User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 538 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    3
    I've always enjoyed the Twilight movies. Not because they're good, but because they're absolutely horrendous. The script is bad, the plot is bad, the acting is bad, the directing and editing is bad, and all the guys can't go five minutes without taking their shirts off. All that combines to make something that is absolutely hilarious to watch. My friend and I once talked about having aI've always enjoyed the Twilight movies. Not because they're good, but because they're absolutely horrendous. The script is bad, the plot is bad, the acting is bad, the directing and editing is bad, and all the guys can't go five minutes without taking their shirts off. All that combines to make something that is absolutely hilarious to watch. My friend and I once talked about having a drinking game, where we would watch Twilight and take a drink whenever there was a facepalm moment on screen. We eventually decided against it because we would have gotten drunk within the first ten minutes.

    So I went into Breaking Dawn expecting more of the same, and I got it. Dialogue so incredibly bad and cheesy you could spread it on a biscuit and eat it. Acting so flat and wooden you could make an IKEA chair with it, or several. There were so many facepalm moments that I think my forehead was red when I walked out. Directing is slightly better this time though, that's some good at least.

    I did enjoy this movie, but please don't mistake it for me saying that this is a good movie, it's not. I enjoyed it because it's terrible. If you're a fan, go ahead and watch it (though you probably already have). If you're like me, think about watching it if you have the time (and money). If you're not a fan, this movie won't change your mind about the series. Avoid it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    2
    Dear Stephanie Meyer, You Ripped off Buffy the vampire slayer and Southern Vampire Mysteries and have been far too successful with it. This films pacing is off, acting is wooden and there is no humour except for the terribly written dialogue and ugly unconvincing CGI. Bella is barely a character and more of cardboard cut out, who really isn't a very good example to young women. This girlDear Stephanie Meyer, You Ripped off Buffy the vampire slayer and Southern Vampire Mysteries and have been far too successful with it. This films pacing is off, acting is wooden and there is no humour except for the terribly written dialogue and ugly unconvincing CGI. Bella is barely a character and more of cardboard cut out, who really isn't a very good example to young women. This girl is badly harmed after having sex with her husband, but its ok cause he didn't mean to do it. That's very reminiscent of what a lot of women in physically abusive relationships say. It may be fantasy, but teenagers and younger are heavily influenced by what they read and watch so I'm gonna ask Stephanie Meyer.... Can you either stop writing books OR have Buffy (you already stole the characters romance why not the whole character) and have an empowering woman that teens can look up to and not feel repressed by her male counter parts. Thanks
    Jay Johnson
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    1
    Another disappointing sequel, from start to finish, clearly aimed at young teen aged girls, who love the cast members more than the actual movie. The special effects left a lot to be desired, the film concentrates too much on teenage love drama, and forgets to add relevant action sequences to at least keep the non fans audience entertained. This film is aimed straight at the core fanAnother disappointing sequel, from start to finish, clearly aimed at young teen aged girls, who love the cast members more than the actual movie. The special effects left a lot to be desired, the film concentrates too much on teenage love drama, and forgets to add relevant action sequences to at least keep the non fans audience entertained. This film is aimed straight at the core fan base, its a cash cow with little investment and effort. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    1
    I take it these are all big teenage twilight fans wrting reviews because their all 10's and thats stupid. These movies are a joke. This is supposed to be modern day cinema? My god. These movies are terrible, ill admit Robert Pattinson can act but definitely notin these movies, Kristen Stewart is just ok, but seriously? Why is Taylor Lautner an actor? Hes garbage, oh yeah thats right cuz ofI take it these are all big teenage twilight fans wrting reviews because their all 10's and thats stupid. These movies are a joke. This is supposed to be modern day cinema? My god. These movies are terrible, ill admit Robert Pattinson can act but definitely notin these movies, Kristen Stewart is just ok, but seriously? Why is Taylor Lautner an actor? Hes garbage, oh yeah thats right cuz of the steroids hes on. I wish my gf did not want to see this because it was so bad, i even fell asleep on multiple occasions. The movie just drags and drags and you hope for something to happen but nope, juet another boring scene after another. Whatever happened to vampires not being gay and glittery? Absolute garbage, hated it with a passion Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    Breaking Dawn, Part I has negative moments that gives nothing for the series, it takes us way too serious to understand. The wooden characters are rehashing the same dialogue since the last three movies. I still can't believe that these two couples are doing over and over again and we were sick the entire premise that gives us more hint that we feel we want something new. This movie failsBreaking Dawn, Part I has negative moments that gives nothing for the series, it takes us way too serious to understand. The wooden characters are rehashing the same dialogue since the last three movies. I still can't believe that these two couples are doing over and over again and we were sick the entire premise that gives us more hint that we feel we want something new. This movie fails for pushing the boundary of PG-13 to R Rated flick. There's a sex scene were Edward and Bella are making out that there's no PG-13 to put it like this. The story is so dumb, too goofable, and too horrendous at the same time. It still couldn't get better that we seen these movies in hundred times before. This movie is dumb and stupid, but it's for only tween girls only to enjoy until Part II. And for us, we must ignore it until it finished, but don't worry people, it will done soon. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    As with all the other films in the series nothing really happens except for a bare few minutes of plot development and even those moments are handled in a dull and boring way. The actors appear to be getting bored of the franchise or at least that's how their acting seems to portray it as with Kristen Stewart somehow playing her emotionless shell of a character Bella with even fewer facialAs with all the other films in the series nothing really happens except for a bare few minutes of plot development and even those moments are handled in a dull and boring way. The actors appear to be getting bored of the franchise or at least that's how their acting seems to portray it as with Kristen Stewart somehow playing her emotionless shell of a character Bella with even fewer facial expressions than normal. Robert Patterson as Edward is at least trying but it doesn't work and Tayler Lautner whom is normally a reasonably good actor puts on a terrible performance. The writing is stale and uncreative, the music is a mixture of a cheesy pop song music videos and the odd nice orchestral score and the directing is awful. Special effects are laughably bad as well but the worst thing is that people seem to like it. This film is an insult to the film industry and is not only the worst film of 2011, the worst film of the past five years but also one of the worst films of all time. Terrible. And the only reason it's in two parts is because Harry Potter did it! Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    2
    Not as bad as expected, but ...

    This new film from Twilight saga, has major improvements over the previous two. However, it still has serious problems with the special effects and a story full of predictable cliches and nonsense narrative ... sorry, it was a great effort by Bill Condon ...
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    3
    i can not believe people can watch this... I think this movie is for the "fans" of the twilight only iam sorry but iam not a person to give this low score but this is just bad.
  9. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Don't waste your time with this. Sex Scenes and Blood. That is what this movie is. Twiilight has RIPPED OFF Harry Potter with the 2 part final movie crap.
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    Sorry I meant to give it a 0.
    Alucard (Dracula's son) could kick Edwards a*s.
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Terrible acting, terrible especial effects, terrible screenplay, i can understand when a girl says that she likes this movie because of the actors but i cant really undersand when someone says that this a beautiful love story, is full of cliches, boring, breaks completely the mithology of the vampires and of course it has unnecessary drama, the lower score that i usually give to a movie isTerrible acting, terrible especial effects, terrible screenplay, i can understand when a girl says that she likes this movie because of the actors but i cant really undersand when someone says that this a beautiful love story, is full of cliches, boring, breaks completely the mithology of the vampires and of course it has unnecessary drama, the lower score that i usually give to a movie is 1 out of 10, but this movie is simply NOTHING,NOTHING in this movie is good NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTHING! Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    lol, theres nothing to say but laugh in the face of every single person involved in this movie and tell them that they have just wasted so much time of there life. Not only is this the worst of em all, it is the most emo styled one yet. I'll admit I did not sit through the whole movie, just had to walk out. The movie is just crap, the story is told in a weak way, the acting is better inlol, theres nothing to say but laugh in the face of every single person involved in this movie and tell them that they have just wasted so much time of there life. Not only is this the worst of em all, it is the most emo styled one yet. I'll admit I did not sit through the whole movie, just had to walk out. The movie is just crap, the story is told in a weak way, the acting is better in this Twilight, but it is still horrible acting on the part of the Younger stars( Kirsten, Robbert, Taylor). The story just dives deeper and deeper into a Emo Soap Opera style movie. Without one smile throughout the movie, I felt like the movie was making me more miserable the more I sat next to the Twilight loosers with no life hoping to meet the stars one day. The CGI is better in the movie, but honestly don't waste time, its the worst 1 yet Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    OK, this is the WORST GARBAGE I have ever seen in my life.How is this even for small kids, gj showing them the sex scenes, where is this world going now? are 10 years girls going to get pregnant and get thoughts about abortion?

    1 of the worst movies ever made.
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Bad plot, bad actors, no deep, the only ok think is the sex scene. 10 years girls are watching this movie, good way to sell your movies.

    Bad parents would be proud to show this to their kids.
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    I never realized how much over acting was put into the twilight saga until now. I don't know how I didn't notice it but after Breaking Dawn: Part 1 it is clear just how bad the twilight movies are. The lack of exciting plot twists and just the general confusion of everything in this film made me throw up in my mouth a little bit. I don't understand how the producers thought it was okay toI never realized how much over acting was put into the twilight saga until now. I don't know how I didn't notice it but after Breaking Dawn: Part 1 it is clear just how bad the twilight movies are. The lack of exciting plot twists and just the general confusion of everything in this film made me throw up in my mouth a little bit. I don't understand how the producers thought it was okay to make such large jumps in the plot and assume the audience would still be able to follow along. I'd rather watch 9/11 the musical. I'm going to save my ticket stub so when I see God in heaven I can simply say, "I saw this horrible movie so I better get in." Don't wast your time people. Please. Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    I cant believe this kind of movie exist. Unbelieve. With the budget another director can create a much better movie. Another disappointing sequel, from start to finish, clearly aimed at young teen aged girls, who love the cast members more than the actual movie. May as well be a two hour spot for teen bride magazine.
  17. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    To put it simply... IT WAS GAY...................................................................................................................... -__-
  18. Nov 22, 2011
    1
    Listen folks, I am not a hater. I do not go into a film like Breaking Dawn and expect a "The Squid and the Whale" type of experience. Belive me, I am not one of those reviewers that expected to be blown away. I really enjoyed what I have seen of these movies so far, particularly the second one. What I expected going into this film was something that was relevant, tastefully executed (likeListen folks, I am not a hater. I do not go into a film like Breaking Dawn and expect a "The Squid and the Whale" type of experience. Belive me, I am not one of those reviewers that expected to be blown away. I really enjoyed what I have seen of these movies so far, particularly the second one. What I expected going into this film was something that was relevant, tastefully executed (like the second installment), suspenseful, fun, romantic and ya... I even expected some big flamboyant thrilling special effects. Instead what I got I can only describe as a Pro-life commercial produced by the LDS church and Hallmark. These were moments in the film where I was honestly covering up my eyes because I could not even bare to watch it. The writing of this film was on par with a melodramatic halloween episode of "Thats so Raven". Where as I really enjoy Robert Pattinson on screen in anything, I have got to say that generally I have seen better acting in an episode of Power Rangers. Surprisingly enough, considering that past films, I dont think I have ever heard a more pathetic soundtrack in a movie. This film was supposed to be romantic...I have no clue where. In order to have romance you have got to have chemistry. Nobody in this entire movie even seemed like they even liked each other. It felt like actors just popping their heads in to cash in for the say while wearing awful, awful stage makeup.The score was one of the most obnoxious, pippy, bland scores I have heard in my life. It felt like they purchased stock sitcom music on a website for 1.49 a song. On top of all of this, on top of the horrible story, the rotton acting, the putrid score and the general train wreck that was "Breaking dawn"...the worst part is how 100% dirt cheap it felt. Honestly... this movie is exploitation. They are stealing from teenage girls. It felt like this movie was made with maybe 15 million dollars. In actuality the budget is higher than this but really... I have no idea where the money went to. The special effects of the werewolves were maybe the only effects in the film, and there was about as much care put into their animations as there is in an episode of Dora the Explorer. Do not let this film rob you of your hard earned cash. If you see this movie, do it the right way. With a guy named "herb" ;o) Maybe then it would be worth the price of admission cause you would be losing your **** with laughter watching what is perhaps one of the most embarrassing films I have ever seen in my life. Expand
  19. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    УважаемÑ
  20. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In this nearly two hour installment of internationally best-selling series Twilight, the audience is faced with a bewildering array of plot thickenings, ever-deepening conflicts which threaten the very livelihood of the parties involved, and plenty of angst-ridden scenes of tanned, shirtless, six-packed males running through pouring rain as they morph into werewolves, scenes so embarrassingly prevalent in this series that it's almost become cliché to mention them in a review. On a visceral level, the camerawork retains several flaws: there are countless long shots which contain nothing that will sustain the fickle interest of even the most dedicated Twilight fans. Scattered throughout the length of the film are several shots of actors visibly glaring into the camera, as if admit to the whole fake and kitsch air the film carries (see scene with robotic dubbed-over werewolf voices, reminiscent of dalogue in Trasformers) .Now I generally can take a gander as to why a certain scene was filmed in a certain way, though I am at a total loss as to understand how an close-up extended shot of our protagonist, then relatively unaffected, against the backdrop of a painfully faux wallpaper which resembles a bookcase either to augment emotional complexity or visual interest. Not surprisingly, the same holds true for the selection of music, with midi-file violins screeching in unison in boring tonal patterns at even the minutest emotional climax and, perhaps most kvetch-worthy, the selection of indie sounding songs that loom over characters as they stand and blankly stare, attempting to look pensive. But chances are if you schlepped yourself to the theatre to view Twilight as a true drama and not as an accidental comedy, then emotional complexity, visual interest, or music selection likely bear no importance to you. However, it is not the grave lack of aesthetic appeal, but the grave lack of mentally engaging substance which is most alarming. Perhaps it is naïve of me to downplay the pimply preteen paranormal melodrama that is Twilight for its lack of intellectually demanding content, though even the shoddiest and most sloppily thrown together stories inevitably contain some message: Twilight is no exception. Throughout the film, there is a painfully obvious tendency to objectify women, painting them merely as passive recipients of violently destructive, even life-endangering masculine elements which necessarily accompany their love. Not to mention to horrifically blood-drenched scene of Bella's delivery, a gory slew of images sure to keep all virgins virgin and forever brutalize the feminine element in the creation of life. This anti-feminist element stands in stark contrast to the current trend in commercial films, which is undoubtedly one of neo-feminism ; take, for instance, the capable female protagonist of Black Swan, attempting to balance a professional career with a distressing personal life, an endeavor which her male instructor has already accomplished. Now some might suggest that this rampant anti-feminism is an unintended byproduct Meyer's religiosity, though, in her defense, such weighty and divisive social issues would not be consciously selected by such a, as Stephen King labels her, "bad" writer. So the tumultuous first part of the last installment of the Twilight series proves no different than the rest: a swarm of hapless humanoid creatures attempting to come to grips with emotional constructs by hesitantly reciting lines which sound like they were pulled straight out of a cancelled midday soap opera, characters so shallow and undeveloped that even the most compassionate individual struggles to sympathize with them, a plot so unbelievable, yet so predictable, in whole, a chaotic mishmash of events so unrelatable, that the only real, or living, thing contained within them seems to be the few ounces of blood which drip from the victims' necks or stagnate in Bella's styrofoam cup. So it is courtesy of Twilight that there now exists a "Teen Paranormal Romance" section in your local bookstore: three long shelves housing unfortunately copious amounts of Twilight paraphernalia, and even more unfortunately, a seemingly infinite amount of desperate copycats, some going so far as to steal the plain-black, single image cover layout and spindly font headings from Twilight, perhaps condescendingly assuming that preteens might just be illiterate enough to seek out books solely by their covers. And who, living in such a society of culture whores, can honestly blame them? . Now, despite the invective tone of this review, there remains one serious item, I must confess, which one can squeeze out of Breaking Dawn, an item conveniently revealed to us in Bella Swan's initials: "Stay away, intelligent moviegoers! This franchise is nothing but bullshit"!

    .
