Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 24, 2009
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
35
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
smiyamotMay 15, 2016
An unlikely pair have to work together. He helps her "catch" her dream guy by telling her what to say and do, knowing what guys like, the ugly truth about relationships. The friction between these two is what makes an interesting story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21May 1, 2016
This was so funny. First ten minutes or so didn't think it was going to be very good, but then it really picks up. Good chick flick .

Check out this movie here for free
This was so funny. First ten minutes or so didn't think it was going to be very good, but then it really picks up. Good chick flick .

Check out this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1a5a-The-Ugly-Truth-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscOct 31, 2015
A formulaic romantic comedy that has a predictable plot and has a poorly weak script, that has a terrible message also is sexist. The script written by three women Kirsten Smith, Karen McCullah (Legally Blonde, She's The Man) Nicole Eastman,A formulaic romantic comedy that has a predictable plot and has a poorly weak script, that has a terrible message also is sexist. The script written by three women Kirsten Smith, Karen McCullah (Legally Blonde, She's The Man) Nicole Eastman, who know somethings about women and know nothing about men, they were going to make an unpleasant man character, that men couldn't relate to, but they were too dumb to realize that all men could agree with Mike Chadway, it's like they meet a douche bag guy and thought: Hey he's really mean and sexist, so this how all men are and let's make a movie about it. You can't expect anything really it's just a typical average Katherine Heigl movie, where she always plays "the good, like able girl" and how she wants a man, you think she known better after starring in Judd Apatow's raunchy funny "Knocked Up" but now she stars in a bunch of lazy rom-coms. In Sacramento, a TV producer Abby Richter (Heigl) is romantically challenged and can't a good man that fulfills her; produces a morning show that's about to cancel, due to it's low ratings. To increase the ratings, her boss (Nick Searcy) hires Mike Chadway (Gerard Butler) to host the morning show, Mike hosts the popular mannish show called "the ugly truth" were he talks about what men want in a relationship. Of course Abby doesn't think that her boss hiring him was a good idea, so she hates him because he's sexist and disagrees with his strong beliefs of women and dating. So she lets him help her get her dreamy surgeon Colin (Eric Winter) next door. So Mike teaches her how to flirt, how to dress, act sexually. The film is obviously mean't for dumb people, but the film didn't fool me. But the film is pleasingly glossy and snarly, also has perfect comedic timing not to mention sexy. The chemistry between Heigl and Butler is charming and humorous, Butler masterly does a well built job as this mean spirited character and Heigl is striking and good as always, not mention cinematographer Russell Carpenter captures Heigl's beauty stupendous. Director Robert Luketic (Legally Blonde) makes this rom-com glossy, fun and is gifted when it comes to comedic timing also does a fine job with cinematographer Russell Carpenter. Grade B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ArjanS87Sep 9, 2014
Trite and fake... Despite what the title would like to tell you, there is nothing really truthful in this plastic fraud.
At least they can act, but even good actors don't make a lousy story great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
busbfranJun 24, 2014
A predicable but extremely enjoyable movie that uses its characters to its advantage to give the audience the best experience possible. The Ugly Truth is a hilarious romance/comedy with a Stella cast and plenty of collective laughs!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesMay 11, 2014
'The Ugly Truth' maybe has a "hot" cast but the ugly truth is that this movie relies on a lame script, boring dialogues and an amount of unfunny sentences that makes this flick unwatchable
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Aug 4, 2013
Gerard Butler is hilarious and Katherine Heigl is great and one of the more unique actresses in Hollywood. Together they have great chemistry in The Ugly Truth. The only real flaw in my opinion is how predictable the movie is though. LikeGerard Butler is hilarious and Katherine Heigl is great and one of the more unique actresses in Hollywood. Together they have great chemistry in The Ugly Truth. The only real flaw in my opinion is how predictable the movie is though. Like most chick flicks, five minutes into the movie you know exactly how it's going to end. The crude humor is somewhat fresh in the genre though, as it's more of a guy comedy style, so it's still worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Must have seen this 100 times. Same old stuff, different actors. Boy meets girl, boy and girl fight, boy helps girl get other boy, girl and boy #1 realise they are in love....Why did I bother? Oh, yeah..for Gerard Butler...
If you liked The Proposal, than you are bound to LOVE this....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cilincescuApr 6, 2013
People, this is not such a bad movie!!!
It is funny, the characters are charming, and let's face it, it is true, that's the ugly truth :))))).
Ok, it is not a masterpiece either.
