Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 470 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Bella and Edward, plus those they love, must deal with the chain of consequences brought on by the marriage, honeymoon, and the tumultuous birth of a child, which brings an unforeseen and shocking development for Jacob Black. With more romance, passion, intrigue and action, the conclusion of The Twilight Saga begins. (Summit Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 17, 2011
    75
    Worthy of mention is Carolina Herrera's design for Bella's wedding dress, sophisticated and demure in the front and Pippa Middleton sexy, and proper, in the back.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 17, 2011
    67
    It may be impossible for anyone but existing fans to take this seriously, but for the unconverted, it's still a legitimately engaging, gape-worthy nutso spectacle.
  3. 60
    In any case, the last twenty minutes of Breaking Dawn are so harrowing that it's possible to forget that most of the acting is soap-operatic (the guy who plays Carlisle is aging to look like Liberace) and the dialogue from hunger. The movie's that primal.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 17, 2011
    50
    The movie is long and uniquely bad, the last of Stephenie Meyer's four books greedily tortured into two installments.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 17, 2011
    42
    What we learn in this all-pain/no-pleasure episode is that marriage feels like a life sentence, weddings are miserable events, honeymoon sex is dangerous and leaves a bride covered in bruises, and pregnancy is a torment that leads to death in exchange for birth.
  6. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Nov 17, 2011
    40
    Sex and abortion are the main topics of this installment, which tips between dullness and total camp.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 23, 2011
    20
    Bill Condon (Dreamgirls, Chicago, Gods and Monsters) takes over the directing reins for these final two parts; his most noteworthy contribution to the series so far is a terrifyingly staged birth scene that should turn the teen fan base off of sex altogether … which is precisely what this whole dumb, punishing series has been gunning for from the start.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 196
  1. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I think they did a fantastic job of bringing the story from the book to life. Obviously if you hate the book you are probably going to hate the movie and if you love the book you will love the movie. Simple. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a gorgeous wedding!! Edward and Bella look beautiful and I absolutely loved the wedding dress, sophisticated and sexy at the same time!!! Thought the speeches were hilarious too! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely loved it! This movie is all about sheer light hearted entertainment . Anybody who takes this seriously should really get their heads examined!! I'm talking about all those people who can not just go to the movies for a bit of fun!! Lighten up people! It is not supposed to be all serious. I like how this movie did not try to be anything other than what is is. Fun. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    The Twilight Saga will never please everyone. Its built-in audience will be enraptured or enraged, depending on how faithful the material is to the books. For the rest of us, we look at these as romantic werewolf and vampire movies with the occasional dash of action thrown in for good measure. Yes, there is some seriously suspect special effects and make-up work going on here, but if we can live with Tom Cruise in a blond wig, then I guess we can do the same for Peter Facinelli. Go see this movie if you have already seen the other two, otherwise move on to something that you might enjoy more (after consulting your friends on Metacritic, of course). The big sex scene is naughty enough but not too overwrought. I believe they should have tipped the housekeepers, but that's just my opinion. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    An altogether depressing experience at this point.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    Breaking Dawn, Part I has negative moments that gives nothing for the series, it takes us way too serious to understand. The wooden characters are rehashing the same dialogue since the last three movies. I still can't believe that these two couples are doing over and over again and we were sick the entire premise that gives us more hint that we feel we want something new. This movie fails for pushing the boundary of PG-13 to R Rated flick. There's a sex scene were Edward and Bella are making out that there's no PG-13 to put it like this. The story is so dumb, too goofable, and too horrendous at the same time. It still couldn't get better that we seen these movies in hundred times before. This movie is dumb and stupid, but it's for only tween girls only to enjoy until Part II. And for us, we must ignore it until it finished, but don't worry people, it will done soon. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    As with all the other films in the series nothing really happens except for a bare few minutes of plot development and even those moments are handled in a dull and boring way. The actors appear to be getting bored of the franchise or at least that's how their acting seems to portray it as with Kristen Stewart somehow playing her emotionless shell of a character Bella with even fewer facial expressions than normal. Robert Patterson as Edward is at least trying but it doesn't work and Tayler Lautner whom is normally a reasonably good actor puts on a terrible performance. The writing is stale and uncreative, the music is a mixture of a cheesy pop song music videos and the odd nice orchestral score and the directing is awful. Special effects are laughably bad as well but the worst thing is that people seem to like it. This film is an insult to the film industry and is not only the worst film of 2011, the worst film of the past five years but also one of the worst films of all time. Terrible. And the only reason it's in two parts is because Harry Potter did it! Expand

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.