Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    By the time the great vampire showdown finally got started, I was good and done with Breaking Dawn, Part 2. But the big action scene is so campily over the top - with one twist so unforeseeable - that it sent me out on a burst of grudging goodwill.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Despite the slow start Mr. Condon closes the series in fine, smooth style. He gives fans all the lovely flowers, conditioned hair and lightly erotic, dreamy kisses they deserve.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Bella's an empowered badass in this last installment, wielding newborn strength while showing unusual self-control and learning to use her new abilities - and that's why things feel off.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    The dialogue remains spotty and sappy, the effects still haven't caught up to modern-day standards, but "Twilight's" popularity is such that even when it falls short, it doesn't seem to matter.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    And now, just as Bella Swan (Stewart) embraces her own eternal power, Breaking Dawn, Part 2 expands with a full intensity of force, stronger and more epic than the films that led to this impactful finale.
  6. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Fans will be left on a high; other viewers will be confused but generally entertained by a saga whose romance is matched only by its weirdness.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 16, 2012
    50
    I'm not a religious man but, Hallelujah! I may not be done with Meyer but at least I'll never again have to cope with the angst, self-absorption, and vampire mythology mutilation that characterized these five movies.
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    It's about as exciting as watching David Blaine play Stratego and makes you miss the power of the first four films all the more: the uncontainable yearning of the Bella-Edward-Jacob triangle.
  9. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    There may never have been a movie whose quality mattered less than this final chapter of The Twilight Saga.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    It's Dead! It's Dead! By which I mean, It's Finished! It's Finished! Five movies have been squeezed out of four Stephenie Meyer Twilight books. All of them redefining cinematic tedium for a new century. And now, It's Over! It's Over! No more Twilight movies EVER! I'm so joyful that I might be overrating The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2 by saying it's not half bad.
  11. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    The franchise... concludes with a genuinely stirring ending. ... But [Stewart's] acting hasn't improved, and the dialogue remains laughable. Bad actress, bad lines. Bad combination.
  12. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    Comes as close as the film series has gotten to reconciling the epic romance it's billed as and the self-aware camp-fest it often hints at wanting to be, but it's still a messy, unwieldy slab of film product that's targeted directly at fans of the book series, with little regard for anyone else.
  13. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    This fifth and mercifully final installment features so much idle anticipation that it's unclear whether we're watching a movie or an Apple product launch.
  14. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 18, 2012
    40
    Kiddos: I'm sighing, too, but only from relief it's all behind us now.
  15. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 15, 2012
    40
    As billion-dollar Hollywood franchises go, this is one of the drawn-out dumbest. The stake through the heart comes not a moment too soon.
  16. Reviewed by: Emma Dibdin
    Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Between its farcical script, soulless relationships and waxwork performances, this is a final chapter that will please only the most devout fans. At least the bleeding wolves have stopped talking.
  17. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Part 2 really is a continuation of "Part 1," both from a story standpoint and from an artistic standpoint.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 14, 2012
    40
    Despite all those fierce confrontations and tribal divisions, exhaustively rehearsed and mythologised, nobody's really a bad guy and nothing's really at stake.
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 84
  2. Negative: 25 out of 84
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    This POS movie is one of the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. When I was forced to see this I thought maybe it would be likeThis POS movie is one of the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. When I was forced to see this I thought maybe it would be like transformers were it's so bad that it's good but no it was so bad that it made me want to rip my eyes out so I could stop watching it. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    Review from an 18 year old guy. I went into this (obviously not willingly) thinking/hoping to destroy it. And at first, it seemed like IReview from an 18 year old guy. I went into this (obviously not willingly) thinking/hoping to destroy it. And at first, it seemed like I could. But the slow hour leads to an actually entertaining and violent battle scene, only to be finished by an ending that will leave many people, diehards or casual fans alike, split. I was not fond of the ending, but my girlfriend was. Not awful but besides the great battle it's pretty slow. Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    If there was a way to give this less than a 0 I wouldn't feel like I was overrating this movie. Everything about every twilight movie is theIf there was a way to give this less than a 0 I wouldn't feel like I was overrating this movie. Everything about every twilight movie is the same, they're all terrible Full Review »