It is a good, nice, easy comedy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
A 4? I can not believe .. How does such a good film can have a punctuation so low?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 15, 2011
Started so good but ended been the same **** romantic comedy is the reason why **** like twilight exist, because the good romantic movies are now forget because of this **** movie style
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ImUnavailableSep 1, 2011
A weak romantic comedy that revels far too much in sex, sex references and pretty much anything else to do with sex. In fact, I can't think of a single joke that was unrelated to sex. I have no problem with sex jokes but when they are theA weak romantic comedy that revels far too much in sex, sex references and pretty much anything else to do with sex. In fact, I can't think of a single joke that was unrelated to sex. I have no problem with sex jokes but when they are the only jokes on offer it makes the movie into a one trick pony. It pigeonholes itself into one form of comedy and this begins to grate very quickly. The chemistry between the leads is none existent as is a reason why they would like each other in any way beyond the physical. Their characters are unbelievable and the supporting cast is unmemorable. The Ugly Truth is so transfixed on pushing the boundaries of sex in comedies that it forgets that its primary job is to entertain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
If this movie was simply just a bag of awful jokes and formulaic rom-com cliches (yes, the movie actually takes itself seriously in the third act), this would just be a very awful romantic comedy. The movie attempts to be equally sexist inIf this movie was simply just a bag of awful jokes and formulaic rom-com cliches (yes, the movie actually takes itself seriously in the third act), this would just be a very awful romantic comedy. The movie attempts to be equally sexist in both regards, as if that somehow makes things better. But the problem is that the men and the women are portrayed as sexist in different ways. Men are given the treatment of shallow and sex-fueled without making light of the fact or satirically poking fun at it, while women are painted as the shrews that Heigl accused Knocked Up of representing. Oh, and here's cinch, the movie actually says that the men are right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Perhaps the worst movie I've ever seen. Katherine Heigl puts on a dreadfully self-conscious performance but of course it's difficult to act with a script that tries so hard to out-do superior comedies in raunch and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KendylKlownfishMar 15, 2011
Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler are charming and funny at times. However, The Ugly Truth is immensely predictable and overly cliched, lacking both intelligence and chemistry between its leading actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TargetF209Feb 27, 2011
Your average romantic comedy. Butler and Heigl have fun with the roles but nothing else in this film tries to impress or entertain above the average level. Standard.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
kk10Aug 24, 2010
I fell asleep at the cinema despite people roaring in laughter. I kept asking myself what was so funny. The movie was predictable from the beggining as I tried to enjoy it I failed and left Kathrine Heigl at a hotel room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HerbertW.Oct 19, 2009
For the average person capable of grasping the concept of a meta-critic website - this movie is an insult! The amount of actual thinking (or lack thereof) invested in this piece of !@/&%! was shocking! HOW STUPID DO YOU THINK MOVIEGOERS ARE?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryWSep 26, 2009
If you saw the trailers then you saw the only good parts- the rest was horrible!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SylviaVSep 22, 2009
I really wasn't expecting much of this movie as I had seen the unflattering score it garnered on this page...but having low expectations almost always guarantees a pleasant surprise! I didn't find it misogynist, crass, rude, I really wasn't expecting much of this movie as I had seen the unflattering score it garnered on this page...but having low expectations almost always guarantees a pleasant surprise! I didn't find it misogynist, crass, rude, offensive or any other of the epithets bandied about...only genuinely funny at parts, which is more than I can say for critically acclaimed comedies like The Hangover, a film that barely got a smile out of me. Sure, it's formulaic and predictable, but then again, I don't decide to watch a rom com when I'm in the mood for something deep and innovative...I just expect some silly fun and a few laughs, and I got them with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyC.Sep 2, 2009
All of you people are crazy!! I laughed from beginning to end, as did my girlfriend, as did the entire theater. There was nothing misogynistic about this, it was damned truthful, and anyone that can't handle that has either deluded All of you people are crazy!! I laughed from beginning to end, as did my girlfriend, as did the entire theater. There was nothing misogynistic about this, it was damned truthful, and anyone that can't handle that has either deluded themselves, is an oversensitive woman, or a damned effeminate man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SteveHAug 31, 2009
This is an updated Rock Hudson/Doris Day movie except this is 2009 not 1959. Gee, do you think you can guess the ending?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenAug 26, 2009
Like OMG, I loved this move when it was called, 27 Dresses, Knocked Up, 50 First Dates, The Proposal, My Life in Ruins, The Ghosts of Girlfriend's Past, Duplicity, My Best Friend's Girl, What Happens in Vegas, No Reservations, Like OMG, I loved this move when it was called, 27 Dresses, Knocked Up, 50 First Dates, The Proposal, My Life in Ruins, The Ghosts of Girlfriend's Past, Duplicity, My Best Friend's Girl, What Happens in Vegas, No Reservations, Music and Lyrics, The Holiday, Failure to Launch, Must Love Dogs, The Wedding Date...Texas Chainsaw Massacre. I wish! Collapse
