The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 562 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Bella and Edward, plus those they love, must deal with the chain of consequences brought on by the marriage, honeymoon, and the tumultuous birth of a child, which brings an unforeseen and shocking development for Jacob Black. With more romance, passion, intrigue and action, the conclusion ofBella and Edward, plus those they love, must deal with the chain of consequences brought on by the marriage, honeymoon, and the tumultuous birth of a child, which brings an unforeseen and shocking development for Jacob Black. With more romance, passion, intrigue and action, the conclusion of The Twilight Saga begins. (Summit Entertainment) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 17, 2011
    75
    Worthy of mention is Carolina Herrera's design for Bella's wedding dress, sophisticated and demure in the front and Pippa Middleton sexy, and proper, in the back.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 17, 2011
    67
    It may be impossible for anyone but existing fans to take this seriously, but for the unconverted, it's still a legitimately engaging, gape-worthy nutso spectacle.
  3. 60
    In any case, the last twenty minutes of Breaking Dawn are so harrowing that it's possible to forget that most of the acting is soap-operatic (the guy who plays Carlisle is aging to look like Liberace) and the dialogue from hunger. The movie's that primal.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 17, 2011
    50
    The movie is long and uniquely bad, the last of Stephenie Meyer's four books greedily tortured into two installments.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 17, 2011
    42
    What we learn in this all-pain/no-pleasure episode is that marriage feels like a life sentence, weddings are miserable events, honeymoon sex is dangerous and leaves a bride covered in bruises, and pregnancy is a torment that leads to death in exchange for birth.
  6. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Nov 17, 2011
    40
    Sex and abortion are the main topics of this installment, which tips between dullness and total camp.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    20
    Bill Condon (Dreamgirls, Chicago, Gods and Monsters) takes over the directing reins for these final two parts; his most noteworthy contribution to the series so far is a terrifyingly staged birth scene that should turn the teen fan base off of sex altogether … which is precisely what this whole dumb, punishing series has been gunning for from the start.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 198
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    I loved it! It was better than the book in my opinion because it highlighted the important parts and left out a lot of the other stuff.I loved it! It was better than the book in my opinion because it highlighted the important parts and left out a lot of the other stuff. Looking forward to part 2. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a gorgeous wedding!! Edward and Bella look beautiful and I absolutely loved the wedding dress, sophisticated and sexy at the same time!!! Thought the speeches were hilarious too! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely loved it! This movie is all about sheer light hearted entertainment . Anybody who takes this seriously should really get theirAbsolutely loved it! This movie is all about sheer light hearted entertainment . Anybody who takes this seriously should really get their heads examined!! I'm talking about all those people who can not just go to the movies for a bit of fun!! Lighten up people! It is not supposed to be all serious. I like how this movie did not try to be anything other than what is is. Fun. Expand
  4. Doz
    Dec 12, 2011
    7
    First I hate this Part 1 & Part 2 thing. But in light of that, the story could not of unfolded in a more condensed format and still stayedFirst I hate this Part 1 & Part 2 thing. But in light of that, the story could not of unfolded in a more condensed format and still stayed true to the novels. When you stand back and look at what the Twilight saga is trying to achieve it does hit it mark quite well. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2015
    4
    Al igual que Eclipse, Breaking Dawn Part 1 es un capitulo mas innecesario, aburrido, ridículo, tedioso y sin grandes sorpresas, Harry PotterAl igual que Eclipse, Breaking Dawn Part 1 es un capitulo mas innecesario, aburrido, ridículo, tedioso y sin grandes sorpresas, Harry Potter dividió su ultima película en 2 partes (y funciono) pero esta primera parte es solo un relleno mas para llegar a la conclusión y al igual que Eclipse, lo mas "emocionante" son los 30 minutos finales... Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2014
    2
    These are the ways how to face this dreadful movie:

    1º- Take it as a comedy film and laugh as how stupid it is. 2º Take this serious and
    These are the ways how to face this dreadful movie:

    1º- Take it as a comedy film and laugh as how stupid it is.
    2º Take this serious and prepare to be attacked by a monstrous boredom.
    Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    I can't believe someone had the courage to make this terrible movie. What were they thinking?? Probably they wanted to make people throw theirI can't believe someone had the courage to make this terrible movie. What were they thinking?? Probably they wanted to make people throw their money out, because this movie doesn't worth any cent.
    Terrible...horrible, what next? They really have the courage to make part 2?? Really??
    I hate the twilight saga so bad...i went to the cinema with my friends to see how bad this would be. Looks like i was wrong. It's not bad...IT'S TERRIBLE!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 198 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  3. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.