Rogue Pictures | Release Date: January 9, 2009
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
15
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
LaurensFeb 14, 2009
DId you know that most of the time, the titles alone either make the movie appear to be "Good" or "Horrible." Well, the Unborn, no surpise, is not the biggest bomb of all time, but i think a Razzie should be in favor of this poorly recieved, DId you know that most of the time, the titles alone either make the movie appear to be "Good" or "Horrible." Well, the Unborn, no surpise, is not the biggest bomb of all time, but i think a Razzie should be in favor of this poorly recieved, awful downright stupid movie. Wny? Well, i don't know, horror movies, some of them today, are so meaningless it seems, {i love Tim Burton's Sweeney Todd} and this is like a sequel to the Exorcist. Only, this time, it wasn't scary in the effects, and people just got bored watching it. For one thing, having a dead "baby" brother haunt you, is so unrealistic, and if it's horror, isn't it suppose to scare us? It's more likely to scare us to NOT see these low budget sleepers, with that said, don't waste your time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JordanR.Jan 9, 2009
With an unbelievable (yes, granted, it is a horror film) and painfully redundant plot, and a main actress that was clearly cast through the audition of a nude shower scene and the will to parade around in underwear, the Unborn misses the With an unbelievable (yes, granted, it is a horror film) and painfully redundant plot, and a main actress that was clearly cast through the audition of a nude shower scene and the will to parade around in underwear, the Unborn misses the desired irony of an audience scrambling to leave out of thrilling fear and instead herds them out with profound boredom and predictability. It's saving grace, or perhaps that which will save it from deeper layers of movie hell are the various horrific creatures which do thrill, however any remotely redeeming part is already revealed in the exceptional trailer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TonyAMay 24, 2009
Just another horrible horror flick with little to like. Avoid!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
KingtutJan 10, 2009
I would like to note that i went to This movie with low expections and was very dissipointed. this movie seams to be a direct ripoff of the grudges scare tactics. essentially this is the most generic of generic horror flicks. I sincerely I would like to note that i went to This movie with low expections and was very dissipointed. this movie seams to be a direct ripoff of the grudges scare tactics. essentially this is the most generic of generic horror flicks. I sincerely hope that michel bay does better on friday the 13 his next horror outing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanPJan 10, 2009
I didn't care about the brunette or the token black character. I don't even remember if I caught their names. The dialogue set the movie up for 15 year old boys. The brunettes father was in the first part of the movie and then I didn't care about the brunette or the token black character. I don't even remember if I caught their names. The dialogue set the movie up for 15 year old boys. The brunettes father was in the first part of the movie and then mysteriously disappeared. The movie has some Yiddish folklore and customs that were handled horribly. A Yiddish woman recited the modei ani in english for some reason. A rabbi is not wearing his kippah in synagogue. There was a Hebrew/Arabic/elvish? book, though the book was designed to read left to right, even though semetic languages are read right to left. Why Gary Oldman!?! Why?! you are Commissioner Gordon! Bad movie. Epic Fail! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadSJan 10, 2009
The title is misleading. "The Unborn" plays like a Mel Brooks parody of William Friedkin's "The Exorcist". It's not some revenge film about a fetus with an axe to grind as the title suggests. So be prepared. Akin to Bryan The title is misleading. "The Unborn" plays like a Mel Brooks parody of William Friedkin's "The Exorcist". It's not some revenge film about a fetus with an axe to grind as the title suggests. So be prepared. Akin to Bryan Singer's "The X-Men", the filmmaker uses Auschwitz as the setting for an inappropriate, and downright bizarre foray into science fiction. So be prepared for the portrayal of Josef Mengele's experiments on children, while a concentration camp survivor tells the origin story of Casey's demon. Talk about your dialectical quagmires, in the same film where the heroine is haunted, but finds the time to look hot in her underwear while being haunted, there are dead Jewish children on slabs in the morgue. A Dybbuk reanimates the holocaust survivor's twin brother, as if this gathering of twins slated for death didn't already have enough on their plates: dye in the eyes, vivisection, castration, and now, a murderous Hebrew spirit named Jambi. "The Unborn" is offensive in this respect: for Casey's grandmother Sofi(Jane Alexander), the surviving twin, her testimony about the war discloses an entity native to her heritage as haunting her more than the Germans. The Auschwitz experience becomes somewhat trivialized, made idiosyncratic by this alternate history. Juxtaposed against the paranormal, Mengele, and the Nazis, are almost beside the point. Casey(Odette Yustman), by all appearances, is a gentile at the outset of "The Unborn", but during the course of the film, she gets in touch with her past, while the past literally touches her. She's touched by a dybbuk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LoRevisorJan 28, 2015
O Que eu posso dizer? o filme é de terror não assusta!! nem serve como terror psicológico gênero da "A Orfã",também não tem ação,o motivo de eu dar 1 e não 0 é somente pelas boas atuações de Odette Yustman e também pela parte que ela mostra aO Que eu posso dizer? o filme é de terror não assusta!! nem serve como terror psicológico gênero da "A Orfã",também não tem ação,o motivo de eu dar 1 e não 0 é somente pelas boas atuações de Odette Yustman e também pela parte que ela mostra a bunda,E as boas atuações de Gary Oldman e Cam Gigandet também Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
UrbanlistenerNov 23, 2015
You'll have a couple of jump, goosebumps and spooky moments here and there sure, but the movie is mostly a dumb mess without any redeeming quality to it, bad dialogue and bad acting for the most part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews