The Twilight Saga: New Moon

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 597 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 10, 2011
    4
    "New Moon", the tweenage vampire romance sequel to "Twilight", is crappy as **** As usual, the movie is filled with unnecessary steel faced characters that just sucks at acting. The character development isn't even a development. Director Chris Weitz just throws everyone's personality into the movie without even trying to fix it. Guess what the result is; no good or bad morale, only a"New Moon", the tweenage vampire romance sequel to "Twilight", is crappy as **** As usual, the movie is filled with unnecessary steel faced characters that just sucks at acting. The character development isn't even a development. Director Chris Weitz just throws everyone's personality into the movie without even trying to fix it. Guess what the result is; no good or bad morale, only a cheesy love between a spoiled **** with her ghastly boyfriend is left. Not only that; what's with the random, slow-mo so called "action"? I guess if you glue in several dudes with abs fighting vampires make a good action scene, right? IF you are a movie critic like me or people who are just starting out to learn more about movie criticism, have this as your 'worst movie' in the romance genre. Trust me; it'll come in handy. Expand
  2. EnzoP.
    Nov 22, 2009
    4
    Twilight New Moon has a plot that really makes me think. In both films the two main characters (Edward and Bella) are in love with each other. But oh know one of them is a vampire and his family and enemies want to eat Bella so their love is forbidden and ruined by many people. That is not the part which makes by angle my head. It's how they even love each other. I never see them Twilight New Moon has a plot that really makes me think. In both films the two main characters (Edward and Bella) are in love with each other. But oh know one of them is a vampire and his family and enemies want to eat Bella so their love is forbidden and ruined by many people. That is not the part which makes by angle my head. It's how they even love each other. I never see them laughing together or anything and when they are walking together they are serious and talking about their relationship problems. In both movies I didn't see one connection they had with each other or any sparks. They might've showed it in the book but Chris Weltz forgot it in this twilight series. But still New Moon did many things that they did succesfully. That's why I gave it a 4 many good things and bad things. I can't believe I am saying this because I did not think New Moon could pull this off but it's better then the first. I am mainly surprised because I thought the film crew was going to try to get Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner shirtless for several scenes. Well, they did but they also wanted to film the movie in a gorgeous and elegant way and I am not talking about shooting Robert and Taylor like that. I am talking about capturing the beatifulness of why everybody enjoys movie. They sort of captured it and I give credit to them for trying. They especially tried in all of the montages with the sad music or good feeling music. Overall Twilight New Moon is better the first Twilight and if you are on Team Edward or Team Jacob you will probably enjoy this film. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    NEW MOON is the second constellation of Twilight Saga. Which written by Stephenie Meyer. Meyer is typically feminine-romance novelist. The movie casts by the regular Actors from the prequel, such as: Robert Pattison and Kristen Stewart. Plus brand New-Casts, like: Taylor Lautner and Michael Sheen. Pattison played a role of a vampire that falling in love with a girl named Bella (Stewart).NEW MOON is the second constellation of Twilight Saga. Which written by Stephenie Meyer. Meyer is typically feminine-romance novelist. The movie casts by the regular Actors from the prequel, such as: Robert Pattison and Kristen Stewart. Plus brand New-Casts, like: Taylor Lautner and Michael Sheen. Pattison played a role of a vampire that falling in love with a girl named Bella (Stewart). We saw Pattison few years ago for the character as Harry competitor in HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE (2005). The former Director of TWILIGHT (2008), Catherine Hardwicke was replaced by Paul Weitz. Hardwicke version of TWILIGHT was more gentle and success to build a romance between characters and backgrounds. The contrary, Weitz did not get into the right track to create such emotions. In the beginning, I think whoever the Director of this second movie should had more chance to create attractive plots, considering the conflict will be more intense based on original contents. The other lack of thiz movie is on the action sequences. Maybe the actions supported by more special effects, but the actions is too short and dd not create memorable thrills. We remembered the first TWILIGHT, the scene that Edward came to saved Bella from a bunch of bad guys, or the fight-scene on a baseball field. The only scene that I like on thiz movie is when Bella had a dream about her grandmother on a beautiful forest. In that scene, suddenly Edward appeared and Bella realized later, that is not her grandmother, but it is herself getting older in Edwards Arms. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  4. IsaacV
    Jan 28, 2010
    5
    Certainly better than the first one but still needs work.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    4
    I really wish i wasn't one of the many that end up disliking the Twilight series, but sadly i am. this movie was technically fine if you're into the love of vampires. The fight scene was pretty cool, but what got me, was the HORRIBLE acting. It was just terrible throughout the whole freaking movie. The actress who plays as "Bella" has a lot to learn given that I think her performance wasI really wish i wasn't one of the many that end up disliking the Twilight series, but sadly i am. this movie was technically fine if you're into the love of vampires. The fight scene was pretty cool, but what got me, was the HORRIBLE acting. It was just terrible throughout the whole freaking movie. The actress who plays as "Bella" has a lot to learn given that I think her performance was the worst out of everyone in the movie. "Edward" 's acting was not that grand as well. and Taylor (werewolf guy) did ok, I really wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless they were already involved in the series, which means they probably already saw it. So, yeah......not a good 8 bucks spent at the movies. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    This movie is really bored. I love twilight but i cant watch this one over again. It is really bored to watch. The story to this movie is as good as the first one. This movie is more on the kids side then teen. I love the first twilight. This movie is really slow it take too long to get to it point. Hardly any action in this movie. This movie was so mediocre. I would suggest you to see itThis movie is really bored. I love twilight but i cant watch this one over again. It is really bored to watch. The story to this movie is as good as the first one. This movie is more on the kids side then teen. I love the first twilight. This movie is really slow it take too long to get to it point. Hardly any action in this movie. This movie was so mediocre. I would suggest you to see it if you love romance and vampire movies. I don't know how people like this one more than the first one. Some people say the book is way better . I hope they right. This is the worst of the twilight movies. Expand
  7. RD
    Nov 20, 2009
    6
    Better then the first and possibly better then the book.
  8. TerryA.
    Dec 25, 2009
    4
    This love story movie has some of the worst acting I've seen to-date. Whats up with Kristen Stewart screaming and morning for months. That was a little too much!
  9. ChadS
    Nov 22, 2009
    4
    The opening scenes of "New Moon" plays more like episodic television than it does a feature film. It works as comfort food, that is, if you were comforted by the Catherine Hardwicke original. There's the high school parking we all know and love, the place where Edward(Robert Pattison) saved Bella(Kristin Stewart) from a swerving vehicle with just a single hand, and there's the The opening scenes of "New Moon" plays more like episodic television than it does a feature film. It works as comfort food, that is, if you were comforted by the Catherine Hardwicke original. There's the high school parking we all know and love, the place where Edward(Robert Pattison) saved Bella(Kristin Stewart) from a swerving vehicle with just a single hand, and there's the high school itself, still composed of a student body that's not all entirely human. (The Cullen vampires remind me more of the preppies in the Donna Tartt novel "The Secret History" than they do bloodsuckers.) In this week's(year's) episode: Bella turns seventeen! Jacob(Taylor Launter) gives her a dreamcatcher. Of course. He's "Indian". Jacob's rival, Edward, who is too lazy to make, and too cheap to buy, a proper gift for Bella, gives the mopey(and dopey) girl a kiss. It's what she asked for. If you swoon at this, and you're not a fourteen-year-old-girl, you need to watch Lloyd Dobler in action, or heck, even f***in' Angel(from Joss Whedon's brilliant serial reworking of the original "Buffy, the Vampire Slayer" movie), who is not quite as pasty-faced, or bloody boring, as Edward. "New Moon", incidentally named after singer-songwriter Elliott Smith's posthumous 2007 album of rare tracks, could possibly inform this vampire, who's certainly depressing enough, and dead, like the Portland, Oregon-based musician. What can you say about a film which improves significantly when its key supporting character is off the screen? Some of us like Edward better as a vapor. Expand
  10. AmyK
    Nov 27, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie. Parts of the movie are painfully slow. Some of the acting was painful as well. I did enjoy the scenes with the werewolves. New Moon has been my least favorite book of the series and the movie follows right along with the book. Eclipse is my favorite so I look forward to that movie!
