User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    Review from an 18 year old guy. I went into this (obviously not willingly) thinking/hoping to destroy it. And at first, it seemed like I could. But the slow hour leads to an actually entertaining and violent battle scene, only to be finished by an ending that will leave many people, diehards or casual fans alike, split. I was not fond of the ending, but my girlfriend was. Not awful butReview from an 18 year old guy. I went into this (obviously not willingly) thinking/hoping to destroy it. And at first, it seemed like I could. But the slow hour leads to an actually entertaining and violent battle scene, only to be finished by an ending that will leave many people, diehards or casual fans alike, split. I was not fond of the ending, but my girlfriend was. Not awful but besides the great battle it's pretty slow. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    4
    Oh God, so cheesy! It exhausting watching that much cheese. I've read the books, so I already knew what was going to happen, but somehow it doesn't seem that cheesy until you see bad actors act it out with angsty piano music. That being said, it certainly wasn't worse than the other movies. Oh, wait, except for a suger creepy CGI baby. WTF? Can't you just use a real baby? I don'tOh God, so cheesy! It exhausting watching that much cheese. I've read the books, so I already knew what was going to happen, but somehow it doesn't seem that cheesy until you see bad actors act it out with angsty piano music. That being said, it certainly wasn't worse than the other movies. Oh, wait, except for a suger creepy CGI baby. WTF? Can't you just use a real baby? I don't care what the book says, it having teeth isn't really that important, just use a real baby. People in the theatre were "aww"-ing like it was cute. It's not cute, it's face is covered in poorly done CGI. Atleast Renesmee doesn't stay a baby for long. The climax and ending were well done until a lame montage of Edward+Bella moments from the whole series at the very end. No one needs to see that, they've all seen all the movies. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    In the end, its a recommendable sendoff for the series, but just barely. Problems still remain. Part 2 lacks a big conflict and instead goes in the "what if" scenario. While nicely filmed, it can sometimes be unintentionally funny just like Part 1. Again, Twilight isn't for everyone, but this may be the best of the series.
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    6
    The Twilight Saga ends on a high note, but is it very high? No. Yet the performances are solid except for a few, the visual and special effects are stunning, and it is beautifully filmed. It manages to be funny throughout the film, but this time on purpose. It embraces its absurdity and complete dumbness with ease. Although in the end they shouldn't have made a last minute change, andThe Twilight Saga ends on a high note, but is it very high? No. Yet the performances are solid except for a few, the visual and special effects are stunning, and it is beautifully filmed. It manages to be funny throughout the film, but this time on purpose. It embraces its absurdity and complete dumbness with ease. Although in the end they shouldn't have made a last minute change, and should have left it where it was going it still manages to leave you happy in a way. You won't be disappointed, but you won't be thrilled with it either. Most people who have not read the books will think it is stupid and weird, but if you have you will enjoy it. I do not like the Twilight films but this left me liking it, but not loving it. I give this film 62%. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    Best movie from the series, but the script, acting and effects are still bad, even though that's not the actual movie's fault, since none of those things needed to be better for the movie to have a huge gross.
