Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 375 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After the birth of Renesmee, the Cullens gather other vampire clans in order to protect the child from a false allegation that puts the family in front of the Volturi.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Every frame of silent, lip-biting, pent-up tension in the series has been holding its breath for this -- a 600-minute soap opera suddenly exploding into a Grindhouse slasher.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 15, 2012
    75
    Breaking Dawn - Part 2 starts off slow but gathers momentum, and that's because, with Bella and Edward united against the Volturi, the picture has a real threat.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Nov 15, 2012
    63
    Finally, someone took the source material at its terribly written word and stopped treating the whole affair so seriously.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Fans will be left on a high; other viewers will be confused but generally entertained by a saga whose romance is matched only by its weirdness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    There may never have been a movie whose quality mattered less than this final chapter of The Twilight Saga.
  6. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    Comes as close as the film series has gotten to reconciling the epic romance it's billed as and the self-aware camp-fest it often hints at wanting to be, but it's still a messy, unwieldy slab of film product that's targeted directly at fans of the book series, with little regard for anyone else.
  7. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 15, 2012
    30
    If anything, this series has gotten dumber and more inert as it has progressed, with this last one finally reaching over into an extended wallow in camp.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 82
  2. Negative: 24 out of 82
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    After following the franchise from the beginning, falling for Edward instantly, and generally enjoying the books a great deal more than theAfter following the franchise from the beginning, falling for Edward instantly, and generally enjoying the books a great deal more than the films. I have to say this final instalment was a huge winner for me. Its fair to say the cgi of Renesme is not great and the majority is a Bella/Edward love-fest, but the grand finale scene is absolutely amazing and completely unexpected. My palms were sweaty and my heart beating so fast. I couldn't believe what was happening. An amazing ending for a brilliant saga! Well done Bill. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    One of the best twilight film. The second best is the first twilight. If you watch first twilight 1 and then the last it is funny. Her hairOne of the best twilight film. The second best is the first twilight. If you watch first twilight 1 and then the last it is funny. Her hair looks better xD. By this part it was more romance than action, but that has no influence on my score. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    last movie is the best of all, but that does not mean that the film is good.

    The Ășltio movie, thankfully exceeded my expectations, it's a
    last movie is the best of all, but that does not mean that the film is good.

    The Ășltio movie, thankfully exceeded my expectations, it's a good movie, with jokes no thanks, with a little good acting of Kristen, nice art direction, good effects and soundtrack really cool, just found a good mix of X-men there in the middle, but the film is rather cool and leaves a good ending to a saga boring.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    First thing's first: I am not a Twilight fan. Therefore, giving the film a 5/10 is quite good, mind you. I had not seen the one film before,First thing's first: I am not a Twilight fan. Therefore, giving the film a 5/10 is quite good, mind you. I had not seen the one film before, because I thought "New Moon" was horrible, horrible, horrible, but a friend took me out so figured might as well. To tell the truth, this is not a bad film. Nor is it a good film. It's there in between, in mediocrity. Let's start with visuals - the effects can be pretty nice, but I just couldn't get over the horrible editing with them, especially when they run "supersonic" or whatever it is. Made the film look amateurish and cheap. Other effects were quite good. Acting - not bad. Stewart, whom I usually dislike strongly, was actually bearable. The rest of the cast was ok, too. Storyline was a bit problematic. Ultimately, nothing really happens in the film. I... yeah, that's really it. There's all this builtup but it doesn't quite work out. It just doesn't quite match up with...well, anything. So, comparatively, it was rather decent, but the story was still bad. Bottom line, I guess. Better than the other Twilight films I've seen (only first two) but still not a good film. 5/10 Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    4
    The inclusion of more characters at the expense of nausea inducing dialogue between the leads combined with the knowledge that this is theThe inclusion of more characters at the expense of nausea inducing dialogue between the leads combined with the knowledge that this is the final film means that this is the best of the bunch. However, that says fairly little. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2014
    3
    An extremely bad and disappointing conclusion to the Twilight Series, whose team was unwilling to make a decent film for the audience. WhileAn extremely bad and disappointing conclusion to the Twilight Series, whose team was unwilling to make a decent film for the audience. While the special effects and the action are impressive, this exhausting movie does little to the fans but relieves smart people for its well appreciated, ending. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    For movies that are adapted from books to be successful, the book itself must be of respectable quality. However, the Twilight Saga bookFor movies that are adapted from books to be successful, the book itself must be of respectable quality. However, the Twilight Saga book series is such a disgrace - such a literary piece of trash that the target audience is limited to the dramatically decreasing number of loyal fangirls who drool over shirtless guys, but overlook the equivalence of the franchise to goat **** Complete with emotionless, wooden acting delivered by Kristen Stewart, gaping plot holes and practically no element of intelligence or originality in the film, Breaking Dawn Part 2 shamelessly steals from audiences by splitting the final film into two parts (one part is already stretching it). This successfully classifies as one of the worst films in existence. Get ready to see the spectacle that should never have started in the first place! Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.