Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 9, 2013
    38
    The performers are more competent than compelling, a common failing of faith-based films. Blame the edge-free, freshly-scrubbed characters that they play. Sadly, even as a safe-for-seniors saga ready-made for The Hallmark Channel, this is pretty thin gruel.
  2. Reviewed by: Daniel M. Gold
    Sep 6, 2013
    30
    The Ultimate Life is hampered by a predictable story, stereotypical characters and wooden acting.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Sep 6, 2013
    30
    This second feature based on a best-selling book by Jim Stovall is mainly repetitive in its themes and suffers from a melodramatic plotline and hamfisted execution.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 6, 2013
    25
    The message of The Ultimate Life could be summed up on a greeting card. Or rather, 12 greeting cards.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Sep 4, 2013
    25
    Its thinly veiled message of social conservatism and religious affirmations as the pathway to an ideal life is delivered with all the predigested sentimentality of a Hallmark card.
  6. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 4, 2013
    20
    Again. Via Red’s experiences as a young man and wildcatter, Jason learns that money cannot buy happiness. What the viewers learn is that money can’t buy a good movie either.
  7. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Sep 6, 2013
    10
    At least the narrative sloppiness and ineptly delivered themes in the script by Brian Bird and Lisa G. Shillingburg (freely adapted from the novel by Jim Stovall) feel of a piece with the entire production.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    This is a sequel to the 2006s 'The Ultimate Gift'. The story commences from where It ended in the first, but after opening few minutes it takes us to the flashback story in the earlier decades. It was not a bad story at all, but it did not have any valuable film stars in it to lighten up. Especially failing to bring back Drew Fuller was the biggest drawback for this sequel. Other than that it was well filmed in beautiful places in the United States. This movie was not bad as you heard about it. If you try it once, you will realise what I was saying. It is a fine B movie.

    ✰✰✰✰✰✰/10
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    I went into this movie with low expectations. I came out of the theatre saying to myself i just got robbed of 20 dollars. This is one of the worst movies i have ever seen. It should have never been in theaters. It is a hallmark movie. It's even a low end hallmark movie. I hated it so much. It's not the ultimate life it's the i lost one hour and a half of my life

    Do not waste your money on this piece of crap!
    Full Review »