    There were not as many ridiculous moments as there were in the previous films, which was a nice surprise, and the ending twist was phenomenal and completely unexpected.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    First thing's first: I am not a Twilight fan. Therefore, giving the film a 5/10 is quite good, mind you. I had not seen the one film before, because I thought "New Moon" was horrible, horrible, horrible, but a friend took me out so figured might as well. To tell the truth, this is not a bad film. Nor is it a good film. It's there in between, in mediocrity. Let's start with visuals - theFirst thing's first: I am not a Twilight fan. Therefore, giving the film a 5/10 is quite good, mind you. I had not seen the one film before, because I thought "New Moon" was horrible, horrible, horrible, but a friend took me out so figured might as well. To tell the truth, this is not a bad film. Nor is it a good film. It's there in between, in mediocrity. Let's start with visuals - the effects can be pretty nice, but I just couldn't get over the horrible editing with them, especially when they run "supersonic" or whatever it is. Made the film look amateurish and cheap. Other effects were quite good. Acting - not bad. Stewart, whom I usually dislike strongly, was actually bearable. The rest of the cast was ok, too. Storyline was a bit problematic. Ultimately, nothing really happens in the film. I... yeah, that's really it. There's all this builtup but it doesn't quite work out. It just doesn't quite match up with...well, anything. So, comparatively, it was rather decent, but the story was still bad. Bottom line, I guess. Better than the other Twilight films I've seen (only first two) but still not a good film. 5/10 Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    As I'm not a 13 year old girl with low self-esteem, I naturally found this movie tiresome and poorly acted. Not sure what the attraction is to this franchise. Seriously, vampires having babies is just wrong on some universal level. This is a good, end of queue, Netflix filler rather than paying full fare at the theaters.
  8. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Forced to watch this by my mother, who wanted to see it and did not have anyone to see it with. She's done that to me for the past three other Twilight movies.... and I wish I could have that time back. Suffice to say, I did not like it along with most of the males my age (20's). I would not have watched any of them had it not been for my mother wanting to and needing somebody to watch itForced to watch this by my mother, who wanted to see it and did not have anyone to see it with. She's done that to me for the past three other Twilight movies.... and I wish I could have that time back. Suffice to say, I did not like it along with most of the males my age (20's). I would not have watched any of them had it not been for my mother wanting to and needing somebody to watch it with. That said, the movie itself is as terrible as the other ones in terms of acting and the plot is so-so... but there IS a twist in this movie that I did not see coming and that bumped the score up because of that. It was actually well done and looking back now I should have expected it, but it was a pleasant surprise for someone who was not expecting much. Now if only Blade can meet these twinkly "vampires"... Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2013
    4
    The inclusion of more characters at the expense of nausea inducing dialogue between the leads combined with the knowledge that this is the final film means that this is the best of the bunch. However, that says fairly little.
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    4
    Well.. you should watch teh film Miss Representation to understand how the female director got screwed on her own series, and it shows. The female characters have become less and less believable, and the film has become more of a market based frenzy over time. Too bad.
  11. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    This is it! The big finish! Bella and Edward are married and have given birth to a human/vampire hybrid. This poses problems with the evil empire, so the family gathers vampires from around the globe, allowing for an extended sequence to show off a variety of skills and special effects. While it's mildly cool, the build-up never builds up much steam. The showdown has lots of head-poppingThis is it! The big finish! Bella and Edward are married and have given birth to a human/vampire hybrid. This poses problems with the evil empire, so the family gathers vampires from around the globe, allowing for an extended sequence to show off a variety of skills and special effects. While it's mildly cool, the build-up never builds up much steam. The showdown has lots of head-popping action, but it's not enough. There are questions left unanswered and the lame conclusion is just that. Fans of the series will be thrilled to see it played out, but as a standalone film, it's just OK. The pacing is dramatic but slow. Watching the plot unfold is interesting, but it's never thrilling (and those werewolves still look fake). Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    To me, It was a 0 all the way through up until the climax of the film. I feel that the climax (the whole confrontation scene) sort of saved the movie but not enough for me to give it a good review. I am actually quite disappointed because I had given Twilight, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn part 1 6's. I had given New Moon an 8. I figured it would at least be a decent film but it ended upTo me, It was a 0 all the way through up until the climax of the film. I feel that the climax (the whole confrontation scene) sort of saved the movie but not enough for me to give it a good review. I am actually quite disappointed because I had given Twilight, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn part 1 6's. I had given New Moon an 8. I figured it would at least be a decent film but it ended up being a terrible end to a solid franchise. And this is coming from a guy who loves action, horror, and comedy films. Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    5
    Finally! The last film in this terrible franchise. Now the problem isn't the story, its well written if a bit irritating because of the whole changing conventions of vampires & werewolves. The problem all along has lied solely in the directors & casting directors hands. Breaking Dawn pt 2 takes place abut 3 days after pt 1. Renesme is developing fast, Bella is learning her new powers andFinally! The last film in this terrible franchise. Now the problem isn't the story, its well written if a bit irritating because of the whole changing conventions of vampires & werewolves. The problem all along has lied solely in the directors & casting directors hands. Breaking Dawn pt 2 takes place abut 3 days after pt 1. Renesme is developing fast, Bella is learning her new powers and the Volturi are coming to kill the Cullens for turning a child into a vampire, even though she was born a half-vampire.
    It ties up the story very nicely though the massive fight scene (though probably the highlight of the franchise) really wasn't needed and it would have worked better without it. Like I said before, the problem was with the director and whoever cast these morons that cannot act for The CGI in this film is awful too. You'll love it if you like Twilight but if you dont then just steer clear, like you have probably done so already.
    Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    I'll have to say that this final installment is the best in the series, but that does not mean that it's good. Seriously, once again we have cheesy acting and it's just plain dumb.
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Over all the twilight saga's, I have found scenes extremely gripping and then also on the other hand extremely boring. This one, however, was extremely boring the whole way through. I was quite optimistic walking into the cinema with my friends, but as soon as the first scene came on, I wanted to tear my eyeballs out. On the other hand, the movie gets better when the story line developsOver all the twilight saga's, I have found scenes extremely gripping and then also on the other hand extremely boring. This one, however, was extremely boring the whole way through. I was quite optimistic walking into the cinema with my friends, but as soon as the first scene came on, I wanted to tear my eyeballs out. On the other hand, the movie gets better when the story line develops (eventually). I have read the books, and to be fair, they are so much better than the films. As a teenager who can "relate" to the movies, I feel no real connections with the vampires and werewolves in the film, like I do in the book. I don't see why twilight has the stereotype of being particularly for teenagers. I know many adults who enjoy a romantic fantasy now and again. Overall, I believe that if you want a good read, go for the books. However, the film is not worthwhile to go and spend your money on. It cost me £8.50 to go and see it, and I would have much rather gauged my eyeballs out. Expand
  16. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    It's one of the most shocking films in the series but it's also the lightest. That's beceause are about eternal romance of vampires at play
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    With a well-rounded performance in which all actors gave their best and a tear jerking twist by the time the credits were about to roll, the last installment in this beloved series deserves a "6".
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    The only reason why I gave this score is the excellent choice of the sound tracks. I recommend you guys to wait until the credit goes up if you're unlucky to watch this movie.
  19. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    The movie is pretty slow. Besides the great battle sequences,
  20. Dec 1, 2012
    6
    I'll admit, I was kind of dragged there by a girl friend of mine and I didn't know what to expect. Their were some comedic parts to it and other parts that just left me thinking, "Really Twilight?" The camera work was bittersweet to me, as a filmmaker. When the ending came around I had that thought of why would they even do this but they made it make sense in the end. If you can get pastI'll admit, I was kind of dragged there by a girl friend of mine and I didn't know what to expect. Their were some comedic parts to it and other parts that just left me thinking, "Really Twilight?" The camera work was bittersweet to me, as a filmmaker. When the ending came around I had that thought of why would they even do this but they made it make sense in the end. If you can get past the CGI baby and the 13 year old girls screaming in your ears then it's an entertaining film. Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    5
    Yes, this is the best of the series, but that's not exactly saying all that much. Part 2 is just as boring, awkward, cheesy, and dull as the others, but it features some nice action sequences, as well as some script improvements and better acting (sort of).
  22. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    i really didn't enjoy this movie..like the other twilight movies, they take one problem and just focus on it through the whole movie. and end it with a cliff hanger. Oh, i forgot about the "Love" part.. but this movie had a battle at the end..which was entertaining..thats the only good thing about this movie..other than that this movie is complete utter sh*t..
  23. Dec 17, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is the greatest film of the franchise. At the end of part 1 we saw Bella changing into a vampire after her birth. I was not expecting so much by this film but i enjoyed it. It is not perfect, it is not bad but it is ok. Expand
  24. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Why is this movie getting horrible reviews? I mean I know it's a little cheesy and corny but it's still worth seeing. I went and saw this with my best friend and my boyfriend at the theaters. I had high hopes for this movie, seeing the trailer looked better than all previous twilight movies combined. We went in and sat down and had to see this terrible movie. The twist at the end reallyWhy is this movie getting horrible reviews? I mean I know it's a little cheesy and corny but it's still worth seeing. I went and saw this with my best friend and my boyfriend at the theaters. I had high hopes for this movie, seeing the trailer looked better than all previous twilight movies combined. We went in and sat down and had to see this terrible movie. The twist at the end really got me though, the whole vision scene. But overall, cheesy dumb and terrible acting. 5/10 Expand
  25. Dec 25, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was unceremoniously dragged into watching this by my cousin, unfortunately, ready to laugh at most of it. While this movie fares marginally better than the rest, it still fails to entice viewers to sink their teeth into Bella and Edward's corny relationship (no pun intended) and watch the rest of the series. The only bit of this worth watching was the battle that didn't even happen (plot twist! Neck breaking! Long jumping!). Even so, the special effects, no matter how perfectly executed, failed to make it believable. Rest of the movie was just.. blah. Moved too slow for my liking, and way more kissing than should be allowed for a movie rated PG13. All I can say is thank God it's over. Expand
  26. Jan 5, 2013
    4
    Yes, indeed, the ending was very well executed--the twist was even more unexpected, but this film, like its predecessors New Moon and Breaking Dawn Part 1, suffer tremendously from slow pacing, terrible acting, horrible written screenplay, and HORRIBLE--I MEAN HORRIBLE!-- CGI construction.
  27. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    I am not spoiling it or any thing, I am not a fan, I hate the sequels, I liked the first Twilight movie, a little bit, I hated the sequels, but this one's ending fighting scene was really good but not great! So I give it 5/10 +5 for the ending -5 for the beginning till the fighting scene, and 24/100
  28. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn
  29. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    Let me start off by saying Im a guy and the only reason for the four is because the action wasn't that bad, I was forced to see this by my gale and her friends and my friends who said it actually looks worth watching. The acting was eh-ok. Kristen Im not saying you are a bad actress but your twilight character is so boring and doesnt grab my attention. Taylor eh Im a fan because ofLet me start off by saying Im a guy and the only reason for the four is because the action wasn't that bad, I was forced to see this by my gale and her friends and my friends who said it actually looks worth watching. The acting was eh-ok. Kristen Im not saying you are a bad actress but your twilight character is so boring and doesnt grab my attention. Taylor eh Im a fan because of Sharkboy and Abuduction. Robert what I said for Kristen applies to you as well. The plot is boring, the characters arent interesting or scary. The acting was again eh-ok. The action was fairly good. Once again the overhype for this film was caused by the film series/book series not the actual film, Im sure Paranormal Activity 5 and Fast Six will all get over the top hype ex. Fast N Furious film series ia actually worth watching. Avoid. Expand
  30. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    As an older adult but one who enjoys sci-fi and fantasy I fell in love with theTwilight Saga. What I enjoyed most of the series was the devotion and love that inter-played with the three main characters. Having said that I was not entirely happy with how Breaking Dawn was chopped up. To me the part of the book that was trashed was the part were Bella first wakes up. The director decidedAs an older adult but one who enjoys sci-fi and fantasy I fell in love with theTwilight Saga. What I enjoyed most of the series was the devotion and love that inter-played with the three main characters. Having said that I was not entirely happy with how Breaking Dawn was chopped up. To me the part of the book that was trashed was the part were Bella first wakes up. The director decided for what ever moronic reason to help his audience understand what becoming a vampire is like and the sensations that Bella first encounters. The ending I liked although I am purist when taking it from book to movie unless you just can't make the audience understand. Hopefully I will live long enough to see a remake by a better director that captures what Stephanie Myers was trying to say about the transition of Bella. Expand
  31. Jan 8, 2015
    5
    Junto com Eclipse e Crepúsculo,Amanhecer parte 2 são o que há de melhor na saga crepúsculo. Com uma excelente cena de ação no final mesmo sendo uma visão mas tanto faz que se dane. Razoavelmente bom.
  32. Sep 11, 2013
    5
    I'm not a Twihard fan, but it's still better than the first four movies. I'm so lucky that the Twilight franchise came to an end. On the bad side which is the cheesy dialogue, the story, and the acting, but on the good side which is the battle scenes, but kinda ruined the ending. Anyway, Goodbye Twilight and never come back.
  33. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first hour of the film consists mostly of unnecessarily prolonged montages, while the film's final portion consists of a ridiculous, ingenuine, and unbelievable fight scene that ends up being a false premonition. Then the franchise ends in the same way with it started: some people laying in a valley. Nothing to see here. Expand
  34. Dec 19, 2014
    4
    as much as i adore Stephenie Meyers' work,twilight in a weird way is good but her books are fine as well the actors are well giving terrible performances as usual in the saga (Pattinson, Lautner). The saga is constantly being ruin once again with Melissa Rosenberg's screenplay and director Bill Condon's vision also direction sucks. Grade C-
  35. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    5
    The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2 isn't as bad as Part 1, the story was pretty decent for a Twilight movie, but the acting wouldn't persuade anyone to make them believe it.
  36. Apr 5, 2015
    5
    I like it, and I enjoy it, you need to see all the chapters and only in the last one you will understand all things that feel strange through the entire series (like why she is involved with two boys with apparently no reason, for example), unfortunately there are technically and/or socially absurd things like a 100 years old vampire going to school every year, or the innocent love of aI like it, and I enjoy it, you need to see all the chapters and only in the last one you will understand all things that feel strange through the entire series (like why she is involved with two boys with apparently no reason, for example), unfortunately there are technically and/or socially absurd things like a 100 years old vampire going to school every year, or the innocent love of a 100 years old man, he would be more credible more mature, more secure of himself. That evident things are uneasy to forget along the entire series, makes me constantly ask: "why is he so stupid having such experience?" Seriously, he looks more dumb than romantic... Expand
  37. Aug 7, 2015
    5
    El "gran final" de Twilight a llegado, Breaking Dawn Part 2 supera por poco a su antecesora, la trama comienza a tener sentido (o entretenimiento) esta segunda parte no es perfecta, sigue siendo ridícula y cursi, pero la batalla final fue divertida, absurda y entretenida. No es un final digno de recordar (Tampoco es que la saga sea una obra maestra) pero sin duda alguna es mas entretenidaEl "gran final" de Twilight a llegado, Breaking Dawn Part 2 supera por poco a su antecesora, la trama comienza a tener sentido (o entretenimiento) esta segunda parte no es perfecta, sigue siendo ridícula y cursi, pero la batalla final fue divertida, absurda y entretenida. No es un final digno de recordar (Tampoco es que la saga sea una obra maestra) pero sin duda alguna es mas entretenida que "New Moon" "Eclipse" y "Breaking Dawn Part 1" Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 18, 2012
    40
    Kiddos: I'm sighing, too, but only from relief it's all behind us now.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 16, 2012
    50
    I'm not a religious man but, Hallelujah! I may not be done with Meyer but at least I'll never again have to cope with the angst, self-absorption, and vampire mythology mutilation that characterized these five movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    By the time the great vampire showdown finally got started, I was good and done with Breaking Dawn, Part 2. But the big action scene is so campily over the top - with one twist so unforeseeable - that it sent me out on a burst of grudging goodwill.