Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After the birth of Renesmee, the Cullens gather other vampire clans in order to protect the child from a false allegation that puts the family in front of the Volturi.
  • Director: Bill Condon
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Drama, Thriller, Fantasy, Romance
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 115 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Nov 13, 2012
    80
    The final installment of the immortal Bella/Edward romance will give its breathlessly awaiting international audience just what it wants.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 15, 2012
    75
    Breaking Dawn - Part 2 starts off slow but gathers momentum, and that's because, with Bella and Edward united against the Volturi, the picture has a real threat.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Nov 15, 2012
    63
    Finally, someone took the source material at its terribly written word and stopped treating the whole affair so seriously.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Fans will be left on a high; other viewers will be confused but generally entertained by a saga whose romance is matched only by its weirdness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    There may never have been a movie whose quality mattered less than this final chapter of The Twilight Saga.
  6. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    Comes as close as the film series has gotten to reconciling the epic romance it's billed as and the self-aware camp-fest it often hints at wanting to be, but it's still a messy, unwieldy slab of film product that's targeted directly at fans of the book series, with little regard for anyone else.
  7. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 15, 2012
    30
    If anything, this series has gotten dumber and more inert as it has progressed, with this last one finally reaching over into an extended wallow in camp.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 76
  2. Negative: 21 out of 76
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    After following the franchise from the beginning, falling for Edward instantly, and generally enjoying the books a great deal more than the films. I have to say this final instalment was a huge winner for me. Its fair to say the cgi of Renesme is not great and the majority is a Bella/Edward love-fest, but the grand finale scene is absolutely amazing and completely unexpected. My palms were sweaty and my heart beating so fast. I couldn't believe what was happening. An amazing ending for a brilliant saga! Well done Bill. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    All the hate from the Twilight movies come from those who never read the books and therefore do not understand the feelings and thoughts of Bella. This sadly last movie, Breaking Dawn part 2, manages to capture emotion in the way that it made a chill run down my spine and a tear appear in my eyes. Like they say, "haters gonna hate", but don't judge before reading the books. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Of all the major critics' reviews, Joe Williams of the St. Louis Dispatch has it right: it was a guilty pleasure for these 58 year old eyes. I enjoyed every minute of it, especially a truly electrifying moment at the end. So did the audience. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    i really didn't enjoy this movie..like the other twilight movies, they take one problem and just focus on it through the whole movie. and end it with a cliff hanger. Oh, i forgot about the "Love" part.. but this movie had a battle at the end..which was entertaining..thats the only good thing about this movie..other than that this movie is complete utter sh*t.. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    Let me start off by saying Im a guy and the only reason for the four is because the action wasn't that bad, I was forced to see this by my gale and her friends and my friends who said it actually looks worth watching. The acting was eh-ok. Kristen Im not saying you are a bad actress but your twilight character is so boring and doesnt grab my attention. Taylor eh Im a fan because of Sharkboy and Abuduction. Robert what I said for Kristen applies to you as well. The plot is boring, the characters arent interesting or scary. The acting was again eh-ok. The action was fairly good. Once again the overhype for this film was caused by the film series/book series not the actual film, Im sure Paranormal Activity 5 and Fast Six will all get over the top hype ex. Fast N Furious film series ia actually worth watching. Avoid. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    Twilight Saga is finally over with no satisfying conclusion at all. Breaking Dawn Part 2 maybe strong for franchise but still low for cinema. Would satisfy fans and girls, disappoint others. Collapse
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    For movies that are adapted from books to be successful, the book itself must be of respectable quality. However, the Twilight Saga book series is such a disgrace - such a literary piece of trash that the target audience is limited to the dramatically decreasing number of loyal fangirls who drool over shirtless guys, but overlook the equivalence of the franchise to goat **** Complete with emotionless, wooden acting delivered by Kristen Stewart, gaping plot holes and practically no element of intelligence or originality in the film, Breaking Dawn Part 2 shamelessly steals from audiences by splitting the final film into two parts (one part is already stretching it). This successfully classifies as one of the worst films in existence. Get ready to see the spectacle that should never have started in the first place! Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.