  11. NicoG
    Dec 2, 2009
    5
    the best in this movies is ... MUSIC, fantastic rocking' soundtrack and very solid SCORE by A.Desplat.
  12. TitoA
    Nov 22, 2009
    6
    Most of the book takes place in Bella´s thoughts. The director didn´t have the sensitivity to show it on screen. Catherine Hardwicke should have directed this one, too. What did they do with Ashley Greene´s hair? It was terrible! And she is also too thin... anorexic, maybe?
  13. KeijiM
    Nov 27, 2009
    5
    I know they wanted to stay faithful to the book but cutting about 40minutes worth of dribble would have done this movie good. Its too long. Other than that it has the good mix of tween romance and action for the young.
  14. shaylad
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    What was with the musical score in this movie? It didnt set the right tone in most of the scenes and it jus played at length thruout many of the scenes. The lack of dialogue did nothing for the viewers. I guess they assume the only ppl interested are illiterate teenage girls that can't have meaningful conversation. It was very choppy and dragged in some parts. The chemistry that What was with the musical score in this movie? It didnt set the right tone in most of the scenes and it jus played at length thruout many of the scenes. The lack of dialogue did nothing for the viewers. I guess they assume the only ppl interested are illiterate teenage girls that can't have meaningful conversation. It was very choppy and dragged in some parts. The chemistry that Bella and Edward shared in Twilight is null and void here. I know Edward is gone for most of the story but that doesn't mean their chemistry is lacking. I don't feel Weitz caputred the romantic essence. The action sequences were fine but it was just missing that over-all tone that made the Twilight saga known. Collapse
  15. LC
    Nov 22, 2009
    5
    While this film was marginally better than the first, it still lacked much in the way of substance and talent. Even adding in a seasoned actor like Michael Sheen was not enough to save this series. I very much enjoyed the books but do get extremely tired of the patheticism that surrounds the character of Bella. Kristen Stewart's ridiculous over-acting does nothing to help this fact. While this film was marginally better than the first, it still lacked much in the way of substance and talent. Even adding in a seasoned actor like Michael Sheen was not enough to save this series. I very much enjoyed the books but do get extremely tired of the patheticism that surrounds the character of Bella. Kristen Stewart's ridiculous over-acting does nothing to help this fact. It's difficult to me to even see the main love story as the highlight of this series, because they are so childish, it's vomit reflex inducing. I never though I would say I'm a Jacob fan over an Edward fan but Taylor Lautner really makes this movie for me. He just brings some smiling and laughter to this otherwise very morose love story. I can't imagined anyone would want to be condemned to such a clingy relationship. Even when the supernatural are involved there can be a sense of humor and a little fun. I just feel that Anne Rice would weep at the ridiculousness these supposedly beautifully frightening creatures have been reduced to. The werewolves ended up being the highlight for me. The graphics are beautiful and make up for shotty camera work. The other Cullens do well off-setting the moody, love-sick 100 some year old teenager they harbor. They and Michael Sheen are the only highlights to the Twilight vampires. Expand
  16. Emma
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Although the first movie was a huge hit, if New Moon was the first of the four book saga it would have failed the box offices because it lacked intensity,action seens, and close encounters like the first. and although it pulled its wait in earnings, its ratings showed truely what it deserved. It seemed like the step between, the conector, of the first book and third, what should be Although the first movie was a huge hit, if New Moon was the first of the four book saga it would have failed the box offices because it lacked intensity,action seens, and close encounters like the first. and although it pulled its wait in earnings, its ratings showed truely what it deserved. It seemed like the step between, the conector, of the first book and third, what should be second. New Moon seemed more like book number 1.5. Was it good? Yes! Was it worth my 6 dollar admision and 11 dollar soda and popcorn? probably not! but one to see for sure! Expand