    Expand
  21. Dec 2, 2011
    3
    The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 will wast you valuable 117 min from your life ! This is not a movie,its just a pain .Everything in this movie sucks . I mean seriously ? really ? Bill Condon congrats you have become top of my worst director ever . As for the actors , Please take acting lessons (specialty Rob , Kristy and T Lau) if they want i will pay but please don't stand inThe Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 will wast you valuable 117 min from your life ! This is not a movie,its just a pain .Everything in this movie sucks . I mean seriously ? really ? Bill Condon congrats you have become top of my worst director ever . As for the actors , Please take acting lessons (specialty Rob , Kristy and T Lau) if they want i will pay but please don't stand in front of a camera until that . They only thing i like was the two soundtrack from the first part and others sucks !
    I actually liked the first part but now i regret it !
    P.S. : say hello to Golden Raspberry coz TTS:BD P1 will wil every single Award there !
    Expand
  22. Nov 21, 2011
    1
    Absolutely disgusting movie! Don't waste your money and time for it.
    I think is the front-runner for Razzie Awards next year...
    Absolutely disgusting movie! Don't waste your money and time for it.
    I think is the front-runner for Razzie Awards next year...
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Wow, a movie that makes "Jack and Jill" look like high art. Boyfriends everywhere beware, it is better to dump your girlfriend than to let he make you watch this. Certainly the least "vampire like" vampire movie I have ever seen. May as well be a two hour spot for teen bride magazine.
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Dear Stephanie Meyer, You Ripped off Buffy the vampire slayer and Southern Vampire Mysteries and have been far too successful with it. [2] The worst movie ever made in the Universe
  25. Dec 17, 2011
    2
    With an extremely promising beginning for the first time and a huge improvement on performances and just beautiful cinematography keep Breaking Dawn Part 1 from completely being one of the most awful films of the year, filled with an awful performance from Taylor Lautner and just terribly unintentional funny moments make this the worst addition to the Twilight Saga yet. I give this 20% ofWith an extremely promising beginning for the first time and a huge improvement on performances and just beautiful cinematography keep Breaking Dawn Part 1 from completely being one of the most awful films of the year, filled with an awful performance from Taylor Lautner and just terribly unintentional funny moments make this the worst addition to the Twilight Saga yet. I give this 20% of a good movie. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    I went into it, not seeing any of the previous ones, and not knowing what to expect. My girlfriend wanted to see it, so I said whatever and went. I knew it wasn't going to be good, but like, really... This was possibly, the worst movie, I have seen, in, my, life. Just...don't.
  27. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Very bored, is a picture only for fans and made for fans, the directors dont offers nothing new and the actors are for crying. The history is horrible i dont understand why is so popular. Under your own risk to see
  28. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    The saga is alright, I enjoy the story...this piece though was very boring...drawn out. It could have been condensed to about 15 minutes. Too many 'i said something funny' moments for me.
  29. Nov 26, 2011
    3
    My expectations were higher. But again: what can you expect from Twilight ? The storyline was boring, no real tension; only to busy the minds of teenage girls with pregnancy and "oh.. Edward". There was no real addition to the love triangle. I gave it a three because of the excellent soundtrack. That's the only good thing it had. What a waste of time to watch it. Don't. Just read theMy expectations were higher. But again: what can you expect from Twilight ? The storyline was boring, no real tension; only to busy the minds of teenage girls with pregnancy and "oh.. Edward". There was no real addition to the love triangle. I gave it a three because of the excellent soundtrack. That's the only good thing it had. What a waste of time to watch it. Don't. Just read the books. That's enough. Expand
  30. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    Absolutely hated it and i didnt even get what was going on i was so distracted by the dumbness of it all.it wasnt even fun to watch and laugh at as a bad movie...It was just that miserable.Bad acting,special effects,storytelling,but it is still probably the best of them all,which isnt saying much.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    20
    Bill Condon (Dreamgirls, Chicago, Gods and Monsters) takes over the directing reins for these final two parts; his most noteworthy contribution to the series so far is a terrifyingly staged birth scene that should turn the teen fan base off of sex altogether … which is precisely what this whole dumb, punishing series has been gunning for from the start.
  2. 60
    In any case, the last twenty minutes of Breaking Dawn are so harrowing that it's possible to forget that most of the acting is soap-operatic (the guy who plays Carlisle is aging to look like Liberace) and the dialogue from hunger. The movie's that primal.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 19, 2011
    50
    One seriously sick little blockbuster.