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
innac.Aug 23, 2009
The only thought it leaves is:"how could i have spent a tenner to watch such rubbish! vulgar, tasteless and with no proper story line. save your time, watch something else.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
charlesn.Aug 10, 2009
No redeeming qualities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayC.Aug 10, 2009
It was hilarious. And true.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
8
ValAAug 9, 2009
This was a funny movie. I did not feel it was offensive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TDKinDallasAug 9, 2009
This movie was hilarious. It is your usual, by the numbers, rom com. Nothing new, but lots of laughs. I can't believe that people like The Proposal more. We laughed a lot and so did everyone else in the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeborahQAug 6, 2009
This movie was annoying at best - it had one or two funny moments but those were lost to the over use of crass language - enough - I was disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
kgmAug 5, 2009
Hard to believe this chauvinistic misogynistic rot was actually written by three females. Go figure. If the writers really believe that a jerk like
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArashRAug 3, 2009
I loved this move... and seriously people that gave this movie a bad rating i don't know what u guys were doing because through out the whole movie i was laughing and it was really great and a movie that i will never forget... a 27 I loved this move... and seriously people that gave this movie a bad rating i don't know what u guys were doing because through out the whole movie i was laughing and it was really great and a movie that i will never forget... a 27 really?!?!?!?! what?!?!? Okay I get it so if a movie gets that low of a score it just means that people were too gutless to admit it was a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EliasDAug 2, 2009
Very good date movie. The personalities of both main characters was eerily similar to that and me of the girlfriend. She enjoyed it quite a bit, as did I. Butler's character was very amusing, and sure, the development's at the end Very good date movie. The personalities of both main characters was eerily similar to that and me of the girlfriend. She enjoyed it quite a bit, as did I. Butler's character was very amusing, and sure, the development's at the end were predictable but it was an entertaining and funny flick through and through. It's nothing compared to forgetting Sarah Marshall, but not much is... Definitely worth watching with your significant other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidCAug 1, 2009
It is weird to watch the female of the species feed upon themselves like cannibalistic savages from an era long departed. I can only assume that these writers (all women), knew exactly what they were doing and did so either for $$$ or It is weird to watch the female of the species feed upon themselves like cannibalistic savages from an era long departed. I can only assume that these writers (all women), knew exactly what they were doing and did so either for $$$ or because they actually believe that women have regressed to pre ice age mentality. Many of the lines are funny, and thus the 4 rating, but the concept is so chauvanistic and misogynistic that I am amazed so many women like the movie. Maybe the writers have seen a trend amongst yonger women back to the hormonal, look how beautiful I am, look how dumb I am and how my "man" can control me era of previous centuries. If, so, this movie will not help as the concept will rise light years above the heads of those individuals who will revel in the mundane, insipid and demeaning ideas of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jessiefJul 30, 2009
I got suckered into seeing this as a friend had free passes. I would have paid not to see it. I can't even imagine this as a straight to video project. An absolute waste of time. Everyone associated with this should be embarrassed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelSJul 29, 2009
We enjoyed this movie. Saw it in a packed room, and there was LOTS of laughter throughout the movie. Very funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ikJul 29, 2009
What a fun movie. Laughed like crazy as did most of the audience. Great chemistry between the actors and great writing. A bit crass at times but in this day and age that is how many people think, speak and feel. Just as the title say's What a fun movie. Laughed like crazy as did most of the audience. Great chemistry between the actors and great writing. A bit crass at times but in this day and age that is how many people think, speak and feel. Just as the title say's "The Honest Truth"! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DocJul 28, 2009
Well more like 7.5. The movie obviously is not a summer box office blockbuster, but doesn't pretend to be. It's a fun little movie that, underlying all the humor, (and it is funny), lies some simple truths about how men and women Well more like 7.5. The movie obviously is not a summer box office blockbuster, but doesn't pretend to be. It's a fun little movie that, underlying all the humor, (and it is funny), lies some simple truths about how men and women relate to each other. Women are looking for the white knight of their dreams, and even the men that appear to be, aren't. So where do these women go from there? Reality and men are indeed very simple, but as long as either sex insists on the other thinking the way they do, there will always be lots of conflicts and hurt feelings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaryF.Jul 27, 2009
This is one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. I really liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RuthHJul 27, 2009