  17. ErikaS.
    Nov 25, 2009
    5
    Corny, and childish, but sweet and disturbing. It's dramatic and really cheesy, but it's a nice movie. It's not the best movie ever, but it's way better than the first one. HA! how do you pour ketchup out of a squeeze bottle? You don't! you squeeze it out of the bottle. compared to nooooo!!! please! Aieeeeeee! noooooooooo! in this movie. I don't think I will Corny, and childish, but sweet and disturbing. It's dramatic and really cheesy, but it's a nice movie. It's not the best movie ever, but it's way better than the first one. HA! how do you pour ketchup out of a squeeze bottle? You don't! you squeeze it out of the bottle. compared to nooooo!!! please! Aieeeeeee! noooooooooo! in this movie. I don't think I will be following this series anymore. This movie was long. I was anxion "omg, when is this gonna end?!?!?!!!" Yep. Not that good. Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2014
    5
    The Twilight Saga: New Moon is utter pap saved slightly because that it's so bad it's actually funny. The motorcycle scene where Jacob pulls a crap, unnecessary skid on his scrambler and then dramatically yanks his shirt off had me in stitches! As did the stupid teen logic, wooden dialogue and unrepentantly dire acting. Kind of a good time then after all.
  19. Jan 4, 2011
    4
    It's another sequel that is worse than the first movie.
  20. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    This movie was quite boring, with no real ending. More emo Bella and Edward. More "Vampires" who sparkle and don't have fangs. I really like the idea of the story but it just doesn't do it for me. I'll watch the third just to... I dunno...
  21. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    With the exception of really cool special effects and a flicker of action sequences, this film is pretty weak. This film is 90% an advertisement for Lautner's abs, and the rest of the film is jam-packed into the remaining 10%. The audience is given ZERO character development and there are so many characters that could be more interesting here. New Moon is completely unapologetic to thoseWith the exception of really cool special effects and a flicker of action sequences, this film is pretty weak. This film is 90% an advertisement for Lautner's abs, and the rest of the film is jam-packed into the remaining 10%. The audience is given ZERO character development and there are so many characters that could be more interesting here. New Moon is completely unapologetic to those who did not read the books, and that makes it all the more difficult to watch. Still, this was a nice distraction for a couple hours. Expand
  22. May 24, 2012
    4
    A very bad movie. It is better than the first Twilight. It just lacks excitement and that WOW factor. The Plot was very ridiculous. The acting of the characters (especially Taylor Lautner) was just corny and terrible. Maybe some teenagers may like it because of the impact of the characters but I will certainly not like this one. But I have to give them credit for the effort. Unfortunately,A very bad movie. It is better than the first Twilight. It just lacks excitement and that WOW factor. The Plot was very ridiculous. The acting of the characters (especially Taylor Lautner) was just corny and terrible. Maybe some teenagers may like it because of the impact of the characters but I will certainly not like this one. But I have to give them credit for the effort. Unfortunately, this is just a vampire movie turned into a nightmare for movie-goers..... Expand
  23. Oct 1, 2011
    4
    I assume the hardcore-fans will enjoy it but since I am neither a fan nor a reader of Meyer's work I was quite disappointed by New Moon. Twilight had some poor dialogues and excessive romance but I found it a reasonable film, so I had good expectations. Its sequel, though, it is not a improvement. On the contrary, they sucked out everything good about Twilight and only left its worst aspects.
  24. Aug 16, 2012
    5
    Kristen's acting can be even worse this. It does not convey any sense will the viewer. The story is weak and is not as catchy as the first, Jacob manages to be a character totally without charisma.
  25. Nov 27, 2011
    4
    New Moon was pretty boring. It had a bad story with a long absence of fun and charm. It did have a couple good moments but there wasn't much to like.
  26. Aug 25, 2014
    4
    It's weird how nothing really happened in this movie; Bella is still terrible to look at, Edward is absent for most of the movie (as are the rest of the Cullens), and Bella's whole world is clearly collapsing - until she finds another boy who is ready to throw himself at her, of course.

    Cuddly, cute werewolves march to the screen to replace the romanticized Vampires. It's amazing how
    It's weird how nothing really happened in this movie; Bella is still terrible to look at, Edward is absent for most of the movie (as are the rest of the Cullens), and Bella's whole world is clearly collapsing - until she finds another boy who is ready to throw himself at her, of course.

    Cuddly, cute werewolves march to the screen to replace the romanticized Vampires. It's amazing how one author can turn deadly beasts into something... furry and cute. They are not actually even "werewolves", but merely huge, bulky wolves. I bet there's no connection to the cycle of the moon either...

    Jacob turns buff, and loses the long hair which actually didn't look too good on him. In the first movie he didn't have that big of a part, really, and now they're like the best of friends instead of the recurring acquaintances.

    Frankly, I don't see what's so amazing about Bella. Two (actually three) teenage boys are all over her (well, Edward is older, he should have a better taste by now), and she still hasn't upgraded beyond that one expression she has!

    This is actually worse than the first movie. The plot is less consistent, and the character work just doesn't push through.
    Expand
  27. Mar 2, 2012
    4
    Deception. The first film is sorpresive, but this second part is... boring, the cast is very regular, and performance of much are terrible, this is a bad sequel.
  28. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    Although its predecesor is even boring, this chapter strikes as another boring and unfavorably action-packed tale of vampires and werewolves. I am not very pleased with this one, I just didn't hope the saga keeps getting any worse.
  29. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    "NEW MOON" disappointed me, because it felt long and the acting of Kristin was really, mixed, and the only thing that kept me watching the whole thing, was the score done by ALEXANDRE DESPLAT -- well done.
  30. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    The plot is full of cop outs. But it is what you would expect from a motion picture based off of a young adult novel. The way I see it, at least these movies aren't boring and I find the darkened tint of this world to be somewhat enchanting.
  31. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    New Moon is better than the first in every way ...

    As I always say I do not like Twilight for its silly story, masa must say that this movie is good, anyway the budget is higher, the effects have not improved, excess makeup over the interpretation of Robert ta better, but Kristen continues ridiculous Michael Sheen is brilliant and one of the highest points of the film is the great
    New Moon is better than the first in every way ...

    As I always say I do not like Twilight for its silly story, masa must say that this movie is good, anyway the budget is higher, the effects have not improved, excess makeup over the interpretation of Robert ta better, but Kristen continues ridiculous Michael Sheen is brilliant and one of the highest points of the film is the great soundtrack and art direction
    Expand
  32. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    4
    The Twilight Saga: New Moon was pretty dumb. It was boring, and had very terrible acting, I could say the worst I've ever seen, such as the line "YOU CUT YOUR HAIR" says it all, I mean, what's wrong with staying classy instead of having a racist haircut, or should I say, hairdo.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. 60
    Is this sequel defending its fan base and preempting criticism about its transparent agenda? This IS a soap opera, folks--and acceptable escapism for those old enough to see it yet still young enough to shriek at undead dreamboats.
  2. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    70
    Carried by Kristen Stewart's compellingly dark performance, but also by helmer Chris Weitz's robust visuals.
  3. Constrained by the plot of the novel, the film keeps the two lovers apart for quite a spell, robbing the project of the crazy-in-love energy that made "Twilight," the first entry in the series, such a guilty pleasure.