most of the acting is soap-operatic (the guy who plays Carlisle is aging to look like Liberace) and the dialogue from hunger. The movie's that primal.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 19, 2011
    50
    One seriously sick little blockbuster.