Just like most movie reviews. They are very wrong. My husband and went last night everyone in the theater was laughing though the whole move.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisCJul 27, 2009
Just watching scenes from this movie is genuinely painful. All the characters are insulting male stereotypes. It is not 'the ugly truth' that all men only care about watching women wrestle in jello. It's a cliche that gets Just watching scenes from this movie is genuinely painful. All the characters are insulting male stereotypes. It is not 'the ugly truth' that all men only care about watching women wrestle in jello. It's a cliche that gets overused by every sitcom and hacky romantic comedy for cheap laughs from women. But it's equally sexist as saying all women are bad drivers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregT.Jul 27, 2009
The worst wide-release movie I have ever seen, by a long, long shot. Surely there is some law that the writers can be prosecuted under.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
keithw.Jul 26, 2009
People get paid for this?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadS.Jul 26, 2009
The very second that Abby(Katherine Heigl) instructs Mike(Gerard Butler) to lick jello off a scantily clad woman's face through his earpiece, the producer loses her scruples and does her part in dumbing down the news, an ongoing trend The very second that Abby(Katherine Heigl) instructs Mike(Gerard Butler) to lick jello off a scantily clad woman's face through his earpiece, the producer loses her scruples and does her part in dumbing down the news, an ongoing trend first attested to in James L. Brooks' "Broadcast News". Likewise, fellow producer Jane Craig(Holly Hunter) loses her professional scruples when she feeds anchor Tom Grunick(William Hurt) the proper questions for a live on-air interview with a NATO representative. Although Jane tried in vain to plug holes in a hemorrhaging dam that would eventually break(the watershed moment when an entertainment-based tabloid form of journalism drowned the news division), she let the bad guy win, because the bad guy(Tom knew nothing about the Middle East) turned her on. Seven years later, more or less, after Jane slept with the devil: "Icegate" happened, O.J. happened, and for Abby, the producer of "Sacramento A.M.", who name checks Nobel laureate Desmond Tutu to confirm her own journalistic cred against the post-Cronkite epoch of lowest common denominator reporting, Mike happened. As soon as the woman-hating host of "The Ugly Truth" joins the show, Abby pulls the neat trick of selling out both feminism and the vocation she professes to uphold. "The Ugly Truth" not so subtly posits the idea that women are undone by their hormonal urges: in other words, their "vertical smile", their "Cleopatra grip"(album titles used by early-nineties dreampop band The Heartthrobs). When Mike tells Abby, "Thank your p**** for me," the pun is intended. Even Abby's cat abets the deconstruction of the feminine mystique. Mike is supposed to be a one-night stand, not Abby's one true love, but this post-feminist update of Fred Schepisi's "Roxanne" has its own deranged ideas(complete utter debasement works like catnip on this single woman) about successful wooing. This desperate romantic comedy tries to fool us with a lot of climactic hot air about love, but the ugly truth about Abby is that her love for Mike appears to be purely physical. She loves big "noses" like how a man loves big "brains". She's too masculine for this feminine genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CatJul 26, 2009
Tiresome and formulaic. So bored of this stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanielleM.Jul 26, 2009
Absolute crap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mariap.Jul 26, 2009
Funniest romantic comedy i've seen all year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlexLJul 26, 2009
Definitely not as bad as the critics say. Yeah, the plot was as predictable as can be, but some of the funny parts were actually genuine. I liked it and I'm a guy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DominickJul 26, 2009
For me this movie was very funny and seemingly good romantic comedy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatieS.Jul 25, 2009
I really liked it. Some of the jokes could have been a bit better, but it had enough genuine laughs for me and Heigl and Butler have real chemistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GabbyB.Jul 25, 2009
I'm sick of romantic comedies that talk down to us women. Sick of it. Hated "He's Just Not That Into You", "Confessions of a Shopaholic", and now this ("The Proposal" is the only one I've seen lately that was SOMEWHAT decent). I'm sick of romantic comedies that talk down to us women. Sick of it. Hated "He's Just Not That Into You", "Confessions of a Shopaholic", and now this ("The Proposal" is the only one I've seen lately that was SOMEWHAT decent). There's like some sort of feminist backlash recently in romantic comedies in terms of how women are portrayed as either humorless prudes, delusional romantics, or incompetent, frivolous ditzes. I'm going to stop going to them from now on, no matter how many of my friends are going, in favor of less patronizing takes on the genre like "(500) days of Summer." Seriously, I'm done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PeterVJul 25, 2009
We get it, opposites attract. This movie is a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JeffJul 24, 2009
Pretty much same old formula but Katherine Heigl is so hot it makes it worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulS.Jul 24, 2009
Genuine crap, not funny, not entertaining. A waste of money and time. Everyone involved in this movie should say an Act of Contrition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LyndaO.Jul 24, 2009
I thought this movie was very funny. You just need to have an open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneR.Jul 24, 2009
This movie was great fun! I and my 3 friends who went to it enjoyed it very much. I'm surprised that reviewers didnt' enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful